DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the definition of p, r, R" and “the definition of R”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 3 is independent and does not contain a formula 2 or 3. The applicant is required to revise the claim to properly define these variables or to make claim 3 dependent upon claim 1 where these formula are present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tobe (US 20200087442).
Regarding Claim 3,
Tobe teaches a method of producing the modified epoxy resin by reacting the polyester and epoxy compound (Paragraph 78) where the epoxy resin can be bisphenol A diglycidyl ether (Paragraph 15) which meets the structural requirements of formula 4 and where the polyester is acid terminated (Paragraph 20) and can be comprised of acids such as terephthalic and isophthalic acid (Paragraph 23) and diols such as ethylene glycol (Paragraph 28) which meets the structural requirements of formula 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobe (US 20200087442).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2,
Tobe teaches a modified epoxy resin that is a reaction product of an epoxy compound and an acid terminated polyester (Abstract) which is preferred to have a weight average molecular weight of 7,000 to 50,000 (Paragraph 100) and an epoxy equivalent of 1,000 to 100,000 (Paragraph 70). The ranges for the molecular weight and epoxy equivalent overlap with the ranges of the instant claim. Tobe further teaches the polyester is preferred to have a molecular weight of 1,000 to 8,000 (Paragraph 43), which in combination with the weight of a bisphenol or biphenol diglycidyl ether repeat unit (Paragraph 15) would result in a mean value of repeat units of the instant claims to overlap with the range of the instant claim. It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Tobe also teaches that the epoxy compound can be a variety of compounds including tetramethyl bisphenol F diglycidyl ether and tetramethyl biphenol diglycidyl ether (Paragraph 15), meeting the requirements of formula 2 (R1 being methylene or direct bond, R2 equal to methyl, p=0) as well as the requirements of claim 2. Tobe also teaches that the polyester is comprised of diol components such as ethylene or polyethylene glycol as well as diols of 5 to 8 carbons (Paragraph 28) and diacids such as terephthalic and isophthalic acid (Paragraph 23), meeting the structural requirements of formula 3. While Tobe does not teach the number of repeat units, based upon Tobe teaching that the polyester has a preferred molecular weight of 1,000 to 8,000 (Paragraph 43), Tobe teaches a polyester which would meet repeating unit requirement (approximately 38 repeat units at 8,000 molecular weight when using ethylene-terephthalate repeat unit).
Regarding Claim 4,
Tobe teaches that the modified epoxy resin preferably has a weight average molecular weight of 7,000 to 50,000 (Paragraph 100), which overlaps with the range of the instant claim. It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 5,
Tobe teaches that the modified epoxy resin has an epoxy equivalent of 1,000 to 100,000 (Paragraph 70), which overlaps with the range of the instant claim. It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 6,
Tobe teaches that the composition further includes a curing agent (Paragraph 107).
Regarding Claims 7-8 and 11-15,
Tobe teaches that the composition has a variety of uses, including as an adhesive, a paint, and as a fiber reinforced resin (Paragraph 142), with a paint reading on a coating as required by claims 7, 13, and 15, an adhesive meeting the requirements of claim 8, and a fiber reinforced resin meeting the requirements of claims 11 and 14. Tobe teaches that the composition is cured by heat and/or light (Paragraph 138).
Regarding Claim 9,
Tobe teaches that the composition can be used as a paint which reads on a coating (Paragraph 142), but does not explicitly teach that the coating is formed by powder coating. However, because the composition taught by Tobe contains the same components in substantially similar amounts, it would logically follow that the composition is capable of being used as a powder coating and as such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used the composition of Tobe as a powder coating.
Regarding Claims 10 and 16-17,
Tobe teaches the composition to be useful as a paint which reads on a coating (Paragraph 142), but does not teach that the substrate is a can. However, the claim language of the instant claims does not place any additional limitations on the composition other than to coat the substrate. Because Tobe teaches the composition is useful as a paint, it would logically follow that the composition could be used to coat any surface, including a surface of a can. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used the composition of Tobe to coat a can.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suganuma (JP 2017-008155) teaches a polyester-modified epoxy resin that is the product of a reaction between a diglycidyl ether of a bisphenol or biphenol structure (Paragraph 10), a diol of 2 to 5 carbons (Paragraph 19), and a polycarboxylic acid (Paragraph 22) which is further combined with a curing agent (Paragraph 11) to form a curable composition (Abstract).
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765