DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 1/5/26.
Claims 1-9 and 18-28 are presented for examination.
Specification change request on 1/5/26 is denied because changes are not properly marked, identifying the changed paragraph numbers in the remark page or related amendment are associated to fix typographical issues.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/29/26, 12/23/25, 11/11/25, 10/22/25, 7/11/25 and 10/3/24 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Election/Restriction
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-9 and 18-28 in response to restriction requirement sent on 7/18/25. Applicant has cancelled claims 10-17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/26 with respect to claims 1-9 and 18-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in page 10 that prior art does not teach amended claim 1 and claim 21 limitations: "frame" is "positioned internally and contained within the canopy".
Examiner disagree on this because gimbal 103a (frame) of Kalinowski Fig. 1A still covered [internally and contained] by the canopy as shown in the annotated figure given below, because frame 103a does not extend outside of the canopy (ceiling). Applicant argument is not commensurate with the claim language, because what is considered internally and contained is not clear from claim language.
Applicant argued in page 10 that prior art does not teach "a plurality of arms extending directly and outwardly from the chassis," because with respect to the UAV illustrated in FIG. 1B, applicant highlights the absence of a "frame" or a "canopy" altogether.
Examiner disagree on this because Kalinowski annotated figure 1B given below shows canopy as the bottom plate and frame as well as marked. However, camera attachment in Fig. 1B is using a different algorithm. It would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art that Kalinowski FIG. 1B camera can be attached using the camera attaching algorithm of Kalinowski Fig. 1A. In this obvious modification, an additional camera can be attached or the existing camera of Kalinowski Fig. 1B can be replaced using the camera attaching algorithm having Kalinowski mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a attached to celling of Fig. 1B annotated chassis using the camera attaching algorithm shown in Kalinowski Fig. 1A. In such a configuration gimbal 103a in the modified configuration will be considered as frame.
Applicant argued in page 10 that incorporating the structures and features purportedly described in Wong would fail to cure these deficiencies in Kalinowski.
Examiner disagree on this because as explained above when the camera attaching algorithm of Kalinowski Fig. 1A is implemented in Kalinowski Fig. 1B claimed limitation become obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinowski (U.S. Pub. No. 10455155 B1), in view of Wong (U.S. Pub. No. 20240272527 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Kalinowski teach an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising: a chassis; (Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below) a plurality of arms extending directly and outwardly from the chassis; (Kalinowski Fig. 1B annotated below) a plurality of propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of arms; (Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below) a canopy connected to the chassis so as to provide an outer cover for the UAV configured to protect internal components thereof; (Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below) a frame positioned internally and contained within the canopy the canopy such that the frame is isolated from the chassis; (Kalinowski gimbal 103a (frame) of Kalinowski Fig. 1A still covered [internally and contained] by the canopy as shown in the annotated figure given below, because frame 103a does not extend outside of the canopy (ceiling)) and a plurality of image capture assemblies supported by the frame (Kalinowski annotated figure 1B given below shows canopy as the bottom plate and frame as well as marked. However, camera attachment in Fig. 1B is using a different algorithm. It would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art that Kalinowski FIG. 1B camera can be attached using the camera attaching algorithm of Kalinowski Fig. 1A. In this obvious modification, an additional camera can be attached or the existing camera of Kalinowski Fig. 1B can be replaced using the camera attaching algorithm having Kalinowski mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a attached to celling of Fig. 1B annotated chassis using the camera attaching algorithm shown in Kalinowski Fig. 1A. In such a configuration gimbal 103a in the modified configuration will be considered as frame.) such that the frame separates the plurality of image capture assemblies from the chassis (Kalinowski col 3 line 65 – col 4 line 20: FIG. 1A shows a first example configuration of a UAV 100a that includes an image capture device 102a suspended below the body of the UAV 100a. In this example configuration, the image capture device 102 may be mounted to a bottom side of the body of UAV 100a via a multi-axis mechanical gimbal 103a [frame] configured to rotate the image capture device 102a about multiple axes to counter a motion of the UAV 100a while in flight. Kalinowski col 4 line 59-65 the counter-balanced suspension assembly can be combined with one or more active stabilization techniques (e.g., mechanical gimbals and/or EIS) to further improve image stabilization capability to counter a range of motion profiles.)
Kalinowski Fig. 1 annotated below:
[AltContent: textbox (Frame)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Canopy)][AltContent: textbox (Chassis)]
Kalinowski do not explicitly teach and the canopy so as to inhibit relative movement between the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV.
However Wong teach and the canopy so as to inhibit relative movement between the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. (Wong camera 400 of Fig 4 connected to apertures 612 of Fig. 20 of base plate 802 will inhibit relative movement because: [0160] As seen in FIG. 12, the restrictors 606 are configured such that, upon assembly of the interconnect mechanism 600, the restrictors 606 protrude inwardly from the base plate 602 (e.g., towards the body 102 of the image capture device 400). Such inward protrusion facilitates the application of pressure to the restrictors 606 during (upon) connection of the interconnect mechanism 600 to the image capture device 400. The restrictors 606 are thus compressed between the base plate 602 and the body 102 (e.g., within the cavity 103 (FIG. 7)), thereby inhibiting (if not entirely preventing) unintended relative movement between the interconnect mechanism 600 and the image capture device 400 (e.g., rattling, etc.) and absorbing (dampening) forces that may otherwise be transmitted to the image capture device 400 via the interconnect mechanism 600 (e.g., during connection of the accessory A (FIG. 4), upon contact with an external object, in the event that the image capture device 400 is dropped, etc.).[0179] The base plate 802 includes a base 810 that incorporates an (additional) relief 880 (FIG. 20) that extends (vertically downward) so as to define lateral supports 882, 884, which include the apertures 612. The relief 880 corresponds in configuration to the relief 142 (FIG. 7) defined by the body 102 of the image capture device 400 and the reinforcement member 500, which allows for insertion of the reinforcement member 500 into the relief 880. More specifically, the relief 880 defines an inner contour (profile) 886 that corresponds to (e.g., mirrors) the inner contour (profile) 154 defined by the relief 142 and the outer contour (profile) 502 defined by the reinforcement member 500, whereby the relief 880 receives the flanges 510 and the tabs 512 so as to provide for a mechanical interface between the reinforcement member 500 and the base plate 802 that inhibits (if not entirely prevents) relative movement (e.g., rotation) between the reinforcement member 500 and the base plate 802 as well as relative movement (e.g., rotation) between the reinforcement member 500 and the base plate 802 and the body 102 of the image capture device 400)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kalinowski, further incorporating Wong in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the canopy so as to inhibit relative movement between the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, wherein the frame is indirectly connected to the canopy such that the frame is suspended within the UAV. (Kalinowski col 3 line 65 – col 4 line 20: FIG. 1A shows a first example configuration of a UAV 100a that includes an image capture device 102a suspended below the body of the UAV 100a. In this example configuration, the image capture device 102 may be mounted to a bottom side of the body of UAV 100a via a multi-axis mechanical gimbal 103a configured to rotate the image capture device 102a about multiple axes to counter a motion [indirectly connected] of the UAV 100a while in flight.)
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 2, further comprising: a plurality of dampers positioned between the canopy and the frame in order to inhibit force transmission to the plurality of image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. (Claim 3 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a.)
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 3, wherein the frame includes a plurality of receptacles (Kalinowski Fig. 4 shows for one camera. For multiple camera there are plurality of receptacles is obvious) configured to receive the plurality of dampers. (Claim 4 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 above. Kalinowski col 7 line 42-55: the isolators 234 may in some embodiments act as spring dampers to isolate the dynamic components from certain rotational and/or translational motion by UAV 200. For example, in some embodiments each isolator 234 may act as a spring damper to isolate motion in all of the x, y, and z directions. As will be explained, in some embodiments each isolator 234 may exhibit, based on its geometry and material properties, a 1:1:1 ratio of compression stiffness to tensile stiffness to shear stiffness. In other words, each isolator 234 may act as a spring damper that responds uniformly in the x, y, and z directions.)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 3, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses.
However Wong teach wherein the canopy includes a plurality of bosses extending inwardly therefrom, the plurality of dampers being supported by the plurality of bosses. (Claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 above. (Wong [0012] In certain embodiments, the base plate may further include first and second bosses that extend outwardly from the mounting platform in generally parallel relation to the first and second pivot axes. [0013] In certain embodiments, the cover may be configured for removable engagement with the first and second bosses. [0014] In certain embodiments, the cover may include apertures that are configured to receive mechanical fasteners such that the mechanical fasteners extend through the cover and into the first and second bosses. [0021] The base plate includes: a receptacle that is configured to threadably engage an accessory such that the image capture device is directly connectable to the accessory via the interconnect mechanism; a first boss that extends in a first direction and which is oriented in transverse relation to the receptacle; and a second boss that extends in a second direction opposite to the first direction and which is oriented in transverse relation to the receptacle.)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, wherein the plurality of image capture assemblies includes: a first image capture assembly; a second image capture assembly; and a third image capture assembly. (Claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Kalinowski col 3 line 30-35: Aerial vehicles, such as UAVs can be fitted with image capture devices (e.g., one or more cameras) to capture images (including video) of a surrounding physical environment while the vehicle is in flight)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 6, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the frame defines: a first apex, the first image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the first apex; a second apex, the second image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the second apex; and a third apex, the third image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the third apex.
However Wong teach wherein the frame defines: a first apex, the first image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the first apex; a second apex, the second image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the second apex; and a third apex, the third image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the third apex. (Claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above. Wong Fig. 4 shows first image capture assembly being supported by the frame adjacent to the first apex. Same algorithm is applicable for second and third camera)
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the frame includes at least one reinforced section such that the frame defines a non-uniform thickness.
However Wong teach wherein the frame includes at least one reinforced section such that the frame defines a non-uniform thickness. (Wong FIG. 25-29 shows angular and circular shape which creates non-uniform thickness for reinforced section [0190] FIG. 28 is a bottom, perspective view of the base plate 1002 and the cover 1008 shown connected together;)
Regarding to claim 21:
21. Kalinowski teach an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising: a body; (Kalinowski col. 1 line 48-49 FIG. 1A shows an example UAV that includes an image capture device suspended below the body of the UAV; col. 5 line 19-24 FIG. 2 shows a top view of an example UAV 200 that may include one or more of the image stabilization techniques described herein. As shown in FIG. 2, example UAV 200 includes a body housing 210 and a stabilized object 240 extending from one side (e.g., the front side of UAV 200)) a frame positioned internally within the body; (Kalinowski gimbal 103a (frame) of Kalinowski Fig. 1A still covered [internally and contained] by the canopy as shown in the annotated figure given below, because frame 103a does not extend outside of the canopy (ceiling). Kalinowski col 3 line 65 – col 4 line 20: FIG. 1A shows a first example configuration of a UAV 100a that includes an image capture device 102a suspended below the body of the UAV 100a. In this example configuration, the image capture device 102 may be mounted to a bottom side of the body of UAV 100a via a multi-axis mechanical gimbal 103a [frame] configured to rotate the image capture device 102a about multiple axes to counter a motion of the UAV 100a while in flight) and a plurality of image capture assemblies supported by the frame, (Kalinowski col 3 line 65 – col 4 line 20: FIG. 1A shows a first example configuration of a UAV 100a that includes an image capture device 102a suspended below the body of the UAV 100a. In this example configuration, the image capture device 102 may be mounted to a bottom side of the body of UAV 100a via a multi-axis mechanical gimbal 103a [frame] configured to rotate the image capture device 102a about multiple axes to counter a motion of the UAV 100a while in flight. Kalinowski col 4 line 59-65 the counter-balanced suspension assembly can be combined with one or more active stabilization techniques (e.g., mechanical gimbals and/or EIS) to further improve image stabilization capability to counter a range of motion profiles. Kalinowski annotated figure 1B given below shows canopy as the bottom plate and frame as well as marked. However, camera attachment in Fig. 1B is using a different algorithm. It would also have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art that Kalinowski FIG. 1B camera can be attached using the camera attaching algorithm of Kalinowski Fig. 1A. In this obvious modification, an additional camera can be attached or the existing camera of Kalinowski Fig. 1B can be replaced using the camera attaching algorithm having Kalinowski mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a attached to celling of Fig. 1B annotated chassis using the camera attaching algorithm shown in Kalinowski Fig. 1A. In such a configuration gimbal 103a in the modified configuration will be considered as frame.)
Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the frame is indirectly connected to the body such that the frame and the image capture assemblies are isolated from the body so as to inhibit force transmission to the image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV.
However Wong teach wherein the frame is indirectly connected to the body such that the frame and the image capture assemblies are isolated from the body so as to inhibit force transmission to the image capture assemblies during operation of the UAV. (Wong camera 400 of Fig 4 connected to apertures 612 of Fig. 20 of base plate 802 will inhibit relative movement because: [0160] As seen in FIG. 12, the restrictors 606 are configured such that, upon assembly of the interconnect mechanism 600, the restrictors 606 protrude inwardly from the base plate 602 (e.g., towards the body 102 of the image capture device 400). Such inward protrusion facilitates the application of pressure to the restrictors 606 during (upon) connection of the interconnect mechanism 600 to the image capture device 400. The restrictors 606 are thus compressed between the base plate 602 and the body 102 (e.g., within the cavity 103 (FIG. 7)), thereby inhibiting (if not entirely preventing) unintended relative movement between the interconnect mechanism 600 and the image capture device 400 (e.g., rattling, etc.) and absorbing (dampening) forces that may otherwise be transmitted to the image capture device 400 via the interconnect mechanism 600 (e.g., during connection of the accessory A (FIG. 4), upon contact with an external object, in the event that the image capture device 400 is dropped, etc.).[0179] The base plate 802 includes a base 810 that incorporates an (additional) relief 880 (FIG. 20) that extends (vertically downward) so as to define lateral supports 882, 884, which include the apertures 612. The relief 880 corresponds in configuration to the relief 142 (FIG. 7) defined by the body 102 of the image capture device 400 and the reinforcement member 500, which allows for insertion of the reinforcement member 500 into the relief 880. More specifically, the relief 880 defines an inner contour (profile) 886 that corresponds to (e.g., mirrors) the inner contour (profile) 154 defined by the relief 142 and the outer contour (profile) 502 defined by the reinforcement member 500, whereby the relief 880 receives the flanges 510 and the tabs 512 so as to provide for a mechanical interface between the reinforcement member 500 and the base plate 802 that inhibits (if not entirely prevents) relative movement (e.g., rotation) between the reinforcement member 500 and the base plate 802 as well as relative movement (e.g., rotation) between the reinforcement member 500 and the base plate 802 and the body 102 of the image capture device 400)
Regarding to claim 22:
22. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 21, further comprising: a plurality of dampers positioned between the body and the frame, wherein the frame is supported by the plurality of dampers such that the frame is suspended within the UAV. (Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and 21 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10 To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a.)
Regarding to claim 23:
23. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 22, wherein the body includes: a front chassis; and a rear chassis connected to the front chassis. (Kalinowski Fig. 1b annotated in rejecting claim 1. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the chassis of Fig. 1a with the chassis of Fig. 1B)
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinowski (U.S. Pub. No. 10455155 B1), in view of Wong (U.S. Pub. No. 20240272527 A1), further in view of Anderson (U.S. Pub. No. 20050280705 A1).
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 1, Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium.
However Anderson teach wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium. (Anderson [0040] In various embodiments, the portable receiver device 20 is enclosed or encased in a housing or case, such as, for example, a cast magnesium case to ensure survivability in a combat environment.)
The motivation for combining Kalinowski and Wong as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 8. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kalinowski, further incorporating Wong and Anderson in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate wherein the frame is formed from cast magnesium. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Claims 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalinowski (U.S. Pub. No. 10455155 B1), in view of Wong (U.S. Pub. No. 20240272527 A1), further in view of Boudreau (U.S. Pub. No. 20240166382 A1).
Regarding to claim 24:
24. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 23, and an upper canopy connected to the rear chassis. (Kalinowski Fig. 1b annotated in rejecting claim 1. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the chassis of Fig. 1a with the chassis of Fig. 1B)
Kalinowski do not explicitly teach wherein the body further includes: a lower canopy connected to the front chassis;
However Boudreau teach wherein the body further includes: a lower canopy connected to the front chassis; (Boudreau [0081] Directional control module 1600 is characterized by an enclosure 1604 [lower canopy] that supports a plurality of shackles 1608. Shackles 1608 are configured to secure tension elements for a parachute, such as set of lines 112 on parachute system 100 or in variants of parachute system 100. Enclosure 1604 further comprises an aperture 1624, which is used to secure a drop module 1900 onto directional control module 1600. (Drop module 1900 will be discussed in further detail below in relation to FIG. 19.) Enclosure 1604 further comprises a plurality of fasteners 1630, which are used to secure a swivel 2358 and payload 2350 to enclosure 1604. (Swivel 2358 and payload 2350 will be discussed in further detail below in relation to FIG. 24). In the present embodiment, a locking pin 1632 is disposed on the end of enclosure 1604 that is opposite to aperture 1624. Aperture 1624 and locking pin 1632 are complementary to attachment points on drop module 1900 for releasable attachment to directional control module 1600. As best seen in FIG. 18, enclosure 1604 further comprises a battery cover 1636 and a display screen 1640.)
The motivation for combining Kalinowski and Wong as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 24. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kalinowski, further incorporating Wong and Boudreau in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the body further includes: a lower canopy connected to the front chassis. This functionality will improve reliability with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 25:
25. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 24, wherein the plurality of image capture assemblies includes: a plurality of lower image capture assemblies extending through the lower canopy; and a plurality of upper image capture assemblies extending through the upper canopy. (Claim 25 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24 above. Kalinowski Fig. 1A col 3 line 30-35: Aerial vehicles, such as UAVs can be fitted with image capture devices (e.g., one or more cameras) to capture images (including video) of a surrounding physical environment while the vehicle is in flight. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy)
Regarding to claim 26:
26. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 25, wherein the plurality of dampers includes: a plurality of lower dampers supported by the lower canopy; and a plurality of upper dampers supported by the upper canopy. (Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and 21 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy using dampers)
Regarding to claim 27:
27. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 26, wherein the frame includes: a lower frame supported the plurality of lower dampers; and an upper frame supported the plurality of upper dampers. (Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever [frame] mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy using dampers and cantilever [frame])
Regarding to claim 28:
28. Kalinowski teach the UAV of claim 27, wherein the lower frame supports the plurality of lower image capture assemblies, and the upper frame supports the plurality of upper image capture assemblies. (Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26 above. Kalinowski col 4 line 32-40: Any vibration isolators placed between the body of the UAV 100b and the cantilever [frame] mounted image capture device 102b should be stiff enough to handle the shear force caused by the weight of the image capture device 102b, but soft enough to dampen translational motion in the body of the UAV 100b along a range of frequencies. Kalinowski col 4 line 5-10To counter higher frequency translations (e.g., vibrations caused by the propulsion systems onboard the UAV), such a configuration may also include passive motion isolators 104a between the body of the UAV 100a and the mechanical gimbal system 103a supporting the image capture device 102a. Same algorithm is applicable for camera extending through the upper and lower canopy using dampers and cantilever [frame])
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 18-20:
Claims 18-20 is/are allowed.
Regarding to claim 18:
18. Kalinowski teach an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising: a front chassis; a plurality of front arms extending outwardly from the front chassis; a plurality of front propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of front arms; a lower canopy supported by the front chassis; a plurality of lower dampers supported by the lower canopy; a lower frame supported by the plurality of lower dampers such that the plurality of lower dampers absorb force applied to the UAV during operation, whereby the lower frame inhibits relative movement between the first lower image capture assembly, the second lower image capture assembly, and the third lower image capture assembly; a rear chassis connected to the front chassis; a plurality of rear arms extending outwardly from the rear chassis; a plurality of rear propeller assemblies supported by the plurality of rear arms; an upper canopy supported by the rear chassis; a plurality of upper dampers supported by the upper canopy; and an upper frame supported by the plurality of upper dampers such that the plurality of upper dampers absorb force applied to the UAV during operation, (Above limitations of Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1-7 above)
However prior art from examiner’s search does not teach following limitations when considered as whole: wherein the lower frame includes a generally A-shaped configuration defining: a first apex supporting a first lower image capture assembly; a second apex supporting a second lower image capture assembly; and a third apex supporting a third lower image capture assembly, wherein the upper frame includes a generally triangular configuration defining: a first apex supporting a first upper image capture assembly; a second apex supporting a second upper image capture assembly; and a third apex supporting a third upper image capture assembly, whereby the upper frame inhibits relative movement between the first upper image capture assembly, the second upper image capture assembly and the third upper image capture assembly.
Claim 19-20 is allowed because of dependency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896