DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on merits.
Information disclosure statement has been filed and reviewed by examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 11, and 18, the recited limitation “if the vehicle arrives at the second location” is indefinite. This limitation recites and “if” statement and therefore it is not necessitated in the claim. Examiner, suggest amending the limitation to recite “when the vehicle arrives at the second location”.
In claims 3, 4, 13, and 14, the recited limitation(s) wherein the outside air temperature includes…” is indefinite. This limitation is further narrowing a limitation “the outside air temperature” that under the broadest reasonable interpretation is not necessitated in the claim since claim 1 recite the obtaining of the predicted temperature is being done using either one (or limitation) of the options. For example, a state of charge could alone be used for obtaining the predicted temperature of the battery.
Claims 2, 5-10, 12, and 15-20 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
101 Analysis
Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, the claim is determined to be directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101 under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the Office is charged with determining whether the scope of the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1).
If the claim falls within one of the statutory categories (Step 1), the Office must then determine the two-prong inquiry for Step 2A whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea), and if so, whether the claim is integrated into a practical application of the exception.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1: Statutory Category
The independent claims are rejected under 35 USC §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a process and machine respectively, which are statutory categories of invention (Step 1: Yes).
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited
The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). The abstract idea falls under “Mental Processes” Grouping. The independent claims recite identifying a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle and an estimated time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location; dividing the route into at least one partial route depending on a change in a speed of the vehicle; identifying a predicted load current to be generated from the battery in the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption. These limitation(s), as drafted, is (are) a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a processor”. The claim limitations encompass a person looking at different types of data such as first location and second location, route data, speed data of a vehicle, and energy consumption data could identify a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle and an estimated time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location; divide the route into at least one partial route depending on a change in a speed of the vehicle; identify a predicted load current to be generated from the battery in the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption. The mere nominal recitation of “a processor” does not take the claim limitation(s) out of the mental process grouping and merely function to automate the generating steps. Thus, the claims recite a mental process. (step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial exception recited: Yes).
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong 2: Practical Application
The independent claims recite the additional limitations/elements of obtaining predicted energy consumption to be consumed while the vehicle is traveling along the route; obtain a predicted temperature of the battery, the predicted temperature to be identified if the vehicle arrives at the second location, using at least one of an outside air temperature, the predicted load current, an initial temperature of the battery, the initial temperature being identified at the first location, or a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery, the SOC being identified at the first location, or any combination thereof; a processor; and a memory. The obtaining steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. receiving/collecting various data (energy consumption, temperature data, etc.) and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The additional limitation(s) of a processor and a memory is/are recited at a high level of generality and merely function to automate the generating steps.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim(s) is/are directed to the abstract idea (Step 2A—Prong 2: Practical Application?: No).
101 Analysis – Step 2B: Inventive Concept
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element/limitation is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the obtaining steps/additional elements were considered to be extra-solution activities in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that these steps are performed by anything other than conventional components performing the conventional activity (steps) of the claim. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. The claim is ineligible (Step 2B: Inventive Concept?: No).
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 do not include any other additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al (US 20200062126 A1) in view of Hashimoto et al (US 20250167331 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Duan discloses a vehicle control apparatus, comprising: a processor (see at least [0022]); a memory operatively connected to the processor (see at least [0022-0023]); and a battery (see at least [0018]), wherein the processor is configured to: identify a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle (see at least [0034]); obtain predicted energy consumption to be consumed while the vehicle is traveling along the route (see at least [0032]); divide the route into at least one partial route depending on a change in a speed of the vehicle (see at least [0005-0007], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); identify a predicted load current to be generated from the battery in the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption (see at least [0005-0007], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); and obtain a predicted temperature of the battery, the predicted temperature to be identified if the vehicle arrives at the second location, using at least one of an outside air temperature, the predicted load current, an initial temperature of the battery, the initial temperature being identified at the first location, or a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery, the SOC being identified at the first location, or any combination thereof (see at least [0005-0007], [0027-0031], [0041], and [0049-0052]).
However, Duan do not specifically disclose estimating time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location.
Hashimoto teaches estimating time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location (see at least [0069-0074], [0077-0078], [0106], and [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto of estimating time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location. This would be done to reduce battery degradation and improve battery efficiency (see Hashimoto para 0003-0006).
With respect to claim 2, Duan discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based a nominal voltage of the battery and the predicted energy consumption (see at least [0005-0007], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
However, Duan do not specifically disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based on regenerative braking and the estimated time of arrival.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based on regenerative braking and the estimated time of arrival (see at least [0060], [0069-0074], [0077-0085], [0087-0090], [0106], [0093-0099], and [0107-0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based on regenerative braking and the estimated time of arrival. This would be done to reduce battery degradation and improve battery efficiency (see Hashimoto para 0003-0006).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, they are method claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective apparatus claims 1 and 2. As such, claims 11 and 12 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective apparatus claims 1 and 2 and are incorporated herein.
Claims 3-7 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al (US 20200062126 A1) in view of Hashimoto et al (US 20250167331 A1) in view of Ing et al (US 20190315232 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Duan as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the outside air temperature includes a first outside air temperature and a second outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the first outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the second outside air temperature corresponding to a location of the vehicle which is traveling from an external electronic device, while the vehicle is traveling along the route; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the first outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is less than the first threshold.
Ing teaches wherein the outside air temperature includes a first outside air temperature and a second outside air temperature (see at least [0149-0150]), and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the first outside air temperature at the first location (see at least [0149-0150]); obtain the second outside air temperature corresponding to a location of the vehicle which is traveling from an external electronic device, while the vehicle is traveling along the route (see at least [0149-0150], “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”); obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see at least [0149-0150], “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the first outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is less than the first threshold (see at least [0149-0150], “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ing wherein the outside air temperature includes a first outside air temperature and a second outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the first outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the second outside air temperature corresponding to a location of the vehicle which is traveling from an external electronic device, while the vehicle is traveling along the route; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the first outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is less than the first threshold. This would be done for a more efficient battery thermal management of electric vehicle enabling electric vehicles to be more efficient and capable of travelling longer distance (see Ing para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 4, Duan as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the outside air temperature includes a third outside air temperature and a fourth outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the third outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the fourth outside air temperature indicating a temperature at the second location at the estimated time of arrival, from an external electronic device; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the fourth outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a second threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the third outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is less than the second threshold.
Ing teaches wherein the outside air temperature includes a third outside air temperature and a fourth outside air temperature (see at least [0140] and [0149-0150]), and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the third outside air temperature at the first location (see at least [0140] and [0149-0150]); obtain the fourth outside air temperature indicating a temperature at the second location at the estimated time of arrival, from an external electronic device (see at least [0140] and [0149-0150]); obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the fourth outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see at least [0140]] and [0149-0150], “…a battery may have a threshold temperature, such that upon a battery reaching the threshold temperature, a cooling (or heating) system may be initiated to prevent the battery from reaching the maximum (or minimum) temperature.”, “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the third outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is less than the second threshold see at least [0140]] and [0149-0150], “…a battery may have a threshold temperature, such that upon a battery reaching the threshold temperature, a cooling (or heating) system may be initiated to prevent the battery from reaching the maximum (or minimum) temperature.”, “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ing wherein the outside air temperature includes a third outside air temperature and a fourth outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the third outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the fourth outside air temperature indicating a temperature at the second location at the estimated time of arrival, from an external electronic device; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the fourth outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a second threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the third outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is less than the second threshold. This would be done for a more efficient battery thermal management of electric vehicle enabling electric vehicles to be more efficient and capable of travelling longer distance (see Ing para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 5, Duan disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a second parameter and a third parameter, using the predicted load current and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second parameter, the third parameter, the outside air temperature, or the initial temperature of the battery, or any combination thereof (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]), wherein the second parameter indicates energy lost by internal resistance of the battery, using the predicted load current and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]), and wherein the third parameter indicates an amount of change in entropy for the battery, using the predicted load current and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
With respect to claim 6, Duan wherein the second parameter is obtained based on a relationship between the internal resistance of the battery and a temperature of the battery and a relationship between the internal resistance of the battery and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
With respect to claim 7, Duan discloses wherein the processor is configured to: additionally identify a thermal capacity of the battery and thermal resistance of the battery due to the outside air temperature (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second parameter, the third parameter, or the initial temperature of the battery, or any combination thereof, the thermal capacity of the battery, and the thermal resistance of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
With respect to claims 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17, they are method claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective apparatus claims 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7. As such, claims 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective apparatus claims 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 and are incorporated herein.
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al (US 20200062126 A1, hereinafter Duan (126)) in view of Hashimoto et al (US 20250167331 A1) in view of Duan et al (US 20210218073 A1, hereinafter Duan (073)).
With respect to claim 8, Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the SOC includes a first SOC value, wherein the predicted temperature includes a first predicted temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a third location indicating a target charging station between the first location and the second location; obtain a second predicted temperature of the battery, the second predicted temperature to be identified in response that the vehicle arrives at the third location, based on the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, and the first SOC value of the battery; predict a second SOC value of the battery at the third location, based on the second predicted temperature; and identify a charging time for charging the battery from the second SOC to a predetermined SOC value, using the target charging station.
Duan (073) teaches wherein the SOC includes a first SOC value (see at least [0008-0010]), wherein the predicted temperature includes a first predicted temperature (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043], and [0050-0055]), and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a third location indicating a target charging station between the first location and the second location (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043], and [0050-0055]); obtain a second predicted temperature of the battery, the second predicted temperature to be identified in response that the vehicle arrives at the third location, based on the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, and the first SOC value of the battery (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0050-0055]); predict a second SOC value of the battery at the third location, based on the second predicted temperature (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0049-0059]); and identify a charging time for charging the battery from the second SOC to a predetermined SOC value, using the target charging station (see at least [0042] and [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Duan (073) wherein the SOC includes a first SOC value, wherein the predicted temperature includes a first predicted temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a third location indicating a target charging station between the first location and the second location; obtain a second predicted temperature of the battery, the second predicted temperature to be identified in response that the vehicle arrives at the third location, based on the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, and the first SOC value of the battery; predict a second SOC value of the battery at the third location, based on the second predicted temperature; and identify a charging time for charging the battery from the second SOC to a predetermined SOC value, using the target charging station. This would be done to improve battery life and battery operating efficiency including charging and discharging efficiency while the vehicle is driving for high capacity electrified vehicle batteries that may not be deeply discharged on a regular basis (see Duan (073) para 0001).
With respect to claim 9, Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a drivable distance of the vehicle, based on the SOC value of the battery; and identify the third location, using information associated with a plurality of charging stations, within a distance shorter than the drivable distance, and wherein the information associated with the plurality of charging stations includes at least one of a charging speed, a charging type, a distance from the vehicle for each of the charging stations, or whether the plurality of charging stations are available, or any combination thereof.
Duan (073) wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a drivable distance of the vehicle, based on the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0008-0012], [0025-0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0047-0059]); and identify the third location, using information associated with a plurality of charging stations, within a distance shorter than the drivable distance (see at least [0008-0012], [0025-0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0047-0059]), and wherein the information associated with the plurality of charging stations includes at least one of a charging speed, a charging type, a distance from the vehicle for each of the charging stations, or whether the plurality of charging stations are available, or any combination thereof (see at least [0008-0012], [0025-0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0047-0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Duan (073) wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a drivable distance of the vehicle, based on the SOC value of the battery; and identify the third location, using information associated with a plurality of charging stations, within a distance shorter than the drivable distance, and wherein the information associated with the plurality of charging stations includes at least one of a charging speed, a charging type, a distance from the vehicle for each of the charging stations, or whether the plurality of charging stations are available, or any combination thereof. This would be done to improve battery life and battery operating efficiency including charging and discharging efficiency while the vehicle is driving for high capacity electrified vehicle batteries that may not be deeply discharged on a regular basis (see Duan (073) para 0001).
With respect to claim 10, Duan (126) do not specifically disclose a display operatively connected to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: display the charging time together with text indicating the third location on the display, based on identifying the route.
Hashimoto teaches a display operatively connected to the processor (see at least [0068-0071] and [0107]), wherein the processor is further configured to: display the charging time together with text indicating the third location on the display, based on identifying the route (see at least [0068-0071] and [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto of a display operatively connected to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: display the charging time together with text indicating the third location on the display, based on identifying the route. This would be done to reduce battery degradation and improve battery efficiency (see Hashimoto para 0003-0006).
With respect to claims 18, 19, and 20, they are method claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective apparatus claims 8, 9, and 10. As such, claims 18, 19, and 20 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective apparatus claims 8, 9, and 10 and are incorporated herein.
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667