DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 04/23/2026.
Claims 1-9 and 18-28 are presented for examination.
Specification change request on 1/5/26 is denied because changes are not properly marked. Applicant is advised identifying the changed paragraph numbers in the remark page as well as related amendment are associated to fix typographical issues are properly identified separately. Change is not entered, because applicant ignoring this section from final office action is considered unresponsive.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/16/26, 1/29/26, 12/23/25, 11/11/25, 10/22/25, 7/11/25 and 10/3/24 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Election/Restriction
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-9 and 18-28 in response to restriction requirement sent on 7/18/25. Applicant has cancelled claims 10-17.
Continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-9 and 18-28 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinowski (U.S. Pub. No. 10455155 B1), in view of Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 20200391864 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Kalinowski teach an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising: a chassis; (Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below) a plurality of arms extending directly and outwardly from the chassis; (Kalinowski Fig. 1B annotated below) a plurality of propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of arms; (Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below) a canopy connected to the chassis so as to provide an outer cover for the UAV configured to protect internal components thereof; (Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below)
wherein the canopy includes an uppermost surface and a lowermost surface; (Kalinowski Fig. 1B annotated below)
a frame is isolated from the chassis; (Kalinowski Fig. 1B annotated below)
and positioned between the uppermost surface and the lowermost surface of the canopy such that the frame is concealed within the canopy; (Kalinowski Fig. 1B annotated below)
Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below:
Kalinowski do not explicitly teach and a plurality of image capture assemblies supported by the frame such that the frame separates the plurality of image capture assemblies from the chassis and the canopy so as to inhibit relative movement between the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV.
However Lee teach and a plurality of image capture assemblies (730, 750) supported by the frame (731, 751) such that the frame separates the plurality of image capture assemblies from the chassis (Lee [0099-0102] Referring to FIGS. 7A and 7B, a main body 710 [chassis] of an unmanned aerial vehicle 700 may be implemented with at least one frame. For example, as illustrated, the main body 710 may include an upper left horizontal frame 713a and an upper right horizontal frame 715a forming a part of an upper surface, a lower left horizontal frame 713b and a lower right horizontal frame 715b forming a part of a lower surface, an upper left vertical frame 717a and an upper right vertical frame 717b forming an upper end, and a lower left vertical frame 719a and a lower right vertical frame 719b forming a lower end. According to an embodiment, at least one frame constituting the main body 710 may fix at least one of a propeller and a motor that rotates the propeller. [0100] According to an embodiment, in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700, the at least one camera may be disposed inside the main body 710 and may be exposed to the outside through an opening formed at least one surface of the main body 710. For example, the at least one camera may be located at the inner end of a frame constituting the main body 710. For example, a camera disposed in the side direction of the main body 710 is disposed between the upper left horizontal frame 713a and the lower left horizontal frame 713b or between the upper right horizontal frame 715a and the lower right horizontal frame 715b; a camera disposed in a vertical direction of the main body 110 may be disposed between the upper left vertical frame 717a and the upper right vertical frame 717b or between the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b. The drawing illustrates that a first camera 730 is disposed between the end of the upper left horizontal frame 713a and the end of the lower left horizontal frame 713b and is exposed to the outside through a left opening 735 formed on the left side surface of the main body 710, a second camera 750 is disposed between the end of the upper right horizontal frame 715a and the end of the lower right horizontal frame 715b and is exposed to the outside through a right opening 755 formed on the right side surface of the main body 710, a third camera 770 is disposed between the end of the upper left vertical frame 717a and the end of the upper right vertical frame 717b and is exposed to the outside through an upper end opening 775 formed in the upper end of the main body 710, and a fourth camera 790 is disposed between the end of the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b and is exposed to the outside through a lower end opening 795 formed at the lower end of the main body 710.)
and the canopy so as to inhibit relative movement between the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. (Lee [0105] According to an embodiment, the above-described dampers may simultaneously transmit the shaking or vibration of the main body 710 to a plurality of cameras installed in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700. For example, the shaking or vibration occurring at one point of the main body 710 may be transmitted to the first camera 730, the second camera 750, the third camera 770, and the fourth camera 790 with the same or similar size. Accordingly, even though the main body 710 is shaken, there is no relative shaking between the plurality of cameras, thereby reducing the processing of shake correction for the images when images obtained from a plurality of cameras are stitched.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kalinowski, further incorporating Lee in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the canopy so as to inhibit relative movement between the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results when Kalinowski frame/chassis combination in Fig. 1b is replaced with Lee Fig. 7B frame/chassis using the algorithm Kalinowski Fig. 1a. Kalinowski annotated figure 1B given above shows canopy as the upper/bottom plate and frame as well as marked. However, camera attachment in Fig. 1B is using a different algorithm. It would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art that Kalinowski FIG. 1B camera can be attached using the camera attaching algorithm of Kalinowski Fig. 1A and Lee Fig. 7B. In this obvious modification, additional cameras can be attached or the existing camera of Kalinowski Fig. 1B can be replaced using the camera attaching algorithm having Kalinowski Fig. 1A and will be considered simple substitution. Claimed invention is obvious when mechanical gimbal system (from Fig. 1a) 103a supporting the image capture device 102a is attached to uppermost canopy (Fig. 1B annotated) using the camera attaching algorithm shown in Kalinowski Fig. 1A or Lee Fig. 7B to attach frame from Lee Fig. 7B.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, wherein the frame is indirectly connected to the canopy such that the frame is suspended within the canopy. (Kalinowski Fig. 1B annotated below. Kalinowski col 3 line 65 – col 4 line 20: FIG. 1A shows a first example configuration of a UAV 100a that includes an image capture device 102a suspended below the body of the UAV 100a. In this example configuration, the image capture device 102 may be mounted to a bottom side of the body of UAV 100a via a multi-axis mechanical gimbal 103a configured to rotate the image capture device 102a about multiple axes to counter a motion [indirectly connected] of the UAV 100a while in flight.)
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 2, further comprising: a plurality of dampers positioned between the canopy and the frame in order to inhibit force transmission to the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. (Claim 3 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a.)
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 3, wherein the frame includes a plurality of receptacles (Kalinowski Fig. 4 shows for one camera. For multiple camera there are plurality of receptacles is obvious) configured to receive the plurality of dampers. (Claim 4 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 above. Kalinowski col 7 line 42-55: the isolators 234 may in some embodiments act as spring dampers to isolate the dynamic components from certain rotational and/or translational motion by UAV 200. For example, in some embodiments each isolator 234 may act as a spring damper to isolate motion in all of the x, y, and z directions. As will be explained, in some embodiments each isolator 234 may exhibit, based on its geometry and material properties, a 1:1:1 ratio of compression stiffness to tensile stiffness to shear stiffness. In other words, each isolator 234 may act as a spring damper that responds uniformly in the x, y, and z directions.)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, wherein the plurality of image capture assemblies includes: a first image capture assembly; a second image capture assembly; and a third image capture assembly. (Claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Kalinowski col 3 line 30-35: Aerial vehicles, such as UAVs can be fitted with image capture devices (e.g., one or more cameras) to capture images (including video) of a surrounding physical environment while the vehicle is in flight)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 6, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the frame defines: a first apex, the first image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the first apex; a second apex, the second image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the second apex; and a third apex, the third image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the third apex.
However Lee teach wherein the frame defines: a first apex, the first image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the first apex; a second apex, the second image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the second apex; and a third apex, the third image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the third apex. (Claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Lee [0099-0102] Referring to FIGS. 7A and 7B, a main body 710 [chassis] of an unmanned aerial vehicle 700 may be implemented with at least one frame. For example, as illustrated, the main body 710 may include an upper left horizontal frame 713a and an upper right horizontal frame 715a forming a part of an upper surface, a lower left horizontal frame 713b and a lower right horizontal frame 715b forming a part of a lower surface, an upper left vertical frame 717a and an upper right vertical frame 717b forming an upper end, and a lower left vertical frame 719a and a lower right vertical frame 719b forming a lower end. According to an embodiment, at least one frame constituting the main body 710 may fix at least one of a propeller and a motor that rotates the propeller. [0100] According to an embodiment, in the unmanned aerial vehicle 700, the at least one camera may be disposed inside the main body 710 and may be exposed to the outside through an opening formed at least one surface of the main body 710. For example, the at least one camera may be located at the inner end of a frame constituting the main body 710. For example, a camera disposed in the side direction of the main body 710 is disposed between the upper left horizontal frame 713a and the lower left horizontal frame 713b or between the upper right horizontal frame 715a and the lower right horizontal frame 715b; a camera disposed in a vertical direction of the main body 110 may be disposed between the upper left vertical frame 717a and the upper right vertical frame 717b or between the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b. The drawing illustrates that a first camera 730 is disposed between the end of the upper left horizontal frame 713a and the end of the lower left horizontal frame 713b and is exposed to the outside through a left opening 735 formed on the left side surface of the main body 710, a second camera 750 is disposed between the end of the upper right horizontal frame 715a and the end of the lower right horizontal frame 715b and is exposed to the outside through a right opening 755 formed on the right side surface of the main body 710, a third camera 770 is disposed between the end of the upper left vertical frame 717a and the end of the upper right vertical frame 717b and is exposed to the outside through an upper end opening 775 formed in the upper end of the main body 710, and a fourth camera 790 is disposed between the end of the lower left vertical frame 719a and the lower right vertical frame 719b and is exposed to the outside through a lower end opening 795 formed at the lower end of the main body 710)
Regarding to claim 21:
21. Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1. Claim 21 has following additional limitations: a body; a frame positioned internally within the body such that the frame is concealed and protected by the body; (Kalinowski Fig. 9G and Fig. 13 teach [0073] UAV 800 includes a passive stabilization assembly 830 [frame] arranged within the interior space of housing 810 [body])
Regarding to claim 22:
22. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 21, further comprising: a plurality of dampers positioned between the body and the frame, wherein the frame is supported by the plurality of dampers such that the frame is suspended within the UAV. (Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and 21 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10 To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a.)
Regarding to claim 23:
23. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 22, wherein the body includes: a front chassis; and a rear chassis connected to the front chassis. (Kalinowski Fig. 1b annotated in rejecting claim 1. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the chassis of Fig. 1a with the chassis of Fig. 1B)
Regarding to claim 24:
24. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 23, wherein the body further includes: a lower canopy connected to the front chassis and defining a lowermost surface of the body; and an upper canopy connected to the rear chassis and defining an uppermost surface of the body, wherein the frame is positioned between the lowermost surface and the uppermost surface. (Limitations are obvious over Kalinowski Fig. 1b annotated above, chassis is available in every corner)
Regarding to claim 25:
25. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 24, wherein the plurality of image capture assemblies includes: a plurality of lower image capture assemblies extending through the lower canopy; and a plurality of upper image capture assemblies extending through the upper canopy. (Claim 25 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24 above. Kalinowski Fig. 1A col 3 line 30-35: Aerial vehicles, such as UAVs can be fitted with image capture devices (e.g., one or more cameras) to capture images (including video) of a surrounding physical environment while the vehicle is in flight. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy)
Regarding to claim 26:
26. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 25, wherein the plurality of dampers includes: a plurality of lower dampers supported by the lower canopy; and a plurality of upper dampers supported by the upper canopy. (Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and 21 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy using dampers)
Regarding to claim 27:
27. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 26, wherein the frame includes: a lower frame supported the plurality of lower dampers; and an upper frame supported the plurality of upper dampers. (Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever [frame] mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy using dampers and cantilever [frame])
Regarding to claim 28:
28. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 27, wherein the lower frame supports the plurality of lower image capture assemblies, and the upper frame supports the plurality of upper image capture assemblies. (Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever [frame] mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy using dampers and cantilever [frame])
Claims 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinowski (U.S. Pub. No. 10455155 B1), in view of Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 20200391864 A1) A1), further in view of Wong (U.S. Pub. No. 20240272527 A1).
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 3, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses.
However Wong teach wherein the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses. (Claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 above. (Wong [0012] In certain embodiments, the base plate may further include first and second bosses that extend outwardly from the mounting platform in generally parallel relation to the first and second pivot axes. [0013] In certain embodiments, the cover may be configured for removable engagement with the first and second bosses. [0014] In certain embodiments, the cover may include apertures that are configured to receive mechanical fasteners such that the mechanical fasteners extend through the cover and into the first and second bosses. [0021] The base plate includes: a receptacle that is configured to threadably engage an accessory such that the image capture device is directly connectable to the accessory via the interconnect mechanism; a first boss that extends in a first direction and which is oriented in transverse relation to the receptacle; and a second boss that extends in a second direction opposite to the first direction and which is oriented in transverse relation to the receptacle.)
The motivation for combining Kalinowski and Lee as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kalinowski, further incorporating Lee and Wong in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the frame includes at least one reinforced section such that the frame defines a non-uniform thickness.
However Wong teach wherein the frame includes at least one reinforced section such that the frame defines a non-uniform thickness. (Wong FIG. 25-29 shows angular and circular shape which creates non-uniform thickness for reinforced section [0190] FIG. 28 is a bottom, perspective view of the base plate 1002 and the cover 1008 shown connected together)
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinowski (U.S. Pub. No. 10455155 B1), in view of Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 20200391864 A1) A1), further in view of Anderson (U.S. Pub. No. 20050280705 A1).
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium.
However Anderson teach wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium. (Anderson [0040] In various embodiments, the portable receiver device 20 is enclosed or encased in a housing or case, such as, for example, a cast magnesium case to ensure survivability in a combat environment.)
The motivation for combining Kalinowski and Lee as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 8. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kalinowski, further incorporating Lee and Anderson in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium. This functionality will improve durability with predictable results.
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 18-20:
Claims 18-20 is/are allowed.
Regarding to claim 18:
18. Kalinowski teach an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising: a front chassis; a plurality of front arms extending outwardly from the front chassis; a plurality of front propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of front arms; a lower canopy supported by the front chassis; a plurality of lower dampers supported by the lower canopy; a lower frame supported by the plurality of lower dampers such that the plurality of lower dampers absorb force applied to the UAV during operation, whereby the lower frame inhibits relative movement between the first lower image capture assembly, the second lower image capture assembly, and the third lower image capture assembly; a rear chassis connected to the front chassis; a plurality of rear arms extending outwardly from the rear chassis; a plurality of rear propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of rear arms; an upper canopy supported by the rear chassis; a plurality of upper dampers supported by the upper canopy; and an upper frame supported by the plurality of upper dampers such that the plurality of upper dampers absorb force applied to the UAV during operation, (Above limitations of Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1-7 above)
However prior art from examiner’s search does not teach following limitations when considered as whole: wherein the lower frame includes a generally A-shaped configuration defining: a first apex supporting a first lower image capture assembly; a second apex supporting a second lower image capture assembly; and a third apex supporting a third lower image capture assembly, wherein the upper frame includes a generally triangular configuration defining: a first apex supporting a first upper image capture assembly; a second apex supporting a second upper image capture assembly; and a third apex supporting a third upper image capture assembly, whereby the upper frame inhibits relative movement between the first upper image capture assembly, the second upper image capture assembly and the third upper image capture assembly.
Claim 19-20 is allowed because of dependency.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896