Requirement for Information
An examiner or other Office employee may require from individuals identified under 37 CFR 1.56(c), the submission of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111, in a pending or abandoned application that has entered the national stage under 35 U.S.C. 371, in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding. The scope of 37 CFR 1.105 is extended to any assignee or anyone to whom there is an obligation to assign the application because the information required may be known to some members of the assignee or obligated assignee even if not known by the inventors.
The provisional patent application shows what appears to be a working embodiment of the present invention. See, e.g., Figs. 9 and 15 of 63/528,270 as well as many of the figures showing what appear to be screenshots (e.g., Fig. 14). See also, e.g., 63/528,270 [0019] “Figure 9 is a diagram 900 showing a tape and reel machine vision system integrated with a tape and reel machine, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure” and [0033] “Figure 15 is a diagram 1500 showing a tape and reel machine vision system integrated with a tape and reel machine, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure.” Corresponding sentences are found in the non-provisional patent application.
The technology shown and described appears to be based on old technology. See, e.g., specification, [0018] “the MVS 110 can include a PC Pentium III 500 Megahertz (MHz) dual-processor … Frame grabber PXR 800 Imagenation , STC-1100B Sentech camera.” According to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_III, “Intel officially declared end-of-life and discontinued Pentium III processors on July 14, 2009.” https://archive.org/details/manualzilla-id-6922927/page/n1/mode/2up, page ii, shows a copyright date of 2001-2003 for the Imagenation PXR800 Frame Grabber. An internet search suggests that the imagenation brand is no longer being sold. Similarly, https://cybarcode.com/sites/cy/files/specsheets/sentech/stc-1100_product_catalog.pdf is a 2003 catalog that includes the STC-1100B camera and http://www.sentechamerica.com/ is no longer operational.
That many of the components were introduced more than twenty years ago raises the question as to when the embodiments shown were developed.
The examiner is requiring the below information because if this machine has been used by Applicant for sales (e.g., to inspect potentially defective components that are then sold) outside of the grace period, such a use constitutes a forfeiture. MPEP 2133.03(c)(III). See also, MPEP 2152.02(d) explaining that MPEP 2133.03(c)(III) applies to AIA cases, “The phrase “on sale” in AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is treated as having the same meaning as “on sale” in pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b). For a discussion of “on sale” as used in pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b), see generally MPEP § 2133.03(b) et seq.” Note that “The sale or use of the invention need not occur in the United States to qualify.” MPEP 2152.05.
Had the machine(s) shown in either Fig. 9 or 15 been used to inspect a component, module, or other item that was sold by July 20, 2022? Had an earlier version of the machine(s) shown in either Fig. 9 or 15 been used to inspect a component, module, or other item that was sold by July 20, 2022? The examiner will grant an interview if Applicant has questions regarding this requirement (the examiner was not able to raise this in an interview because there are practitioners of record).
If the answer is “yes,” Applicant may wish to proactively submit evidence or explanation as to why such use is not an on sale bar.
Specification
The specification is objected to for not including a brief description of the drawings. MPEP 608.01(f).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 9524543 and 10109047 in view of Stoeber (see the prior art rejection).
This application, claim 1
US9524543B2, claim 1
1. A tape and reel machine vision inspection system comprising:
a camera; a lens; one or more lights; a printed circuit board (PCB) interface configured to interface the tape and reel machine vision inspection system with a tape and reel machine configured to process a plurality of components in a packaging process; a frame grabber; and a computing device including a processor configured to:
determine one or more templates for inspecting the plurality of components processed by the tape and reel machine; obtain at least one image of a component that is processed by the tape and reel machine using the camera and the lens; compare the image of the component that is processed by the tape and reel machine with the one or more templates to determine whether the image of the component and the one or more templates match within a specified threshold; and determine whether the component passes or fails inspection.
1. A method of identifying potentially defective individual packaged modules, the method comprising:
receiving a Printed Circuit Board (PCB) including a set of individual module substrates;
capturing an image of a first side of the PCB;
loading a PCB recipe associated with the PCB; and
for each individual module substrate of the set of individual module substrates, comparing a portion of the image of the first side of the PCB corresponding to the individual module substrate to the PCB recipe, determining based on the comparison whether the individual module substrate matches the PCB recipe within a degree of tolerance, in response to determining that the individual module substrate does not match the PCB recipe within the degree of tolerance, storing a location of the individual module substrate within a map of the PCB, the map identifying individual module substrates of the PCB that are potentially defective, and creating a marking at a location on a second side of the PCB corresponding to the individual module substrate, the second side opposite to the first side of the PCB.
As explained in the prior art rejection, the recipes on the right teach the templates claimed on the left. Many differences in wording (e.g., “match within a specified threshold” v. “match the PCB recipe within the degree of tolerance”) are anticipatory. The present claim recites hardware that the claim on the right does not. As per below, Stoeber teaches these (including the lights, see Stoeber [0014]).
The conflicting claims are combined with Stoeber as per the below prior art rejection.
The analysis for US10109047B2 corresponds to that for US9524543B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 recite “tape and reel machine vision inspection system,” but this is new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a).
Claims 5, 11, and 18 recite “regions of interest,” but the claim does not provide sufficient context to evaluate what the region of interest is. In other words, why isn’t the region of interest simply the entire image?
Claim 8 recites “training option” (twice) but this is new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a). In particular, “training” in the context of image analysis usually refers to artificial intelligence, but the present application does not disclose use of artificial intelligence.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process) without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claim 1 (and its dependents) recite a system, and machines satisfy Step 1 of the eligibility test.
Claim 16 (and its dependents) recite a method, and processes satisfy Step 1 of the eligibility test.
Step 2A, prong one: All of the elements of the claims are a mental process because a person can look at a part and decide if it looks right. See, e.g., “manual inspection” in Specification [0028] and Fig. 14. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) explains that use of a generic computer or in a computer environment is still a mental process. In particular, this section begins by citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 US 63 (1972). “The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea.” In Benson the Supreme Court did not separately analyze the computer hardware at issue; the specifics of what hardware was claimed is only included in an appendix to the decision.
Because there are no additional elements, no further analysis is required for Step 2A, prong two or Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20170206651A1 (“Skyworks”) in view of EP1607220A2 (“Stoeber”). Citations for Stoeber are to the attached machine translation.
1. A tape and reel machine vision inspection system comprising:
a camera; (Skyworks, Fig. 5A, camera system 512)
a lens; (Skyworks, Fig. 5A, camera system 512)
one or more lights; (Skyworks, [0167] “For instance, if the marking substance reflects a different wavelength or set of wavelengths of light”)
a printed circuit board (PCB) interface configured to interface the tape and reel machine vision inspection system with a tape and reel machine configured to process a plurality of components in a packaging process; and (Skyworks, [0064] “an automated machine that is fed with SMT devices from tape reels.”)
a computing device including a processor configured to: (Skyworks, Fig. 5A, image processor 510)
determine one or more templates for inspecting the plurality of components processed by the tape and reel machine; (Skyworks, Fig. 5A, PCB recipe store 518. Skyworks’s PCB recipes teach the claimed templates. See, e.g., [0009] “the system can include an image processor configured, for each individual module substrate of the set of individual module substrates, to compare a portion of the image corresponding to the individual module substrate to the PCB recipe.”)
obtain at least one image of a component that is processed by the tape and reel machine using the camera and the lens; (Skyworks, Fig. 5A, camera system 512)
compare the image of the component that is processed by the tape and reel machine with the one or more templates to determine whether the image of the component and the one or more templates match within a specified threshold; and (Skyworks, [0009] “The image processor can be further configured to determine based on the comparison whether the individual module substrate matches the PCB recipe within a degree of tolerance.”)
determine whether the component passes or fails inspection. (Skyworks, [0009] “The image processor can be further configured to determine based on the comparison whether the individual module substrate matches the PCB recipe within a degree of tolerance.” See also [0008] describing how a substrate might or might not “match” the tolerance.)
Skyworks is not relied on for the below claim language.
However, Stoeber teaches a frame grabber (Stoeber, [0064] “The image capture module (frame grabber) converts the incoming video image into a digital video stream.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Stoeber to the teachings of Skyworks such that Stoeber provides implementation details (such as the use of a frame grabber or LEDs).
Based on the above, this is an example of “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.” MPEP 2143.
2. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the tape and reel machine vision inspection system is configured to adjust one or more of: a light intensity, contrast control, gamma control, or focus of the lens. (Stoeber, “This video stream undergoes brightness adjustment (shading correction), perception-oriented color adjustment, and color space transformation in the frame grabber.”)
3. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the one or more lights include a light-emitting diode (LED). (Stoeber, [0105] “high-luminosity light-emitting diodes 07 or as laser diodes 07.”)
4. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the PCB interface includes one or more optocouplers for signal conditioning between the tape and reel machine and the tape and reel machine vision inspection system. (Stoeber, [0071] “A human-machine interface is implemented on a control room computer, with all connections preferably made via optocouplers.”)
5. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the processor is further configured to generate a template from an image of a component obtained by the camera and the lens, wherein the template includes one or more regions of interest. (Skyworks, Fig. 5A, PCB recipe store 518. See also, [0113] “Generally, the PCB recipe includes an image of the PCB without defective individual module substrates.”)
6. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 5 wherein the template includes one or more of: a part number, a lot number, or a reference pin. (Skyworks, [0134] “In the example illustrated in FIG. 8, the PCB identifier corresponds to the PCB identifier of entry 710 in the PCB map 700.” See also, Fig. 7, “Part ID.” Additionally, the claimed values are nonfunctional descriptive material because the content is not processed. MPEP 2111.05(III))
7. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the processor is further configured to determine and use multiple templates for inspecting components. (Skyworks, Fig. 5A, PCB recipe store 518.)
8. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine a first template using a main training option; and (Skyworks, Fig. 10, steps 1004-1008. Skyworks’s PCB recipe teaches the claimed first template.)
determine a second template using an auxiliary training option. (Skyworks, Fig. 10, steps 1008-1010. Skyworks’s map teaches the claimed second template.)
9. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 8 wherein the processor is further configured to:
inspect the component based on the first template; and (Skyworks, Fig. 10, steps 1004-1008. Skyworks’s PCB recipe teaches the claimed first template.)
inspect the component based on the second template in response to determining that the component fails inspection based on the first template. (Skyworks, Fig. 10, steps 1008-1010 and 1016. Skyworks’s map teaches the claimed second template.)
10. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the frame grabber is configured to obtain one or more images of a component. (Stoeber, [0064] “The image capture module (frame grabber) converts the incoming video image into a digital video stream.”)
11. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the determining whether the image of the component and the one or more templates match within a specified threshold includes determining whether the image of the component matches one or more regions of interest in the one or more templates by the specified threshold. (Skyworks, [0009] “The image processor can be further configured to determine based on the comparison whether the individual module substrate matches the PCB recipe within a degree of tolerance.” See also [0008] describing how a substrate might or might not “match” the tolerance.)
12. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the processor is further configured to synchronize a counter of the tape and reel machine and a counter of the tape and reel machine vision inspection system. (Skyworks, Fig. 7. Fig. 7’s part IDs and PCB IDs teach the claimed synchronization.)
13. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the processor is further configured to detect an empty cavity in a roll. (Skyworks, [0158] “For example, the image processor 510 may in some instances be able to identify missing devices or SMT components that should have been attached, misplaced devices or SMT components, missing or poorly formed wire bonds, etc.”)
14. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the processor is further configured to provide in a user interface one or more of: a number of components that passed, a number of components that failed, a total number of components, a counter of the tape and reel machine, a counter of the tape and reel machine vision inspection system, or an indicator of inspection result. (Skyworks, Fig. 7)
15. The tape and reel machine vision inspection system of claim 1 wherein the processor is further configured to identify a defect selected from one or more of: an incorrect part, an incorrect lot, an incomplete component, an empty cavity, a misoriented placement, or a poor quality marking. (Skyworks, [0158] “For example, the image processor 510 may in some instances be able to identify missing devices or SMT components that should have been attached, misplaced devices or SMT components, missing or poorly formed wire bonds, etc.”)
Claims 16-20 are rejected as per their counterpart claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID ORANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663