CTNF 18/776,055 CTNF 100771 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement submitted on 07/17/2024 has beenconsidered by the examiner and made of record in the application file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isomura (US 20100278528), and further in view of Fukuchi (US 10530491) . Consider Claim 1, Isomura discloses a method of operating an apparatus for coherent optical transmission and reception, the method comprising: controlling output optical frequencies with a first frequency and a second frequency (Paragraph 0030 and Figure 1, element 1 outputs two frequencies based on E LO and E S signal) ; generating analog signals respectively corresponding to the first frequency and the second frequency (Figure 1, where elements 7 and 8 take in analog signals corresponding to signals A and B with first and second frequencies based on E LO and E S ) ; obtaining beating signals for the analog signals (Paragraph 0032, where signals A and B generate beats due to difference in frequencies) but does not disclose generating signal diagrams of relationships between a first signal and a second signal on the basis of the beating signals; determining phase differences between the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the signal diagrams; and determining skew values for the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the phase differences. However, Fukuchi discloses generating signal diagrams of relationships between a first signal and a second signal on the basis of the beating signals (Figure 6, where signals are shown for QX, IX, and IY, where they are used as beat signals) ; determining phase differences between the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the signal diagrams (Figure 6, where phase difference is being plotted between QX- IX signal and IY-IX signal) ; and determining skew values for the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the phase differences (Column 7, Lines 64-67 and Column 8, Lines 1-11, where gradient of line, includes difference of phases, is used to calculate skew) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system. Consider Claim 2, Isomura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the beating signals are generated on the basis of differences between the first frequency and the second frequency (Paragraph 0032, where signals A and B generate beats due to difference in frequencies) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system. Consider Claim 3, Isomura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first signal is divided into a 1-1 signal and a 1-2 signal respectively corresponding to a first polarization signal and a second polarization signal for the beating signals (Paragraph 0032 where E LO has X and Y polarization) , the second signal is divided into a 2-1 signal and a 2-2 signal respectively corresponding to the first polarization signal and the second polarization signal for the beating signals (Paragraph 0032 where E S has X and Y polarization) , and the first polarization signal and the second polarization signal are perpendicular to each other (Paragraph 0032, where Y polarization is the orthogonal component) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system. Consider Claim 5, Isomura does not disclose the limitations of this claim. However, Fukuchi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the skew values are determined on the basis of phase difference values between the first signal and the second signal depending on frequency change of the beating signals (Figure 6, where phase difference values are dependent on frequency change of beating signals (x-axis)) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system. Consider Claim 7, Isomura discloses An apparatus for coherent optical transmission and reception, the apparatus comprising: a transceiving unit (Figure 1, element 1 where it receives E LO and E S signals and transmits them) ; and at least one control unit operably connected to the transceiving unit (Figure 1, where element 1 is connected to control unit) , wherein the at least one control unit is configured to perform a method comprising: controlling output optical frequencies with a first frequency and a second frequency (Paragraph 0030 and Figure 1, element 1 outputs two frequencies based on E LO and E S signal) ; generating analog signals respectively corresponding to the first frequency and the second frequency (Figure 1, where elements 7 and 8 take in analog signals corresponding to signals A and B with first and second frequencies based on E LO and E S ) ; obtaining beating signals for the analog signals (Paragraph 0032, where signals A and B generate beats due to difference in frequencies) but does not disclose generating signal diagrams of relationships between a first signal and a second signal on the basis of the beating signals; determining phase differences between the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the signal diagrams; and determining skew values for the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the phase differences. However, Fukichi discloses discloses generating signal diagrams of relationships between a first signal and a second signal on the basis of the beating signals (Figure 6, where signals are shown for QX, IX, and IY, where they are used as beat signals) ; determining phase differences between the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the signal diagrams (Figure 6, where phase difference is being plotted between QX-IX signal and IY-IX signal) ; and determining skew values for the first signal and the second signal on the basis of the phase differences (Column 7, Lines 64-67 and Column 8, Lines 1-11, where gradient of line, includes difference of phases, is used to calculate skew) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system. Consider Claim 8, Isomura discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the beating signals are generated on the basis of differences between the first frequency and the second frequency (Paragraph 0032, where signals A and B generate beats due to difference in frequencies) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system. Consider Claim 9, Isomura discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first signal is divided into a 1-1 signal and a 1-2 signal respectively corresponding to a first polarization signal and a second polarization signal for the beating signals (Paragraph 0032 where E LO has X and Y polarization) , the second signal is divided into a 2-1 signal and a 2-2 signal respectively corresponding to the first polarization signal and the second polarization signal for the beating signals (Paragraph 0032 where E S has X and Y polarization) , and the first polarization signal and the second polarization signal are perpendicular to each other (Paragraph 0032, where Y polarization is the orthogonal component) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system. Consider Claim 11, Isomura does not disclose the limitations of this claim. However, Fukuchi discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the skew values are determined on the basis of phase difference values between the first signal and the second signal depending on frequency change of the beating signals (Figure 6, where phase difference values are dependent on frequency change of beating signals (x-axis)) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Fukuchi into Isomura to correct skew for system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isomura (US 20100278528) in view of Fukuchi (US 10530491), and further in view of Sakamoto (US 8670678) . Consider Claim 4, Isomura and Fukuchi do not disclose the limitations of this claim. However, Sakamoto discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the signal diagrams comprise: a first signal diagram for the 1-1 signal (Figure 7B, line for HI signal) and the 2-1 signal (Figure 7B, line for HQ signal) ; and the second signal diagram for the 1-2 (Figure 7B, line for VI signal) signal and the 2-2 signal (Figure 7B, line for VQ signal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Sakamoto into Isomura and Fukuchi to understand where skew is happening for correction. Consider Claim 10, Isomura and Fukuchi do not disclose the limitations of this claim. However, Sakamoto discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the signal diagrams comprise: a first signal diagram for the 1-1 signal (Figure 7B, line for HI signal) and the 2-1 signal (Figure 7B, line for HQ signal) ; and the second signal diagram for the 1-2 (Figure 7B, line for VI signal) signal and the 2-2 signal (Figure 7B, line for VQ signal) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Sakamoto into Isomura and Fukuchi to understand where skew is happening for correction . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isomura (US 20100278528) in view of Fukuchi (US 10530491), and further in view of Wang (US 9036751) . Consider Claim 6, Isomura and Fukuchi do not disclose the limitations of this claim. However, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying four clocks respectively corresponding to the 1-1 signal, the 1-2 signal, the 2-1 signal, and the 2-2 signal on the basis of the skew values (Figure 2A, where each signal in element 203 gets its own clock signal in element 207) ; and compensating for the skew values on the basis of the four clocks (Figure 2A, where element 220 performs skew compensation and Column 5, Lines 36-39, skew compensation is based on clock signal element 207) , wherein the four clocks have phase values different from each other (Figure 2A, where phases of element 207 are varied) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Wang into Isomura and Fukuchi to compensate for skew to prevent errors in quadrature phase relationships between the signals. Consider Claim 12, Isomura and Fukuchi do not disclose the limitations of this claim. However, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one control unit is configured to perform the method further comprising: identifying four clocks respectively corresponding to the 1-1 signal, the 1-2 signal, the 2-1 signal, and the 2-2 signal on the basis of the skew values (Figure 2A, where each signal in element 203 gets its own clock signal in element 207) ; and compensating for the skew values on the basis of the four clocks (Figure 2A, where element 220 performs skew compensation and Column 5, Lines 36-39, skew compensation is based on clock signal element 207) , wherein the four clocks have phase values different from each other (Figure 2A, where phases of element 207 are varied) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Wang into Isomura and Fukuchi to compensate for skew to prevent errors in quadrature phase relationships between the signals. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ASIF SHAMEEM whose telephone number is (571)272-6576. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 AM EST-5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KENNETH VANDERPUYE can be reached at (571) 272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ASIF SHAMEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2634 /KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 2 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 3 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 4 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 5 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 6 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 7 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 8 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 9 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 10 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 11 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/776,055 Page 12 Art Unit: 2634