DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following item(s) from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 23 March 2026. The references have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more and is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) recite(s) limitations that are considered to be data processing. Concepts determined to be abstract ideas, and thus patent ineligible, include certain methods of organizing human activity, such as fundamental economic practices (Alice, 573 U.S. at 219—20; Bilski, 561 U.S. at 611); mathematical formulas (Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 594—95 (1978)); and mental processes (Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 69 (1972)). The 101 guidance instructs us to look to whether the claim recites: (1) any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes); and (2) additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h)). Only if a claim (1) recites a judicial exception and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application, do we then look to whether the claim: (3) adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not “well-understood, routine, conventional” in the field (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)); or (4) simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. As best understood, the claims contain limitations are directed to data processing, as is similar to Electric Power Group, Benson and Flook.
Specifically, the claims obtain data and process the data using various mental process, or algorithms and/or mathematical concepts to make a determination based on the result of the processed data; these steps will all fall under the category of Mathematical Concepts and/or mental processes and they are considered to be abstract. See the updated 101 guidance issued in October 2019, sections A and C.
Analysis of the claims
Step 2A, Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
Claim 1 which is being used for analysis recites: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor executing a module configured to: obtain a plurality of floating-point ambiguities, wherein each of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities is associated with a unique pair of a plurality of different navigation transmitters and a pair of a plurality of different receivers; determine a variance value for each of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities to compute a plurality of variance values; use the plurality of variance values to generate a list of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities; evaluate each of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities in the list; select, based on the evaluation, a particular floating-point ambiguity for an optimal set when (1) a fractional part of the particular floating-point ambiguity is less than a threshold value and (2) the optimal set is independent if the particular floating-point ambiguity is selected for the optimal set, wherein the optimal set includes a plurality of selected floating-point ambiguities; and modify each of the plurality of selected floating-point ambiguities in the optimal set to its closest integer value to generate a plurality of resolved integer ambiguity values.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite any limitation that links the process to anything other than the processing of gathered data and making a determination based on the result of the data processing which encompass the use of mathematical operations or can be performed as a mental process alongside the application of a computer which are recognized abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
The claim recites a first additional element of “obtain a plurality of floating-point ambiguities…”. This step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering/processing. This limitation is interpreted as insignificant pre- and post-solution activity, i.e., necessary data gathering and data outputting, to the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g). It is necessary to acquire the data and so as to process it to use the recited judicial exception to perform the calculations. The step amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity and does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
When determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners may consider: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Here, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite any limitation that links the process to anything other than the processing of data and output (determination) of a result.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no elements in Claim 1 that appear to clearly have any actionable steps other than making a determination or outputting a result which would be mere extra-solution activity.
As is best understood Claim 1 is directed to gathering data for processing by a processor or processor based elements (module) and there are no explicit structural elements claimed in these claims that would be considered enough to make the claims non-abstract as the heart of the claim is directed to abstract processing steps. While transmitters and receivers are implicitly claimed as being active, the are merely a tool for data gathering and behaving in a routine and conventional manner. The use of generic/well known elements and general processors/computers for the mere implementation of an abstract idea on a computer does not qualify as significantly more. It is not claimed what happens after the final selection/determination step. How is the is the data used, is it transmitted or output in some manner for use, does the system perform another task based on the determination or is the operation merely used for determining most likely position? As currently claimed the limitations are just an operation of resolving ambiguity without anything that would be considered significantly more, the operation of processing data to make a determination/optimization has been found to be an abstract idea.
Therefore, the limitation represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer and does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
Step 2B:
A conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05, subsection I.A. At Step 2B, the re-evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Here, the memory, processor, transmitter and receiver are equal to a machine being merely an object on which the method operates or a tool to aid in operation, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Transmitting and receiving data is basic data gathering and would not provide significantly more and is insignificant extra-solution activity as the use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05 (b), III). The processor also does` not pertain to an improvement to the functioning of a “computer system.” See MPEP § 2106.05(a). There is no indication that the memory or processor being used needs to be more than a generic device.
Therefore, these limitation remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration and does not amount to significantly more.
The analysis under Step 2A, Prong Two is carried through to Step 2B.
Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, and therefore the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
There are no limitations in the independent or the dependent claims that would make the processor/computer, transmitter or receiver change in operation in a manner that would make it work in a way that is new and not capable of being done on a generic processor/computer or commonly used transmitter and receiver hardware. The processor in these claims performs merely as a tool and does not appear to provide an improvement to the functionality of a computer. Absent evidence to the contrary, claims 1-20 merely rely on the processing of gathered data. Making a determination as a result of processed data is well known and conventional.
Claims 2-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are all dependent claims that expand on the processing and/or mathematical concepts limitations by claiming limitations directed to defining steps of the processing, setting values and use of the processed data and do not provide a practical application of the abstract idea or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 9 teaches the method limitations of Claim 1. It is the recitation of the same limitations of Claim 1 which have been shown to be well known and convention and contains elements required for data gathering and as such does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 16 is essentially a broader version of the method limitations of Claims 1 and 9 and as such is found to be directed to an abstract idea just as the other independent claims.
Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself, and thus, the additional elements do not transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea. The additional elements, individually and as an ordered combination, do not transform the nature of the claim into a patent-eligible application. Taken alone or as an ordered combination, the limitations of claims do not amount to a claim as a whole that is significantly more than the judicial exception. Using obtained values from the computational operations is not a meaningful limitation that alone can amount to significantly more than the exception.
Claims 1-20 merely rely on generic components as a tool to apply the abstract idea. The application of the abstract idea to generic components does not transform the claim into a patent-eligible application of the abstract idea. While the newly provided guidance of December 2025 states that “When evaluating a claim as a whole, examiners should not dismiss additional elements as mere “generic computer components” without considering whether such elements confer a technological improvement to a technical problem, especially as to improvements to computer components or the computer system.” There are no limitations stating that the any assumed structural elements behave in a non-conventional manner or that the assumed processor is using collected and stored data for anything more than evaluation. All other dependent claims build upon the abstract idea and do not result in significantly more or a practical application and merely just expand on how the software and algorithms operate to process the data. There is no claim to how the processed data is used besides simply making a determination or what tangible step is taken once the processing is done that would link the processing of data to practical application or an actual actionable step. While the algorithms and calculation processing may be novel, novelty does not change the claim from being an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "using the set of zero-difference ambiguity values" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 depends on Claim 1 and a set of zero-difference ambiguity values has not been established in claim 1, therefore there is no antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 11 is the same as Claim 5 and lacks antecedent basis for the same reasons as stated above with respect to Claim 9 which claim 11 depends.
Claims 6, 7, 12 and 13 are dependent on Claims 5 and 11 and subject to the same rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (Dai, US PGPub 2012/0176271).
Referring to Claim 1, Dai teaches a memory (Fig. 2 #210; [0029]); a processor (Fig. 2 #202; [0029]) coupled to the memory, the processor executing a module configured to: obtain a plurality of floating-point ambiguities, wherein each of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities is associated with a unique pair of a plurality of different navigation transmitters and a pair of a plurality of different receivers ([0135] and [0145]); determine a variance value for each of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities to compute a plurality of variance values ([0146]); use the plurality of variance values to generate a list of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities (Fig. 6 #602; [0137] and [0147]); evaluate each of the plurality of floating-point ambiguities in the list ([0137]); and modify each of the plurality of selected floating-point ambiguities in the optimal set to its closest integer value to generate a plurality of resolved integer ambiguity values; [0145] and [0149], but does not explicitly disclose nor limit select, based on the evaluation, a particular floating-point ambiguity for an optimal set when (1) a fractional part of the particular floating-point ambiguity is less than a threshold value and (2) the optimal set is independent if the particular floating-point ambiguity is selected for the optimal set, wherein the optimal set includes a plurality of selected floating-point ambiguities.
However, Dai implicitly teaches as an obvious alternative and manipulation of Equation 27 in [0137], select, based on the evaluation, a particular floating-point ambiguity for an optimal set when (1) a fractional part of the particular floating-point ambiguity is less than a threshold value and (2) the optimal set is independent if the particular floating-point ambiguity is selected for the optimal set, wherein the optimal set includes a plurality of selected floating-point ambiguities.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dai with selecting an optimal set using the W-ration as taught in Dai to predictably apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results of improving correction information by resolving integer ambiguities in range measurements made by reference stations using double difference integer ambiguity constraints.
Referring to Claim 2, Dai teaches wherein the plurality of floating-point ambiguities are double-difference (DD) ambiguity parameter values; [0141].
Referring to Claim 9, Dai teaches obtaining a plurality of double-difference (DD) ambiguity values, wherein each of the plurality of DD ambiguity values is a floating-point number; determining a variance value for each of the plurality of DD ambiguity values to compute a plurality of variance values; using the plurality of variance values to generate a list of the plurality of DD ambiguity values; evaluating each of the plurality of DD ambiguity values in the list; selecting, based on the evaluation, a particular DD ambiguity value for an optimal set when (1) a fractional part of the particular DD ambiguity value is less than a threshold value and (2) the optimal set is independent if the particular DD ambiguity value is selected for the optimal set, wherein the optimal set includes a plurality of selected DD ambiguity value. modify each of the plurality of selected DD ambiguity value to its closest integer value to generate a plurality of integer resolved DD ambiguity values; see citations of Claim 1 above.
Referring to Claim 16, Dai teaches obtaining a plurality of double-difference (DD) ambiguity values; determining a variance value for each of the plurality of DD ambiguity values to generate a plurality of variance values; generating a list of the DD ambiguity values using the plurality of variance values; and selecting a predetermined number of the DD ambiguity values in the list to construct an optimal set of a plurality of selected DD ambiguity values, wherein each of the plurality of selected DD ambiguity values has a fractional part that is less than a threshold value and the optimal set with the plurality of selected DD ambiguity values is independent; see citations of Claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Dai et al. (Dai2, US PGPub 2017/0269216).
Referring to Claims 3 and 14, Dai teaches the DD ambiguity parameter values, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit they are generated based on an execution of a Best Integer Equivariant (BIE) algorithm.
However, Dai2 teaches an execution of a Best Integer Equivariant (BIE) algorithm; [0126] and [0191].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dai with the BIE algorithm as taught by Dai2 as it predictably can be used to take advantage of the integer nature of the ambiguities to speed up the pull-in time and improve the overall positioning accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10, 15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note: the indication of allowable subject matter and its potential incorporation does not resolve the 101 rejection above.
Conclusion
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646