Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections on pages 7-11, filed 9/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 6-10, 15-18, and 20 under have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference: U.S. Publication No. 20210168801 to Wang et al.
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on pages 7-11, filed 9/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 11-14, and 19 under have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied references: U.S. Publication No. 20210168801 to Wang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210105774 to Oh et al.
The arguments also argue that Wang et al do not disclose the claimed “radio configuration information that includes: a configuration of a second type BWP, and a correspondence between the second type BWP and a plurality of BWPs”. However, Wang et al disclose a radio configuration information that includes a configuration of a second type BWP (second-type BWP), and a correspondence between the second type BWP and a plurality of BWPs (N first-type BWPs). Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Sections 0180-0191, 0200, 0231, 0236, 0241, 0242, 0247, and 0251-0255: The second-type BWP includes a plurality of first-type BWPs, such as a first-type BWP1 and a first-type BWP2; so, the second-type BWP is configured by BS to correspond to certain first-type BWPs. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”. So, Wang et al specifically disclose in Section 0200 wherein Bs configures the second-type BWP by allocating resources to the second-type BWP, which corresponds to a plurality of first-type BWPs, such as a first-type BWP1 and a first-type BWP2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20210168801 to Wang et al.
Referring to claim 6, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 a wireless communication method (performed by BS), comprising:
Transmitting (step 1201), by a wireless communication node (BS) to a wireless communication device (UE), radio configuration information that includes: a configuration of a second type BWP (second-type BWP), and a correspondence between the second type BWP and a plurality of BWPs (N first-type BWPs). Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Sections 0180-0191, 0200, 0231, 0236, 0241, 0242, 0247, and 0251-0255: The second-type BWP includes a plurality of first-type BWPs, such as a first-type BWP1 and a first-type BWP2; so, the second-type BWP is configured by BS to correspond to certain first-type BWPs. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”.
Wherein the second type BWP is associated with a physical channel configuration and a physical reference signal configuration (Section 0199):
Wherein the physical channel configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a PUSCH, a PDSCH, a PUCCH, a PDCCH, or a PRACH (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form).
Wherein the physical reference signal configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a DMRS, a CSI-RS, a SRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form), or a PTRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form). Section 0199: BWPs may be configured to be activated in a second-type BWP, and the terminal device may receive/transmit a signal on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may receive a CSI-RS, a PDCCH, or a PDSCH on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may send a DMRS, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH on the activated second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 7, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein the plurality of BWPs (N first-type BWPs) correspond to a plurality of carriers (each of the first-type BWP corresponds to a CC; Figures 4-6 and Sections 0180-0186). In an example of Figure 4: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 5: the second-type BWP includes three first-type BWPs: a first-type BWP1 located on carrier CC1, and a first-type BWP2 and a first-type BWP3 are located on a carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 6 : the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2 on two contiguous segments of frequency domain resources. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 8, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein a first portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a first one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP1), and a second portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a second one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP2) (Figures 4-6 and Sections 0180-0186). In an example of Figure 4: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 5: the second-type BWP includes three first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located on carrier CC1, and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 and a first-type BWP3 are located on a carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 6: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2 on two contiguous segments of frequency domain resources. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 9, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein a bandwidth of the second type
BWP is a sum of respective bandwidths of the plurality of BWPs. Sections 0231, 0236, 0241-0243, 0246-0248, 0251-0256, 0287, 0339, and 0340: The bandwidth of the second-type BWP is a sum of the bandwidths of the plurality of first-type BWPs. In the example in Section 0252: assuming that the first-type BWP1 includes 40 RBs and the first-type BWP2 includes 50 RBs, the sum of the bandwidths of the two first-type BWPs is 90, which is the bandwidth of the second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 10, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein the wireless communication
device receives scheduling information (allocation of frequency resources) that includes frequency resource information based on the second type BWP. Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP and allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”. Sections 0173, 0192, and 0200: BS transmits allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP to UE, wherein UE uses the allocated frequency resources of the second-type BWP for transmission on the uplink or reception on the downlink. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 15, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 a wireless communication apparatus comprising at least one processor (processor 3130) and a memory (memory 3120) comprising instructions (program instruction code), wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions to (processor 3130 executes program instruction code stored in memory 3120 to perform BS functions):
Transmit, to a wireless communication device (UE), radio configuration information that includes: a configuration of a second type BWP (second-type BWP), and a correspondence between the second type BWP and a plurality of BWPs (N first-type BWPs). Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Sections 0180-0191, 0200, 0231, 0236, 0241, 0242, 0247, and 0251-0255: The second-type BWP includes a plurality of first-type BWPs, such as a first-type BWP1 and a first-type BWP2; so, the second-type BWP is configured by BS to correspond to certain first-type BWPs. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”.
Wherein the second type BWP is associated with a physical channel configuration and a physical reference signal configuration (Section 0199):
Wherein the physical channel configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a PUSCH, a PDSCH, a PUCCH, a PDCCH, or a PRACH (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form).
Wherein the physical reference signal configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a DMRS, a CSI-RS, a SRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form), or a PTRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form). Section 0199: BWPs may configured to be activated in a second-type BWP, and the terminal device may receive/transmit a signal on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may receive a CSI-RS, a PDCCH, or a PDSCH on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may send a DMRS, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH on the activated second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 16, refer to the rejection of claim 7.
Referring to claim 17, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein a first portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a first one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP1), and a second portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a second one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP2) (Figures 4-6 and Sections 0180-0186), and wherein a bandwidth of the second type BWP is a sum of respective bandwidths of the plurality of BWPs. In an example of Figure 4: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 5: the second-type BWP includes three first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located on carrier CC1, and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 and a first-type BWP3 are located on a carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 6: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2 on two contiguous segments of frequency domain resources. Sections 0231, 0236, 0241-0243, 0246-0248, 0251-0256, 0287, 0339, and 0340: The bandwidth of the second-type BWP is a sum of the bandwidths of the plurality of first-type BWPs. In the example in Section 0252: assuming that the first-type BWP1 includes 40 RBs and the first-type BWP2 includes 50 RBs, the sum of the bandwidths of the two first-type BWPs is 90, which is the bandwidth of the second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 18, refer to the rejection of claim 10.
Referring to claim 20, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 a non-transitory computer program product (memory 3120) comprising a computer-readable program medium code (program instruction code) stored thereupon, the code, when executed by at least one processor (processor 3130), causing the at least one processor to implement the method recited in claim 6 (processor 3130 executes program instruction code stored in memory 3120 to perform BS functions). Refer to the rejection of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210168801 to Wang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210105774 to Oh et al.
Referring to claim 1, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 a wireless communication method (performed by UE), comprising:
Receiving (step 1201), by a wireless communication device (UE) from a wireless communication node (BS), radio configuration information that includes: a configuration of a second type BWP (second-type BWP), and a correspondence between the second type BWP and a plurality of BWPs (N first-type BWPs). Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Sections 0180-0191, 0200, 0231, 0236, 0241, 0242, 0247, and 0251-0255: The second-type BWP includes a plurality of first-type BWPs, such as a first-type BWP1 and a first-type BWP2; so, the second-type BWP is configured by BS to correspond to certain first-type BWPs. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”.
Allocating (allocation of frequency resources), by the wireless communication node, based on the radio configuration information, a plurality of resources for transmission or reception. Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP and allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”. Sections 0173, 0192, and 0200: BS transmits allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP to UE, wherein UE uses the allocated frequency resources of the second-type BWP for transmission on the uplink or reception on the downlink.
Wherein the second type BWP is associated with a physical channel configuration and a physical reference signal configuration (Section 0199):
Wherein the physical channel configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a PUSCH, a PDSCH, a PUCCH, a PDCCH, or a PRACH (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form).
Wherein the physical reference signal configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a DMRS, a CSI-RS, a SRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form), or a PTRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form). Section 0199: BWPs may configured to be activated in a second-type BWP, and the terminal device may receive/transmit a signal on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may receive a CSI-RS, a PDCCH, or a PDSCH on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may send a DMRS, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH on the activated second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Wang et al do not disclose … allocating, by the wireless communication device, based on the radio configuration information, a plurality of resources for transmission or reception.
Oh et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0130-0134 (Figure 6) wherein BS configures one or more BWPs for UE, such as configuring UE with two BWPs, BWP 620 and BWP 630, and related BWP parameters such as a BWP ID, a BWP frequency location, an SCS, etc. The BWP configuration is transmitted by BS to UE through higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling. Sections 0203-0210 and Figure 9 disclose a frequency resource allocation scheme performed by UE. After receiving the BWP configuration from BS, UE determines the UL/DL transmission or reception frequency resources using the configured BWP and the size of the configured BWP. Depending on parameters such as waveform, UE determines a resource allocation set based on the configured BWP, such as determining a resource allocation set 910 including 11 PRBs or a third resource allocation set 930 including 10 PRBs, to perform UL/DL transmission or reception. Refer to Sections 0044-0227. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … allocating, by the wireless communication device, based on the radio configuration information, a plurality of resources for transmission or reception. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can allocate resources for transmission and reception, based on a BWP configuration from BS, thereby allowing UE to determine necessary resources for communication.
Referring to claim 2, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein the plurality of BWPs (N first-type BWPs) correspond to a plurality of carriers (each of the first-type BWP corresponds to a CC; Figures 4-6 and Sections 0180-0186). In an example of Figure 4: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 5: the second-type BWP includes three first-type BWPs: a first-type BWP1 located on carrier CC1, and a first-type BWP2 and a first-type BWP3 are located on a carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 6 : the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2 on two contiguous segments of frequency domain resources. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 3, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein a first portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a first one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP1), and a second portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a second one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP2) (Figures 4-6 and Sections 0180-0186). In an example of Figure 4: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 5: the second-type BWP includes three first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located on carrier CC1, and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 and a first-type BWP3 are located on a carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 6: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2 on two contiguous segments of frequency domain resources. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 4, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein a bandwidth of the second type
BWP is a sum of respective bandwidths of the plurality of BWPs. Sections 0231, 0236, 0241-0243, 0246-0248, 0251-0256, 0287, 0339, and 0340: The bandwidth of the second-type BWP is a sum of the bandwidths of the plurality of first-type BWPs. In the example in Section 0252: assuming that the first-type BWP1 includes 40 RBs and the first-type BWP2 includes 50 RBs, the sum of the bandwidths of the two first-type BWPs is 90, which is the bandwidth of the second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to claim 5, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein the wireless communication
device receives scheduling information (allocation of frequency resources) that includes frequency resource information based on the second type BWP; and the wireless communication node allocates frequency resources on the plurality of BWPs (second-type BWP includes a plurality of first-type BWPs) for data transmission or reception. Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP and allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Sections 0180-0191, 0200, 0231, 0236, 0241, 0242, 0247, and 0251-0255: The second-type BWP includes a plurality of first-type BWPs, such as a first-type BWP1 and a first-type BWP2; so, the second-type BWP is comprised of frequency resources of first-type BWPs. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”. Sections 0173, 0192, and 0200: BS transmits allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP and corresponding first-type BWPs to UE, wherein UE uses the allocated frequency resources of the second-type BWP and corresponding first-type BWPs for transmission on the uplink or reception on the downlink. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Wang et al do not disclose … the wireless communication device allocates frequency resources on the plurality of BWPs for data transmission or reception.
Oh et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0130-0134 (Figure 6) wherein BS configures one or more BWPs for UE, such as configuring UE with two BWPs, BWP 620 and BWP 630, and related BWP parameters such as a BWP ID, a BWP frequency location, an SCS, etc. The BWP configuration is transmitted by BS to UE through higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling. Sections 0203-0210 and Figure 9 disclose a frequency resource allocation scheme performed by UE. After receiving the BWP configuration from BS, UE determines the UL/DL transmission or reception frequency resources using the configured BWP and the size of the configured BWP. Depending on parameters such as waveform, UE determines a resource allocation set based on the configured BWP, such as determining a resource allocation set 910 including 11 PRBs or a third resource allocation set 930 including 10 PRBs, to perform UL/DL transmission or reception. Refer to Sections 0044-0227. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … the wireless communication device allocates frequency resources on the plurality of BWPs for data transmission or reception. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can allocate resources for transmission and reception, based on a BWP configuration from BS, thereby allowing UE to determine necessary resources for communication.
Referring to claim 11, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 a wireless communication apparatus (UE) comprising at least one processor (processor 3020) and a memory (memory 3030) comprising instructions (program instruction code), wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions to (processor 3020 executes program instruction code stored in memory 3030 to perform UE functions):
Receive (step 1201), from a wireless communication node (BS), radio configuration information that includes: a configuration of a second type BWP (second-type BWP), and a correspondence between the second type BWP and a plurality of BWPs (N first-type BWPs). Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Sections 0180-0191, 0200, 0231, 0236, 0241, 0242, 0247, and 0251-0255: The second-type BWP includes a plurality of first-type BWPs, such as a first-type BWP1 and a first-type BWP2; so, the second-type BWP is configured by BS to correspond to certain first-type BWPs. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”.
Allocating (allocation of frequency resources) (by BS) based on the radio configuration information, a plurality of resources for transmission or reception. Sections 0172, 0173, 0193-0196, 0200, 0246, 0307, 0317, 0330, 0372, and 0382: BS transmits configuration information to UE, wherein the configuration information includes a configuration of a second-type BWP and allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP as shown in Figures 20-23. Specifically, Section 0200 disclose: “When the network device and the terminal device transmit a signal, the network device may configure a second-type BWP for the terminal device, and may allocate resources in the configured second-type BWP to the terminal device. The allocated resources may be used by the network device and the terminal device to transmit a signal … Quantities of first-type BWPs included in the second-type BWPs configured by the network device for different terminal devices may be the same or different.”. Sections 0173, 0192, and 0200: BS transmits allocation of frequency resources of the second-type BWP to UE, wherein UE uses the allocated frequency resources of the second-type BWP for transmission on the uplink or reception on the downlink.
Wherein the second type BWP is associated with a physical channel configuration and a physical reference signal configuration (Section 0199):
Wherein the physical channel configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a PUSCH, a PDSCH, a PUCCH, a PDCCH, or a PRACH (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form).
Wherein the physical reference signal configuration comprises a configuration of at least one of: a DMRS, a CSI-RS, a SRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form), or a PTRS (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form). Section 0199: BWPs may be configured to be activated in a second-type BWP, and the terminal device may receive/transmit a signal on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may receive a CSI-RS, a PDCCH, or a PDSCH on the activated second-type BWP. The terminal device may send a DMRS, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH on the activated second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Wang et al do not disclose … allocating (by UE) based on the radio configuration information, a plurality of resources for transmission or reception.
Oh et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0130-0134 (Figure 6) wherein BS configures one or more BWPs for UE, such as configuring UE with two BWPs, BWP 620 and BWP 630, and related BWP parameters such as a BWP ID, a BWP frequency location, an SCS, etc. The BWP configuration is transmitted by BS to UE through higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling. Sections 0203-0210 and Figure 9 disclose a frequency resource allocation scheme performed by UE. After receiving the BWP configuration from BS, UE determines the UL/DL transmission or reception frequency resources using the configured BWP and the size of the configured BWP. Depending on parameters such as waveform, UE determines a resource allocation set based on the configured BWP, such as determining a resource allocation set 910 including 11 PRBs or a third resource allocation set 930 including 10 PRBs, to perform UL/DL transmission or reception. Refer to Sections 0044-0227. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … allocating (by UE) based on the radio configuration information, a plurality of resources for transmission or reception. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can allocate resources for transmission and reception, based on a BWP configuration from BS, thereby allowing UE to determine necessary resources for communication.
Referring to claim 12, refer to the rejection of claim 2.
Referring to claim 13, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 wherein a first portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a first one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP1), and a second portion of the second type BWP is mapped to a second one of the plurality of BWPs (first-type BWP2) (Figures 4-6 and Sections 0180-0186), and wherein a bandwidth of the second type BWP is a sum of respective bandwidths of the plurality of BWPs. In an example of Figure 4: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 5: the second-type BWP includes three first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located on carrier CC1, and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 and a first-type BWP3 are located on a carrier CC2. In an example of Figure 6: the second-type BWP includes two first-type BWPs: a first portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP1 located at carrier CC1 and a second portion of the second-type BWP is mapped to frequency resources of a first-type BWP2 located on carrier CC2 on two contiguous segments of frequency domain resources. Sections 0231, 0236, 0241-0243, 0246-0248, 0251-0256, 0287, 0339, and 0340: The bandwidth of the second-type BWP is a sum of the bandwidths of the plurality of first-type BWPs. In the example in Section 0252: assuming that the first-type BWP1 includes 40 RBs and the first-type BWP2 includes 50 RBs, the sum of the bandwidths of the two first-type BWPs is 90, which is the bandwidth of the second-type BWP. Refer to Sections 0172-0659.
Referring to the rejection of claim 14, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Referring to claim 19, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-31 a non-transitory computer program product (memory 3030) comprising a computer-readable program medium code (program instruction code) stored thereupon, the code, when executed by at least one processor (processor 3020), causing the at least one processor to implement the method recited in claim 6 (processor 3020 executes program instruction code stored in memory 3030 to perform UE functions). Refer to the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230198690 to Yang et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0042, 0043, 0053, and 0069-0081 wherein UE aggregates a number of CCs to generate a virtual CC, allocates data channel resources in the virtual CC based on a virtual BWP, and allocates control channel resources in the virtual CC based on the virtual BWP. Refer to Sections 0022-0098.
U.S. Publication No. 20210314924 to Takeda et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0074-0078 wherein UE receives DCI scheduling communications on BWP1/CC1) and BWP2/CC2 and then determines parameters for BWP1 and BWP2 based at least in part on the DCI and in accordance with at least one of the BWP configuration for the virtual BWP associated with the virtual CC or the BWP configurations of BWP1 and BWP2. Refer to Sections 0036-0131.
U.S. Publication No. 20230144736 to Yao et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0074-0161 wherein the network device determining a virtual bandwidth part V-BWP for the terminal device, and indicates the V-BWP to the terminal device, wherein the V-BWP comprises two or more bandwidth parts and any active bandwidth part of the V-BWP can be deactivated. Refer to Sections 0061-0266.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
September 9, 2026