DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
The solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 8 wherein said dielectric (22) encases a portion of said weld region (16);
The solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 9 wherein said dielectric (22) is continuous and further encases a portion of said anode lead extension (14); and
The solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38 wherein said dielectric (22) further extends onto said anode lead extension (14)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6, 13, 21, 42, and 48 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
For all the above claims, said “anode lead extension” is referred to as said “anode extension”. This error technically creates a lack of antecedent basis.
For claim 13, the phrase “selected from the group consisting of” is double typed (i.e., repeated twice in succession).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 35, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites that “…said anode lead extension comprises a metal selected
from the group consisting of titanium, niobium, tungsten, nickel and aluminum”. Nickel is not a valve metal and therefore contradicts claim 1 which recites “…wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal…”, making claim 15 indefinite. If nickel is to be claimed in claim 15, then claim 1 needs to be changed to include a broader range of materials for the anode lead extension. Some examples include: “wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal or alloy thereof”, “wherein said anode lead extension is a metal”, or “wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal or nickel”.
Claim 35 recites that “…said anode lead extension comprises a metal selected
from the group consisting of titanium, niobium, tungsten, nickel and aluminum”. Nickel is not a valve metal and therefore contradicts claim 17 which recites “…wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal…”, making claim 35 indefinite. If nickel is to be claimed in claim 35, then claim 17 needs to be changed to include a broader range of materials for the anode lead extension.
Claim 50 recites that “…said anode lead extension comprises a metal selected
from the group consisting of titanium, niobium, tungsten, nickel and aluminum”. Nickel is not a valve metal and therefore contradicts claim 38 which recites “…wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal…”, making claim 50 indefinite. If nickel is to be claimed in claim 50, then claim 38 needs to be changed to include a broader range of materials for the anode lead extension.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 11-17, 19, 21-23, 25, 30-42, 44-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takagi et al (US 2004/0066608 A1) hereafter referred to as Takagi.
Regarding claim 1, Takagi discloses a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor comprising: an anode (12 – Fig. 1 ¶23) comprising an anode lead (11 – Fig. 1 ¶23); an anode lead extension extending from said anode lead wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension are joined at a weld region wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal (18 – Fig. 1 ¶29 and ¶76 describe that the anode lead extension may be aluminum, a valve metal, and the method for attachment is welding); a dielectric on said anode (14 – Fig. 1 ¶23); a cathode on said dielectric (15 – Fig. 1 ¶23); an encapsulation encapsulating said anode wherein one of said weld region or said anode lead extension extends to a surface of said encapsulation (17 – Fig. 1 ¶29); and a metallization on said encapsulation wherein said metallization is in electrical contact with said weld region or said anode lead extension (19 – Fig. 1 ¶29).
Regarding claim 2, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension comprise different metals (¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 4, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said anode lead is a wire (11 – Fig. 1 ¶23 a foil may be considered to be a wire as the term wire is not defined as having a specific cross-sectional shape).
Regarding claim 5, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said anode lead is a region of said anode (12 – Fig. 1 the anode lead is part of the anode and thus the anode lead is considered to be a region of the anode).
Regarding claim 6, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said anode extension comprises a valve metal selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶29).
Regarding claim 11, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said anode comprises a valve metal (¶23).
Regarding claim 12, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 11 wherein said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶104-105).
Regarding claim 13, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 11 wherein said anode extension comprises a valve metal selected from the group consisting of selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO and wherein said anode extension comprises a valve metal which is different than said valve metal of said anode (¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 14, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said anode lead comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶23 and ¶105).
Regarding claim 15, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 14 wherein said anode lead extension comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of titanium, niobium, tungsten, nickel and aluminum (¶29).
Regarding claim 16, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 14 wherein said anode lead extension comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of titanium, niobium, tungsten, nickel and aluminum (¶23, ¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 17, Takagi discloses a method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor comprising: forming an anode comprising an anode lead (¶74); attaching an anode lead extension to said anode lead wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension are joined at a weld region and wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal (¶29 and ¶76 describe that the anode lead extension may be aluminum and the method for attachment is welding); forming a dielectric on said anode (¶74); and forming a cathode on said dielectric (¶75).
Regarding claim 19, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension comprise different metals (¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 21, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said anode extension comprises a valve metal selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶29).
Regarding claim 22, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said anode lead is a wire (11 – Fig. 1 ¶23 a foil may be considered to be a wire as the term wire is not defined as having a specific cross-sectional shape).
Regarding claim 25, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 further comprising sintering said anode (¶74 describes a sintering process of the anode).
Regarding claim 30, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 further comprising an encapsulation encapsulating said anode wherein one of said weld region or said anode lead extension extends to a surface of said encapsulation (17 – Fig. 1 ¶29 and ¶77).
Regarding claim 31, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 30 further comprising forming a metallization layer on said encapsulation wherein said metallization layer is in electrical contact with said weld region or said anode lead extension (¶29 and ¶77).
Regarding claim 32, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said anode comprises a valve metal (¶29 and ¶77).
Regarding claim 33, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 32 wherein said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶104-105).
Regarding claim 34, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said anode lead comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶23 and ¶105).
Regarding claim 35, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 34 wherein said anode lead extension comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of titanium, niobium, tungsten, nickel and aluminum (¶29).
Regarding claim 36, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 35 wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension comprise different metals (¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 37, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 35 wherein said anode lead comprises tantalum and said anode lead extension comprises aluminum (¶23, ¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 38, Takagi discloses a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor comprising: an anode (12 – Fig. 1 ¶23); an anode lead extending to a surface of said anode (11 – Fig. 1 ¶23); an anode lead extension extending from said anode lead wherein anode lead extension is joined at a weld region to said anode lead wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal (18 – Fig. 1 ¶29 and ¶76 describe that the anode lead extension may be aluminum and the method for attachment is welding); a dielectric on said anode (14 – Fig. 1 ¶23); an encapsulation encapsulating said anode wherein one of said weld region or said anode lead extension extends to a surface of said encapsulation (17 – Fig. 1 ¶29); and a metallization on said encapsulation wherein said metallization is in electrical contact with said weld region or said anode lead extension (18, 19 – Fig. 1 ¶29).
Regarding claim 39, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38 wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension comprise different metals (¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 40, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38 wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension comprise different metals (11 – Fig. 1 ¶23 a foil may be considered to be a wire as the term wire is not defined as having a specific cross-sectional shape).
Regarding claim 41, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38 wherein said anode lead is a region of said anode (12 – Fig. 1 the anode lead is part of the anode and thus the anode lead is considered to be a region of the anode).
Regarding claim 42, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38 wherein said anode extension comprises a valve metal selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶42).
Regarding claim 44, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38 further comprising an encapsulation encapsulating said anode and at least a portion of said anode lead extension wherein said anode lead extension extends to a surface of said encapsulation (17 – Fig. 1 ¶29).
Regarding claim 45, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 44 further comprising a metallization on said encapsulation wherein said metallization is in electrical contact with said anode lead extension (18, 19 – Fig. 1 ¶29).
Regarding claim 46, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 46 wherein said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶23).
Regarding claim 47, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 46 wherein said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶104-105).
Regarding claim 48, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 46 wherein said anode extension comprises a valve metal selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO and wherein said anode extension comprises a valve metal which is different than said valve metal of said anode (¶29 and ¶104-105).
Regarding claim 49, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38 wherein said anode lead comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, aluminum, niobium, titanium, zirconium, hafnium, and NbO (¶104-105).
Regarding claim 50, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 49 wherein said anode lead extension comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of titanium, niobium, tungsten, nickel and aluminum (¶29).
Regarding claim 51, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 50 wherein said anode lead comprises tantalum and said anode lead extension comprises aluminum (¶23, ¶29 and ¶104-105).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-10, 17, 20, 24, and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cadwallader (US 6238444 B1), hereafter Cadwallader.
Figure 1: Examiner modified Fig. 6 of Cadwallader. A region of an anode (14) is treated as an anode lead and is shown to be colinear with an anode lead extension (18).
Regarding claim 1, Cadwallader discloses a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor comprising: an anode comprising an anode lead (14 – Fig. 6 col. 4 lines 31-34 and “Anode lead” Figure 1 shown above); an anode lead extension extending from said anode lead wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension are joined at a weld region wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal (18 – Fig. 5 col. 4 lines 31-34 and col. 3 lines 52-54); a dielectric on said anode (col. 3 54-56); a cathode on said dielectric (col. 3 lines 56-59); an encapsulation encapsulating said anode wherein one of said weld region or said anode lead extension extends to a surface of said encapsulation (16 – Fig. 4 col. 5 lines 47-50); and a metallization on said encapsulation wherein said metallization is in electrical contact with said weld region or said anode lead extension (38 – Fig. 6 col. 5 lines 54-67 and col. 6 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 3, Cadwallader discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said weld region is no more than 0.25 mm from said anode (18 – Fig. 6 col. 3 lines 52-54. The weld region is on the anode; thus, it is 0 mm from the anode).
Regarding claim 7, Cadwallader discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said anode lead extension and said anode lead are colinear (18, “Anode lead” – Figure 1 shown above).
Regarding claim 8, Cadwallader discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 1 wherein said dielectric encases a portion of said anode lead (“Anode lead” – Figure 1 shown above col. 3 lines 54-56. Since the dielectric encases the anode and the anode lead is a region of the anode, the dielectric encases a portion of the anode lead).
Regarding claim 9, Cadwallader discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 8 wherein said dielectric encases a portion of said weld region (Col. 3 line 54-56).
Regarding claim 10, Cadwallader discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 9 wherein said dielectric is continuous and further encases a portion of said anode lead extension (Col. 3 line 54-56).
Regarding claim 17, Cadwallader discloses a method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor comprising: forming an anode comprising an anode lead (Col. 3 lines 52-54); attaching an anode lead extension to said anode lead wherein said anode lead and said anode lead extension are joined at a weld region and wherein said anode lead extension is a valve metal (Col. 3 lines 52-54); forming a dielectric on said anode (Col. 3 lines 54-59); and forming a cathode on said dielectric (Col. 3 lines 54-59).
Regarding claim 20, Cadwallader discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said weld region is no more than 0.25 mm from said anode (18 – Fig. 6 col. 3 lines 52-54. The weld region is on the anode; thus, it is 0 mm from the anode).
Regarding claim 24, Cadwallader discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said anode lead extension and said anode lead are colinear (18, “Anode lead” – Figure 1 shown above).
Regarding claim 27, Cadwallader discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17 wherein said dielectric encases at least a portion of said anode lead (“Anode lead” – Figure 1 shown above col. 3 lines 52-54. Since the dielectric encases the anode and the anode lead is a region of the anode, the dielectric encases a portion of the anode lead).
Regarding claim 28, Cadwallader discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 27 wherein said dielectric encases at least a portion of said weld region (Col. 3 lines 54-56).
Regarding claim 29, Cadwallader discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 28 wherein said dielectric is continuous and encases a portion of said anode lead extension (Col. 3 lines 54-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi in view of Kubonia et al. (JP 2005/109280 A), hereafter Kubonia.
Regarding claim 18, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 17, but fails to disclose wherein said attaching comprises arc welding. Kubonia discloses wherein said attaching comprises arc welding (¶24-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Kubonia lists arc welding as a common welding method for electrically and mechanically connecting leads in the electrolytic capacitor art, specifically between a valve metal and aluminum.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2010/0079930 A1), hereafter referred to as Hayashi.
Regarding claim 26, Takagi discloses the method of forming a solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 25, but fails to disclose wherein said sintering is after said attaching of said anode lead extension. Hayashi discloses wherein said sintering is after said attaching of said anode lead extension (¶234-236).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takagi by welding the anode lead extension prior to sintering the anode to prevent damaging the anode body and improve adhesion strength of the anode lead extension (¶234-236 of Hayashi).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi in view of Naito et al. (2016/0189872).
Regarding claim 43, Takagi discloses the solid cathode electrolytic capacitor of claim 38, but fails to disclose wherein said dielectric further extends onto said anode lead extension. Naito discloses wherein said dielectric (30 – Fig. 3 Resin is considered the dielectric) further extends onto said anode lead extension (11 – Fig. 3 ¶13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takagi such that the dielectric extends onto the anode lead extension to inhibit moisture penetration of the electrolytic capacitor (¶13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Summey et al. US 2011/0149477 A1 – Fig. 6
Furuzawa et al. US 2006/0181836 A1 – Fig. 13
Vaisman et al. US 2008/0247122 A1 – Fig. 2 ¶12
Djebara et al. US 9269499 B2 – Fig. 5
Djebara et al. US 2013/0321986 A1 – Fig. 1
Djebara et al. US 2013/0321985 A1 – Fig. 1
Chen US 2010/0318142 A1 – ¶14, ¶32
Kuriyama US 6819546 B2 – Fig. 38
Melody et al. US 7248462 B2 – col. 5 lines 8-12
Chason US 4319118 A – col. 1-2
Kubonia et al. JP 2009004586 A – ¶2
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847