Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 7/9/2026. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claim 16 has been added. Claims 1-16 remain pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
A. Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues starting on page 8 of the response that the cited Venkataraman reference does not disclose “that the apparatus is configured to process the labels for each of the identified sub-events obtained from a plurality of the watchers for a plurality of the channels based on the relative time of occurrence of the sub-events thereby to obtain a higher level classification of a higher level event, wherein the higher level event is a stage of a clinical procedure and at least some of the sub-events used to derive the classification of the higher level event occur at different times, as recited in amended Claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees in part and Applicant’s argument is moot in part as set out below.
Initially, Examiner maintains that Venkataraman discloses the apparatus processing the data received via each channel to generate a label identifying a sub-event occurring at a time on the common timeline and indicated by the processed data (Figure 1 elements 102-106, Figure 2 element 204, and paragraphs 31, 32, 37, 38, and 41-45 describe a set of segmentation engines extracting information from the modality data and converting it into a text representation of the data contents, i.e. a label. Examiner notes page 8 lines 13-29 of Applicant’s specification as-filed, describing labels as numerical or string values representing information such as contents of an image or pieces of medical equipment), and the apparatus processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events obtained from a plurality of the watchers for a plurality of the channels based on the relative time of occurrence of the sub-events thereby to obtain a higher level classification of a higher level event, wherein at least some of the sub-events used to derive the classification of the higher level event occur at different times (paragraphs 32, 46, 49, 50, 56, and 59 describe combining the text features and temporal data into a comprehensive feature set and determining higher level events including successful or unsuccessful removal of tissue, outcomes, and the presence of particular tissues in real time, while paragraphs 37, 38, and 42 describe different labeled events from different times in a procedure).
Ayvali, rather than Venkataraman, is relied upon to teach the higher level event being a stage of a clinical procedure (Figure 3, and paragraphs 42, 45, 46, and 48 describe a system automatically identifying phases of a surgical procedure by identifying events during the procedure).
While Applicant argues that Venkataraman discloses the labeled events as occurring at the same time, Examiner maintains that Venkataraman considers sub-events which do not occur at the same time. For example, while paragraphs 50 and 51 describe synchronizing data from different channels, such as audio data and video data, based on a common timestamp t0, the segments of data are not limited specifically to that time t0. Rather, the system considers related pieces of information occurring near that timestamp, i.e. “a segment of the video and a segment of audio around t0 timestamp can be meaningfully combined” (emphasis added). Similarly, paragraph 58 provides an example of the synchronized data segments extending over a period of time between two timestamps. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “at different times” encompasses events occurring over a period of time.
The rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained.
B. Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues starting on page 10 that “none of the features recited in amended Claim 1 can practically be performed in the human mind.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As set out in Step 2A Prong 1, Claim 1 recites processing data collected during a clinical procedure from a plurality of devices, and provided with reference to a common timeline over which the data is collected, to generate a label for data from each of the devices identifying a sub-event occurring at a time on the common timeline and indicated by the processed data, and processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events based on the relative time of occurrence of the sub-events thereby to obtain a higher level classification of a higher level event, wherein the higher level event is a stage of a clinical procedure and at least some of the sub-events used to derive the classification of the higher level event occur at different times.” While Claim 1 recites additional elements including channels, a medical image apparatus, a camera, a microphone, an RF detector, a barcode scanner, and a plurality of watchers as argued by Applicant, the use of these elements to perform functions such as providing the data and performing the analysis, these elements do not preclude the claims from reciting elements which are capable of being practically performed in the human mind. The collection of the data itself is addressed under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B as an additional element.
Examiner further respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that Claim 1 recites particular machines which integrate any abstract idea into a practical application. As addressed in Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, each of the apparatus, plurality of channels, and plurality of watchers are recited at a high level of generality and used simply to implement functions such as processing the data and collecting the data, and the medical imaging apparatus, camera, microphone, RF detector, and barcode scanner are likewise only recited at a high level of generality as a list of devices providing the data. The use of devices such as cameras or microphones to collect data and software to process collected data only amounts to instructions to implement these functions using machines or generic computing elements.
The rejection under 35 USC 101 is maintained.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 3 is withdrawn based on the amendment filed 7/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-13 and 16 are drawn to an apparatus, claim 14 is drawn to a method, and claim 15 is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable medium, each of which is within the four statutory categories.
Step 2A(1)
Claim 1 recites, in part, performing the steps of:
processing data collected during a clinical procedure from a plurality of devices, and provided with reference to a common timeline over which the data is collected, to generate a label for data from each of the devices identifying a sub-event occurring at a time on the common timeline and indicated by the processed data, and
processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events based on the relative time of occurrence of the sub-events thereby to obtain a higher level classification of a higher level event, wherein the higher level event is a stage of a clinical procedure and at least some of the sub-events used to derive the classification of the higher level event occur at different times.
These steps constitute a series of concepts performable in the human mind, and therefore fall within the scope of an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. Fundamentally the process is that of identifying and labeling the occurrence of events, at least some of the events occurring at different times, based on data from a plurality of devices collected during a clinical procedure, and using the relative time that the labeled events occurred to determine a higher level classification of a stage of a clinical procedure. These steps constitute a series of observing data from the clinical procedure, evaluating the data to identify events, and rendering judgement about a stage of the clinical procedure based on the events and their timeline within the data, and could be performed within the human mind by a clinician observing the data.
Independent claims 14 and 15 recite similar limitations and also recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Step 2A(2)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements within the claims only amount to:
A. Instructions to Implement the Judicial Exception. MPEP 2106.05(f)
Claim 1 further recites the additional elements of a) an apparatus recited as comprising the subsequent elements and performing the functions of generating the label identifying the sub-event and processing the labels to identify the higher level classification of the stage of the clinical procedure, b) a plurality of channels each configured to receive data from a respective device of a plurality of devices, c) the plurality of devices comprising at least two of a medical imaging apparatus, a camera, a microphone, an RF detector, or a barcode scanner, and d) a plurality of watchers each associated with a respective one of the channels and providing the labels.
Claim 14 further recites the additional elements of a) a plurality of channels each configured to receive data from a respective device of a plurality of devices, b) the plurality of devices comprise at least two of a medical imaging apparatus, a camera, a microphone, an RF detector, or a barcode scanner, and c) a plurality of watchers each associated with a respective one of the channels and providing the labels.
Claim 15 recites the additional events of a) a non-transitory computer readable medium recited as comprising computer-readable instructions, b) a processor recited as executing the instructions to perform the subsequent data analysis steps, c) a plurality of channels each configured to receive data from a respective device of a plurality of devices, d) the plurality of devices comprise at least two of a medical imaging apparatus, a camera, a microphone, an RF detector, or a barcode scanner, and e) a plurality of watchers each associated with a respective one of the channels and providing the labels.
Page 4 line 23 – page 5 line 32 describe an apparatus for performing the disclosed functions, where the apparatus includes a user mobile device, a personal computer, a server, or “some other form of device.” The apparatus is disclosed as having a data processor as well as non-transitory memory devices storing computer readable instructions for execution by the data processor. The apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, and processor are each therefore construed as encompassing generic computing components.
Page 7 lines 22-24 and page 8 lines 8-13 describe the apparatus receiving data from a plurality of collecting devices, where “[t]he apparatus 100 thus receives the data belonging to a plurality of channels,” and the watchers being software modules executing on a processor receiving the data channels. The “channels” are not further defined beyond the data types being received via corresponding channels, and are therefore construed as encompassing generic computing and data transmission elements. The watchers are likewise construed as software executed on a generic processing device.
Page 6 line 34 – page 7 line 20 describes the data collecting devices as including a camera, microphone, RF detector, imaging equipment, and a barcode scanner. Each of these is construed as encompassing general forms of cameras, microphones, RF detectors, imaging equipment, and barcode scanners.
The above elements each only amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. For example, the processor is only recited at a high level of generality as performing the subsequent functions and disclosed broadly as a data processor, while the non-transitory computer readable medium is likewise recited at a high level of generality as storing computer readable instructions and disclosed as generic forms of computer memory. The recited camera, microphone, RF detector, imaging equipment, and barcode scanner are similarly only recited at a high level of generality as a source of data and disclosed broadly. These elements are therefore not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
B. Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity. MPEP 2106.05(g)
Claims 1, 14, and 15 recite a further additional element of receiving the data collected during the clinical procedure. This element only amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of data gathering since performing the abstract idea requires receiving the data collected during the clinical procedure. This element is therefore not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The above claims, as a whole, are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The present claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to more than the abstract idea because the additional elements or combination of elements amount to no more than a recitation of:
A. Instructions to Implement the Judicial Exception. MPEP 2106.05(f)
As explained above, claims 1 and 15 only recite the apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, processor, channels and associated watchers, plurality of devices, medical imaging apparatus, camera, microphone, RF detector, and barcode scanner as tools for performing the steps of the abstract idea, and mere instructions to perform the abstract idea using a computer is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05(f)
B. Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity. MPEP 2106.05(g)
As addressed above, claims 1, 14, and 15 recite further recite the element of receiving the data collected during the clinical procedure. This element only amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of data gathering since performing the abstract idea requires receiving the data collected during the clinical procedure.
C. Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional Activities. MPEP 2106.05(d)
The element of receiving the data collected during the clinical procedure additionally only amounts to well-understood routine and conventional activity, such as in the form of receiving or transmitting data over a network. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
Depending Claims
Claim 2 recites wherein, for each of the plurality of devices, the step of processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events comprises processing the labels to obtain the higher level classification of the higher level event. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above. Examiner notes that the “plurality of devices” above are not recited within the claim as performing any function.
Claim 2 further recites the additional element of a machine learning model used to process the labels to obtain the higher level classification of the higher level event.
Page 13 lines 5-6 and page 18 lines 5-9 describe processing the labels using a machine learning model, such as a recurrent neural network.
The recited machine learning model only amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The machine learning model is only recited at a high level of generality as receiving the labels as inputs in order to obtain the higher level classification of the higher level event and disclosed broadly as encompassing architectures such as a recurrent neural network. The machine learning model is only operating in its generic capacity as a mechanism to process the label data, and is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 3 recites wherein, for each of the devices, the processing of the data of the respective device and the generation of the label is performed in real time as the data is received, for each of the labels, upon the generation of the respective label, processing the labels. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above. Examiner notes that the “plurality of devices” above are not recited within the claim as performing any function.
Claim 3 further recites the additional element of the machine learning model as being provided with the labels as inputs and processing the labels.
Page 13 lines 5-6 and page 18 lines 5-9 describe processing the labels using a machine learning model, such as a recurrent neural network.
The recited machine learning model only amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The machine learning model is only recited at a high level of generality as receiving the labels as inputs in order to obtain the higher level classification of the higher level event and disclosed broadly as encompassing architectures such as a recurrent neural network. The machine learning model is only operating in its generic capacity as a mechanism to process the label data, and is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 4 recites the additional element of the machine learning model being a recurrent neural network.
Page 13 lines 5-6 and page 18 lines 5-9 describe processing the labels using a recurrent neural network, which receives labels as inputs and provides an output representing an event.
The recited recurrent neural network only amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The recurrent neural network is only recited at a high level of generality as receiving the labels as inputs in order to obtain higher level classification of the higher level event and is disclosed broadly. The recurrent neural network is only operating in its generic capacity as a mechanism to process the label data, and is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 5 recites the step of processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events comprising providing each of the labels for processing in an order in which the corresponding identified sub-events occurred in the common timeline. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 5 further recites the additional element of the machine learning model as receiving the labels as inputs and processing the labels.
Page 13 lines 5-6 and page 18 lines 5-9 describe processing the labels using a machine learning model, such as a recurrent neural network.
The recited machine learning model only amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The machine learning model is only recited at a high level of generality as receiving the labels as inputs in order to obtain the higher level classification of the higher level event and is only operating in its generic capacity as a mechanism to process the label data These elements are therefore not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claim 6 recites for each of the identified sub-events, outputting time information indicating a time in the common timeline at which the respective identified sub-event occurred, and processing the time information for the identified sub-events to determine a time associated with the higher level event. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 6 further recites the additional elements of a) the apparatus as performing the subsequent data processing functions.
Page 4 line 23 – page 5 line 32 describe an apparatus for performing the disclosed functions, where the apparatus includes a user mobile device, a personal computer, a server, or “some other form of device.” The apparatus is disclosed as having a data processor as well as non-transitory memory devices storing computer readable instructions for execution by the data processor. The apparatus is therefore construed as encompassing generic computing components.
The apparatus only amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The apparatus is only recited at a high level of generality as performing the subsequent functions and is disclosed broadly as a data processor. This element is therefore not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claim 7 recites wherein the imaging data comprises at least one of: video data; and medical imaging data. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 8 recites wherein the data comprises one or more of: video data: audio data; medical imaging data; or radio frequency tag data. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 8 further recites the additional element of the plurality of devices.
Page 6 line 34 – page 7 line 20 describes the data collecting devices as including a camera, microphone, RF detector, imaging equipment, and a barcode scanner. Each of these is construed as encompassing general forms of cameras, microphones, RF detectors, imaging equipment, and barcode scanners.
The above elements each only amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The recited devices only recited at a high level of generality as a source of data and disclosed broadly. These elements are therefore not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 9 recites wherein for one or more of the plurality of devices: the processing of the data of the respective device to identify the sub-event occurring during the procedure comprises processing the data of the respective device to derive the label of the respective identified sub-event. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above. Examiner notes that the “plurality of devices” and “respective device” above are not recited within the claim as performing any function, and are only recited to differentiate the data being processed.
Claim 9 further recites the additional element of a further machine learning model used to process the data of the respective data modality to derive the label.
Page 16 lines 27-33 and page 24 lines 33-36 describe processing modality data using a machine learning model, such as a convolutional neural network.
The recited further machine learning model only amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The further machine learning model is only recited at a high level of generality as receiving the respective modality data to derive the labels, and disclosed broadly as encompassing architectures such as a convolutional neural network. The machine learning model is only operating in its generic capacity as a mechanism to process the modality data, and is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 10 recites the data comprising the imaging data, and processing the imaging data to derive the label of the respective identified sub-event. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 10 further recites the additional elements of a) the plurality of devices, and b) the further machine learning model as used to process the imaging data and as comprising a convolutional neural network.
Page 6 line 34 – page 7 line 20 describes the data collecting devices as including a camera, microphone, RF detector, imaging equipment, and a barcode scanner. Each of these is construed as encompassing general forms of cameras, microphones, RF detectors, imaging equipment, and barcode scanners.
Page 11 lines 8-10, page 16 lines 27-33 and page 24 lines 33-36 describe processing modality data using a machine learning model in the form of a convolutional neural network.
The recited convolutional neural network and devices only amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The convolutional neural network is only recited at a high level of generality as receiving the respective modality data to derive the labels, and is only operating in its generic capacity as a mechanism to process the modality data. The recited devices are only recited at a high level of generality as a source of data and disclosed broadly. These elements are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 11 recites the data comprising audio data, wherein the audio data is processed to derive text representing the audio data, and to derive the label of the respective identified sub-event. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 11 further recites the additional elements of a) the plurality of devices, and b) the further machine learning model as used to process the audio data and as comprising a speech recognition model configured to derive text representing the audio data.
Page 6 line 34 – page 7 line 20 describes the data collecting devices as including a camera, microphone, RF detector, imaging equipment, and a barcode scanner. Each of these is construed as encompassing general forms of cameras, microphones, RF detectors, imaging equipment, and barcode scanners.
Page 9 lines 8-11 and page 10 lines 12-15 describe the use of a speech recognition model to derive text from received audio data. No further disclosure of a specific speech recognition algorithm is provided.
The recited speech recognition model and devices only amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The speech recognition model is only recited at a high level of generality as processing the audio data to derive text, and is only operating in its generic capacity as a mechanism to convert the audio data to text. The recited devices are only recited at a high level of generality as a source of data and disclosed broadly. These elements are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 12 recites processing the text to derive the label identifying the sub-event. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 12 further recites the additional elements of a) the apparatus as performing the subsequent data processing functions and b) a natural language understanding model as used to process the text to derive the label.
Page 4 line 23 – page 5 line 32 describe an apparatus for performing the disclosed functions, where the apparatus includes a user mobile device, a personal computer, a server, or “some other form of device.” The apparatus is disclosed as having a data processor as well as non-transitory memory devices storing computer readable instructions for execution by the data processor. The apparatus is therefore construed as encompassing generic computing components.
Page 9 lines 8-11 and page 10 lines 12-15 describe the use of a natural language understanding model to derive a label from the text. No further disclosure of a natural language understanding model is provided.
These elements only amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The apparatus is only recited at a high level of generality as performing the subsequent functions and is disclosed broadly as a data processor. The natural language understanding model is likewise only recited at a high level of generality as processing the text data to derive a label, and is only disclosed broadly. These elements are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 13 recites determining the higher level event and associated time information indicating when, in the clinical procedure, the higher level event took place. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 13 further recites the additional elements of a) the apparatus as controlling a display, b) the display recited as providing a visual display indicative of the higher level event and associated time information.
Page 4 line 23 – page 5 line 32 describe an apparatus for performing the disclosed functions, where the apparatus includes a user mobile device, a personal computer, a server, or “some other form of device.” The apparatus is disclosed as having a data processor as well as a display for displaying visual content. Page 22 lines 10-13 also describes a display provided on a user interface including a timeline of events. The apparatus and display are construed as encompassing generic computing components, while the visual display is similarly construed as encompassing graphical elements on a computer interface.
These elements only amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. The apparatus is only recited at a high level of generality as performing the subsequent functions and is disclosed broadly as a data processor. The display and visual display are likewise only recited at a high level of generality as providing a visual display of the generated higher level event and time information, and are likewise only disclosed broadly. These elements are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 16 recites processing the data to generate a label in response to a change in the stream of data and performing a classification of the data to determine whether a sub-event belonging to one of a predetermined set of sub-events has taken place. These limitations fall within the scope of the abstract idea as set out above.
Claim 16 further recites additional elements of each watcher comprises a noise gate module and a labelling module, the noise gate module configured to monitor a stream of data received on the data channel with which the respective watcher is associated and triggering in response to the change in the stream of data the labelling module configured to receive data via the channel and perform the classification of the data.
As cited above, page 7 lines 22-24 and page 8 lines 8-13 describe the apparatus receiving data from a plurality of collecting devices, where “[t]he apparatus 100 thus receives the data belonging to a plurality of channels,” and the watchers being software modules executing on a processor receiving the data channels. The “channels” are not further defined beyond the data types being received via corresponding channels, and are therefore construed as encompassing generic computing and data transmission elements. The watchers are likewise construed as software executed on a generic processing device.
Page 9 lines 33-36 further provide that “[t]he watcher 310 comprises a noise gate module 400. The noise gate 400 monitors a stream of data received on the data channel with which the watcher 310 is associated.” Page 9 line 36 through page 10 line 2 states that “[t]he noise gate module is disclosed as part of the watcher software module and is construed as also software executed on a generic processing device.” The noise gate module and labelling module are each disclosed as part of the watcher software module and are also construed as software executed on a generic processing device.
These elements only amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea using computing elements as tools. For example, the noise gate module and labelling module are each recited at a high level of generality as used to process the stream of data for changes and perform the classification of the data. These elements are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 1-16 are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
a noise gate module in claim 16, and
a labelling module in claim 16.
Page 9 line 33 – page 10 describe a watcher comprising a noise gate module and labelling module, while page 8 lines 8-13 describe the watchers as a software module running on the processor. The watchers are construed accordingly as software.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the imaging data" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because neither claim 7 nor claim 1 from which it depends recite “imaging data.”
Claim 8 is indefinite because Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. The claim recites that the plurality of devices “comprises one or more of: video data; audio data; medical imaging data; or radio frequency tag data.” It is not clear how the devices themselves comprise data, and the claim does not recite that the data from the plurality of devices comprises one or more of the recited types of data.
Claim 10 is indefinite because Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. Similarly to claim 8, claim 10 recites that the plurality of devices comprise the imaging data, and the claim does not recite that the data from the plurality of devices comprises one or more of the recited types of data. It is not clear how the devices themselves comprise imaging data. Additionally, the limitation “the imaging data” lacks antecedent basis because neither claim 10 nor claims 1 and 9 from which it depends recite “imaging data.”
Claim 11 is indefinite because Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. Similarly to claim 8, claim 11 recites that the plurality of devices comprises audio data, and it is not clear how the devices themselves comprise audio data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0028525) in view of Ayvali et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0093555).
With respect to claim 1, Venkataraman discloses the claimed apparatus (Figure 4 and [60]-[62] describe a computing device performing the functions), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of channels, each channel configured to receive data from a respective device of a plurality of devices, wherein the plurality of devices comprise at least two of a medical imaging apparatus, a camera, a microphone, an RF detector, or a barcode scanner, wherein the data is collected during a clinical procedure (Figure 1 shows a plurality of video data, audio data, and image data channels; Figure 2 element 202, [33], [40], [47], and [53] describe the system receiving data collected during a surgical procedure from a plurality of channels including from imaging apparatuses, audio data recorders, cameras, and others), and the data is provided with reference to a common timeline over which the data is collected([8], [50], and [58] describe the data from each of the modalities being time synchronized based on common timestamps); and
a plurality of watchers, each watcher associated with a respective one of the channels (Figure 1 elements 102-106, [31], and [37] describe each channel having a corresponding segmentation engine),
wherein:
the apparatus is configured to process the data received via each channel to generate a label identifying a sub-event occurring at a time on the common timeline and indicated by the processed data (Figure 1 elements 102-106, Figure 2 element 204, [31], [32], [37], [38], and [41]-[45] describe a set of segmentation engines extracting information from the modality data and converting it into a text representation of the data contents, i.e. a label. Examiner notes page 8 lines 13-29 of Applicant’s specification as-filed, describing labels as numerical or string values representing information such as contents of an image or pieces of medical equipment); and
the apparatus is configured to process the labels for each of the identified sub-events obtained from a plurality of the watchers for a plurality of the channels based on the relative time of occurrence of the sub-events thereby to obtain a higher level classification of a higher level event, wherein at least some of the sub-events used to derive the classification of the higher level event occur at different times ([32], [46], [49], [50], [56], and [59] describe combining the text features and temporal data into a comprehensive feature set and determining higher level events including successful or unsuccessful removal of tissue, outcomes, and the presence of particular tissues in real time; [37], [38], and [42] describe different labeled events from different times in a procedure);
but does not expressly disclose:
determining, automatically, stages of a clinical procedure, and wherein the higher level event is a stage of a clinical procedure.
However, Ayvali teaches that it was old and well known in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to automatically determine stages of a clinical procedure based on events identified during the clinical procedure (Figure 3, [42], [45], [46], and [48] describe a system automatically identifying phases of a surgical procedure by identifying events during the procedure).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Venkataraman to automatically determine stages of a clinical procedure based on events identified during the clinical procedure as taught by Ayvali since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Venkataraman already discloses identifying further medical events using labeled sub-events as well as separately identifying phases (see e.g. Venkataraman [42]), and using the labeled sub-events to identify stages of the surgical procedure as taught by Ayvali would serve that same function in Venkataraman, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 2, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Venkataraman further discloses:
wherein for each of the plurality of devices, the step of processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events comprises: providing the labels as inputs to a machine learning model to obtain the higher level classification of the higher level event (Figure 1, [32], [46], [49] describe using a machine learning model to process the combined text features and output information such as a location of a tumor or whether the tumor has been correctly identified and removed).
With respect to claim 3, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 2. Venkataraman further discloses:
wherein for each of the devices, the processing of the data of the respective device and the generation of the label is performed in real time as the data is received, wherein providing the labels as inputs to the machine learning model comprises, for each of the labels, upon the generation of the respective label: providing the respective label as an input to the machine learning model (Claim 5, [12], [32], [40], and [59] describe the data being collected in real time during the procedure as well as performing the data analytics in real time during the procedure, where the data analytics is described as including the analysis of the combined feature set).
With respect to claim 4, Venkataraman discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2. Venkataraman does not expressly disclose wherein the machine learning model is a recurrent neural network.
However, Ayvali teaches that it was old and well known in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process labels from imaging data using a recurrent neural network to obtain a higher level event (Figure 4A element 405, [76], and [81] describe using an RNN to process objects identified in surgical video and generate a phase prediction).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Venkataraman and Ayvali to process labels to obtain a higher level event using a recurrent neural network as taught by Ayvali since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Venkataraman already discloses providing labels as inputs to a machine learning model to obtain the output of the higher level event (see citations above with respect to claim 2), and using a recurrent neural network as that machine learning model as taught by Ayvali would serve that same function in Venkataraman and Ayvali, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 7, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Venkataraman further discloses:
wherein the imaging data comprises at least one of video data and medical imaging data (Figure 1 elements 112 and 114, [10], [11], and [40] describe the data including both video data from cameras and medical imaging data from various patient imaging modalities).
With respect to claim 8, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Venkataraman further discloses:
wherein the plurality of devices comprises one or more of video data, audio data, medical imaging data (Figure 1 elements 112-116, [10]-[12], and [40] describe the data including audio data, video data from cameras, and medical imaging data from various patient imaging modalities), or radio frequency tag data.
With respect to claim 9, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim l. Venkataraman further discloses:
wherein for one or more of the plurality of devices: the processing of the data of the respective device to identify the sub-event occurring during the procedure comprises providing the data of the respective device to a further machine learning model to derive the label of the respective identified sub-event ([31], [41], and [43] describe the segmentation engines used to derive the text features as including machine learning models).
With respect to claim 10, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 9. Venkataraman further discloses:
wherein one or more of the plurality of devices comprises the imaging data ([10], [11], and [40] describe the data including medical imaging data from various patient imaging modalities),
wherein, for the imaging data, the respective further machine learning model used to derive the label of the respective identified event comprises a convolutional neural network ([43] describes each of the segmentation machine learning models as constructed based on a convolutional neural network).
With respect to claim 11, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 9. Venkataraman further discloses:
wherein one or more of the plurality of devices comprises audio data (Figure 1 element 116, [12], [40], and [53] describe the data including recorded audio data),
wherein for the audio data, the respective further machine learning model used to derive the label of the respective identified sub-event comprises a speech recognition model configured to derive text representing the audio data ([31], [33], [38], [41] and [43] describe using a machine learning model to convert a surgeon’s narration and comments into text data).
With respect to claim 14, Venkataraman discloses the claimed method, the method comprising:
receiving, by each of a plurality of channels, data from a respective device of a plurality of devices, wherein the plurality of devices comprise at least two of a medical imaging apparatus, a camera, a microphone, an RF detector, or a barcode scanner, wherein the data is collected during a clinical procedure (Figure 1 shows a plurality of video data, audio data, and image data channels; Figure 2 element 202, [33], [40], [47], and [53] describe the system receiving data collected during a surgical procedure from a plurality of channels including from imaging apparatuses, audio data recorders, cameras, and others) and the data is provided with reference to a common timeline over which the data is collected ([8], [50], and [58] describe the data from each of the modalities being time synchronized based on common timestamps);
processing the data received via each channel to generate a label identifying a sub-event occurring at a time on the common timeline and indicated by the processed data (Figure 1 elements 102-106, Figure 2 element 204, [31], [32], [37], [38], and [41]-[45] describe a set of segmentation engines extracting information from the modality data and converting it into a text representation of the data contents, i.e. a label. Examiner notes page 8 lines 13-29 of Applicant’s specification as-filed, describing labels as numerical or string values representing information such as contents of an image or pieces of medical equipment); and
processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events obtained from a plurality of watchers each associated with a respective one of the channels (Figure 1 elements 102-106, [31], and [37] describe each channel having a corresponding segmentation engine) based on the relative time of occurrence of the sub-events thereby to obtain a higher level classification of a higher level event, wherein the higher level event is a stage of a clinical procedure and at least some of the sub-events used to derive the classification of the higher level event occur at different times ([32], [46], [49], [50], [56], and [59] describe combining the text features and temporal data into a comprehensive feature set and determining higher level events including successful or unsuccessful removal of tissue, outcomes, and the presence of particular tissues in real time; [37], [38], and [42] describe different labeled events from different times in a procedure);
but does not expressly disclose:
determining, automatically, stages of a clinical procedure, and wherein the higher level event is a stage of a clinical procedure.
However, Ayvali teaches that it was old and well known in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to automatically determine stages of a clinical procedure based on events identified during the clinical procedure (Figure 3, [42], [45], [46], and [48] describe a system automatically identifying phases of a surgical procedure by identifying events during the procedure).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Venkataraman to automatically determine stages of a clinical procedure based on events identified during the clinical procedure as taught by Ayvali since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Venkataraman already discloses identifying further medical events using labeled sub-events as well as separately identifying phases (see e.g. Venkataraman [42]), and using the labeled sub-events to identify stages of the surgical procedure as taught by Ayvali would serve that same function in Venkataraman, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 15, Venkataraman discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising computer readable computer-readable instructions, which when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to (Figure 4, [60]-[62], and [70] describe a computing device having a processor and non-transitory memory as performing the functions) perform a method, the method comprising:
receiving by each of a plurality of channels, data from a respective device of a plurality of devices, wherein the plurality of devices comprise at least two of a medical imaging apparatus, a camera, a microphone, an RF detector, or a barcode scanner, wherein the data is collected during a clinical procedure (Figure 1 shows a plurality of video data, audio data, and image data channels; Figure 2 element 202, [33], [40], [47], and [53] describe the system receiving data collected during a surgical procedure from a plurality of channels including from imaging apparatuses, audio data recorders, cameras, and others) and the data is provided with reference to a common timeline over which the data is collected ([8], [50], and [58] describe the data from each of the modalities being time synchronized based on common timestamps);
processing the data received via each channel to generate a label identifying a sub-event occurring at a time on the common timeline and indicated by the processed data (Figure 1 elements 102-106, Figure 2 element 204, [31], [32], [37], [38], and [41]-[45] describe a set of segmentation engines extracting information from the modality data and converting it into a text representation of the data contents, i.e. a label. Examiner notes page 8 lines 13-29 of Applicant’s specification as-filed, describing labels as numerical or string values representing information such as contents of an image or pieces of medical equipment); and
sub-events obtained from a plurality of watchers each associated with a respective one of the channels (Figure 1 elements 102-106, [31], and [37] describe each channel having a corresponding segmentation engine) based on the relative time of occurrence of the sub-events thereby to obtain a higher level classification of a higher level event, wherein the higher level event is a stage of a clinical procedure and at least some of the sub-events used to derive the classification of the higher level event occur at different times ([32], [46], [49], [50], [56], and [59] describe combining the text features and temporal data into a comprehensive feature set and determining higher level events including successful or unsuccessful removal of tissue, outcomes, and the presence of particular tissues in real time; [37], [38], and [42] describe different labeled events from different times in a procedure).
Claims 5, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0028525) in view of Ayvali et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0093555) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Akiyama et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0031271).
With respect to claim 5, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the data processing apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the step of processing the labels for each of the identified sub-events comprises:
providing each of the labels as inputs to the machine learning model based on when they occurred in the common timeline ([50], [51], and [58] describe determining a set of labels occurring in a common portion of the timeline and grouping them for processing; [49] describes using a machine learning model to process combined text features);
but does not expressly disclose:
providing the labels as inputs in an order in which the corresponding identified sub-events occurred.
However, Akiyama teaches that it was old and well known in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process labels in an order in which the corresponding identified events occurred ([33], [64], [68]-[70], and [72] describe sequentially acquiring medical images during a procedure and providing each image in sequence to an event detector).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Venkataraman and Ayvali to process labels to process the labels in an order in which the corresponding identified events occurred as taught by Akiyama since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Venkataraman already discloses providing the labels to the machine learning model based on when the corresponding identified events occurred, and doing so in an order in which they occurred as taught by Akiyama would serve that same function in Venkataraman and Ayvali, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 6, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further configured to:
for each of the identified sub-events, output time information indicating a time in the common timeline at which the respective identified sub-event occurred ([50] describes the system associating a timestamp with identified events such as discussion of a tumor in the audio data); and
process the time information for the identified sub-events ([50] describes processing timestamps for the events);
but does not expressly disclose:
processing the time information to determine a time associated with the higher level event.
However, Akiyama teaches that it was old and well known in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use time information associated with events to determine a time associated with a further medical event (Figures 5 and 12, [68]-[70], [85], [89], and [90] describe recording the time corresponding to each medical images during a procedure and using events in the image, such as positions of tools, to determine the time of a further associated event such as ‘balloon dilation’).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Venkataraman and Ayvali to use time information associated with events to determine a time associated with a further medical event as taught by Akiyama since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Venkataraman already discloses identifying a time for identified events and processing that time information, and doing so to determine a time associated with the further medical event as taught by Akiyama would serve that same function in Venkataraman and Ayvali, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
With respect to claim 13, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Venkataraman further discloses
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: control a display to provide a visual display indicative of the higher level event ([46] describes outputting visualizations of the metrics and outcomes);
but does not expressly disclose:
the visual display indicating associated time information indicating when, in the clinical procedure, the higher level event took place.
However, Akiyama teaches that it was old and well known in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a visual display indicating associated time information indicating when, in a clinical procedure, a further medical event took place (Figure 12, [89]-[92], [95], [126], and [127] describe outputting a timeline showing the chronological order and time of each image and further event).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Venkataraman to provide a visual display indicating associated time information indicating when, in a clinical procedure, a further medical event took place as taught by Akiyama since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Venkataraman already discloses providing a visual display indicative of the further medical event, and having the display indicate associated time information indicating when, in the clinical procedure, the further medical event took place as taught by Akiyama would serve that same function in Venkataraman, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0028525) in view of Ayvali et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0093555) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Guzman-Garcia et al Speech-Based Surgical Phase Recognition for Non-Intrusive Surgical Skills’ Assessment in Educational Contexts (hereinafter Guzman-Garcia).
With respect to claim 12, Venkataraman/Ayvali teach the apparatus as claimed in claim 11. Venkataraman does not expressly disclose processing the text using a natural language understanding model to derive the label identifying the sub-event
However, Guzman-Garcia teaches that it was old and well known in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process text using a natural language understanding model to derive a label identifying a medical event (§§1.3 and 2.2 describe transcribing audio of a procedure into text and then further applying natural language processing algorithms to derive context and meaning for features).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of surgical monitoring before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Venkataraman and Ayvali to process the text using a natural language understanding model to derive the label identifying a medical event as taught by Guzman-Garcia since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well-known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case Venkataraman already discloses transcribing audio data into text, and processing that text using a natural language understanding model to derive the label as taught by Guzman-Garcia would serve that same function in Venkataraman and Ayvali, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
Claims Not Rejected Under 35 USC 102/103
Claim 16 is not presently rejected under 35 USC 102/103 in view of the closest prior art of record cited herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dhariwal et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0326172);
Mitrea et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0136045);
Luengo Muntion et al US Patent Application Publication 2024/0161497).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gregory Lultschik/Examiner, Art Unit 3682