DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 07-17-2024
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07-23-2024 was filed after the mailing date of the 07-17-2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an audio speaker (Fig 1 [1], woofer, para 14) configured to emit sound in a main sound emitting direction (In Fig 1 and 2, the elastic inside cone [38] of the shell [35] surround by rim [41] will repeatedly collapse inwardly and expand outwardly in response to push-pull magnetic effect in order to provide the woofer [1] with a dynamic appearance that also track sounds emitted by the woofer [1], see para 15. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that a woofer being a loudspeaker would be emit sound and follow a linear path from the voice coil housing (Fig 3 [34]) to the inner cone (Fig 3 [38]).), the audio speaker comprising:
a voice coil (Fig 4 [55], voice coil, para 16);
a diaphragm (Fig 3 [38], cone, para 15) connected to the voice coil and configured to move together with the voice coil parallel to the main sound emitting direction (In Fig 3, the inside cone [38] of the shell [35] is affixed to the voice coil housing [34] by means of a glue seam [54], see para 17. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize since the voice coil [55] is connected to the cone [38], they would move in a parallel direction);
a magnet (Fig 3 [52], permanent magnet, para 20) configured to generate a magnetic field in which the voice coil is moving (In Fig 3 & 4, the permanent magnet [52] and voice coil [55] are spaced from one another by an air gap [56], para 20. The voice coil housing [54] will cause to slide along the inner core [46] of the T-yoke [44] in a direction towards permanent magnet [52], para 22);
and illuminate a surface of the diaphragm facing the circuit board (Fig 3 & 4, printed circuit board [58], para 20. A transparent duct cover [39] extends across the center of the inside cone [38] of shell [35] above the transparent voice coil housing [34] so as to permit the light generated by LEDs [32] to be visible [para 17]. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the light emitted by the LEDs would illuminate the surface of the cone), wherein the diaphragm from the one or more light sources (Fig 3 [32], LEDs, para 16), and illuminate a surface of the diaphragm facing the circuit board (In Fig 3, a transparent duct cover [39] extends across the center of the inside cone [38] of shell [35] above the transparent voice coil housing [34] so as to permit the light generated by LEDs [32] to be visible [para 17]. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the light emitted by the LEDs would illuminate the surface of the cone).
Kim does not explicitly teach and a circuit board located between the magnet and the diaphragm, the circuit board comprising one or more light sources configured to: emit light in the main sound emitting direction,
Proni discloses and a circuit board (Fig 1 [76]) located between the magnet (Fig 1 [26]) and the diaphragm (Fig 1 [16]. In Figure 1 through the cross-sectional view, the circuit board is positioned between the diaphragm and magnet), the circuit board comprising one or more light sources (Fig 3 [80], the circuit board is mounted on the spider [58] is connected to a number surface mounted light units on annular surface, see para 26) configured to: emit light in the main sound emitting direction,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of and a circuit board located between the magnet and the diaphragm, the circuit board comprising one or more light sources configured to: emit light in the main sound emitting direction as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been that illumination from the LEDs is readily visible through the diaphragm externally of the speaker. In para 27, in Proni.
Kim does not explicitly teach comprises a transparent that permit light to pass through the diaphragm
Fujisawa discloses comprises a transparent that permit light to pass through the diaphragm (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of comprises a transparent that permit light to pass through the diaphragm as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the circuit board (Fig 1 [58], para 20) is located on an upper surface of the magnet (Fig 2 [48], outer magnet support ring, para 19) that faces the main sound emitting direction(In Figure 4, the magnetic structure [42] comprises of a yoke, magnet, and support magnet which is direct contact with the circuit board, see para 20. Note: in para 8, magnetic structure creates a dynamic push-pull effect that causes the shell to be compressed and expanded as track the sound being emitted).
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more light sources comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig 3 [32], LEDs, para 16) provided on the circuit (Fig 3 & 4, printed circuit board [58], para 20).
Proni discloses wherein the one or more light sources comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig 3 [80]) provided on the circuit board (Fig 3 [76], multiple light units, which have a number of LEDs, are mounted on ring-like circuit board. See para 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the one or more light sources comprises a plurality of light sources provided on the circuit board as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been essentially any sequence or flashing pattern that may or may not correspond to the audio output of speaker. In para 27, in Proni
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the plurality of light sources (Fig 3 [32], LEDs, para 16)
Kim does not explicitly teach are grouped in different groups of light sources, the audio speaker comprising a control unit configured to control the light emitted by the light sources on a per group basis
Saijo discloses are grouped in different groups of light sources(Fig 3 [261, 262] – light emission units, control their respective plurality of LEDs, or light sources. See para 49), the audio speaker comprising a control unit (Fig 3 [200]) configured to control the light emitted by the light sources on a per group basis (the control unit for the audio speaker dictates whether the lights are emitted either sequentially or at time, see para 50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of are grouped in different groups of light sources, the audio speaker comprising a control unit configured to control the light emitted by the light sources on a per group basis as taught by Saijo in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to determine whether to switch the current light emission mode to a trigger of the timing signal input. In para 7, in Saijo
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches wherein the plurality of light (Fig 3 [32], LEDs, para 16)
Kim does not explicitly teach sources are arranged in a ring shape pattern on the circuit board.
Proni discloses wherein the plurality of light sources (Fig 3 [80]) are arranged in a ring shape pattern (Fig 3 [58]) on the circuit board (Fig 3 [76]). (In Figure 3, a series of resistor and light units are mounted on a circuit board that shaped like a ring to be mounted on the spider of the speaker. See para 26)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the plurality of light sources are arranged in a ring shape pattern on the circuit board as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been protect the circuit board, and all of the electrical components thereon, from damage or destruction that may arise from exposure to the environment external to the speaker. In para 28, in Proni
Regarding claim 12, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein are distributed over the dome shaped surface.
Hayakawa (JP) discloses wherein are distributed over the dome shaped surface (Fig 1 [37a, 37b], a through-hole is formed at a position of a dust cap just before the light emitting diodes. See para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein are distributed over the dome shaped surface as taught by Hayakawa in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been providing holes in part of the diaphragm for disposing the light emitting elements. In para 7, in Hayakawa
Kim does not explicitly teach transparent
Fujisawa discloses transparent (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of transparent as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide the better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Regarding claim 13, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the circuit board comprises a ventilation hole.
Proni discloses wherein the circuit board(Fig 1, 4 [76]) comprises a ventilation hole(In Figure 1, the bore [30] is the vent for sound to be emitted. In Figure 4, due to circuit board is ring-shaped to allow sound to pass through the circuit board, see para 26)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the circuit board comprises a ventilation hole as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been protect all of the electrical components thereon, from damage or destruction that may arise from exposure to the environment external to the speaker. In para 28, in Proni.
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Olszewski (DE Publication)
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the diaphragm (Fig 3 [38], cone, para 15)
Kim does not explicitly teach comprising the plurality of transparent areas; covering at least the plurality of transparent areas
Olszewski (DE) discloses comprises: a first opaque layer (Fig 1 [2] – membrane, an elastomeric plastic, transparent material is dispensed in liquid form, see para 21) comprising the plurality of transparent areas; and a second transparent and airtight layer (A coat applied to the other side facing the emission side [Fig 1(4)], using polyolefin films. See para 21) covering at least the plurality of transparent areas (though not shown, there is a mention of opening within the membrane, which would be covered by the transparent materials, see para 18, 21.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of comprises: a first opaque layer and a second transparent and airtight layer as taught by Olszewski in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been an outer surface of the loudspeaker that appears metallic can be created in daylight conditions, with this metallic-looking surface then being illuminated under night-time lighting conditions. In para 13, in Olszewski
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Olszewski (DE Publication) 102022110814 A1, in further view of Hayakawa (JP Publication) 2000261874-A
Regarding claim 4, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of transparent areas in the, wherein covers at least the holes
Olszewski (DE) discloses first opaque layer (Fig 1 [2], membrane, an elastomeric plastic), the second transparent and airtight layer (A coat applied to the other side facing the emission side [Fig 1(4)], using polyolefin films. See para 21)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of first opaque layer, the second transparent and airtight layer as taught by Olszewski in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been an outer surface of the loudspeaker that appears metallic can be created in daylight conditions, with this metallic-looking surface then being illuminated under night-time lighting conditions. In para 13, in Olszewski.
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of transparent areas in the first opaque layer are provided as holes in the first opaque layer, wherein the second transparent and airtight layer covers at least the holes
Hayakawa (JP) discloses wherein the plurality of transparent areas in the first opaque layer are provided as holes (Fig 1 [37ab] – lens are attached to each through holes and are mounted on the dust cap, see 20) in the first opaque layer, wherein the second transparent and airtight layer covers at least the holes (Fig 1 [37ab])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the plurality of transparent areas in the first opaque layer are provided as holes in the first opaque layer, wherein the second transparent and airtight layer covers at least the holes as taught by Hayakawa in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been increases the brightness of the light. In para 20, in Hayakawa
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Hayakawa (JP Publication) 2000261874-A
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of transparent areas have a circular shape.
Hayakawa (JP) discloses wherein the plurality of transparent areas have a circular shape (Fig 1 [37], the lenes are conventionally have a circular shape coving the plurality of through holes. See para 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the plurality of transparent areas have a circular shape as taught by Hayakawa in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been increases the brightness of the light. In para 20, in Hayakawa
Kim does not explicitly teach transparent
Fujisawa discloses transparent (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of transparent as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide the better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Hayakawa (JP Publication) 2000261874-A, in further view of Mori (US Publication) 20150373439-A1
Regarding claim 9, Kim does not explicitly teach areas have different diameters.
Mori discloses areas have different diameters (Fig 1 [11], the waterproof sound -permeable membrane [1] uses a porous membrane [11] is has a porous structure with average pore size being preferably 1 μm or less, more preferably 0.7 μm or less, and still more preferably 0.5 μm or less. See para 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of areas have different diameters as taught by Mori in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to prevent water droplets from passing through and allow gas such as water vapor to pass, and the sound membrane to allow sound to pass for the speaker. In para 22, in Mori.
Kim does not explicitly teach transparent
Fujisawa discloses transparent (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of transparent as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide the better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Haase (US Publication) 20150373439-A1
Regarding claim 10, Kim does not explicitly teach further being configured as tweeter configured to emit sound mainly in a frequency range above 1000 Hz.
Haase discloses further being configured as tweeter (Fig 1 [50, 52, 54, 56]) configured to emit sound mainly in a frequency range above 1000 Hz (produce sound from about 800 Hz to 20 KHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention further being configured as tweeter configured to emit sound mainly in a frequency range above 1000 Hz as taught by Haase in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to utilized to provide improved sound. In see para 32, in Haase
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Guenther (US Patent) 7532737-B2
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches wherein the diaphragm (Fig 3 [38], cone, para 15).
Kim does not explicitly teach a dome shaped surface.
Guenther discloses has a dome shaped surface (Fig 3 [36], the speaker has a dome-shaped acoustic diaphragm, see [Col 4 line 41-44])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention has a dome shaped surface as taught by Guenther in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been reduces the mounting area of a speaker to its minimal functional size reducing the diameter by about one inch or more. In [Col 5 line 6-9], in Guenther
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Guenther (US Patent) 7532737-B2, in further view of Hayakawa (JP Publication) 2000261874-A
Regarding claim 12, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein are distributed over the dome shaped surface.
Hayakawa (JP) discloses wherein are distributed over the dome shaped surface (Fig 1 [37a, 37b], a through-hole is formed at a position of a dust cap just before the light emitting diodes. See para 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein are distributed over the dome shaped surface as taught by Hayakawa in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been providing holes in part of the diaphragm for disposing the light emitting elements. In para 7, in Hayakawa
Kim does not explicitly teach transparent
Fujisawa discloses transparent (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of transparent as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide the better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Claims 14 -16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Cook (US Publications) 20190149902-A1
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches comprising: an audio speaker (Fig 1 [1], woofer, para 14) configured to emit sound in a main sound emitting direction (In Fig 1 and 2, the elastic inside cone [38] of the shell [35] surround by rim [41] will repeatedly collapse inwardly and expand outwardly in response to push-pull magnetic effect in order to provide the woofer [1] with a dynamic appearance that also track sounds emitted by the woofer [1], see para 15. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that a woofer being a loudspeaker would be emit sound and follow a linear path from the voice coil housing (Fig 3 [34]) to the inner cone (Fig 3 [38]).), the audio speaker comprising:
a voice coil (Fig 4 [55], voice coil, para 16);
a diaphragm (Fig 3 [38], cone, para 15) connected to the voice coil and configured to move together with the voice coil parallel to the main sound emitting direction (In Fig 3, the inside cone [38] of the shell [35] is affixed to the voice coil housing [34] by means of a glue seam [54], see para 17. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize since the voice coil [55] is connected to the cone [38], they would move in a parallel direction);
a magnet (Fig 3 [52], permanent magnet, para 20) configured to generate a magnetic field in which the voice coil is moving (In Fig 3 & 4, the permanent magnet [52] and voice coil [55] are spaced from one another by an air gap [56], para 20. The voice coil housing [54] will cause to slide along the inner core [46] of the T-yoke [44] in a direction towards permanent magnet [52], para 22);
and illuminate a surface of the diaphragm facing the circuit board (Fig 3 & 4, printed circuit board [58], para 20. A transparent duct cover [39] extends across the center of the inside cone [38] of shell [35] above the transparent voice coil housing [34] so as to permit the light generated by LEDs [32] to be visible [para 17]. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the light emitted by the LEDs would illuminate the surface of the cone), wherein the diaphragm from the one or more light sources (Fig 3 [32], LEDs, para 16) to pass through the diaphragm;
Kim does not explicitly teach A system comprising: and a driver configured to control the one or more light sources.
Cook discloses A system (Fig 5b [10a, 10b, 10c] – the system comprises three combined light and loudspeaker devices, with the addition of a smart-bulb driver, See para 98): and a driver configured to control the one or more light sources (Fig 5a [50], the control box is physically connected to the loudspeaker [20], along with switch “component” can turn on/off the light source without affecting the loudspeaker, see para 97.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a system comprising: and a driver configured to control the one or more light sources. as taught by Cook in Kim st technician. In para 185, in Cook.
Kim does not explicitly teach and a circuit board located between the magnet and the diaphragm, the circuit board comprising one or more light sources configured to: emit light in the main sound emitting direction, and a driver configured to control the one or more light sources.
Proni discloses and a circuit board (Fig 1 [76]) located between the magnet (Fig 1 [26]) and the diaphragm(Fig 1 [16]. In Figure 1 through the cross-sectional view, the circuit board is positioned between the diaphragm and magnet), the circuit board comprising one or more light sources(Fig 3 [80], the circuit board is mounted on the spider [58] is connected to a number surface mounted light units on annular surface, see para 26) configured to: emit light in the main sound emitting direction,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of and a circuit board located between the magnet and the diaphragm, the circuit board comprising one or more light sources configured to: emit light in the main sound emitting direction, as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been that illumination from the LEDs is readily visible through the diaphragm externally of the speaker. In para 27, in Proni.
Kim does not explicitly teach comprises a transparent that permit light to pass through the diaphragm
Fujisawa discloses comprises a transparent that permit light to pass through the diaphragm (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of comprises a transparent that permit light to pass through the diaphragm as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide the better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Regarding claim 15, Kim does not explicitly teach further comprising: an additional circuit board provided outside the audio speaker on which the driver is located.
Cook discloses further comprising: an additional circuit board (Fig 5a [50]-control box) provided outside the audio speaker on which the driver is located (the control box is electrically connected to the loudspeaker driver but externally, so it can be placed nearby, see para 95. Also, it is considered as an additional circuit board due to having a processor, an amplifier, and transceiver in combination to control the combined light and loudspeaker drivers. See para 96).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of further comprising: an additional circuit board provided outside the audio speaker on which the driver is located as taught by Cook in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been provide instructions to the amplifier to control the combined light and loudspeaker driver device. In para 27, in Cook.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches wherein the circuit board (Fig 1 [58]) is located on an upper surface of the magnet (Fig 2 [48] – outer magnet support ring) that faces the main sound emitting direction (In Figure 4, the magnetic structure [42] comprises of a yoke, magnet, and support magnet which is direct contact with the circuit board, see para 20. (Note: in para 8, magnetic structure creates a dynamic push-pull effect that causes the shell to be compressed and expanded as track the sound being emitted)).
Regarding claim 18, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more light sources comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig 3 [32], LEDs, para 16) provided on the circuit (Fig 3 & 4, printed circuit board [58], para 20).
Proni discloses wherein the one or more light sources comprises a plurality of light sources (Fig 3 [80]) provided on the circuit board (Fig 3 [76], multiple light units, which have a number of LEDs, are mounted on ring-like circuit board. See para 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the one or more light sources comprises a plurality of light sources provided on the circuit board as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been essentially any sequence or flashing pattern that may or may not correspond to the audio output of speaker. In para 27, in Proni
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Cook (US Publications) 20190149902-A1, in further view of Olszewski (DE Publication) 102022110814-A1
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches wherein the diaphragm (Fig 3 [38], cone, para 15)
Kim does not explicitly teach comprising the plurality of transparent areas; covering at least the plurality of transparent areas
Olszewski (DE) discloses comprises: a first opaque layer (Fig 1 [2] – membrane, an elastomeric plastic, transparent material is dispensed in liquid form, see para 21) comprising the plurality of transparent areas; and a second transparent and airtight layer (A coat applied to the other side facing the emission side [Fig 1(4)], using polyolefin films. See para 21) covering at least the plurality of transparent areas (though not shown, there is a mention of opening within the membrane, which would be covered by the transparent materials, see para 18, 21.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of comprises: a first opaque layer and a second transparent and airtight layer as taught by Olszewski in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been an outer surface of the loudspeaker that appears metallic can be created in daylight conditions, with this metallic-looking surface then being illuminated under night-time lighting conditions. In para 13, in Olszewski
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication) 20030031330 A1 in view of Proni (US Publications) 2019/0281374 A1, in further view of Fujisawa (US Publication) 20070223770 A1, in further view of Bozak (US Patent) 3093207 A, in further view of Cook (US Publications) 20190149902-A1, in further view of Hayakawa (JP Publication) 2000261874-A
Regarding claim 19, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of transparent areas have a circular shape.
Hayakawa (JP) discloses wherein the plurality of transparent areas have a circular shape (Fig 1 [37], the lenes are conventionally have a circular shape coving the plurality of through holes. See para 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the plurality of transparent areas have a circular shape as taught by Hayakawa in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been increases the brightness of the light. In para 20, in Hayakawa
Kim does not explicitly teach transparent
Fujisawa discloses transparent (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of transparent as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide the better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Regarding claim 20, Kim does not explicitly teach areas have different diameters.
Mori discloses areas have different diameters (Fig 1 [11], the waterproof sound -permeable membrane [1] uses a porous membrane [11] is has a porous structure with average pore size being preferably 1 μm or less, more preferably 0.7 μm or less, and still more preferably 0.5 μm or less. See para 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of areas have different diameters as taught by Mori in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to prevent water droplets from passing through and allow gas such as water vapor to pass, and the sound membrane to allow sound to pass for the speaker. In para 22, in Mori.
Kim does not explicitly teach transparent
Fujisawa discloses transparent (In Fig 1B, the vibration board [18] is made of a sheet of translucent resin, as such as polycarbonate, polyethylene, acryl, PET, or the like, and formed into a cone shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of transparent as taught by Proni in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to illuminate the entire surface of the vibration board. In para 9, in Fujisawa.
Kim does not explicitly teach plurality of areas
Bozak discloses plurality of areas (In Fig 1 & 2, a plurality of holes [28] are cut out of the diaphragm [18] wall, see Col 4 L55-56. Note: the holes can be located in symmetrical or random arrangement throughout the diaphragm and there is no limit of numbers employed, see Col 3 L34-41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of plurality of areas as taught by Bozak in Kim’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide the better the improvements in speaker response. In Col 3 L34-41, in Bozak.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Battyanyl (US Publications) 2016/0295308 A1 – LED coaxial speaker that produces
sound: 800 Hz – 20 kHz.
Mata Magana (US Publications) 2020/0304914 A1 – multifunctional device with 2
circuit boards, 4 speakers, and LEDs
Xu (US Publications) 2023/0254616 A1 – translucent diaphragm & ring circuit board
with LEDs
Yang (CN Publications) 203416394 U – reference transparent area/hole diameter on
diaphragm.
Garner US patent 4020299 A – diaphragm with holes
/MARCUS A BARBOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692