DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/17/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mix up preventer for preventing mix-up” in claim 7.
The specification discusses the mix-up preventer as the shape of the holder and corresponding bag/cartridge/storage in [76, 66, 105] and Fig. 4, 5, and also discusses an ID code on the storage/cartridge and a corresponding reader at/near the holder in [106] or also a marker/ID at both the storage/cartdrige and at the holder where an operator can perform verification [108].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, it is unclear what is or is not being positively recited. Line 2 recites a holder for detachably holding a liquid supplier, where the liquid supplier is not positively recited. However, lines 2-3 then state “including a storage…and an ejector…” where it is unclear if the holder includes these limitations or if the liquid supplier includes these limitations. If these are part of the liquid supplier, then the storage and ejector are not positively recited as part of the apparatus. If the storage and ejector are not part of the liquid supplier, then it is unclear what a liquid supplier is attempting to be defined by. As drafted, the claim appears to only positively recite a holder and the limitations of the storage and ejector are interpreted as part of the unclaimed liquid supplier and are therefore directed towards intended use.
Claims 2-19 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
As to claim 5, it is unclear what a product generated is attempting to recite. How is the product generated? There is no actual product being formed or created, and it is unclear what or how a product is generated. Further, it is unclear how the conveyor relates to the rest of the structure (i.e. the holder) since there is no nexus between the conveyor and the rest of the processing apparatus structure.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear how the biological sample is processed. Specifically, claim 1 recites a liquid used for processing a sample, but there is not any further description of processing a sample. Therefore, it is unclear where the sample is and how it is processed, or processed in a continuous manner, without further clarification on what defines processing and also where the sample is located within the apparatus.
With respect to claim 7, it is unclear what is attempting to be claimed by the mix-up preventer. The mix-up preventer appears to not only relate to the holder, but also to the storage/cartridge itself. However, because the storage is not positively recited, then the claimed features are attempting to relate the claimed holder with respect to the unclaimed storage when in use. Therefore, it becomes unclear since there are claimed features being related to unclaimed features. A potential infringer would not understand whether a particular apparatus with a holder alone would meet the claims or not since the storage is not positively recited.
Regarding claim 12, it is unclear how the biological sample is processed. Specifically, claim 1 recites a liquid used for processing a sample, but there is not any further description of processing a sample. Therefore, it is unclear where the sample is and how it is processed without further clarification on what defines processing and also where the sample is located within the apparatus. Also, how is the processor detachable, and what does it process? How is the processor elated to the other features of the apparatus?
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear how the biological sample is processed and also unclear how processing creates waste. Specifically, claim 1 recites a liquid used for processing a sample, but there is not any further description of processing a sample or how this processing would create waste. Therefore, it is unclear where the sample is and how it is processed without further clarification on what defines processing and also where the sample is located within the apparatus.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 12, 13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Shiraiwa, H (US 20180044624; hereinafter “Shiraiwa”; already of record).
As to claim 1, Shiraiwa teaches a biological sample processing apparatus (As best understood, Shiraiwa teaches a processing device; abstract) comprising a holder for detachably holding a liquid supplier including a storage for storing a liquid used for processing a biological sample and an ejector for pushing the liquid out from inside the storage to eject the liquid directly to an ejection destination (As best understood, Shiraiwa teaches a holder on 110 that holds cartridge 200; Fig. 4, [80]. As best understood, the examiner notes that the storage is not positively recited and therefore limitations towards the storage do not further define the apparatus structure. Further, even if the storage was positively recited, what the storage is used to store is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches a liquid supplier as the cartridge 200 with liquid storage chamber 213/224 and ejector 221/212; [86, 88, 91, 101], Fig. 5).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”, “for…”, etc…). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
As to claim 2, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the storage is configured to store the liquid in an amount corresponding to one-time use (As best understood, the examiner notes that the storage is not positively recited and therefore limitations towards the storage do not further define the apparatus structure. Further, even if the storage was positively recited, what the storage is used to store is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches culture medium; [80, 86, 101]).
As to claim 3, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the storage is configured to store the liquid in an amount corresponding to multiple-time use (As best understood, the examiner notes that the storage is not positively recited and therefore limitations towards the storage do not further define the apparatus structure. Further, even if the storage was positively recited, what the storage is used to store is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches culture medium; [80, 86, 101]).
As to claim 4, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising a driver configured to drive the ejector to eject the liquid (Shiraiwa teaches a drive mechanism 249 that drives the valve 240/226; Fig. 5C, 7, [93, 97]).
As to claim 5, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising a conveyor for conveying a product generated during the processing (Shiraiwa teaches a transfer part 13/23/33, serving to transfer/convey the culture containers 75 in which the cells and culture medium are placed; [62, 66, 71], Fig. 2. Shiraiwa teaches that the culture containers are conveyed; [147]. Also, Shiraiwa teaches that the containers are conveyed/transported; Fig. 3, [58]).
As to claim 6, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 5 (see above), configured to continuously process the biological sample (As best understood, the examiner notes that how the sample is processed is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches continuously culturing the cells; [146]).
As to claim 12, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising a detachable processor used for the processing of the biological sample (As best understood, Shiraiwa teaches that the cartridge is detachable; [80]. Alternatively, Shiraiwa teaches that the analysis part 104/106 is a separate module, and this would be able to be detached; [79, 81, 107], Fig. 4).
As to claim 13, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), further comprising a waste disposer for disposing of waste generated by the processing (Shiraiwa teaches a waste disposer 105c; [110-111], Fig. 11).
As to claim 16, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the biological sample is blood for making an induced pluripotent stem cell, the processing includes separation of a blood cell in the blood, and the liquid is phosphate buffered saline (PBS) (As best understood, the examiner notes that the sample and liquid, and the corresponding processing are not positively recited and therefore limitations towards these features do not further define the apparatus structure. Further, what defines the sample, liquid, and processing is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches culture medium; [80]).
As to claim 17, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the biological sample is a peripheral blood mononuclear cell (PBMC) for making an induced pluripotent stem cell, the processing includes the introduction of a factor into the peripheral blood mononuclear cell, and the liquid is the factor (As best understood, the examiner notes that the sample and liquid, and the corresponding processing are not positively recited and therefore limitations towards these features do not further define the apparatus structure. Further, what defines the sample, liquid, and processing is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches culture medium and cells; [80, 104]).
As to claim 18, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the liquid is an intermediate product generated while an induced pluripotent stem cell is being made (As best understood, the examiner notes that the liquid is not positively recited and therefore limitations towards the liquid do not further define the apparatus structure. Further, what defines the liquid is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches culture medium and cells; [80, 104]).
As to claim 19, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the ejection destination is a filter or a storing container (As best understood, the examiner notes that the ejection destination is not positively recited and therefore limitations towards the ejection destination do not further define the apparatus structure. Further, what defines the ejection destination is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. Shiraiwa teaches ejection into a container 75; [88], Fig. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraiwa, H (US 20180044624; hereinafter “Shiraiwa”; already of record) in view of Hamada et al (US 20110244558; hereinafter “Hamada”).
As to claim 7, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see above).
Shiraiwa does not teach a mix-up preventer. However, Hamada teaches the analogous art of a sample processing device (Hamada; abstract) with a holder for holding a liquid supply/storage, and a mix-up preventer for preventing mix-up of the liquid supplier (Hamada teaches a holder which holds a liquid supplier 200/300, where there is a reader to read a liquid supplier tag/code 260/360 to determine if the liquid supplier is appropriate, and also a label on the holder which can visually confirm the liquid supply, and when the code on the liquid supplier does not match the code on the holder then a user can be notified via the computer; Fig. 4-13, [55-65, 81, 111, 112]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the processing device which enables placement of liquid suppliers in holder of Shiraiwa to have included the mix up preventer as in Hamada because Hamada teaches that reading the ID can help determine when an appropriate liquid has been provided and alert a user when inappropriate liquid is provided (Hamada; [111, 112]) and this would also allow a visual check confirmation via a user (Hamada; [81]).
As to claim 8, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the mix-up preventer is provided at the storage and includes an identification code for identifying the liquid and a reader for reading the identification code (The modification of liquid suppliers in holder of Shiraiwa to have included the mix up preventer as in Hamada has already been discussed above. Hamada; Fig. 4-13, [55-65, 81, 111, 112]).
As to claim 9, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 8 (see above), wherein the mix-up preventer further comprises a controller configured to determine whether or not a correct liquid supplier is attached to the holder based on a result of reading the identification code (The modification of liquid suppliers in holder of Shiraiwa to have included the mix up preventer as in Hamada has already been discussed above. Hamada; Fig. 4-13, [55-65, 81, 111, 112]).
As to claim 10, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the mix-up preventer comprises the holder to which only a corresponding liquid supplier is attachable (As best understood, the examiner notes that how the holder is used is a matter of intended use that does not define the apparatus/storage beyond that of a capability. The modification of liquid suppliers in holder of Shiraiwa to have included the mix up preventer as in Hamada has already been discussed above. Hamada; Fig. 4-13, [55-65, 81, 111, 112]).
As to claim 11, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the mix-up preventer is provided at each of the liquid supplier and the holder and includes an identification marker for identifying a correspondence relationship between the liquid supplier and the holder (The modification of liquid suppliers in holder of Shiraiwa to have included the mix up preventer as in Hamada has already been discussed above. Hamada; Fig. 4-13, [55-65, 81, 111, 112]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraiwa, H (US 20180044624; hereinafter “Shiraiwa”; already of record) in view of Angros et al (US 20110150725; hereinafter “Angros”).
As to claims 14-15, Shiraiwa teaches the biological sample processing apparatus according to claim 4 (see above), with a driver for moving and ejecting fluid (see above).
Shiraiwa does not teach the driver is a syringe pump, and the ejector comprises a piston configured to be driven by the syringe pump for movement. However, Angros teaches the analogous art of a liquid supplier with a syringe pump driver, and the ejector comprises a piston configured to be driven by the syringe pump for movement (Angros teaches liquid supplier reagent containers 14/40 through which a syringe pump 154 is driven to actuate a piston 44 to eject liquid; [146, 170, 172, 176], Fig. 2, 23, 24. Angros teaches that the reagent containers can be syringe-like, and therefore the pump 154 is considered a syringe pump; [140]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the ejection of liquid from the liquid supplier via the driver of Shiraiwa to have ejected liquid via a syringe pump and piston as in Angros because Angros teaches that using an actuated piston is a known way to dispense reagents (Angros; [146, 170, 172, 176]), and because this would be simply substituting a known liquid ejection device of Angros for the known ejection device of Shiraiwa thereby achieving the same purpose and predictable result of ejecting fluids (See MPEP 2143 I. B).
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include;
Hatsuda et al (US 20260193580; hereinafter “Hatsuda”) teaches culture solution containers 21-26 where there is a pump in the container [59], and the amount can be for one production [111] where the size and shape of the containers can be different; Fig. 10-11, see also [107].
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798