DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This Final action is in response to applicant’s amendment of 03/30/2026. Claims 1-20 are examined and pending. Claims 1, 3-4, and 11 are currently amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments/arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the Office Action have been fully considered and are persuasive. As such, the rejection as previously presented has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant specifically argue: Duan 216 fails to disclose such features. Instead, Duan merely discloses limiting vehicle speed when battery temperature exceeds a threshold. That is, Duan merely discloses propelling the vehicle along a segment of a route according to a predetermined speed profile that is derived from a predicted heat generation of the battery for the segment such that actual temperatures of the battery remain below a temperature threshold for the segment. See Duan 216, Abstract. In detail, in response to the controller determining that predicted battery temperatures for a constant speed profile would exceed the upper temperature limit, a variable speed profile, such as profile 218, is selected. See id, and paragraph 0052 and FIG. 5 of Duan 216, [0052] While the speed profile 218 includes variable speed, not all speed profiles selected by the method/controls of FIGS. 4 and 5 will have variable speeds within a segment of a route. The controller may be programmed to operate at a constant speed, e.g., the speed limit of the road, whenever possible as most occupants prefer to drive at the speed limit. The speed profile may be constant for at least one segment of the route responsive to predicted battery temperatures for that segment not exceeding a threshold, e.g., upper temperature limit. The route segment 212, however, do to elevations changes, cannot have a constant speed profile that maintains the traction battery 30 below the upper temperature limit 254. In response to the controller determining that predicted battery temperatures for a constant speed profile would exceed the upper temperature limit, a variable speed profile, such as profile 218, is selected such that actual battery temperatures for the segment remain below the upper temperature limit. the presently claimed invention may accept a planned driving profile, divide the route based on speed variation, predict load current per partial route, and predict battery temperature at a future arrival time. In addition, the present claims require dividing the route into partial routes based on speed change, identifying load current per partial route, and predicting temperature based on dynamic load modeling.
In addition, the present invention provides a structured thermal modeling framework directed to predicting a future physical state of the battery, by modeling heat generation based on internal resistance and SOC, incorporating entropy-based heat variation, integrating ambient temperature-dependent thermal resistance into future temperature prediction at arrival.
However, examiner respectfully disagree. Applicant is reminded that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Duna teaches identifying a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location (the controller receives a trip request from a vehicle occupant. The trip request may be an end destination, e.g., address, crossroads, business, etc., input by the occupant. In response to receiving the address, the controller may utilize a mapping system to calculate a route between the current destination and the end destination (see para 0034)); divide the route into at least one partial route based on a change in a speed of the vehicle (the controller generates a plurality of speed profiles V(i,t) for the route. The speed profiles may be for the entire route or for a segment of the route. Each speed profile includes one or more propulsion commands for the electric powertrain. (see para 0035)); identify a predicted load current to be generated from the battery for each of the at least one divided partial route based on the predicted consumption (the controller calculates vehicle power demand P(i,t) for each of the speed profiles. The power demand represents the amount of power that must be supplied by the traction battery in order to execute the speed profile. Vehicle accessory load power can be estimated and included in the vehicle power demand. (See para 0036)); obtain a predicted temperature of the battery, the predicted temperature to be identified when the vehicle arrives at the second location, using at least one of an outside air temperature, the predicted load current, an initial temperature of the battery at the first location, or a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery being identified at the first location (this particular segment 106 includes sections 108 of increasing road grade and decreasing road grade. The vehicle speed profile 110 for this segment 106 is constant. Maintaining a constant speed over variable road grade requires the battery to discharge when traveling uphill and charge (regeneratively brake) while traveling downhill to maintain the constant speed as shown by plot 103. Battery temperature is highly dependent upon current output of the traction battery. As shown by plot 104, attempting to maintain a constant speed over the varying road grade of segment 106 generates a significant amount of heat 112. As explained above, battery-cooling systems have a maximum capacity and operate more efficiently when operating in a lower range of that capacity. In this example, the heavy charging and discharging of the battery to maintain the vehicle speed profile 110 is generating heat 112 in excess of the cooling capacity 114. Thus, the temperature of the battery 116 is continuing to increase as shown by plot 105. To prevent battery damage, traction batteries have a maximum temperature limit 118, and vehicle controllers typically prevent the battery from exceeding that limit 118 by power limiting the battery in response to the battery temperature exceeding the upper limit 118. In this example, the battery temperature exceeds the upper limit 118 at time T1. In response, the battery is power limited causing the actual vehicle speed 120 drop below the speed profile 110 at time T1. Thus, after time T1, the vehicle will be operated at a speed slower than that desired by the occupant of the vehicle until the battery temperature is reduced below the upper limit 118.); wherein the predicted load is used as an input for obtaining the predicted temperature of the battery (the controller receives the set of speed profiles output by the algorithm 150. At operation 184, the controller calculates, for each profile, the current (I) required from the battery in order to deliver the speed profile. Using the current calculations from operation 184, the controller determines the heat generated for each speed profile at operation 186. The heat generated may be calculated using equation 2. As can be seen, the battery current is a predominate factor for heat generated. (see para 0041)).
As such, the rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained.
Applicant’s amendments/arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more have been carefully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant specifically argues the following:
The claim limitations of Claims 1 and 10 are not simply abstract ideas. Rather, but are concrete methods closely coupled with a physical system (ex, power module, NTC sensor, cooling system) to implement a specific thermodynamic modeling structure for predicting the future temperature of a physical battery system, wherein the prediction is based on: irreversible heat generation based on FR (internal resistance), entropy-based reversible heat associated with SOC variation, ambient temperature-dependent thermal resistance, and thermal capacity of the battery, combined with route segmentation according to vehicle speed variation to compute dynamic load current, thereby modelling the physical relationship among battery internal resistance, temperature, and SOC to predict the thermal behavior of a real battery pack at a future arrival time. Accordingly, this is not a "mental process" or pure mathematical abstraction but a technical solution directed to predicting the future physical state of a physical system.
The examiner has considered the arguments and respectfully disagree. The independent claims recite identifying a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle and an estimated time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location; dividing the route into at least one partial route based on a change in a speed of the vehicle; identifying a predicted load current to be generated from the battery for each of the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption, wherein the predicted load current is used as an input for obtaining the predicted temperature of the battery. These limitation(s), as drafted, is (are) a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a processor”. The claim limitations encompass a person looking at different types of data such as first location and second location, route data, speed data of a vehicle, and energy consumption data could identify a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle and an estimated time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location; divide the route into at least one partial route depending on a change in a speed of the vehicle; identify a predicted load current to be generated from the battery in the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption. The mere nominal recitation of “a processor” does not take the claim limitation(s) out of the mental process grouping and merely function to automate the generating steps. Thus, the claims recite a mental process. (step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial exception recited: Yes).
The independent claims recite the additional limitations/elements of obtaining predicted energy consumption to be consumed while the vehicle is traveling along the route; obtain a predicted temperature of the battery, the predicted temperature to be identified when the vehicle arrives at the second location, using at least one of an outside air temperature, the predicted load current, an initial temperature of the battery at the first location, or a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery identified at the first location; a processor; and a memory. The obtaining steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. receiving/collecting various data (energy consumption, temperature data, etc.) and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The additional limitation(s) of a processor and a memory is/are recited at a high level of generality and merely function to automate the generating steps.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim(s) is/are directed to the abstract idea (Step 2A—Prong 2: Practical Application?: No).
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element/limitation is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the obtaining steps/additional elements were considered to be extra-solution activities in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that these steps are performed by anything other than conventional components performing the conventional activity (steps) of the claim. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. The claim is ineligible (Step 2B: Inventive Concept?: No).
Thus, the claims as presented are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. As such, the rejection under USC 101 is maintained herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
101 Analysis
Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, the claim is determined to be directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101 under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the Office is charged with determining whether the scope of the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1).
If the claim falls within one of the statutory categories (Step 1), the Office must then determine the two-prong inquiry for Step 2A whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea), and if so, whether the claim is integrated into a practical application of the exception.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1: Statutory Category
The independent claims are rejected under 35 USC §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a process and machine respectively, which are statutory categories of invention (Step 1: Yes).
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited
The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). The abstract idea falls under “Mental Processes” Grouping. The independent claims recite identifying a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle and an estimated time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location; dividing the route into at least one partial route based on a change in a speed of the vehicle; identifying a predicted load current to be generated from the battery for each of the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption, wherein the predicted load current is used as an input for obtaining the predicted temperature of the battery. These limitation(s), as drafted, is (are) a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a processor”. The claim limitations encompass a person looking at different types of data such as first location and second location, route data, speed data of a vehicle, and energy consumption data could identify a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle and an estimated time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location; divide the route into at least one partial route depending on a change in a speed of the vehicle; identify a predicted load current to be generated from the battery in the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption. The mere nominal recitation of “a processor” does not take the claim limitation(s) out of the mental process grouping and merely function to automate the generating steps. Thus, the claims recite a mental process. (step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial exception recited: Yes).
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong 2: Practical Application
The independent claims recite the additional limitations/elements of obtaining predicted energy consumption to be consumed while the vehicle is traveling along the route; obtain a predicted temperature of the battery, the predicted temperature to be identified when the vehicle arrives at the second location, using at least one of an outside air temperature, the predicted load current, an initial temperature of the battery at the first location, or a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery identified at the first location; a processor; and a memory. The obtaining steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. receiving/collecting various data (energy consumption, temperature data, etc.) and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The additional limitation(s) of a processor and a memory is/are recited at a high level of generality and merely function to automate the generating steps.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim(s) is/are directed to the abstract idea (Step 2A—Prong 2: Practical Application?: No).
101 Analysis – Step 2B: Inventive Concept
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element/limitation is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the obtaining steps/additional elements were considered to be extra-solution activities in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that these steps are performed by anything other than conventional components performing the conventional activity (steps) of the claim. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. The claim is ineligible (Step 2B: Inventive Concept?: No).
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 do not include any other additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al (US 20200062126 A1) in view of Hashimoto et al (US 20250167331 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Duan discloses a vehicle control apparatus, comprising: a processor (see at least [0022]); a memory operatively connected to the processor (see at least [0022-0023]); and a battery (see at least [0018]), wherein the processor is configured to: identify a route from a first location of a vehicle to a second location of the vehicle (see at least [0034]); obtain predicted energy consumption to be consumed while the vehicle is traveling along the route (see at least [0032]); divide the route into at least one partial route based on a change in a speed of the vehicle (see at least [0005-0007], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); identify a predicted load current to be generated from the battery for each of the at least one divided partial route, based on the predicted energy consumption (see at least [0005-0007], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); and obtain a predicted temperature of the battery, the predicted temperature to be identified when the vehicle arrives at the second location, using at least one of an outside air temperature, the predicted load current, an initial temperature of the battery at the first location, or a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery being identified at the first location (see at least [0005-0007], [0027-0031], [0041], and [0049-0052]); wherein the predicted load is used as an input for obtaining the predicted temperature of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0027-0031], [0041], and [0049-0052]).
However, Duan do not specifically disclose estimating time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location.
Hashimoto teaches estimating time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location (see at least [0069-0074], [0077-0078], [0106], and [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto of estimating time of arrival when the vehicle will arrive at the second location. This would be done to reduce battery degradation and improve battery efficiency (see Hashimoto para 0003-0006).
With respect to claim 2, Duan discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based a nominal voltage of the battery and the predicted energy consumption (see at least [0005-0007], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
However, Duan do not specifically disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based on regenerative braking and the estimated time of arrival.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based on regenerative braking and the estimated time of arrival (see at least [0060], [0069-0074], [0077-0085], [0087-0090], [0106], [0093-0099], and [0107-0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the predicted load current, using a first parameter associated with electrical energy to be charged based on regenerative braking and the estimated time of arrival. This would be done to reduce battery degradation and improve battery efficiency (see Hashimoto para 0003-0006).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, they are method claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective apparatus claims 1 and 2. As such, claims 11 and 12 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective apparatus claims 1 and 2 and are incorporated herein.
Claims 3-7 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al (US 20200062126 A1) in view of Hashimoto et al (US 20250167331 A1) in view of Ing et al (US 20190315232 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Duan as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the outside air temperature comprises a first outside air temperature and a second outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the first outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the second outside air temperature corresponding to a location of the vehicle which is traveling from an external electronic device, while the vehicle is traveling along the route; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the first outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is less than the first threshold.
Ing teaches wherein the outside air temperature comprises a first outside air temperature and a second outside air temperature (see at least [0149-0150]), and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the first outside air temperature at the first location (see at least [0149-0150]); obtain the second outside air temperature corresponding to a location of the vehicle which is traveling from an external electronic device, while the vehicle is traveling along the route (see at least [0149-0150], “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”); obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see at least [0149-0150], “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the first outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is less than the first threshold (see at least [0149-0150], “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ing wherein the outside air temperature comprises a first outside air temperature and a second outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the first outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the second outside air temperature corresponding to a location of the vehicle which is traveling from an external electronic device, while the vehicle is traveling along the route; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the first outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the first outside air temperature and the second outside air temperature is less than the first threshold. This would be done for a more efficient battery thermal management of electric vehicle enabling electric vehicles to be more efficient and capable of travelling longer distance (see Ing para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 4, Duan as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the outside air temperature comprises a third outside air temperature and a fourth outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the third outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the fourth outside air temperature indicating a temperature at the second location at the estimated time of arrival, from an external electronic device; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the fourth outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a second threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the third outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is less than the second threshold.
Ing teaches wherein the outside air temperature comprises a third outside air temperature and a fourth outside air temperature (see at least [0140] and [0149-0150]), and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the third outside air temperature at the first location (see at least [0140] and [0149-0150]); obtain the fourth outside air temperature indicating a temperature at the second location at the estimated time of arrival, from an external electronic device (see at least [0140] and [0149-0150]); obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the fourth outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see at least [0140]] and [0149-0150], “…a battery may have a threshold temperature, such that upon a battery reaching the threshold temperature, a cooling (or heating) system may be initiated to prevent the battery from reaching the maximum (or minimum) temperature.”, “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the third outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is less than the second threshold (see at least [0140]] and [0149-0150], “…a battery may have a threshold temperature, such that upon a battery reaching the threshold temperature, a cooling (or heating) system may be initiated to prevent the battery from reaching the maximum (or minimum) temperature.”, “Using a combination of a present temperature of the battery along with the current ambient temperature and the forecasted temperature along the remainder of the route, the thermal management system 900 may be capable of estimating a battery temperature at any point along the future route, such as an estimated temperature at arrival (“eTa”). The eTa and estimated battery temperature at other points along the route may further be based on other accessible data.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ing wherein the outside air temperature comprises a third outside air temperature and a fourth outside air temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify the third outside air temperature at the first location; obtain the fourth outside air temperature indicating a temperature at the second location at the estimated time of arrival, from an external electronic device; obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the fourth outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that a difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is greater than or equal to a second threshold; and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the third outside air temperature, the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, or the SOC value of the battery, or any combination thereof, in response that the difference between the third outside air temperature and the fourth outside air temperature is less than the second threshold. This would be done for a more efficient battery thermal management of electric vehicle enabling electric vehicles to be more efficient and capable of travelling longer distance (see Ing para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 5, Duan disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a second parameter and a third parameter, using the predicted load current and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second parameter, the third parameter, the outside air temperature, or the initial temperature of the battery, or any combination thereof (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]), wherein the second parameter indicates energy lost by internal resistance of the battery, using the predicted load current and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]), and wherein the third parameter indicates an amount of change in entropy for the battery, using the predicted load current and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
With respect to claim 6, Duan wherein the second parameter is obtained based on a relationship between the internal resistance of the battery and a temperature of the battery and a relationship between the internal resistance of the battery and the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
With respect to claim 7, Duan discloses wherein the processor is configured to: additionally identify a thermal capacity of the battery and thermal resistance of the battery due to the outside air temperature (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]); and obtain the predicted temperature of the battery, using at least one of the second parameter, the third parameter, or the initial temperature of the battery, or any combination thereof, the thermal capacity of the battery, and the thermal resistance of the battery (see at least [0005-0007], [0023], [0027-0028], [0030-0032], [0035-0041], and [0049-0052]).
With respect to claims 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17, they are method claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective apparatus claims 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7. As such, claims 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective apparatus claims 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 and are incorporated herein.
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al (US 20200062126 A1, hereinafter Duan (126)) in view of Hashimoto et al (US 20250167331 A1) in view of Duan et al (US 20210218073 A1, hereinafter Duan (073)).
With respect to claim 8, Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the SOC includes a first SOC value, wherein the predicted temperature includes a first predicted temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a third location indicating a target charging station between the first location and the second location; obtain a second predicted temperature of the battery, the second predicted temperature to be identified in response that the vehicle arrives at the third location, based on the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, and the first SOC value of the battery; predict a second SOC value of the battery at the third location, based on the second predicted temperature; and identify a charging time for charging the battery from the second SOC to a predetermined SOC value, using the target charging station.
Duan (073) teaches wherein the SOC includes a first SOC value (see at least [0008-0010]), wherein the predicted temperature includes a first predicted temperature (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043], and [0050-0055]), and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a third location indicating a target charging station between the first location and the second location (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043], and [0050-0055]); obtain a second predicted temperature of the battery, the second predicted temperature to be identified in response that the vehicle arrives at the third location, based on the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, and the first SOC value of the battery (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0050-0055]); predict a second SOC value of the battery at the third location, based on the second predicted temperature (see at least [0008-0010], [0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0049-0059]); and identify a charging time for charging the battery from the second SOC to a predetermined SOC value, using the target charging station (see at least [0042] and [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Duan (073) wherein the SOC includes a first SOC value, wherein the predicted temperature includes a first predicted temperature, and wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a third location indicating a target charging station between the first location and the second location; obtain a second predicted temperature of the battery, the second predicted temperature to be identified in response that the vehicle arrives at the third location, based on the predicted load current, the initial temperature of the battery, and the first SOC value of the battery; predict a second SOC value of the battery at the third location, based on the second predicted temperature; and identify a charging time for charging the battery from the second SOC to a predetermined SOC value, using the target charging station. This would be done to improve battery life and battery operating efficiency including charging and discharging efficiency while the vehicle is driving for high capacity electrified vehicle batteries that may not be deeply discharged on a regular basis (see Duan (073) para 0001).
With respect to claim 9, Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto do not specifically teach wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a drivable distance of the vehicle, based on the SOC value of the battery; and identify the third location, using information associated with a plurality of charging stations, within a distance shorter than the drivable distance, and wherein the information associated with the plurality of charging stations includes at least one of a charging speed, a charging type, a distance from the vehicle for each of the charging stations, or whether the plurality of charging stations are available, or any combination thereof.
Duan (073) wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a drivable distance of the vehicle, based on the SOC value of the battery (see at least [0008-0012], [0025-0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0047-0059]); and identify the third location, using information associated with a plurality of charging stations, within a distance shorter than the drivable distance (see at least [0008-0012], [0025-0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0047-0059]), and wherein the information associated with the plurality of charging stations includes at least one of a charging speed, a charging type, a distance from the vehicle for each of the charging stations, or whether the plurality of charging stations are available, or any combination thereof (see at least [0008-0012], [0025-0032], [0040], [0043-0044], and [0047-0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan (126) as modified by Hashimoto, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Duan (073) wherein the processor is further configured to: identify a drivable distance of the vehicle, based on the SOC value of the battery; and identify the third location, using information associated with a plurality of charging stations, within a distance shorter than the drivable distance, and wherein the information associated with the plurality of charging stations includes at least one of a charging speed, a charging type, a distance from the vehicle for each of the charging stations, or whether the plurality of charging stations are available, or any combination thereof. This would be done to improve battery life and battery operating efficiency including charging and discharging efficiency while the vehicle is driving for high capacity electrified vehicle batteries that may not be deeply discharged on a regular basis (see Duan (073) para 0001).
With respect to claim 10, Duan (126) do not specifically disclose a display operatively connected to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: display the charging time together with text indicating the third location on the display, based on identifying the route.
Hashimoto teaches a display operatively connected to the processor (see at least [0068-0071] and [0107]), wherein the processor is further configured to: display the charging time together with text indicating the third location on the display, based on identifying the route (see at least [0068-0071] and [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto of a display operatively connected to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: display the charging time together with text indicating the third location on the display, based on identifying the route. This would be done to reduce battery degradation and improve battery efficiency (see Hashimoto para 0003-0006).
With respect to claims 18, 19, and 20, they are method claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective apparatus claims 8, 9, and 10. As such, claims 18, 19, and 20 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective apparatus claims 8, 9, and 10 and are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667