DETAILED ACTION
Amendment submitted August 12, 2025 has been considered by examiner. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant states that the cited art does not disclose “tracking time spent on security checks at each navigation step; identifying a performance issue based on the tracked time spent for each navigation step and the tracked time on security checks; each navigation step including an operator to fetch objects up to a bounded limit in a respective memory space designated for the navigation step, the respective memory space being flushed in between select navigation steps.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As to “tracking time spent on security checks at each navigation step; identifying a performance issue based on the tracked time spent for each navigation step and the tracked time on security checks,” see at least Bhattacharjee and Longsine.
For example, Bhattacharjee [0039-0040] describes a monitoring tool for measuring time spent on various operations; Longsine [0034-0035] discloses that a particular amount of “processing time” is required for intrusion handling, i.e. security checks. The combination of Bhattacharjee’s monitoring tool for collecting time statistics for various operations and Longsine’s identifying of how long a security operation takes place produces the combination for the above argued features.
As to “each navigation step including an operator to fetch objects up to a bounded limit in a respective memory space designated for the navigation step, the respective memory space being flushed in between select navigation steps,” see at least Bannon.
To begin, the Examiner would like to point out that the flushing in the claim occurs once, “flushed in between select navigation steps.” For example, a step dealing with fetching objects, may be interpreted as writing objects into memory because fetching means retrieving data and storing it somewhere. That means the memory is flushed after a particular step, such as a step where an object was fetched (i.e. written). Bannon [0029-0032] discloses flushing memory based on threshold write operations.
As such, Banon discloses the above argued feature.
No further specific arguments are provided.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,840. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘840 Patent anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 12-13, 17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0193050) in view of Bannon et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0047332) further in view of Bhattacharjee et al (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0262633) and further in view of Longsine et al (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0179485).
Claims 1, 9 and 17: Olson discloses a method, a machine storage medium and a system comprising:
performing a plurality of navigation steps in a stepwise fashion in response to a show command [0080]. [See at least requesting a report.]
each navigation step to fetch objects from a respective layer of a plurality of layers in a metadata database [Fig. 2, 0078]. [See at least providing a report to a user from layers of a database structure.]
each navigation step corresponding to a different layer in a structure of the metadata database [Fig. 2, 0078].
each navigation step including an operator to fetch objects up to a bounded limit in a respective memory space designated for the navigation step [Fig. 2, 0078]. [See at least providing a report to a user from layers of a database structure. The bounded limit is based on query limitations.]
compiling dependency information associated with objects from a last layer of the plurality of layers [Fig. 2, 0078-0080]. [Dependency information is based at least on the layer that is being accessed, including a last layer that is accessed based on query limitations.]
generating results for the show command based on the compiled dependency information [Fig. 2, 0078-0080].
Olson alone does not explicitly disclose the respective memory space being flushed in between select navigation steps.
However, Bannon [0029, 0032] discloses flushing memory based on threshold write operations (i.e. between select navigation steps).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson with Bannon. One would have been motivated to do so in order to free up memory.
Olson alone also does not explicitly disclose tracking time spent for each navigation step; and identifying a performance issue based on the tracked time spent for each navigation step.
However, Bhattacharjee [0039-0040] discloses measuring time spent retrieving data at various stages and identifying performance based on at least time statistics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson with Bhattacharjee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to further evaluate metrics such as time to be able to improve performance.
Olson alone also does not explicitly disclose tracking time spent on security checks at each navigation step, and that the performance issue is based on the tracked time on security checks.
However, Bhattacharjee [0039-0040] describes a monitoring tool for measuring time spent on various operations; Longsine [0034-0035] discloses that a particular amount of “processing time” is required for intrusion handling, i.e. security checks. The combination of Bhattacharjee’s monitoring tool for collecting time statistics for various operations and Longsine’s identifying of how long a security operation takes place produces the combination for the above argued features.
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson with Bhattacharjee and Longsine. One would have been motivated to do so in order to further evaluate metrics such as time to be able to improve performance.
Claims 4, 12 and 20: Olson as modified discloses the method, the medium and the system of Claims 1, 9 and 17 above, but Olson alone does not explicitly disclose tracking time spent for compiling dependency information.
However, Olson [Fig. 2, 0078-0080] discloses compiling dependency information, which is a data retrieval operation and Bhattacharjee [0039-0040] discloses measuring time spent retrieving data at various stages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson with Bhattacharjee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to further evaluate metrics such as time to be able to improve performance.
Claims 5, 13 and 21: Olson as modified discloses the method, the medium and the system of Claims 1, 9 and 17 above and Bhattacharjee [0039-0041], for the same reasons as above, further discloses wherein metrics including the tracked time spent for each navigation step is collected in a centralized location.
Claims 3, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0193050) in view of Bannon et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0047332) further in view of Bhattacharjee et al (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0262633) and further in view of Andruss et al (US Patent 7,854,006).
Claims 3, 11 and 19: Olson as modified discloses the method, the medium and the system of Claims 1, 9 and 17 above, but Olson alone does not explicitly disclose tracking number of items in security checks at each navigation step, wherein the performance issue is identified based on the tracked number of items in the security checks.
However, Andruss (Col 2 ln 43-62 and Col 3ln 10-29) identifying which items get scanned (i.e. items that are tracked) and determining that the scan performance is degraded.
As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson with Andruss. One would have been motivated to do so in order to identify how to improve performance.
Claims 6, 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0193050) in view of Bannon et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0047332) further in view of Bhattacharjee et al (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0262633) and further in view of Sion et al (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0087600).
Claims 6, 14 and 22: Olson as modified discloses Olson discloses the method, the medium and the system of Claims 1, 9 and 17 and Olson [Fig. 2, 0078-0080] further discloses wherein the dependency information associated a respective layer is fetched in a single transaction with the metadata database. But Olson alone does not explicitly disclose wherein the dependency information associated a respective layer is fetched in a single transaction with the metadata database using bulk reads.
However, Sion [0326] discloses using a single bulk read operation to fetch data from a database.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson with Sion. One would have been motivated to do so in order to process data faster.
Claims 7-8, 15-16 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0193050) in view of Bannon et al (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0047332) further in view of Bhattacharjee et al (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0262633) and further in view of Fuller (US Patent 8,260,769).
Claims 7, 15 and 23: Olson as modified discloses Olson discloses the method, the medium and the system of Claims 1, 9 and 17 and Olson [Fig. 2, 0078-0080] further discloses fetching data in response to a request to display data, but Olson alone does not explicitly disclose wherein execution of the show command is stopped before all objects corresponding to the show command in a first layer are fetched, and a bookmark is placed indicating where the show command was stopped.
However, Fuller (Col 8 ln 37-46) discloses stopping retrieval of query information (such as at least to display data as in Olson Fig. 2) and inserting a bookmark in order to resume data retrieval data at a later point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson with Fuller. One would have been motivated to do so in order to resume data retrieval at a point convenient for a user instead of rerunning the full data retrieval command.
Claims 8, 16 and 24: Olson as modified discloses the method, the medium and the system of Claims 7, 15 and 23 and Fuller (Col 8 ln 37-46), for the same reasons as above, further discloses wherein the show command is a first show command, and the method further comprising: executing a second show command based on the bookmark.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX GOFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163