DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20150106020 A1, 2015-04-16) (hereinafter “Chung”) in view of Lewicke et al. (US 20090024005 A1, 2009-01-22) (hereinafter “Lewicke”).
Regarding claims 1-9, Chung teaches a method of operating an ambulatory medical device (AMD) wearable by a subject or implantable in the subject (e.g., 226, Fig. 1), the method comprising: determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side; and computing a metric predictive of one or both of orthopnea and trepopnea in response to determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side (e.g., [0074], [0127]) [C1].
Note that Chung teaches monitoring and prediction of heart failures (e.g., [0051], [0058]) [C2] and wireless communication and transmission of patient data (e.g., [160]) [C3],
However, Chung does not expressly teach use of multi-axis posture sensor.
Lewicke teaches use of multi-axis posture sensor (e.g., [0069]) [L1], calibration of sensors (e.g., [0069] [L2], detecting posture angles (e.g., [0051]) [L3] for purposes of predicting and monitoring heart failures.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lewicke with the invention of Chung such that the method further comprises determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side using a multi-axis posture sensor of the AMD, wherein the posture sensor is configured to provide an electrical posture sensor output representative of alignment of respective first, second, and third non-parallel axes of the AMD with a gravitational field of the earth; and computing a metric predictive of one or both of orthopnea and trepopnea in response to determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side (as recited in claim 1); wherein the computing the metric includes: trending, by the AMD, an amount of time that the subject is lying on the left side; and generating an indication of heart failure status of the subject using the trend [C2] (as recited in claim 2); wherein the determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side includes: determining an elevation angle of the subject using a calibrated posture sensor output; determining a side angle of the subject using the calibrated posture sensor output; and wherein the computing the metric includes trending an amount of time that the determined elevation and side angles indicate that the subject is on their left side [L2] (as recited in claim 3); including: generating a status of the one or both of orthopnea and trepopnea of the subject using the determined elevation angle and determined side angle [L3] (as recited in claim 4); wherein the determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side includes: determining the direction of a current gravity vector relative to axes of the posture sensor; computing an angle change between the current gravity vector and a direction of a previously measured gravity vector relative to the axes of the posture sensor; and computing multiple angle changes and determining that the subject is on their left side using the determined angle changes [L3] (as recited in claim 5); including determining the angle change using a dot-product of the current gravity vector and the previously measured gravity vector [L3] (as recited in claim 6); wherein the determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side includes determining that the subject is on their left side using a predetermined percentage of largest angle changes of the multiple angle changes [L3] (as recited in claim 7); including: calibrating an output of the multi-axis posture sensor to an orientation of the AMD relative to an orientation of the subject; and wherein the determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side includes determining that the subject is stationary and lying on their left side using the calibrated output of the multi-axis posture sensor [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 8) in order to accurately predict and monitor heart failures.
Regarding claims 9-20, as discussed above, Chung (in view of Lewicke) teaches an ambulatory medical device (AMD), the device comprising: a multi-axis posture sensor configured to provide an electrical posture sensor output representative of alignment of respective first, second, and third non-parallel axes of the AMD with the gravitational field of the earth; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the multi-axis posture sensor and configured to: determine that the subject avoids lying on their left side using the posture sensor output; and compute a metric predictive of one or both of orthopnea and trepopnea in response to determining that the subject avoids lying on their left side [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 9); wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: detect that the subject is stationary using a calibrated posture sensor output; determine that the subject avoids lying on their left side using the calibrated posture sensor output; and compute, as the metric, an amount of time that the subject is lying on their left side [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 10); wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: compute an elevation angle of the subject using the posture sensor output; compute a side angle of the subject using the posture sensor output; and compute, as the metric, an amount of time that the elevation angle of the subject is within a predetermined range of a flat elevation and the side angle indicates that the subject is on their left side [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 11); wherein the processing circuitry is configured to produce a status of one or both of orthopnea and trepopnea of the subject using the determined elevation angle and determined side angle [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 12); wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: compute the direction of a first gravity vector relative to axes of the posture sensor; compute the direction of a second gravity vector relative to the axes of the posture sensor; compute an angle change between the second gravity vector and the first gravity vector; and compute successive angle changes between the second gravity vector and the first gravity vector determine that the subject avoids lying on their left side using the computed successive angle changes [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 13); wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: compute a dot-product of the second gravity vector and the first gravity vector to compute the angle change between the second gravity vector and the first gravity vector [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 14); wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: compute multiple gravity vectors and compute multiple angle changes between the gravity vectors; identify a predetermined percentile of computed angle changes that have a highest value of computed angle changes; compute a mean value of the computed angle changes; and determine that the subject avoids lying on their left side based on the mean value of the computed angle changes [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 15); wherein the posture sensor is a multi-axis accelerometer; and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: calibrate an output of the multi-axis accelerometer to an orientation of the AMD relative to the subject; and determine that the subject is stationary and lying on their left side using the calibrated output of the multi-axis accelerometer [C1]-[C2], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 16); including: a communication circuit operatively coupled to the processing circuitry and configured to communicate information to a separate device; and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: generate an indication of heart failure status of the subject using the amount of time that the subject is lying on their left side; and send the indication to the separate device [C1]-[C3], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 16); a programming device for an ambulatory medical device (AMD), the programming device comprising: a communication circuit configured to communicate information wirelessly with the AMD; a user interface; and a programming control circuit operatively coupled to the communication circuit and user interface; the programming control circuit configured to: receive orientation information of a subject from the AMD; compute a metric indicative of the subject avoiding lying on their left side using the orientation information; and produce an indication of heart failure status of the subject according to a comparison of the metric to a trepopnea detection threshold [C1]-[C3], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 18); wherein the programming control circuit is configured to: receive a trend of side angle information of the subject from the AMD; and produce the indication of heart failure status using the trend of side angle information [C1]-[C3], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 19); wherein the programming control circuit is configured to: receive a trend of orientation angle change information from the AMD, wherein the angle change information includes angle changes computed between consecutive gravity vectors measured by the AMD; and produce the indication of heart failure status using the trend of angle change information [C1]-[C3], [L1]-[L3] (as recited in claim 20).
Conclusion
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792