DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024 was filed on the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the contact heads of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 4 recite, “the first connecting portion,” claim should be amended to recite --a first connecting portion--.
Claim 2 line 3 recite, “the second connecting portion,” claim should be amended to recite –a second connecting portion--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. US10454194 in view of Ou et al. US10736232.
Regarding claim 1, Phillips discloses a fan connecting structure, comprising a connector (fig. 1; 104) and first connecting portions (fig. 1; 102), wherein the connector (104) comprises a substrate (fig. 5; 170), the substrate (170) is provided with second connecting portions (fig. 5; 178, 188) detachably combined with the first connecting portions (102), the first connecting portion (102) is provided with first contact points (fig. 2; 120), the substrate (170) is provided with second contact points (fig. 5; sections of 174 that 120 contacts) in contact with the first contact points (120), and the second contact points (sections of 174 that 120 contacts) are electrically connected to a circuit board (fig. 1; 320).
Phillips does not disclose the first connecting portions arranged on adjacent fans and a fan circuit board.
However, Ou teaches the first connecting portions (fig. 1; 15) arranged on adjacent fans (fig. 3; 10, 20) and a fan circuit board (fig. 1; 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first connecting portions arranged on adjacent fans and a fan circuit board as suggested by Ou for the benefit of providing improved connection methods of a modular fan system.
Regarding claim 2, Phillips modified by Ou has been discussed above. Phillip discloses wherein the first connecting portion (102) comprises a first limiting structure (fig. 2; 150) and a second limiting structure (Col 10 Ln 56-59; structure of 102 that engages with 188) that restrict the connector (104) from free disengagement, and the second connecting portion (178, 188) comprises a third limiting structure (178) fitted with the first limiting structure (150) to realize detachable combination, and a fourth limiting structure (188) fitted with the second limiting structure (structure of 102 that engages with 188) to realize detachable combination.
Regarding claim 8, Phillips modified by Ou has been discussed above. Phillip discloses wherein the connector (104) is provided with a contact surface (top surface of 170 that has 174), the contact surface (top surface of 170) being provided with conductive sheets (individual 174), and the second contact points (sections of 174 that 120 contacts) being located on the conductive sheets (individual 174).
Regarding claim 9, Phillip discloses the fan connecting structure according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Phillips does not disclose a magic link fan, comprising a plurality of fans [claim 9]; wherein upper and lower ends of the adjacent fans are respectively provided with the fan connecting structure [claim 10].
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Ou teaches a magic link fan, comprising a plurality of fans (fig. 3); wherein upper and lower ends (fig. 1; left and right lower sides of 10) of the adjacent fans (fig. 3; 10 and 20) are respectively provided with the fan connecting structure (fig. 1; structure of 15 and 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a magic link fan, comprising a plurality of fans and upper and lower ends of the adjacent fans being respectively provided with the fan connecting structure as suggested by Ou for the benefit of providing improved connection methods of a modular fan system.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. US10454194 and Ou et al. US10736232 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hsieh US9163637.
Phillips and Ou disclose (Phillips) wherein the first limiting structure (178) is in a sliding fit with the third limiting structure (150), the second limiting structure (structure of 102 that engages with 188) is in a latching fit (Col 10 Ln 56-59) with the fourth limiting structure (188).
Phillips and Ou do not explicitly disclose a snap fit.
However, Hsieh teaches a snap fit (fig. 1a; mechanical connection between 155 and 118).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a snap fit as suggested by Hsieh for the benefit of providing optimum mechanical retention strength of fan connectors117.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. US10454194 and Ou et al. US10736232 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hsieh et al. US20210018009.
Phillips and Ou disclose all of the claim limitations except wherein the fan is provided with contact heads, and the first contact point is located at a top of the contact head.
However, Hsieh teaches the fan (fig. 1a; 1) is provided with contact heads (fig. 1c; 141), and the first contact point (fig. 1b; 1141) is located at a top (1141 is connected to 141) of the contact head (141).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fan is provided with contact heads, and the first contact point is located at a top of the contact head as suggested by Hsieh for the benefit of improving the transmission of internal signals within a fan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, provide or suggest wherein the first limiting structure and the third limiting structure slide in an direction, and the direction is perpendicular to a rotation axis L of the fan combined with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831