DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant’s response to election filing on 10/14/2025.
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1-15 and 22 is acknowledged and require no further examining. Claims 24-28, 30, and 33-35 are withdrawn. Claims 16-21, 23, 29, and 31-32 are pending and examined below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 4, the embodiment shown in Figures 25F-25G, in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-28, 30, and 33-35 are withdrawn.
Claims 25, 28, 30, and 33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/2025.
Claim 24 is also withdrawn for being drawn to nonelected species. The nonelected Species 7, the embodiment shown in Figure 25L, discloses the return key includes a spring. Therefore, claim 24 is withdrawn for being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claims 26-27 and 34-35 are also withdrawn for being drawn to nonelected species. The nonelected Species 6, the embodiment shown in Figures 25K, discloses the return key includes internal threads. Therefore, claims 26-27 and 34035 are withdrawn for being drawn to the nonelected species.
Claim 29 is considered to be drawn to the elected invention. The elected Species 4, the embodiment in Figures 25F-25G, discloses the return key includes a spline that engages with an internal cam. Therefore, claim 29 is not withdrawn for being drawn to the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2025, 07/28/2025, and 09/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the unidirectional ramps of the key as stated in claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-21, 23 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “a second rotational direction to prevent the” appears to be a typographical error and should be written as “a second rotational direction to prevent rotation”.
Regarding claims 17-21, 23, 29, each is objected to be it depends from an objected to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-21, 23, 29, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “A transection subsystem for a surgical instrument comprising” renders claim 16 vague and indefinite because it is unclear which element includes the following elements. It is unclear if the transection subsystem or the surgical instrument includes the features following the term “comprising”. For examining purposes, the phrase is interpreted as “A transection subsystem for a surgical instrument, wherein the transection subsystem comprises”.
Claims 17-21, 23, and 29 are dependent of claim 16 and include all the same limitations.
Regarding claim 31, the phrase “A transection subsystem for a surgical instrument comprising” renders claim 31 vague and indefinite because it is unclear which element includes the following elements. It is unclear if the transection subsystem or the surgical instrument includes the features following the term “comprising”. For examining purposes, the phrase is interpreted as “A transection subsystem for a surgical instrument, wherein the transection subsystem comprises”.
Claim 32 is dependent of claim 31 and include all the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20, 23 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by reference Overmyer et al. (11,219,495).
Regarding claim 16, Overmyer et al. disclose a transection subsystem (400) for a surgical instrument (100), wherein the transection subsystem (400) comprises:
a rotatable shaft (402) having a lumen (708);
a firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17) extending at least partially through the lumen (708);
a firing rack (744) coupled to a proximal end of the firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17),
wherein the firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17) is rotationally independent of the firing rack (744);
a firing gear (740) engaged with the firing rack (744),
wherein rotation of the firing gear (740) moves the firing rack (744) and the firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17) axially;
a key receiver (746) in mechanical communication with the firing gear (740);
a key (416) configured to engage with the key receiver (746) and rotate the key receiver (746) in a unidirectional manner,
wherein the rotating the key (416) and key receiver (746) in a first rotational direction causes the key receiver (746) and the firing gear (740) to rotate, thereby moving the firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17) axially proximally, and
wherein the one of the key (416) or the key receiver (746) is configured to prevent rotation of the key (416) and the key receiver (746) in a second rotational direction to prevent rotation.
(Figure 4, 7A, 7B and Column 7 lines 16-34, Column 10 lines 2-5, Column 12 lines 12-18)
Regarding claim 17, Overmyer et al. disclose a transection input puck (608f) engageable with a first transection robotic output (610f), wherein rotation of the firing gear (740) is dependent on rotation of the transection input puck (608f). (Figure 6 and Column 8 lines 10-15, Column 12 lines 12-18)
Regarding claim 18, Overmyer et al. disclose:
a transection drive shaft (702f) coupled to the transection input puck (608f);
a transection spur gear (730) coupled to the transection drive shaft (702f);
a transection ramp gear (732) engaged with the transection spur gear (730);
a ramp gear shaft (734) coupled to the transection ramp gear (732) and a ramp spur gear (col 12 ln 29-30); and
a speed gear (736) engaged with the ramp spur gear (col 12 ln 29-30).
(Figure 7A, 7B and Column 12 lines 25-38)
Regarding claim 19, Overmyer et al. disclose the speed gear (736) is coupled to the firing gear (740). (Figure 7A and Column 12 lines 29-37)
Regarding claim 20, Overmyer et al. disclose the diameter of the speed gear (736) is greater than the diameter of the firing gear (740). (Figure 7A)
Regarding claim 23, Overmyer et al. disclose the key receiver (746) comprises one or more unidirectional ramps (748), wherein the key (416) comprises one or more corresponding unidirectional ramps (col 12 ln 50-51) configured to engage with the unidirectional ramps in a first direction and to slide along the unidirectional ramps in a second direction. (Figure 7A and Column 12 lines 48-51)
Regarding claim 31, Overmyer et al. disclose a transection subsystem (400) for a surgical instrument (100), wherein the transection subsystem (400) comprises:
a firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17);
a firing rack (744) coupled to a proximal end of the firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17),
wherein the firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17) is rotationally independent of the firing rack (744);
a firing gear (740) engaged with the firing rack (744),
a key receiver (746) in mechanical communication with the firing gear (740);
a key (416) configured to rotationally engage with the key receiver (746) in a unidirectional direction,
wherein the rotating the key (416) causes the key receiver (746) and the firing gear (740) to rotate, thereby moving the firing rod (col 12 ln 16-17) axially.
(Figure 4, 7A, 7B and Column 7 lines 16-34, Column 10 lines 2-5, Column 12 lines 12-18)
Regarding claim 32, Overmyer et al. disclose the key receiver (746) comprises one or more unidirectional ramps (748), wherein the key (416) comprises one or more corresponding unidirectional ramps (col 12 ln 50-51) configured to engage with the unidirectional ramps in a first direction and to slide along the unidirectional ramps in a second direction. (Figure 7A and Column 12 lines 48-51)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Overmyer et al. (11,219,495) in view of reference Messerly et al. (11,058,477).
Regarding claim 21, Overmyer et al. disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose a slot and T-shaped tab.
Messerly et al. disclose assembly (500) for a surgical instrument (10), wherein the assembly (500) comprises:
a firing rack (540); and
a firing rod (1310),
wherein the firing rack (540) defines a slot (544),
wherein the firing rod (1310) comprises a T-shaped tab (1314), and
wherein the T-shaped tab is engaged with the slot to enable rotation of the firing rod (1310) with respect to the firing rack (540) while maintaining a longitudinal connection.
(Figure 3 and Column 9 lines 30-45)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the firing rod and firing rack of Overmyer et al. by incorporating the slot and tab as taught by Messerly et al., since column 8 lines 27-37 of Messerly et al. states such a modification would allow rotation of the surgical end effector about the shaft axis.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Overmyer et al. (11,219,495) in view of reference Hill et al. (2024/0271574).
Regarding claim 29, Overmyer et al. disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose key receiver comprises a spline.
Hill et al. disclose a system comprising:
a key receiver (122); and
a key (124) configured to rotationally engage with the key receiver in a unidirectional direction,
wherein the rotating the key (124) causes the key receiver (122) to rotate,
wherein the key comprises a cam surface (132A, 132B), and
wherein the key receiver comprises a spine (130A, 130B) configured to engage with the cam surface (132A, 132B).
(Figure 2A and Page 5 paragraph 39)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the key and key receiver of Overmyer et al. by incorporating the cam and spline as taught by Hill et al., since page 2 paragraph 22 of Hill et al. states such a modification would allow increased surface area engagement which will reduce material stresses on the key and key receiver.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B FRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 November 29, 2025
/STEPHEN F. GERRITY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731 1 December 2025