DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 05/20/2026. The drawing objection and 35 U.S.C. 112b rejection is withdrawn. Claims 2 and 9 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7 and 13 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the published application on 01/23/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al (JP 2011052850 A, hereinafter Hamada) in view of Kim et al (EP 2618077 B1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Hamada teaches an apparatus (hot water heating apparatus, abstract and figure 1) comprising: a compressor (compressor 1) that compresses refrigerant; a first heat exchanger (water-refrigerant heat exchanger 2) that is connected to the compressor (figure 1) through a refrigerant pipe (refrigeration cycle 6, figure 1) and exchanges heat between refrigerant and water (a water-refrigerant heat exchanger 2 that generates heat by exchanging heat between water and the high-temperature refrigerant, paragraph 0025); and a second heat exchanger (evaporator 4) that is connected to the compressor (figure 1) through the refrigerant pipe (figure 1) and includes a plurality of pipes exchanging heat between refrigerant and air (an evaporator 4 for exchanging heat between air and the refrigerant are sequentially connected in an annular manner by a refrigerant pipe 5, paragraph 0025), wherein the plurality of pipes (refrigerant pipes 42, figure 6) include: a first pipe (refrigerant pipe 42d) that is disposed lowest among the plurality of pipes (as shown on figure 6); and a plurality of second pipes (refrigerant pipe 42c) disposed above the first pipe (as shown on figure 6), and wherein a direction of refrigerant flow in the first pipe (as shown on figure 6) is opposite to a direction of refrigerant flow in the second pipes (as shown on figure 6).
Hamada teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the second heat exchanger includes: a first distributor disposed in a first direction based on the plurality of pipes; a plurality of connection pipes connecting the first distributor and first ends of the plurality of pipes; a second distributor disposed in a second direction based on the plurality of pipes, the first direction differing from the second direction, and the first distributor being positioned closer to the compressor than the second distributor; and a plurality of distribution pipes connecting the second distributor and second ends the plurality of pipes, wherein the plurality of connection pipes includes a first connection pipe connected to the first pipe, wherein the plurality of distribution pipes includes a first distribution pipe connected to the first pipe, and wherein the first pipe includes: a first connection end tube connected to the first connection pipe; and a first distribution end tube connected to the first distribution pipe, wherein the plurality of connection pipes includes a plurality of second connection pipes connected to the plurality of second pipes, wherein the plurality of distribution pipes includes a plurality of second distribution pipes connected to the plurality of second pipes, wherein the plurality of second pipes include: second connection end tubes connected to the plurality of second connection pipes; and second distribution end tubes connected to the second distribution pipes, and wherein the second distribution end tubes and the first connection end tube are located on a first row, and the second connection end tubes and the first distribution end tube are located on a second row, the second row being spaced apart from the first row in the second direction.
However, Kim teaches wherein the second heat exchanger (heat exchanger 140) includes: a first distributor (first distributor 147a) disposed in a first direction (left portion of heat exchanger 140, figure 2b) based on the plurality of pipes (pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a); a plurality of connection pipes (pipes 146b) connecting the first distributor (first distributor 147a) and first ends of the plurality of pipes (outlet portion of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a/2b); a second distributor (pipe 141a) disposed in a second direction (right portion of heat exchanger 140, figure 2b) based on the plurality of pipes (pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a), the first direction (figure 2b) differing from the second direction (figure 2b), and the first distributor (first distributor 147a) being positioned closer to the compressor (via pipe 166, figures 1 and 2a) than the second distributor (pipe 141a); and a plurality of distribution pipes (pipes 142b) connecting the second distributor (pipe 141a) and second ends the plurality of pipes (inlet portion of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a), wherein the plurality of connection pipes (pipes 146b) includes a first connection pipe (lower connection pipe 146b, figure 2b) connected to the first pipe (to the first lower pipe within heat exchanger 140, figure 2b), wherein the plurality of distribution pipes (pipes 142b) includes a first distribution pipe (lower distribution pipe 142b, figure 2b) connected to the first pipe (figure 2b), and wherein the first pipe (lowest pipe within heat exchanger 140, figure 2b) includes: a first connection end tube (tube portion where pipe 146b is inserted in, as shown on figure 2b) connected to the first connection pipe (pipes 146b, figure 2b); and a first distribution end tube (end tube where pipe 142b is inserted to, figure 2b) connected to the first distribution pipe (lower distribution pipe 142b, figure 2b), wherein the plurality of connection pipes (pipe 146b) includes a plurality of second connection pipes (upper pipes 146b, figure 2b) connected to the plurality of second pipes (second rows of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a), wherein the plurality of distribution pipes (pipes 142b) includes a plurality of second distribution pipes (upper set of pipes 142b, as shown on figure 2b) connected to the plurality of second pipes (second rows of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a), wherein the plurality of second pipes (second rows of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a) include: second connection end tubes (upper set of tubes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2b) connected to the plurality of second connection pipes (connected to the upper set of pipes 146b, figure 2b); and second distribution end tubes (upper set of tubes, figure 2b) connected to the second distribution pipes (connected to upper set of pipes 142b, figure 2b), wherein the second distribution end tubes (upper set of tubes, figure 2b) and the first connection end tube (tube portion where pipe 146b is inserted in, as shown on figure 2b) are located on a first row (left portion of heat exchanger 140, as shown on figure 2b), and the second connection end tubes (upper set of tubes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2b) and the first distribution end tube (end tube where pipe 142b is inserted to, figure 2b) are located on the second row (right portion of heat exchanger 140, as shown on figure 2b), the second row being spaced apart from the first row in the second direction (as shown on figure 2b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the teachings of Hamada to include wherein the second heat exchanger includes: a first distributor disposed in a first direction based on the plurality of pipes; a plurality of connection pipes connecting the first distributor and first ends of the plurality of pipes; a second distributor disposed in a second direction based on the plurality of pipes, the first direction differing from the second direction, and the first distributor being positioned closer to the compressor than the second distributor; and a plurality of distribution pipes connecting the second distributor and second ends the plurality of pipes, wherein the plurality of connection pipes includes a first connection pipe connected to the first pipe, wherein the plurality of distribution pipes includes a first distribution pipe connected to the first pipe, and wherein the first pipe includes: a first connection end tube connected to the first connection pipe; and a first distribution end tube connected to the first distribution pipe, wherein the plurality of connection pipes includes a plurality of second connection pipes connected to the plurality of second pipes, wherein the plurality of distribution pipes includes a plurality of second distribution pipes connected to the plurality of second pipes, wherein the plurality of second pipes include: second connection end tubes connected to the plurality of second connection pipes; and second distribution end tubes connected to the second distribution pipes, and wherein the second distribution end tubes and the first connection end tube are located on a first row, and the second connection end tubes and the first distribution end tube are located on a second row, the second row being spaced apart from the first row in the second direction in view of the teachings of Kim in order to yield the predictable result of providing a heat exchanger in which the which the passage of a refrigerant is alternated in a heat exchange unit.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the first connection end tube (tube portion where pipe 146b is inserted in, as shown on figure 2b of Kim) is spaced apart from the first distribution end tube (spaced apart from the end tube where pipe 142b is inserted to, figure 2b of Kim) in the first direction (left portion of heat exchanger 140, figure 2b of Kim) are positioned at respective different distances from the first side (positioned at a distance away from each other, figure 2b of Kim).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the first distribution end tube (end tube where pipe 142b is inserted to, figure 2b of Kim) is spaced apart from the first connection end tube (tube portion where pipe 146b is inserted in, as shown on figure 2b of Kim) in the second direction (right portion of heat exchanger 140, figure 2b of Kim).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the plurality of connection pipes (pipe 146b of Kim) includes a plurality of second connection pipes (upper pipes 146b, figure 2b of Kim) connected to the plurality of second pipes (second rows of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a of Kim), wherein the plurality of distribution pipes (pipes 142b of Kim) includes a plurality of second distribution pipes (upper set of pipes 142b, as shown on figure 2b of Kim) connected to the plurality of second pipes (second rows of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a of Kim), wherein the plurality of second pipes (second rows of pipes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2a of Kim) include second connection end tubes (upper set of tubes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2b of Kim) connected to the plurality of second connection pipes (connected to the upper set of pipes 146b, figure 2b of Kim); and second distribution end tubes (upper set of tubes, figure 2b of Kim) connected to the second distribution pipes (connected to upper set of pipes 142b, figure 2b of Kim), and wherein the second connection end tubes (upper set of tubes within heat exchanger 140, figure 2b of Kim) are is spaced apart (as shown on figure 2b of Kim) from the second distribution end tubes (upper set of tubes, figure 2b of Kim) in the second direction (right portion of heat exchanger 140, figure 2b of Kim).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the second heat exchanger (evaporator 4 of Hamada) includes: a fan (blower fan 7 of Hamada) that forms an airflow through the plurality of pipes (a blower fan 7 for sending air to the evaporator 4, paragraph 0025 of Hamada), wherein the airflow flows from the first direction to the second direction (left to right, as shown on figure 6 of Hamada).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach all the limitations of claim 13. See rejections of claims 1 and 2.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al (JP 2011052850 A, hereinafter Hamada) in view of Suhara (JP 2014215017 A, hereinafter Suhara).
Regarding claim 7, Hamada teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the second heat exchanger includes: a case that accommodates the plurality of pipes and has an inlet through which air flows into the case, and wherein the first pipe is spaced upward from a bottom of a periphery of the inlet.
However, Suhara teaches wherein the second heat exchanger (heat exchanger 32) includes: a case (casing 22) that accommodates the plurality of pipes (heat transfer tubes 71) and has an inlet (as shown on figure 5) through which air flows into the case (as shown on figure 5), and wherein the first pipe (lowest heat transfer tube on heat exchanger 32, figure 5) is spaced upward from a bottom of a periphery of the inlet (as shown on figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus in the teachings of Hamada to include wherein the second heat exchanger includes: a case that accommodates the plurality of pipes and has an inlet through which air flows into the case, and wherein the first pipe is spaced upward from a bottom of a periphery of the inlet in view of the teachings of Kim in order to yield the predictable result of providing an air conditioner indoor unit capable of obtaining a heating capability and a cooling capability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “KIM does not teach or suggest wherein the second distribution end tubes and the first connection end tube are located on a first row, and the second connection end tubes and the first distribution end tube are located on a second row, the second row being spaced apart from the first row in the second direction, as recited in claim 1”, the Examiner disagrees. For clarity, Kim is used in the rejection to teach where the upper set of tubes and the tube portion where pipe 146b is inserted into are located on the left portion of heat exchanger 140 (as shown on figure 2b). Additionally, the upper set of tubes within heat exchanger 140 and the end tube where pipe 142b is inserted into are located on the right portion of heat exchanger 140 and spaced apart in an diagonal manner (as shown on figure 2b). Therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Thus, KIM does not teach or suggest a structure where the inlet of the bottom pipe is in the outer row while the inlets of the upper pipes are in the inner row”, the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a structure where the inlet of the bottom pipe is in the outer row while the inlets of the upper pipes are in the inner row) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763