Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 16-18 in the reply filed on 06/29/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that newly added claims 20-28 also read on the elected group. This is found persuasive and claims 16-18 and claims 20-28 will be examined herein.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,066,375 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: a housing forming an enclosed and elongated fluid channel arranged along a first axis with an inlet and outlet connecting to the fluid channel, a first and second light guide, measuring an absorption value of the optical flow cell, and generating a compensated light absorption value.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 18, 21, 26, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coombs U.S. Publication 2017/0370826.
With respect to claim 16, Coombs discloses a method for measurement in a flow cell system comprising:
Obtaining environment data indicative of an environment the optical flow cell has been subjected to (P.0084, flow cell is calibrated with a known blank = obtaining environment data indicative of environment)
The optical flow cell comprises a housing forming an enclosed and elongated fluid channel arranged along a first axis (Figure 1, housing 100, Figure 2, fluid channel = flow cell central portion 214)
An inlet arranged to connect a first outer surface of the housing to a first end of the fluid channel and an outlet arranged to connect a second outer surface area to a second end of the fluid channel (Figure 2, inlet = funnel 106, outlet = funnel 108, P.0045)
A first light guide and a second light guide concentrically arranged along a second axis and on opposite side walls of the fluid channel (Figure 1, light guides = light pipes 112)
The first light guide comprises an exit surface where light is emitted and arranged adjacent to the first side wall of the fluid channel (Figure 1 and Figure 2, first light guide exit surface = input face of flow cell, P.0043)
The second light guide comprises an entrance surface, where the emitted light is received and arranged adjacent to a second opposing side wall of the fluid channel (Figure 1, light guide = light pipe 112, P.0043)
Where the exit surface and entrance surface is separated by a distance (Figure 2, distance between input and output faces, P.0052)
Measuring a light absorption value of the optical flow cell indicative of absorption of light emitted from the exit surface of the first light guide to an exist surface of the second light guide (P.0084, light absorption value = OD, P.0080)
Generating a compensated light absorption value based on the light absorption value and a compensation function dependent on the environment data (P.0084, compensated = corrected for residual OD, calibrated, P.0085)
With respect to claims 17, 18, 21, 26, 27, and 28, Coombs discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 16 above. In addition, Coombs discloses:
17- The compensation function compensates for variations of the distance (P.0058, P.0084, calibration takes into account the distance between faces inherently)
18- The environment data is indicative of one or more flow cell temperature, the optical flow cell being subjected to gamma irradiation, and the optical flow cell being subjected to autoclaving (P.0084, calibration takes into account these characteristics inherently)
21- The housing is a single use or disposable and/or the optical flow cell is made from polymer and or metal (single use or disposable is up to the user and not structural, P.0043 and P.0045 made of plastic = polymer or stainless steel = metal)
26- the first light guide is enclosed in a first connector part and the second light guide is enclosed in a second connector part (Figure 2, first and second connector parts = flow cell 110)
27- a first fastener arranged to fasten or secure the first connector part to the housing and a second fastener arranged to fasten or secure the second connector part to the housing (Figure 3, first fastener = screw 303B, second fastener = screws 303A, P.0045)
28- the fluid channel is open at least on a side generally parallel with the first axis for exposing said light guides, said open fluid channel being closeable by a further part to form the optical flow cell (Figure 2, fluid channel is open = top of flow cell central portion 110 that meets funnel, wherein “being closeable by a further part” is intended use and not part of the method)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coombs U.S. Publication 2017/0370826.
With respect to claim 20, Coombs discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 16 above. In addition, Coombs discloses:
20- The distance is 2 mm (P.0049-50, 2 mm)
However, Coombs fails to disclose the distance is in the range of 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a pathlength between the two inputs commensurate in scope with the fluid being analyzed and the sensitivity of the sensors along with tolerance of noise. The pathlength is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of optimizing the contributing factors (sensitivity, tolerance of noise, size of particles in fluid, amount of sample available, speed of moving sample) to determine an optimum range of sizes for the pathlength without unexpected results.
Claim(s) 22, 23, 24, and 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coombs U.S. Publication 2017/0370826 in view of Brewer U.S. Patent #7,184,141.
With respect to claims 22, 23, 24, 25, Coombs discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 16 above. In addition, Coombs discloses:
22- the housing comprises at least a first part, a second part and a body located between the first and second part, wherein the first part is configured to form the enclosed and elongated fluid channel arranged along the first axis, the fluid channel having an open side and the corresponding second part is configured to close the open side of the fluid channel (Figure 1 and 2, first part = funnel 106, second part = 108, body = central core 110, P.0045, lengthwise = second axis, funnel 106 has opening along edge of the first part at the top of 214 and the second funnel 108 closes that opening on the other side of the central core 110 into the outlet diameter) – missing seal
23- the first part and/or second part are single unitary pieces (Figure 1 and 2, funnel 106 and funnel 108 are each single unitary pieces)
However, Coombs fails to disclose the body has a seal and that the seal encloses edges of opposing surfaces of the first and second parts and has a saddle shape.
Brewer discloses a releasable optical flow system comprising:
A seal located between a first and second part (Col.6, 13-19, seal = epoxy resin, first part = portion 31, second part = portion 32)
25- the seal encloses edges of opposing surface of the first and second parts (Col.6, l 13-19)
24- the first and second parts further have a saddle shape (Figure 1C, Col.4, l 32-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the sealing saddle shaped first and second parts as in Brewer for the first and second parts of Coombs since as described by Brewer the two piece shell contours allow for close tolerances at an inexpensive cost (Col.4, l 7-15, l 32-38). Using an additional seal (epoxy) between the components allows a stronger bond between components (Col.6, l 13-15) and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use something flexible between the inflexible sides of the first and second parts to allow for a more reliable seal.
Conclusion
REBECCA CAROLE. BRYANT
Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/REBECCA C BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877