DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 07/17/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the priority documents received on 08/02/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024 and 05/21/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 07/17/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayala Vazquez et al (US 20190393586), hereinafter Ayala Vazquez.
Regarding claim 1,
Ayala Vazquez discloses a portable communication device (an electronic device 10, Fig 1) comprising:
a housing (a housing 12, Fig 1) including a side member (structures 16, Fig 1) forming a side surface of the portable communication device, the side member including a first non-conductive portion (a gap 18-1, Fig 1), a second non-conductive portion (a gap 18-2, Fig 1), a third non-conductive portion (a gap 18-3, Fig 1), a first conductive portion (a structure 16-3, Fig 1) between the first non-conductive portion and the second non-conductive portion (Fig 1), and a second conductive portion (a structure 16-2, Fig 1) between the second non-conductive portion and the third non-conductive portion (Fig 1);
a processor (a control circuitry 28, Fig 2; paragraph [0043]);
a first switch (a first adjustable component 102A, Fig 8; “Adjustable components 102 may include switches” paragraph [0107]) configured to electrically connect a ground (a ground 132, Fig 8; “ground structure 78’ paragraph [0090]) with a first point (a terminal 134, Fig 8; paragraph [0108]) on the first conductive portion located by a first distance (a first distance D1, Fig 8) from the first non-conductive portion;
a second switch (a second adjustable component 102B, Fig 8) configured to electrically connect the ground (the ground includes a ground end 118, Fig 8) with a second point (a first feed terminal 46A, Fig 8) on the first conductive portion located by a second distance (a second distance D2, Fig 8) larger than the first distance from the first non-conductive portion;
a first feeder (a transceiver 38-4, Fig 4) configured to provide a first feeding signal received from the processor to a third point (a second feed terminal 46B, Fig 8) on the first conductive portion different from the first point and the second point; and
Ayala Vazquez does not explicitly teach a third switch configured to electrically connect a selected one of the ground and a second feeder with a fourth point on the second conductive portion, the second feeder configured to provide a second feeding signal received from the processor.
However, Ayala Vazquez teaches front end circuits 58 may include switching circuitry that is configured to selectively couple antennas 40-1, 40-2, 40-3, and 40-4 to different respective transceivers 38-1, 38-2, 38-3, and 38-4 (paragraph [0064]). This teaching is result effect in order to handle communications based on the state of the switching circuits (paragraph [0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a third switch (a front end circuit 58-3 of Ayala Vazquez, Fig 4) configured to electrically connect a selected one of a ground and a second feeder (a transceiver 38-3 of Ayala Vazquez, Fig 4) with a fourth point (a feed terminal F of Ayala Vazquez, Fig 4) on a second conductive portion, the second feeder configured to provide a second feeding signal received from a processor in Ayala Vazquez, in order to provide improved wireless communications circuitry for wireless electronic devices.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (40-3)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (40-4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (16-4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (16-1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (16-2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (16-3)][AltContent: textbox (18-3)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (18-2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (18-1)][AltContent: textbox (Ayala Vazquez (US 20190393586))]
[AltContent: textbox (Ayala Vazquez (US 20190393586))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (40-3)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D3)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Ayala Vazquez (US 20190393586))]
[AltContent: textbox (40-4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ayala Vazquez (US 20190393586))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (F)][AltContent: textbox (Ayala Vazquez (US 20190393586))]
Regarding claim 2,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ayala Vazquez does not explicitly teach the first conductive portion is to radiate a first signal corresponding to a first specified frequency band, and wherein, when the third switch is electrically connected with the second feeder, the second conductive portion is to radiate a second signal corresponding to a second specified frequency band different from the first specified frequency band.
However, Ayala Vazquez teaches antenna tuning components that are used to adjust the frequency response of antenna 40 (paragraph [0051]), and front end circuits 58 may include switching circuitry that is configured to selectively couple antennas 40-1, 40-2, 40-3, and 40-4 to different respective transceivers 38-1, 38-2, 38-3, and 38-4 (paragraph [0064]). This teaching is result effect in order to handle communications for different transceivers over time based on the state of the switching circuits in front end circuits (paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a first conductive portion being to radiate a first signal corresponding to a first specified frequency band, and wherein, when a third switch being electrically connected with a second feeder, a second conductive portion being to radiate a second signal corresponding to a second specified frequency band different from the first specified frequency band in Ayala Vazquez as modified, in order to provide improved wireless communications circuitry for wireless electronic devices.
Regarding claim 3,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ayala Vazquez does not explicitly teach a tuner electrically connected with the processor via the first feeder.
However, Ayala Vazquez teaches tunable components 42 may be part of an antenna resonating element (paragraph [0050]), and connected to the control circuitry 28 via transceiver circuitry 26 (Fig 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a tuner electrically connected with a processor via a first feeder in Ayala Vazquez as modified, in order to provide improved wireless communications circuitry for wireless electronic devices.
Regarding claim 4,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 3.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the tuner is electrically connected with at least one point of the first point, the second point or the third point such that the first feeding signal is provided to the at least one point of the first point via the tuner (Fig 5).
[AltContent: textbox (Ayala Vazquez (US 20190393586))]
Regarding claim 5,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 3.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the tuner is electrically connected with the first point via the first switch (Fig 9C).
[AltContent: textbox (Ayala Vazquez (US 20190393586))]
Regarding claim 6,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 3.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the tuner is electrically connected with the fourth point via the third switch (Fig 9C).
Regarding claim 7,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the third point is located by a third distance (a second distance D3, Fig 8) larger than the second distance from the first non-conductive portion.
Regarding claim 13,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ayala Vazquez teaches:
an antenna (an antenna 40-4, Fig 8),
wherein the processor is configured to: control at least one of feeding signals (Fig 4) or ground signals of at least one of the first point, the second point, or the third point, and
control an electrical path (a transmission line 50-4, Fig 8) of the antenna between the first non-conductive portion and the second non-conductive portion (Fig 8) such that the antenna operates in different frequency bands (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 14,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the processor is further configured to control the first point (the switch 102A is closed, Fig 8) and the second point (the switch 102B is closed, Fig 8) to be grounded and the third point (the switch 102C is closed, Fig 8) to be fed, and wherein the antenna is configured such that a first region (a region of resonating element arms 66 of the antennas 40-3 and 40-4, Fig 8) from the first non-conductive portion to the third point operates in a first frequency band (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 15,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the processor is further configured to control the first point to be grounded (the switch 102A is closed, Fig 8), the second point (the switch 102B is closed, Fig 8) to be fed, and the third point to be opened (the switch 102C is opened, Fig 8), and wherein the antenna is configured such that a second region (a region of resonating element arms 66 of the antennas 40-3 and 40-4, Fig 8) from the first non-conductive portion to the third point operates in a second frequency band (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 16,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the processor is further configured to control the first point to be grounded (the switch 102A is closed, Fig 8), the second point to be grounded (the switch 102B is closed, Fig 8), the third point to be fed (the switch 102C is closed, Fig 8), and the fourth point to be fed (the switch 58-3 is closed, Fig 4), and wherein the antenna is configured such that a third region (a region of resonating element arms 66 of the antennas 40-3 and 40-4, Fig 8) from the first non-conductive portion to the third point and from the third point to the second non-conductive portion operates in a third frequency band (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 17,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the processor is further configured to control the first point to be grounded (the switch 102A is closed, Fig 8), the second point to be fed (the switch 102B is closed, Fig 8), the third point to be opened (the switch 102C is opened, Fig 8), and the fourth point to be fed (the switch 58-3 is closed, Fig 4), and wherein the antenna is configured such that a fourth region (a region of resonating element arms 66 of the antennas 40-3 and 40-4, Fig 8) from the first non-conductive portion to the second point and from the second point to the second non-conductive portion operates in a fourth frequency band (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 18,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the processor is further configured to control the first point to be grounded (the switch 102A is closed, Fig 8), the second point to be fed the switch 102B is closed, Fig 8), and the third point to be opened (the switch 102C is opened, Fig 8), and wherein the antenna is configured such that a fifth region (a region of a resonating element arm 66 of the antenna 40-4, Fig 8) from the second point to the second non-conductive portion operates in a fifth frequency band (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 19,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the processor is further configured to control the first point to be grounded (the switch 102A is closed, Fig 8), the second point to be grounded (the switch 102B is closed, Fig 8), and the third point to be fed (the switch 102C is closed, Fig 8), and wherein the antenna is configured such that a sixth region (a region of a resonating element arm 66 of the antenna 40-4, Fig 8) from the third point to the second non-conductive portion operates in a sixth frequency band (paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 20,
Ayala Vazquez as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Ayala Vazquez teaches the processor is further configured to control the first point to be grounded (the switch 102A is closed, Fig 8), the second point to be fed (the switch 102B is closed, Fig 8), and the third point to be fed (the switch 102C is closed, Fig 8), and wherein the antenna is configured such that a region (a region of a resonating element arm 66 of the antenna 40-4, Fig 8) from the second point to the second non-conductive portion and the region (the region of a resonating element arm 66 of the antenna 40-4, Fig 8) from the third point to the second non-conductive portion simultaneously operate in a predetermined frequency band (paragraph [0098]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the tuner includes a fourth switch, a fifth switch, and a variable capacitor”.
Dependent claims 9-12 are considered to be allowable by virtue of its/their dependency/dependencies on claim 8.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845