DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1, B1, and C1 in the reply filed on 08/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-21 are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024, 07/07/2025, and 11/05/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, “the at least one outer channel extending between another divider of the plurality of dividers and the raised barrier and towards the outlet tube, the other divider being located between the first divider or the second divider and the raised barrier; and at least one outer collection area located in the interior space between the other divider and the raised barrier” should read -- the at least one outer channel extending between another divider of the plurality of dividers and the raised barrier and towards the outlet tube, the [[another divider being located between the first divider or the second divider and the raised barrier; and at least one outer collection area located in the interior space between the [[another divider and the raised barrier --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen (US PAT 5827246) in view of Locke (US PGPUB 20190117861).
Regarding claim 1, Bowen discloses a vacuum pad (a vacuum pad 40: Col. 4, lines 20-33; and Fig. 2), comprising:
a first layer (a second sheet 48: Col. 6, lines 4-10; and Figs. 1-4);
a top layer at least partially forming a top surface of the vacuum pad (a first sheet 46 at least partially forming a top surface of the vacuum pad 40: Col. 6, lines 4-10; and Figs. 1-4), the top layer having a plurality of holes extending through the top layer into an interior space located between at least a portion of the top layer and at least a portion of the first layer (the first sheet 46 comprises a plurality of openings 54 extending through the first sheet 46 into an interior space located between at least a portion of the first sheet 46 and at least a portion of the second sheet 48: Col. 6, lines 10-27; and Figs. 1-4);
an outlet tube in fluid communication with the interior space (a conduit 22: Col. 4, lines 20-32; Fig. 2);
a plurality of dividers located in the interior space (a plurality of corrugated ribs 50: Col. 6, lines 4-15; Figs. 1-4), each of the plurality of dividers extending along the first layer from a first end of the respective divider located adjacent to the outlet tube (Figs. 1-4);
a center channel located in the interior space, the center channel extending between a first divider of the plurality of dividers and a second divider of the plurality of dividers and towards the outlet tube (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
a center collection area located in the interior space about a center of the vacuum pad and between the first divider and the second divider, the center collection area extending from the center channel in a direction away from the outlet tube (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the center collection area having a maximum width greater than a maximum width of the center channel (a maximum width of the center collection area is greater than a maximum width of the center channel: see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Bowen further discloses a raised barrier (a bulged portion 68 on a first edge 56: Col. 6, lines 44-52 and Col. 9, lines 42-58; Fig. 8), but Bowen does not disclose the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes. However, Bowen further discloses/suggests having raised barriers (bulged portions 242a and 242b: Fig. 6) on a second edge 58 and a fourth edge 62 in order to facilitate cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad 40 has been used to collect fluids (Col. 8, lines 60-65). From these teachings of Bowen, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized/deduced that having raised barrier on the first edge 56, the second edge 58, the third edge 60, and the fourth edge 62 so that the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes yields the predictable result of facilitating cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad has been used to collect fluids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the vacuum pad of Bowen by having the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes, in order to facilitate cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad has been used to collect fluids, as suggested in Col. 8, lines 60-65 of Bowen.
Thus, Bowen further discloses:
at least one outer channel located in the interior space, the at least one outer channel extending between another divider of the plurality of dividers and the raised barrier and towards the outlet tube (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the other divider being located between the first divider or the second divider and the raised barrier (see annotated Fig. 2 below); and
at least one outer collection area located in the interior space between the other divider and the raised barrier (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the at least one outer collection area extending from an outer channel of the at least one outer channel in a direction away from the outlet tube and having a maximum width greater than a maximum width of the at least one outer channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Bowen does not disclose at least one spacer located in the interior space, the at least one spacer having a different shape than the plurality of dividers.
In the same field of endeavor, wound therapy, Locke discloses a dressing 102 comprising a dressing interface 107 and a tissue interface 108 (¶0056 and Fig. 1). Locke further discloses the dressing interface 107 comprising at least one spacer located in an interior space (a plurality of projections/standoffs/closed cells 340 located between a first layer 331 and a second layer 332: ¶0090 and Fig. 3) for the benefit of providing a cushion to help prevent the interior space of the dressing interface from collapsing as a result of external forces (¶0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vacuum pad of Bowen in view Locke by incorporating at least one spacer located in an interior space, in order to provide a cushion to help prevent the interior space of the vacuum pad from collapsing as a result of external forces, as suggested in ¶0090 of Locke. Thus, the at least one spacer of Bowen in view Locke has a different shape than the plurality of dividers.
Regarding claim 2, Bowen further discloses:
wherein the at least one outer channel includes a first outer channel and a second outer channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and
wherein the at least one outer collection area includes a first outer collection area and a second outer collection area (see annotated Fig. 2a below),
the first outer channel extending between a third divider of the plurality of dividers and the raised barrier to the first outer collection area located between the third divider and the raised barrier, the third divider being located between the first divider and the raised barrier (see annotated Fig. 2a below), and
the second outer channel extending between a fourth divider of the plurality of dividers and the raised barrier to the second outer collection area located between the fourth divider and the raised barrier, the fourth divider being located between the second divider and the raised barrier (see annotated Fig. 2a below).
Regarding claim 3, Bowen further discloses: a first intermediary collection area and a second intermediary collection area, the first intermediary collection area located between the first divider and the third divider (see annotated Fig. 2a above), and the second intermediary collection area located between the second divider and the fourth divider (see annotated Fig. 2a above).
Regarding claim 4, Bowen further discloses a majority of the plurality of holes are located over the center collection area, the at least one outer collection area, the center channel, and the at least one outer channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Bowen further discloses the top layer is attached to the first layer at a location (the fourth edge 62: Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Bowen further discloses:
a majority of the plurality of holes are located over the center collection area, the at least one outer collection area, the center channel, and the at least one outer channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above), and
the raised barrier entirely surrounds the plurality of holes defining an active area of the vacuum pad (see rejection of claim 1 above), and
the location where the top layer is attached to the first layer includes at least one location in the active area outside of the majority of the plurality of holes (the fourth edge is located outside of the majority of the plurality of holes: Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Bowen further discloses the first ends of the plurality of dividers are spaced radially about the outlet tube (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Bowen discloses a vacuum pad (a vacuum pad 40: Col. 4, lines 20-33; and Fig. 2), comprising:
a first layer (a second sheet 48: Col. 6, lines 4-10; and Figs. 1-4);
a top layer at least partially forming a top surface of the vacuum pad (a first sheet 46 at least partially forming a top surface of the vacuum pad 40: Col. 6, lines 4-10; and Figs. 1-4), the top layer having a plurality of holes extending through the top layer into an interior space located between at least a portion of the top layer and at least a portion of the first layer (the first sheet 46 comprises a plurality of openings 54 extending through the first sheet 46 into an interior space located between at least a portion of the first sheet 46 and at least a portion of the second sheet 48: Col. 6, lines 10-27; and Figs. 1-4);
an outlet tube in fluid communication with the interior space (a conduit 22: Col. 4, lines 20-32; Fig. 2);
one or more dividers located in the interior space (a plurality of corrugated ribs 50: Col. 6, lines 4-15; Figs. 1-4), the one or more dividers extending along the first layer from a first end of the one or more dividers located adjacent to the outlet tube (Figs. 1-4);
Bowen further discloses a raised barrier (a bulged portion 68 on a first edge 56: Col. 6, lines 44-52 and Col. 9, lines 42-58; Fig. 8), but Bowen does not disclose the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes. However, Bowen further discloses/suggests having raised barriers (bulged portions 242a and 242b: Fig. 6) on a second edge 58 and a fourth edge 62 in order to facilitate cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad 40 has been used to collect fluids (Col. 8, lines 60-65). From these teachings of Bowen, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized/deduced that having raised barrier on the first edge 56, the second edge 58, the third edge 60, and the fourth edge 62 so that the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes yields the predictable result of facilitating cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad has been used to collect fluids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the vacuum pad of Bowen by having the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes, in order to facilitate cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad has been used to collect fluids, as suggested in Col. 8, lines 60-65 of Bowen.
Thus, Bowen further discloses at least one channel located extending between one of the one or more dividers and either the raised barrier or another one of the one or more dividers and extending towards the outlet tube (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Bowen does not disclose at least one spacer located in the interior space, the at least one spacer having a different shape than the one or more dividers.
In the same field of endeavor, wound therapy, Locke discloses a dressing 102 comprising a dressing interface 107 and a tissue interface 108 (¶0056 and Fig. 1). Locke further discloses the dressing interface 107 comprising at least one spacer located in an interior space (a plurality of projections/standoffs/closed cells 340 located between a first layer 331 and a second layer 332: ¶0090 and Fig. 3) for the benefit of providing a cushion to help prevent the interior space of the dressing interface from collapsing as a result of external forces (¶0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vacuum pad of Bowen in view Locke by incorporating at least one spacer located in an interior space, in order to provide a cushion to help prevent the interior space of the vacuum pad from collapsing as a result of external forces, as suggested in ¶0090 of Locke. Thus, the at least one spacer of Bowen in view Locke has a different shape than the plurality of dividers.
Regarding claim 20, Bowen further discloses/suggests the first end of the one or more dividers includes at least one surface angled towards the outlet tube (wavy configuration of the corrugated ribs 50b: Col. 7, lines 7-15 and Fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vacuum pad of Bowen by changing shape the first end of the one or more dividers, in order to provide flexibility in the cross-sectional configuration of fluid flow channels depending on the intended application, as suggested in Col. 7, lines 7-15 and Fig. 3B of Bowen and as it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (B)).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen (US PAT 5827246).
Regarding claim 8, Bowen discloses a vacuum pad (a vacuum pad 40: Col. 4, lines 20-33; and Fig. 2), comprising:
a first layer (a second sheet 48: Col. 6, lines 4-10; and Figs. 1-4);
a top layer at least partially forming a top surface of the vacuum pad (a first sheet 46 at least partially forming a top surface of the vacuum pad 40: Col. 6, lines 4-10; and Figs. 1-4), the top layer having a plurality of holes extending through the top layer into an interior space located between at least a portion of the top layer and at least a portion of the first layer (the first sheet 46 comprises a plurality of openings 54 extending through the first sheet 46 into an interior space located between at least a portion of the first sheet 46 and at least a portion of the second sheet 48: Col. 6, lines 10-27; and Figs. 1-4);
an outlet tube in fluid communication with the interior space (a conduit 22: Col. 4, lines 20-32; Fig. 2);
one or more dividers located in the interior space (a plurality of corrugated ribs 50: Col. 6, lines 4-15; Figs. 1-4), the one or more dividers extending along the first layer from a first end of the one or more dividers located adjacent to the outlet tube (Figs. 1-4);
at least one channel located in the interior space, the at least one channel being at least partially formed by at least one of the one or more dividers (see annotated Fig. 2b below);
at least one collection area located in the interior space, the at least one collection area extending from a channel of the at least one channel and being at least partially formed by the at least one of the one or more dividers that at least partially forms the channel of the at least one channel (see annotated Fig. 2b below),
wherein the at least one collection area has a greater maximum width than a maximum width of the channel of the at least one channel (see annotated Fig. 2b below).
Bowen further discloses a raised barrier (a bulged portion 68 on a first edge 56: Col. 6, lines 44-52 and Col. 9, lines 42-58; Fig. 8), but Bowen does not disclose the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes. However, Bowen further discloses/suggests having raised barriers (bulged portions 242a and 242b: Fig. 6) on a second edge 58 and a fourth edge 62 in order to facilitate cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad 40 has been used to collect fluids (Col. 8, lines 60-65). From these teachings of Bowen, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized/deduced that having raised barrier on the first edge 56, the second edge 58, the third edge 60, and the fourth edge 62 so that the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes yields the predictable result of facilitating cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad has been used to collect fluids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the vacuum pad of Bowen by having the raised barrier surrounding the plurality of holes, in order to facilitate cleanup and disposal after vacuum pad has been used to collect fluids, as suggested in Col. 8, lines 60-65 of Bowen.
Regarding claim 9, Bowen further discloses:
the at least one channel includes a center channel and at least one outer channel (see annotated Fig. 2b above),
the center channel being formed by two dividers of the one or more dividers, and the at least one outer channel being formed by another divider of the one or more dividers and the raised barrier (see annotated Fig. 2b above), and
wherein the at least one collection area includes a center collection area and at least one outer collection area,
the center collection area being formed by the two dividers and extending from the center channel (see annotated Fig. 2b above), and the at least one outer collection area being formed by the other divider and the raised barrier and extending from the at least one outer channel (see annotated Fig. 2b above).
Regarding claim 10, Bowen further discloses the at least one collection area includes at least one intermediary collection area located between the center collection area and the at least one outer collection area, the at least one intermediary collection area being formed by one of the two dividers and the other divider (see annotated Fig. 2b above).
Regarding claim 11, Bowen further discloses the top layer includes a greater concentration of the plurality of holes over the center channel, the center collection area, the at least one outer channel, and the at least one outer collection area than over the at least one intermediary collection area (see annotated Fig. 2b above).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen (US PAT 5827246), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Mason (US PAT 5324319).
Regarding claim 14, Bowen does not disclose a channel of the at least one channel or a collection area of the at least one collection area includes a flow guide, the flow guide being separate from the one or more dividers.
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, having/using a flow diverter/guide to direct/control or guide movement of a fluid along a desired flow path, Mason discloses a device for therapeutically treating a desired region of a patient's body with a nonambient temperature fluid includes a fluid feed reservoir, a fluid collection reservoir, and a fluid flowpath therebetween (Abstract and Fig. 1). Mason further discloses the device comprising a pad 12 formed from two sheets of film that are welded together to form an internal flow chamber 74 (Col. 5, lines 20-25 and Fig. 3). Mason also discloses/suggests the pad 12 comprising flow diverters 76 and 78 for the benefit of facilitating controlled movement of fluid in the internal flow chamber (Col. 5, lines 25-32 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vacuum pad of Bowen in view of Mason by incorporating a flow guide in a collection area of the at least one collection area, in order to facilitate controlled movement of fluid in the collection area, as suggested in Col. 5, lines 25-32 and Fig. 3 of Mason.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen (US PAT 5827246) in view of Locke (US PGPUB 20190117861), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Askem (US PGPUB 20240165318).
Regarding claim 21, Bowen further discloses a vacuum pad system (Fig. 1) comprising the vacuum pad of claim 15 and a canister in fluid connection to the vacuum pad (a container 28: Col. 4, lines 19-32 and Fig. 1), wherein the canister is configured to collection fluid pulled from the vacuum pad (Col. 4, lines 19-32).
Bowen/Locke does not disclose a suspension system, wherein a side wall of the canister is detachably coupled to the suspension system, and wherein the suspension system is configured to detect at least one of an amount of fluid collected in the canister or a rate of fluid coming into the canister.
In the same field of endeavor, wound therapy devices, Askem discloses a negative pressure wound therapy device can include one or more fluid detection systems (Abstract). Askem further discloses the device comprising a canister configured to be in fluid communication with the negative pressure source (¶0004) and the canister comprising a fluid level sensor within a surface of the canister (¶0082) for the benefit of detecting canister full condition (¶0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the vacuum pad system of Bowen/Locke in view Askem by incorporating a suspension system such as a fluid level sensor on a side wall of the canister and having the fluid level sensor detachably coupled to the side wall of the canister, in order to detect fluid level in the canister, as suggested in ¶0083 of Askem and as it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routing skill in art (see MPEP § 2144.04 (V) (C)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The reasons for indicating allowable subject matter are the same as those presented in the Notice of Allowance mailed on 03/15/2024 of the parent application 17/819846.
Regarding claim 12, Bowen fails to disclose a flat boundary portion and the flat boundary portion including an impermeable top surface that entirely surrounds the raised barrier and extends outward therefrom. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation in Bowen that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a flat boundary portion including an impermeable top surface that entirely surrounds the raised barrier and extends outward therefrom.
No other prior art fairly suggests the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with teachings/motivations for combining to render the claimed invention obvious.
Therefore, claim 12 and its dependent claim 13 are deemed novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, Bowen discloses a channel of the at least one channel has a first width at a section of the channel adjacent to the outlet tube, but Bowen fails to disclose wherein the channel includes a section having an expanded width relative to the first width. Given that all of the channels disclosed in Bowen have the same width (Fig. 2), Bowen provides no teaching or suggestion that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify one of the channels to have a section with an expanded width relative to the first width.
No other prior art fairly suggests the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with teachings/motivations for combining to render the claimed invention obvious.
Regarding claim 17, Bowen discloses fails to disclose the one or more dividers, the at least one spacer, and the raised barrier are formed as an insert, the insert being located in the interior space. In Bowen, the one or more dividers are formed by corrugated ribs 50 extending between the first sheet 46 and the second sheet 48 (Fig. 3A) and the raised barrier are formed by the second sheet 48 (Fig. 8), wherein the corrugated ribs and the two sheets collectively define the interior space. Accordingly, the one or more dividers and the raised barrier of Bowen are parts of the structure defining the interior space, rather than a separate insert disposed therein. Modifying the one or more dividers and the raised barrier of Bowen to form an insert positioned within the interior space would therefore require a structural reconfiguration of Bowen. Bowen provides no teaching or suggestion that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to undertake such as modification to arrive at the claimed configuration.
No other prior art fairly suggests the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with teachings/motivations for combining to render the claimed invention obvious.
Therefore, claim 17 and its dependent claim 18-19 are deemed novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781