DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection dated 05/20/2026 has been withdrawn and this office action will replace that Non-Final Rejection responsive to the applicant correspondence filled on 04/23/2026.
Claims 1-9 and 18-28 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/16/26, 1/29/26,
12/23/25, 11 /11 /25, 10/22/25, 7 /11 /25 and 10/3/24 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Election/Restriction
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-9 and 18-28 in response to restriction
requirement sent on 7/18/25. Applicant has cancelled claims 10-17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-9 and 18-28 have
been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 20200391864 A1), in view of Park (U.S. Pub. No. 20190315460 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Lee teach an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising: (Lee [0099] Referring to FIGS. 7A and 7B, a main body 710 of an unmanned aerial vehicle 700 may be implemented with at least one frame.)
a chassis; (Lee [0099] Referring to FIGS. 7A and 7B, a main body 710 [chassis] of an unmanned aerial vehicle 700 may be implemented with at least one frame. For example, as illustrated, the main body 710 may include an upper left horizontal frame 713a and an upper right horizontal frame 715a forming a part of an upper surface, a lower left horizontal frame 713b and a lower right horizontal frame 715b forming a part of a lower surface, an upper left vertical frame 717a and an upper right vertical frame 717b forming an upper end, and a lower left vertical frame 719a and a lower right vertical frame 719b forming a lower end. According to an embodiment, at least one frame constituting the main body 710 may fix at least one of a propeller and a motor that rotates the propeller.) a plurality of arms extending directly and outwardly from the chassis; (Lee Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and [0067] The propeller connection part [arm] may extend from a side surface of the main body 110 by a specified length and may be provided in a long rod shape. The drawing illustrates that a first propeller connection part 131 extends from the center of the upper side surface of the main body 110, a second propeller connection part 133 extends from the center of the right side surface of the main body 110, and a third propeller connection part 135 extends from the center of the left side surface of the main body 110. Claim 10: a plurality of propeller connection parts extending from at least one side surface of the main body by a specified length)
a plurality of propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of arms; (Lee Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and [0068] The propeller may be connected to one end of the propeller connection part. The drawing illustrates that a third propeller 155 is connected to one end of the third propeller connection part 135 when a first propeller 151 is connected to one end of the first propeller connection part 131 and a second propeller 153 is connected to one end of the second propeller connection part 133. The direction of the rotation axis of the propeller may face the vertical direction (e.g., z-axis direction) of the main body 110)
a frame isolated from the chassis (Lee [0104] the circuit mounting part 711 [frame] may also be fixed to the frame comprising the main body 710 [chassis] through a shock absorbing member [isolation damper]. For example, the circuit mounting part 711 may be fixed to the upper left horizontal frame 713a, the lower left horizontal frame 713b, the upper right horizontal frame 715a, and the lower right horizontal frame 715b through a ninth damper 711a, a tenth damper 711b, an eleventh damper 711c, and a twelfth damper 711d, respectively. [0105] According to an embodiment, the above-described dampers may simultaneously transmit the shaking or vibration of the main body 710 to a plurality of cameras installed in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700. For example, the shaking or vibration occurring at one point of the main body 710 may be transmitted to the first camera 730, the second camera 750, the third camera 770, and the fourth camera 790 with the same or similar size. Accordingly, even though the main body 710 is shaken, there is no relative shaking between the plurality of cameras, thereby reducing the processing of shake correction for the images when images obtained from a plurality of cameras are stitched.)
and a plurality of image capture assemblies supported by the frame (Lee Fig. 7 [0101] According to an embodiment, the camera disposed inside the frame constituting the main body 710 may be connected to a camera connection part (or arm) extending from one surface of a circuit mounting part 711 located inside the frame. For example, as illustrated, the first camera 730 may be connected to a left camera connection part 731 extending from a part of the left side surface of the circuit mounting part 711; the second camera 750 may be connected to a right camera connection part 751 extending from a part of the right side surface of the circuit mounting part 711; the third camera 770 may be connected to an upper camera connection part 771 extending from the upper surface of the circuit mounting part 711; and the fourth camera 790 may be connected to a lower camera connection part 791 extending from the lower surface of the circuit mounting part 711.) such that the frame separates the plurality of image capture assemblies from the chassis (Lee [0104] the circuit mounting part 711
[frame] may also be fixed to the frame comprising the main body 710 [chassis] through a shock absorbing member [isolation damper]. For example, the circuit mounting part 711 may be fixed to the upper left horizontal frame 713a, the lower left horizontal frame 713b, the upper right horizontal frame 715a, and the lower right horizontal frame 715b through a ninth damper 711a, a tenth damper 711b, an eleventh damper 711c, and a twelfth damper 711d, respectively. [0105] According to an embodiment, the above-described dampers may simultaneously transmit the shaking or vibration of the main body 710 to a plurality of cameras installed in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700. For example, the shaking or vibration occurring at one point of the main body 710 may be transmitted to the first camera 730, the second camera 750, the third camera 770, and the fourth camera 790 with the same or similar size. Accordingly, even though the main body 710 is shaken, there is no relative shaking between the plurality of cameras, thereby reducing the processing of shake correction for the images when images obtained from a plurality of cameras are stitched.) and the canopy (As explained below combined teaching of Lee and Park has canopy) so as to inhibit relative movement between the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. (Lee [0105] According to an embodiment, the above-described dampers may simultaneously transmit the shaking or vibration of the main body 710 to a plurality of cameras installed in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700. For example, the shaking or vibration occurring at one point of the main body 710 may be transmitted to the first camera 730, the second camera 750, the third camera 770, and the fourth camera 790 with the same or similar size. Accordingly, even though the main body 710 is shaken, there is no relative shaking between the plurality of cameras, thereby reducing the processing of shake correction for the images when images obtained from a plurality of cameras are stitched.)
Lee [0099] FIGS. 7A and 7B [0100] According to an embodiment, in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700, the at least one camera may be disposed inside the main body 710 and may be exposed to the outside through an opening formed at least one surface of the main body 710. For example, the at least one camera may be located at the inner end of a frame constituting the main body 710. For example, a camera disposed in the side direction of the main body 710 is disposed between the upper left horizontal frame 713a and the lower left horizontal frame 713b or between the upper right horizontal frame 715a and the lower right horizontal frame 715b; a camera disposed in a vertical direction of the main body 110 may be disposed between the upper left vertical frame 717a and the upper right vertical frame 717b or between the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b. Lee teach attaching camera to a vertical frame within UAV chassis 110. But the chassis is not covered by canopy. This teaches: frame positioned between the uppermost surface and the lowermost surface of the canopy. However, Lee does not explicitly teach: and frame positioned between the uppermost surface and the lowermost surface of the canopy such that the frame is concealed within the canopy; a canopy connected to the chassis so as to provide an outer cover for the UAV configured to protect internal components thereof, wherein the canopy includes an uppermost surface and a lowermost surface;
However Park teach and frame positioned between the uppermost surface and the lowermost surface of the canopy such that the frame is concealed within the canopy; (Park [0049] FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, a UAV 200 according to various embodiments may include housings 210 and 220 [upper and lower canopy]. The housings 210 and 220 may be referred to as a case, a protective cover, or a body. The housings 210 and 220 may have a substantially disc shape. However, the embodiment is not limited thereto, and when viewed from above, the UAV may have various shapes such as a triangle, a square, a pentagon, or the like. However, the following descriptions focus on a case where the housing of the UAV has a disc shape. [0050] According to various embodiments, the UAV 200 may include a central body 230, a plurality of propulsion units 240a to 240d, a plurality of extension portions 250a to 250d, a central bracket 260 [frame], a landing module 270, and a landing member 280, in an inner space constructed by the upper housing 210 and the lower housing 220. However, the exterior of the UAV 200 may be constructed only of the housings 210 and 220. In other words, only the housings 210 and 220 including internal components such as the plurality of propulsion units 240a to 240d respectively including a plurality of rotor blades 241a to 241d, the central body 230 for driving them, the central bracket 260, or the like in the inner space may be exposed to the outside. Therefore, the UAV 200 may omni-directionally protect the internal components from an external obstacle. In particular, the housings 210 and 220 of the UAV 200 may safely protect the plurality of rotor blades 241a to 241d which rotate at a high speed. Alternatively, it is possible to prevent external objects from being damaged by a rapid rotation of the plurality of rotor blades 241a to 241d. Park’s upper and lower canopy protect internal components such as a central bracket 260 [frame]. It would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art implement the canopy structure of Park in Lee’s UAV with predictable results because ordinary skills understand Park’s canopy from FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B can implemented in Lee Fig. 7 to protect the cameras. Such mechanical modification is obvious in the current state of technology. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
a canopy connected to the chassis so as to provide an outer cover for the UAV configured to protect internal components thereof, (Park [0049] Referring to FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, a UAV 200 according to various embodiments may include housings 210 and 220. The housings 210 and 220 may be referred to as a case, a protective cover, or a body. The housings 210 and 220 may have a substantially disc shape. However, the embodiment is not limited thereto, and when viewed from above, the UAV may have various shapes such as a triangle, a square, a pentagon, or the like. [0054] However, the embodiment is not limited thereto, and the radial unit members of the upper housing 210 and lower housing 220 may be arranged with various intervals. Alternatively, the upper housing 210 and the lower housing 220 may include a vent for an air flow which occurs by the rotor blade and may be constructed in various shapes capable of protecting the rotor blade. For example, the upper housing 210 and the lower housing 220 may include a mesh-type structure. For another example, it is also possible to include a closed-type structure including an opening only in a portion in which the rotor blade is located. That is, the UAV 200 may include a housing of various shapes to protect internal components from an external obstacle.) wherein the canopy includes an uppermost surface and a lowermost surface; (Park [0051] The housing 210 may include a first upper housing 211, a second upper housing 212, a first lower housing 221, and a second lower housing 222. The first upper housing 211 and the second upper housing 212 may construct a convex disc shape, and the first lower housing 221 and the second lower housing 222 may construct a concave disc shape. [0052] According to various embodiments, an upper face of the first upper housing 211 [uppermost surface] may be constructed in a structure including a plurality of vents for an air flow by an operation of the rotor blades 241a to 241d of the UAV 200. For example, the first upper housing 211 may be constructed of a plurality of radial unit members extended from a center portion of the first upper housing 211. That is, the first upper housing 211 may include a comb pattern structure arranged towards a circumference. In other words, the first upper housing 211 may be constructed of a plurality of radial unit members extended from the center portion of the first upper housing 211 and spaced apart by a specific central angle towards the circumference. A space between the plurality of radial unit members may be a path for the air flow which occurs by an operation of the rotor blade. [0053] Likewise, a lower face [lowermost surface] of the first lower housing 221 may be constructed in a structure including a plurality of vents for an air flow by an operation of the rotor blade of the UAV. That is, the first lower housing 221 may include a comb pattern structure arranged towards the circumference)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, further incorporating Park in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate a canopy connected to the chassis so as to provide an outer cover for the UAV configured to protect internal components thereof, wherein the canopy includes an uppermost surface and a lowermost surface. This functionality will improve protection of cameras of Lee using the canopy of Park with predictable results. Such mechanical combination is well combinable in the current state of technology and obvious to the ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Lee teach the UAV of claim 1, wherein the frame is indirectly connected to the canopy such that the frame is suspended within the canopy. (Lee [0104] the circuit mounting part 711 may also be fixed to the frame comprising the main body 710 through a shock absorbing member. For example, the circuit mounting part 711 may be fixed to the upper left horizontal frame 713a, the lower left horizontal frame 713b, the upper right horizontal frame 715a, and the lower right horizontal frame 715b through a ninth damper 711a, a tenth damper 711b, an eleventh damper 711c, and a twelfth damper 711d, respectively. The connection is indirect (via dampers) and circuit mounting part 711 is suspended within main body 710. Lee [0106] According to an embodiment, the shape and connection structure of each of the dampers described above may vary depending on the weight and the center of gravity of the circuit mounting part 711, each camera connection part extending from the circuit mounting part 711, a camera connected to each camera connection part, and the like. For example, the damper connected to the upper end frame among frames constituting the main body 710 may be fixed in a hanging [suspended] form, and the damper connected to the lower end frame among the frames may be fixed in a pressed form. Claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above and in combination with Park’s teaching, claimed limitation of canopy is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Lee teach the UAV of claim 2, further comprising: a plurality of dampers positioned between the canopy and the frame (Lee [0104] the circuit mounting part 711 may be fixed to the upper left horizontal frame 713a, the lower left horizontal frame 713b, the upper right horizontal frame 715a, and the lower right horizontal frame 715b through a ninth damper 711a, a tenth damper 711b, an eleventh damper 711c, and a twelfth damper 711d, respectively. Claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above and in combination with Park’s teaching, claimed limitation of canopy is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981)) in order to inhibit force transmission to the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. (Lee [0106] According to an embodiment, the shape and connection structure of each of the dampers described above may vary depending on the weight and the center of gravity of the circuit mounting part 711, each camera connection part extending from the circuit mounting part 711, a camera connected to each camera connection part, and the like. For example, the damper connected to the upper end frame among frames constituting the main body 710 may be fixed in a hanging form, and the damper connected to the lower end frame among the frames may be fixed in a pressed form. Lee [0105] According to an embodiment, the above-described dampers may simultaneously transmit the shaking or vibration of the main body 710 to a plurality of cameras installed in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700. For example, the shaking or vibration occurring at one point of the main body 710 may be transmitted to the first camera 730, the second camera 750, the third camera 770, and the fourth camera 790 with the same or similar size. Accordingly, even though the main body 710 is shaken, there is no relative shaking between the plurality of cameras, thereby reducing the processing of shake correction for the images when images obtained from a plurality of cameras are stitched.)
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Lee teach the UAV of claim 3, wherein the frame includes a plurality of receptacles configured to receive the plurality of dampers. (Lee [0106] According to an embodiment, the shape and connection structure of each of the dampers described above may vary depending on the weight and the center of gravity of the circuit mounting part 711, each camera connection part extending from the circuit mounting part 711, a camera connected to each camera connection part, and the like. [0115] For another example, as illustrated in FIG. 8B, when the shape of the cross section of the camera connection part 850 is circular, a third damper 880 having the form of a donut surrounding the outer circumference of the camera connection part 850 may connect the upper end frame 810 to the camera connection part 850 and may connect the lower end frame 830 to the camera connection part 850. However, the shape and connection structure of the damper are not limited thereto. It will be easily understood by those skilled in the art that any shape of damper and connection structure is possible when a damper is interposed between the camera connection part 850 and each frame to fix the camera connection part 850 to each frame and to mitigate the occurring vibration. [0114] Referring to FIGS. 8A and 8B, For example, as illustrated in FIG. 8A, when the shape of the cross-section of the camera connection part 850 is a rectangle, the first damper 870 and the second damper 890 may be interposed between the upper surface of the camera connection part 850 and the upper end frame 810 and between the lower surface of the camera connection part 850 and the lower end frame 830, respectively. Lee does not use the word receptacles. It’s obvious in such a mechanical structure because as the dampers are physical elements there should be allocated space considered as receptacles and well known as routine mechanical implementation. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Lee teach the UAV of claim 1, wherein the plurality of image capture assemblies includes: a first image capture assembly; a second image capture assembly; and a third image capture assembly. (Lee [0101] According to an embodiment, the camera disposed inside the frame constituting the main body 710 may be connected to a camera connection part (or arm) extending from one surface of a circuit mounting part 711 located inside the frame. For example, as illustrated, the first camera 730 may be connected to a left camera connection part 731 extending from a part of the left side surface of the circuit mounting part 711; the second camera 750 may be connected to a right camera connection part 751 extending from a part of the right side surface of the circuit mounting part 711; the third camera 770 may be connected to an upper camera connection part 771 extending from the upper surface of the circuit mounting part 711; and the fourth camera 790 may be connected to a lower camera connection part 791 extending from the lower surface of the circuit mounting part 711.)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Lee teach the UAV of claim 6, wherein the frame defines: a first apex, the first image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the first apex; a second apex, the second image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the second apex; and a third apex, the third image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the third apex. (Claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Lee Fig. 1 shows three apexes as it is triangular shape and has three camera 171, 173 and 175. [0069] the drawing illustrates a state where a first camera 171 is disposed at the edge where the upper side surface and the right side surface of the main body 110 meet, a state where a second camera 173 is disposed at the edge where the upper side surface and the left side surface of the main body 110 meet, a state where a third camera 175 is disposed at the edge where the left side surface and the right side surface of the main body 110 meet)
10-17. (Canceled)
Regarding to claim 21:
21. Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1. Claim 21 has following
additional limitations: a frame positioned internally within the body such
that the frame is concealed and protected by the body; (Lee Fig. 7A shows frame 711 located inside main body chassis 710. The main body’s frame 713a, 713b, 715a, 715b, 717a, 717b, 719a and 719b form the enclosure around it. Cameras a are exposed only through opening 735, 755, 775 and 795. Everything else is concealed. [0100] the at least one camera may be located at the inner end of a frame constituting the main body 710. For example, a camera disposed in the side direction of the main body 710 is disposed between the upper left horizontal frame 713a and the lower left horizontal frame 713b or between the upper right horizontal frame 715a and the lower right horizontal frame 715b; a camera disposed [protect in the context of attached] in a vertical direction of the main body 110 may be disposed between the upper left vertical frame 717a and the upper right vertical frame 717b or between the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b ... The drawing illustrates that a first camera 730 is disposed between the end of the upper left horizontal frame 713a and the end of the lower left horizontal frame 713b and is exposed to the outside through a left opening 735 formed on the left side surface of the main body 710. Alternatively, Park [0054] the UAV 200 may include a housing of various shapes to protect internal components from an external obstacle.)
Regarding to claim 22:
22. Lee teach the UAV of claim 21, further comprising: a plurality of dampers positioned between the body and the frame, wherein the frame is supported by the plurality of dampers such that the frame is suspended within the UAV. (Lee [0104] the circuit mounting part 711 may also be fixed to the frame comprising the main body 710 through a shock absorbing member. For example, the circuit mounting part 711 may be fixed to the upper left horizontal frame 713a, the lower left horizontal frame 713b, the upper right horizontal frame 715a, and the lower right horizontal frame 715b through a ninth damper 711a, a tenth damper 711b, an eleventh damper 711c, and a twelfth damper 711d, respectively. Also see claim 11. The unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 10, wherein at least one of the circuit mounting part and the plurality of camera connection parts is fixed to the upper end frame or the lower end frame through a shock absorbing member. The connection is indirect (via dampers) and circuit mounting part 711 is suspended within main body 710. Lee [0106] According to an embodiment, the shape and connection structure of each of the dampers described above may vary depending on the weight and the center of gravity of the circuit mounting part 711, each camera connection part extending from the circuit mounting part 711, a camera connected to each camera connection part, and the like. For example, the damper connected to the upper end frame among frames constituting the main body 710 may be fixed in a hanging [suspended] form, and the damper connected to the lower end frame among the frames may be fixed in a pressed form. Claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above and in combination with Park’s teaching, claimed limitation of canopy is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Regarding to claim 23:
23. Lee teach the UAV of claim 22, wherein the body includes: a front chassis; and a rear chassis connected to the front chassis. (Lee Fig. 6 [0095] According to an embodiment, the main body 610 may include an upper left side part 613a [front chassis] extending from a part of the upper center part 611a to a part of the left center part 611d, an upper right side part 613b [rear chassis] extending from a part of the upper center part 611a to a part of the right center part 611b, a lower right side part 613c extending from a part of the right center part 611b to a part of the lower center part 611c, and a lower left side part 613d extending from a part of the lower center part 611c to a part of the left center part 611d. The upper left side part 613a, the upper right side part 613b, the lower right side part 613c, and the lower left side part 613d may be provided in a protruded shape in the side direction of the main body 610. For example, the rims of the upper left side part 613a, the upper right side part 613b, the lower right side part 613c, and the lower left side part 613d may be provided in the form of an arc disposed spaced from the center point of the main body 610 by a specified distance.)
Regarding to claim 24:
24. Lee teach the UAV of claim 23, Lee do not explicitly teach wherein the body further includes: a lower canopy connected to the front chassis and defining a lowermost surface of the body; and an upper canopy connected to the rear chassis and defining an uppermost surface of the body, wherein the frame is positioned between the lowermost surface and the uppermost surface.
However Park teach wherein the body further includes: a lower canopy connected to the front chassis and defining a lowermost surface of the body; and an upper canopy connected to the rear chassis and defining an uppermost surface of the body, wherein the frame is positioned between the lowermost surface and the uppermost surface. (Park [0050-0053] Claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above and in combination with Park’s teaching, claimed limitation of canopy and mechanical connectivity is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Regarding to claim 25:
25. Lee teach the UAV of claim 24, wherein the plurality of image capture assemblies includes: a plurality of lower image capture assemblies extending through the lower canopy; and a plurality of upper image capture assemblies extending through the upper canopy. (Lee [0069] a state where a fourth camera 177 is disposed on the upper surface of the main body 110, and a state where a fifth camera 179 is disposed on the lower surface of the main body 110. [0100] a third camera 770 is disposed between the end of the upper left vertical frame 717a and the end of the upper right vertical frame 717b and is exposed to the outside through an upper end opening 775 formed in the upper end of the main body 710, and a fourth camera 790 is disposed between the end of the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b and is exposed to the outside through a lower end opening 795 formed at the lower end of the main body 710.Claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above and in combination with Park’s teaching, claimed limitation of canopy and mechanical connectivity is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Regarding to claim 26:
26. Lee teach the UAV of claim 25, wherein the plurality of dampers includes: a plurality of lower dampers supported by the lower canopy; and a plurality of upper dampers supported by the upper canopy. (Lee [0104] the circuit mounting part 711 may also be fixed to the frame comprising the main body 710 through a shock absorbing member. For example, the circuit mounting part 711 may be fixed to the upper left horizontal frame 713a, the lower left horizontal frame 713b, the upper right horizontal frame 715a, and the lower right horizontal frame 715b through a ninth damper 711a, a tenth damper 711b, an eleventh damper 711c, and a twelfth damper 711d, respectively. Also see claim 11. The unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 10, wherein at least one of the circuit mounting part and the plurality of camera connection parts is fixed to the upper end frame or the lower end frame through a shock absorbing member. The connection is indirect (via dampers) and circuit mounting part 711 is suspended within main body 710. Lee [0106] According to an embodiment, the shape and connection structure of each of the dampers described above may vary depending on the weight and the center of gravity of the circuit mounting part 711, each camera connection part extending from the circuit mounting part 711, a camera connected to each camera connection part, and the like. For example, the damper connected to the upper end frame among frames constituting the main body 710 may be fixed in a hanging [suspended] form, and the damper connected to the lower end frame among the frames may be fixed in a pressed form. Claim 26 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above and in combination with Park’s teaching, claimed limitation of canopy and damper position is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Regarding to claim 27:
27. Lee teach the UAV of claim 26, wherein the frame includes: a lower frame supported the plurality of lower dampers; and an upper frame supported the plurality of upper dampers. (Lee [0069] a state where a fourth camera 177 is disposed on the upper surface of the main body 110, and a state where a fifth camera 179 is disposed on the lower surface of the main body 110. [0100] a third camera 770 is disposed between the end of the upper left vertical frame 717a and the end of the upper right vertical frame 717b and is exposed to the outside through an upper end opening 775 formed in the upper end of the main body 710, and a fourth camera 790 is disposed between the end of the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b and is exposed to the outside through a lower end opening 795 formed at the lower end of the main body 710.Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26 above for the teaching of dampers. Claimed limitation of claimed mechanical connectivity is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Regarding to claim 28:
28. Lee teach the UAV of claim 27, wherein the lower frame supports the plurality of lower image capture assemblies, and the upper frame supports the plurality of upper image capture assemblies. (Lee [0069] a state where a fourth camera 177 is disposed on the upper surface of the main body 110, and a state where a fifth camera 179 is disposed on the lower surface of the main body 110. [0100] a third camera 770 is disposed between the end of the upper left vertical frame 717a and the end of the upper right vertical frame 717b and is exposed to the outside through an upper end opening 775 formed in the upper end of the main body 710, and a fourth camera 790 is disposed between the end of the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b and is exposed to the outside through a lower end opening 795 formed at the lower end of the main body 710.Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26 above for the teaching of dampers. Claimed limitation of claimed mechanical connectivity is obvious. Please refer: In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (C.C.P.A. 1981))
Claims 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 20200391864 A1), in view of Park (U.S. Pub. No. 20190315460 A1), further in view of Wong (U.S. Pub. No. 20240272527 A1).
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Lee teach the UAV of claim 3, Lee do not explicitly teach wherein the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses.
However Wong teach wherein the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses. (Claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 above. (Wong [0012] In certain embodiments, the base plate may further include first and second bosses that extend outwardly from the mounting platform in generally parallel relation to the first and second pivot axes. [0013] In certain embodiments, the cover may be configured for removable engagement with the first and second bosses. [0014] In certain embodiments, the cover may include apertures that are configured to receive mechanical fasteners such that the mechanical fasteners extend through the cover and into the first and second bosses. [0021] The base plate includes: a receptacle that is configured to threadably engage an accessory such that the image capture device is directly connectable to the accessory via the interconnect mechanism; a first boss that extends in a first direction and which is oriented in transverse relation to the receptacle; and a second boss that extends in a second direction opposite to the first direction and which is oriented in transverse relation to the receptacle.)
The motivation for combining Lee and Park as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, further incorporating Park and Wong in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results and also shows such mechanical structures are obvious from prior art.
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Lee teach the UAV of claim 1, Lee do not explicitly teach wherein the frame includes at least one reinforced section such that the frame defines a non-uniform thickness.
However Wong teach wherein the frame includes at least one reinforced section such that the frame defines a non-uniform thickness. (Wong FIG. 25-29 shows angular and circular shape which creates non-uniform thickness for reinforced section [0190] FIG. 28 is a bottom, perspective view of the base plate 1002 and the cover 1008 shown connected together)
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 20200391864 A1), in view of Park (U.S. Pub. No. 20190315460 A1), further in view of Anderson (U.S. Pub. No. 20050280705 A1).
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Lee teach the UAV of claim 1, Lee do not explicitly teach wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium.
However Anderson teach wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium. (Anderson [0040] In various embodiments, the portable receiver device 20 is enclosed or encased in a housing or case, such as, for example, a cast magnesium case to ensure survivability in a combat environment.)
The motivation for combining Lee and Park as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 8. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee, further incorporating Park and Anderson in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the frame is formed from cast magnesium. This functionality will improve durability with predictable results.
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 18-20:
7. Claims 18-20 is/are allowed.
Regarding to claim 18:
18. Lee teach an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising: a front chassis; a plurality of front arms extending outwardly from the front chassis; a plurality of front propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of front arms; a lower canopy supported by the front chassis; a plurality of lower dampers supported by the lower canopy; a lower frame supported by the plurality of lower dampers such that the plurality of lower dampers absorb force applied to the UAV during operation, whereby the lower frame inhibits relative movement between the first lower image capture assembly, the second lower image capture assembly, and the third lower image capture assembly; a rear chassis connected to the front chassis; a plurality of rear arms extending outwardly from the rear chassis; a plurality of rear propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of rear arms; an upper canopy supported by the rear chassis; a plurality of upper dampers supported by the upper canopy; and an upper frame supported by the plurality of upper dampers such that the plurality of upper dampers absorb force applied to the UAV during operation, whereby the upper frame inhibits relative movement between the first upper image capture assembly, the second upper image capture assembly and the third upper image capture assembly. (Above limitations of Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1-7 above)
However prior art from examiner's search does not teach following limitations
when considered as whole: wherein the lower frame includes a generally A-shaped configuration defining: a first apex supporting a first lower image capture assembly; a second apex supporting a second lower image capture assembly; and a third apex supporting a third lower image capture assembly, wherein the upper frame includes a generally triangular configuration defining: a first apex supporting a first upper image capture assembly; a second apex supporting a second upper image capture assembly; and a third apex supporting a third upper image capture assembly.
Claim 19-20 is allowed because of dependency.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of Kalinowski (U.S. Pub. No. 10455155 B1), is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), because this prior art discuss UAV camera with canopy. However, is not used because cited prior arts are closest to the inventive concept.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896