DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 223 (fig. 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Element 223, shown in fig. 3, is missing from the specification
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 2 reads “of drive shaft” and should read –of drive shaft—
Claim 11, line 2 reads “to chassis” and should read –to the chassis--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sahr (US 20050020331 A1) in view of Alkhateeb (US 20210364036 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sahr discloses a combine harvester (10) comprising:
a chassis (fig. 1); and
a cleaning fan assembly (14) that is connected to the chassis, the cleaning fan assembly including:
a first housing (28) that is fixedly mounted to the chassis or other point on the combine harvester, the first housing defining a first hub (28, 56);
a second housing (50) that is mounted to the first housing, the second housing defining a second hub (50, 54);
a fan motor (12) that is fixedly mounted to the second housing, the fan motor including a rotatable output shaft (18);
a driveshaft (22) that is non-rotatably mounted to the rotatable output shaft for rotating along with the output shaft;
a bearing (52), wherein the bearing is configured to compensate for angular misalignment between the first hub and the second hub (paragraph 0014).
Sahrdoes not disclose the second hub being circumferentially surrounded by the first hub;
a first bearing arranged between the second hub and the driveshaft for guiding rotation of the driveshaft relative to the second hub; and
a second bearing arranged between the first hub and the second hub, wherein the second bearing is configured to compensate for angular misalignment between the first hub and the second hub.
Alkhateeb discloses a bearing assembly including:
a first housing (bearing housing 104) that is fixedly mounted, the first housing defining a first hub (104);
a second housing (108) that is mounted to the first housing, the second housing defining a second hub (120), the second hub being circumferentially surrounded by the first hub;
a first bearing (bearing 160) arranged between the second hub (120) and a driveshaft (a shaft received in passage 140, see fig. 1) for guiding rotation of the driveshaft relative to the second hub; and
a second bearing (176, 212) arranged between the first hub (104) and the second hub (120), wherein the second bearing is configured to compensate for angular misalignment between the first hub and the second hub (paragraph 0001, 0026, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced the bearing of Sahr with that of Alkhateeb to ensure that stress is uniformly distributed upon the bearing.
Regarding claim 2, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the first and second hubs overlap each other in an axial direction (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the angular misalignment is relative to a longitudinal axis of drive shaft (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the second bearing (176, 212) is one of a spherical roller bearing, a self-aligning ball bearing, spherical plain bearing, a bushing, a rubber bushing and an angular contact bearing.
Regarding claim 5, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the first bearing (160) is not configured to compensate for angular misalignment between the first hub and the second hub (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the first bearing (160) is a ball bearing.
Regarding claim 7, Sahr, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein one end of driveshaft (22) is non-rotatably connected to the output shaft (18) and an opposing end of driveshaft is non-rotatably connected to an impeller of the cleaning fan assembly (14).
Regarding claim 8, Sahr, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 7, wherein the impeller of the cleaning fan assembly is configured to deliver air along a flow path that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of driveshaft (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Sahr, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 8, further comprising a sieve that is positioned in said flow path (paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 10, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the first housing (104) further comprises a first flange that is connected to a mating flange (132) of the second housing by a fastener (136) and flexible bushing (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the first housing further comprises a second flange that is connected to chassis by a fastener.
Regarding claim 12, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the second housing further comprises a flange that is connected to a mating flange of the fan motor by a fastener (136).
Regarding claim 13, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the first and second bearings (160, 176, 212) overlap each other in an axial direction (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the second bearing circumferentially surrounds the first bearing (see fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Alkhateeb, of the resultant combination, discloses the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the first and second bearings, the first and second hubs and the output shaft all overlap each other in an axial direction (see fig. 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230015150 A1 discloses a bearing arrangement that allows for misalignment.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671