DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 objected to because of the following informalities: Each of the independent claims 1 and 8-11 appear to contain a typo using the word “assosiating” instead of “associating”. Claims 2-7 are objected to since they each depend on claim 1 including the above identified typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, this claim includes the term “the RRC idle state”. Although claim 1 previously introduces an RRC inactive state, there is no prior mention of any RRC idle state within the language of this claim. Thus, there is a lack of proper antecedent basis for this term.
Regarding claim 6, this claim includes the term “the RRC idle state”. Although claim 1 previously introduces an RRC inactive state, there is no prior mention of any RRC idle state within the language of this claim. Thus, there is a lack of proper antecedent basis for this term.
Regarding claim 7, this claim is rejected since it depends on claim 6, and thus includes the same above identified indefinite language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (U.S. Publication US 2025/0071851 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 8-11, Dai et al. discloses a mobile communication system including a user equipment performing a communication method for providing a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS), wherein the user equipment comprises a receiver, a chipset, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium, stored thereon, computer program instructions for execution by the user equipment (See the abstract, paragraphs 31-32, paragraph 36, paragraphs 114-117, and Figures 1 and 4 of Dai et al. for reference to a wireless communication system comprising a UE performing a method of supporting multicast and broadcast services, wherein the UE comprising receiving circuitry, a processor, which is a type of chipset, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions to cause the processor to implement the method of the UE). Dai et al. also discloses receiving, RRC release message which is for transitioning the user equipment from an RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state, the RRC release message including a threshold value and information associating the threshold value with a multicast session (See paragraphs 42-43 of Dai et al. for reference to a UE in a RRC connected state receiving a RRCRelease message to transition the UE to an RRC inactive state, wherein the RRCRelease message includes configuration information indicating at least one condition parameter associated with RRC state transition for multicast reception, and wherein the condition parameter may include a radio link quality threshold). Dai et al. further discloses receiving, in the RRC inactive state, the multicast session from a network (See paragraph 45 of Dai et al. for reference to the UE receiving the multicast in the RRC inactive state). Dai et al. also discloses measuring, in a multicast reception state in which the multicast session is being received, reception quality from the network (See paragraph 45 and paragraph 49 of Dai et al. for reference to the UE measuring the radio link quality while receiving the multicast in the RRC inactive state). Dai et al. further discloses performing processing for transitioning from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state in response to the measured reception quality being lower than the threshold value (See paragraph 45 and paragraph 49 of Dai et al. for reference to, in response to at least one condition parameter being fulfilled, wherein the condition parameter may be the measured radio link quality of the UE being lower than or equal to the radio link quality threshold, the UE triggering an RRC connection resume procedure to enter the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state).
With respect to claim 2, Dai et al. discloses wherein the measuring includes measuring during a predetermined period (See paragraph 43 and paragraph 49 of Dai et al. for reference to the measuring being performed during a timer interval of a state transition timer, which is a predetermined period).
With respect to claim 3, Dai et al. discloses performing the multicast reception while maintaining the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state in response to the measured reception quality being higher than the threshold value (See paragraph 45 and paragraph 49 of Dai et al. for reference to continuing to receive the multicast in the RRC inactive state unless the UE is triggered to re-enter a RRC connected state, wherein the UE is not triggered to re-enter the RRC connected state while the measured radio link quality is higher than the radio link quality threshold).
With respect to claim 4, Dai et al. discloses wherein the performing of the processing for transitioning comprises performing the processing for transitioning in response to a state in which the measured reception quality is lower than the threshold value continues for a first predetermined period of time (See paragraph 43 and paragraph 49 of Dai et al. for reference to the trigger for the UE to re-enter the RRC connected state being based on the measured link quality being lower than the threshold for a time interval of the state transmission time, which is a first predetermined period of time).
With respect to claim 5, Dai et al. discloses receiving, from a network node included in the network, configuration information configuring the first predetermined amount of time (See paragraphs 42-43 and paragraph 49 of Dai et al. for reference to the state transition timer being a condition parameter that is configured by the network side).
With respect to claim 6, Dai et al. discloses counting an elapsed period after transitioning to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state; and avoiding the performing of the processing for transitioning for the multicast reception until the elapsed period exceeds a second predetermined amount of time, wherein the performing of the processing for transitioning comprises performing the processing for transitioning in response to the elapsed period exceeding the second predetermined amount of time and the measured reception quality being lower than the threshold value (See paragraphs 42-45 and paragraphs 49-50 of Dai et al. for reference to using a prohibited timer that counts an elapsed time after transitioning to the RRC inactive state, wherein the processing for triggering a RRC connection resume procedure is prohibited while the prohibited timer is running, and wherein triggering a RRC connection resume procedure is in response to both the prohibited timer no longer running, i.e. the period of the prohibited timer has been exceeded, and the measured radio link quality is lower than the radio link quality threshold).
With respect to claim 7, Dai et al. discloses receiving, from a network node included in the network, configuration information configuring the second predetermined amount of time (See paragraphs 42-45 of Dai et al. for reference to the prohibited timer being a condition parameter that is configured by the network side).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2016/0119762 A1) discloses another relevant system and method of performing RRC state transitions during multicast reception.
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461