DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 3, drawn to the embodiment corresponding to Figs. 4-6B in the reply filed on 03/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s), see pages 12 and 15. This is found persuasive, therefore the election/restriction requirement in the Office communication mailed on 02/17/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities
Claim 1, line 6 “the non-elastic material” should be - - a non-elastic material - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breeling (US Patent No. 2017/0210527), in view of Courbis (US Patent No. 11,326,719 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Breeling discloses a stretch-band fixing comprising:
a first cable tie formed of a non-elastic material, the first cable tie comprising a first head including a first pawl mechanism and a first elongated strap having a plurality of first serrations, the first head configured for receiving the first elongated strap with the first pawl mechanism engaging the first serrations (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007]);
a second cable tie formed of the non-elastic material, the second cable tie comprising a second head including a second pawl mechanism and a second elongated strap having a plurality of second serrations, the second head configured for receiving the second elongated strap with the second pawl engaging the second serrations (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007]); and
Breeling does not disclose,
a tension device formed of an elastic material, the tension device connecting the first head to the second head, the tension device further comprising:
a first overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the first cable tie to form a first mechanical interlock; and
a second overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the second cable tie to form a second mechanical interlock.
However, Courbis teaches,
a tension device formed of an elastic material, the tension device connecting the first head to the second head (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4, abstract), the tension device further comprising:
a first overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the first cable tie to form a first mechanical interlock (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4); and
a second overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the second cable tie to form a second mechanical interlock (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second cable ties from Breeling with a tension device between the heads as taught by Courbis in order secure larger object or bundles.
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breeling (US Patent No. 2017/0210527), in view of Geiger (US Patent No. 5,966,781) and Courbis (US Patent No. 11,326,719 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Breeling discloses a stretch-band fixing comprising:
a first connector comprising a first non-elastic material, the first connector including an outer side opposite an inner side, a first retainer extending from the first connector inner side, and a first elongated strap having a plurality of first serrations (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007]), the first connector further including a first head comprising:
a first slot defined through the first head and configured to receive the first elongated strap (see annotated Fig. 4); and
a first pawl mechanism hingedly disposed within the first slot, the first pawl configured to engage the plurality of first serrations on the first elongated strap when the first elongated strap is disposed within the first slot (see annotated Fig. 4);
a second connector comprising a second non-elastic material, the second connector including an outer side opposite an inner side, a second retainer extending from the second connector inner side (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007]), and a second elongated strap having a plurality of second serrations, the second connector further including a second head comprising:
a second slot defined through the second head and configured to receive the second elongated strap (see annotated Fig. 4); and
a second pawl mechanism hingedly disposed within the second slot, the second pawl configured to engage the plurality of second serrations on the second elongated strap when the second elongated strap is disposed within the second slot (see annotated Fig. 4); and
Breeling does not disclose the first pawl including multiple first pawl teeth, and the second pawl including multiple first pawl teeth.
However, Geiger teaches the first pawl including multiple first pawl teeth (38), and the second pawl including multiple first pawl teeth (38) (see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pawls from Breeling by adding multiple teeth as taught by Geiger in order to have a stronger grip with the serrated teeth from the strap.
Breeling does not disclose,
a tension device comprising an elastic material, the tension device connecting the inner side of the first connector to the inner side of the second connector, the tension device further comprising:
a first overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the first retainer to form a first mechanical interlock; and
a second overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the second retainer to form a second mechanical interlock.
However, Courbis teaches,
a tension device comprising an elastic material, the tension device connecting the inner side of the first connector to the inner side of the second connector (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4, abstract), the tension device further comprising:
a first overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the first retainer to form a first mechanical interlock (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4); and
a second overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the second retainer to form a second mechanical interlock (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connectors from Breeling with a tension device between the heads as taught by Courbis in order secure larger object or bundles.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses,
wherein the first retainer includes a first upper surface opposite a first lower surface and the first mechanical interlock comprises at least one first interlock orifice (58) defined between the first upper surface and the first lower surface, the first interlock orifice (58) extending through the first retainer (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis), and
wherein the second retainer includes a second upper surface opposite a second lower surface and the second mechanical interlock comprises at least one second interlock orifice (58) defined between the second upper surface and the second lower surface, the second interlock orifice (58) extending through the second retainer (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the elastic material of the tension device extends through the first interlock orifice (58) to provide the first mechanical interlock and through the second interlock orifice (58) to provide the second mechanical interlock (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein at least one of:
the first retainer further comprises at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut, and the elastic material of the tension device extends around the at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut to provide the first mechanical interlock (ribs, see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis), or
the second retainer further comprises at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut, and the elastic material of the tension device extends around the at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut to provide the second mechanical interlock (ribs, see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the elastic material comprises at least one of butyl rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber, polyisoprene, neoprene, fluoroelastomer, ethylene propylene rubber (EPR), ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), poly(acrylic acid) (PAA), latex, natural latex rubber, polyurethane, nitrile rubber, acrylonitrile butadiene rubber), styrene-butadiene, styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), silicone rubber, or polybutadiene (see Col. 2, lines 60-61 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the first non-elastic material and the second non-elastic material are the same non-elastic material (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007] from Breeling).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the same non-elastic material is at least one of polyamide, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polyether ether ketone, polyaryletherketone, polyacetal, polybutylene terephthalate, or copolymers, blends, or alloys thereof (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007] from Breeling).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses,
wherein the first non-elastic material is at least one of polyamide, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polyether ether ketone, polyaryletherketone, polyacetal, polybutylene terephthalate, or copolymers, blends, or alloys thereof (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007] from Breeling), and
wherein the second non-elastic material is at least one of polyamide, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polyether ether ketone, polyaryletherketone, polyacetal, polybutylene terephthalate, or copolymers, blends, or alloys thereof (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007] from Breeling).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the elastic material comprises thermoplastic elastomeric high-stretch material (see Col. 2, lines 60-61 from Courbis) and the first and second non-elastic material comprises polyamide (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007] from Breeling).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses,
wherein the overmolding of the first overmold portion onto the at least a portion of the first retainer to form the first mechanical interlock chemically bonds the first overmold portion to the tension device (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis), and
wherein the overmolding of the second overmold portion onto the at least a portion of the second retainer to form the second mechanical interlock chemically bonds the second overmold portion to the tension device (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the first retainer extends from the first head and wherein the second retainer extends from the second head (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the first elongated strap extends away from the outer side of the first connector and the second elongated strap extends away from the outer side of the second connector (see annotated Fig. 4 from Breeling).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the first elongated strap, tension device, and second elongated strap are co-planar (see annotated Fig. 4 from Breeling and annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein the first connector is configured for forming a first loop around a first support structure and the second connector is configured for forming a second loop around a second support structure (see Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 4 from Breeling).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein
the first slot (left side) includes a first channel and a second channel (see Fig. 5 from Geiger),
the second slot (right side) includes a third channel and a fourth channel (see Fig. 5 from Geiger),
the first channel of the first slot (left side) is configured to receive the first elongated strap (see Fig. 5 from Geiger),
the first pawl (left (36)) is hingedly disposed within the first channel (see Fig. 5 from Geiger),
the first pawl teeth are configured to engage the plurality of first serrations on the first elongated strap when the first elongated strap is disposed within the first channel (see Fig. 5 from Geiger),
the third channel of the second slot (right side) is configured to receive the second elongated strap (see Fig. 5 from Geiger),
the second pawl (left (36)) is hingedly disposed within the third channel (see Fig. 5 from Geiger), and
the second pawl teeth are configured to engage the plurality of second serrations on the second elongated strap when the second elongated strap is disposed within the third channel (see Fig. 5 from Geiger).
Regarding claim 17, Breeling discloses a stretch-band fixing comprising:
a first connector comprising a first non-elastic material, the first connector including an outer side opposite an inner side, a first retainer extending from the first connector inner side, and a first elongated strap having a plurality of first serrations, the first elongated strap extending away from the outer side of the first connector (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007]), the first connector further including a first head comprising:
a first slot defined through the first head and configured to receive the first elongated strap (see annotated Fig. 4); and
a first pawl hingedly disposed within the first slot, the first pawl configured to engage the plurality of first serrations on the first elongated strap when the first elongated strap is disposed within the first slot (see annotated Fig. 4);
a second connector comprising a second non-elastic material, the second connector including an outer side opposite an inner side, a second retainer extending from the second connector inner side, and a second elongated strap having a plurality of second serrations, the second elongated strap extending away from the outer side of the second connector (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007]), the second connector further including a second head comprising:
a second slot defined through the second head and configured to receive the second elongated strap (see annotated Fig. 4); and
a second pawl hingedly disposed within the second slot, the second pawl configured to engage the plurality of second serrations on the second elongated strap when the second elongated strap is disposed within the second slot (see annotated Fig. 4).
Breeling does not disclose the first pawl including multiple first pawl teeth, and the second pawl including multiple first pawl teeth.
However, Geiger teaches the first pawl including multiple first pawl teeth (38), and the second pawl including multiple first pawl teeth (38) (see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pawls from Breeling by adding multiple teeth as taught by Geiger in order to have a stronger grip with the serrated teeth from the strap.
Breeling does not disclose a tension device comprising an elastic material, the tension device connecting the inner side of the first connector to the inner side of the second connector, the tension device further comprising:
a first overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the first retainer to form a first mechanical interlock, the overmolding of the first overmold portion chemically bonding the first overmold portion to the tension device; and
a second overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the second retainer to form a second mechanical interlock, the overmolding of the second overmold portion chemically bonding the second overmold portion to the tension device.
However, Courbis teaches a tension device comprising an elastic material, the tension device connecting the inner side of the first connector to the inner side of the second connector (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4, abstract), the tension device further comprising:
a first overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the first retainer to form a first mechanical interlock, the overmolding of the first overmold portion chemically bonding the first overmold portion to the tension device (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4); and
a second overmold portion overmolded onto at least a portion of the second retainer to form a second mechanical interlock, the overmolding of the second overmold portion chemically bonding the second overmold portion to the tension device (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connectors from Breeling with a tension device between the heads as taught by Courbis in order secure larger object or bundles.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses,
wherein the first retainer includes a first upper surface opposite a first lower surface and the first mechanical interlock comprises at least one first interlock orifice (58) defined between the first upper surface and the first lower surface, the first interlock orifice (58) extending through the first retainer (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis),
wherein the second retainer includes a second upper surface opposite a second lower surface and the second mechanical interlock comprises at least one second interlock orifice (58) defined between the second upper surface and the second lower surface, the second interlock orifice (58) extending through the second retainer (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis), and
wherein the elastic material of the tension device extends through the first interlock orifice (58) to provide the first mechanical interlock and through the second interlock orifice (58) to provide the second mechanical interlock (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses, wherein at least one of:
the first retainer further comprises at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut, and the elastic material of the tension device extends around the at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut to provide the first mechanical interlock (ribs, see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis), or
the second retainer further comprises at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut, and the elastic material of the tension device extends around the at least one rib, boss, key, indentation, or undercut to provide the second mechanical interlock (ribs, see annotated Figs. 3 and 4 from Courbis).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Breeling in view of Geiger and Courbis discloses,
wherein the elastic material comprises at least one of butyl rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber, polyisoprene, neoprene, fluoroelastomer, ethylene propylene rubber (EPR), ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), poly (acrylic acid) (PAA), latex, natural latex rubber, polyurethane, nitrile rubber, acrylonitrile butadiene rubber), styrene-butadiene, styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), silicone rubber, or polybutadiene (see Col. 2, lines 60-61 from Courbis).
wherein the first and second non-elastic materials are a same non-elastic material (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007] from Breeling), and
wherein the same non-elastic material is at least one of polyamide, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polyether ether ketone, polyaryletherketone, polyacetal, polybutylene terephthalate, or copolymers, blends, or alloys thereof (see annotated Fig. 4, and paragraph [0007] from Breeling).
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677