DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 65-67 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 65-67 recite the limitation "the thickness of said at least one waveguide region," "the thickness of said at least one gain region,” and "the thickness of said at least one optical reflector" respectively inline 2 of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 64-71 and 73-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2002/0105991 (Coldren) and US 2019/0372307 (Morton).
For claim 64, Coldren teaches a laser (fig. 1A and 1B) comprising:
at least one gain region including a gain configured to generate light (fig. 1A/B, 102, [0039]);
a first optical reflector at one end of the gain region, the first optical reflector having at least one reflectance peak in a gain bandwidth of said at least one gain region (fig. 1A/B, 108);
a second optical reflector having a plurality of reflection peaks at another end of the gain region (fig. 1A/B, 106), the first reflector and the second reflector forming a cavity including said at least one gain region therein ([0038]), the cavity having a plurality of cavity modes spaced apart from each other ([0039]),
Coldren further teaches at least one controller configured to adjust the at least said second optical reflector; and electronics configured to adjust the at least one controller thereby shifting a reflection peak of the second reflector with respect to with a cavity mode ([0039], currents to mirror 106).
Coldren does not teach the controller adjusts the temperature or at least one waveguide region extended in a longitudinal direction between said at least one gain region and the second optical reflector such that the second optical reflector is thermally isolated from the at least one gain region. However, Morton teaches a controller (fig. 14A, 940) configured to adjust the temperature of an optical reflector (fig. 14A, 920) with at least one waveguide region (fig. 12A, 720 and fig. 14A, 910) extended in a longitudinal direction between said at least one gain region (fig. 12A, 721) and the second optical reflector (fig. 12A, 725/726 and fig. 14A, 920) such that the second optical reflector is thermally isolated from the at least one gain region (fig. 12A, 750, and fig. 14A, 950; [0062]) in order to change the central wavelength of the reflector and isolate the temperature sensitive Bragg grating from heat generating elements ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a temperature controller and waveguide with thermal isolation taught by Morton as a simple substitution for the control of Coldren as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art and the substitution would have yielded predictable results. In the present case, the substituted component provides an alternative reflector control. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
For claim 65, Morton teaches said at least one waveguide region has a length that is at least the thickness of said at least one waveguide region in a transverse direction normal to the longitudinal direction (fig. 12A, waveguide region between 722 and 725).
For claim 66, Morton teaches said at least one waveguide region has a length that is at least the thickness of said at least one gain region (fig. 12A, length of waveguide region between 722 and 725 compared to thickness of gain region 721).
For claim 67, Morton teaches said at least one waveguide region has a length that is at least the thickness of the second optical reflector (fig. 12A, length of waveguide region between 722 and 725 compared to thickness of reflector 725).
For claim 68, Morton teaches said at least one waveguide region comprises at least one passive waveguide region (fig. 12A, length of waveguide region between 722 and 725 has no active properties).
For claim 69, Morton teaches said at least one waveguide region comprises waveguide region without an electrical contact (fig. 12A, length of waveguide region between 722 and 725 has no electrical contacts).
For claim 70, Morton teaches said at least one waveguide region is configured to enable the temperature control of the second optical reflector independent of said at least one gain region ([0058]).
For claim 71, Morton teaches an electrical isolation region in said at least one waveguide region ([0058], deeply etched trench).
For claim 73, Morton teaches the electrical isolation region comprises an air gap within said at least one waveguide region([0058], deeply etched trench).
For claim 74, Morton teaches the second optical reflector comprises a comb mirror ([0038]-[0039]; SGDBR with reflections are produced at periodic wavelength spacings (i.e. a comb); note the instant application at [0011] describes a SGDBR as a comb mirror).
For claim 75, Morton teaches the second optical reflector comprises a sampled grating distributed Bragg reflector (SGDBR) ([0039]).
For claim 76, Morton teaches the first optical reflector comprises a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) ([0039]).
For claim 77, Morton teaches an electrical contact disposed on the second optical reflector (fig. 1A, 106).
For claim 78, Morton teaches said electronics are configured to apply an injection current to said second optical reflector via the electrical contact to tune a reflection peak of the plurality of reflection peaks ([0039]).
For claim 79, Morton teaches said at least one waveguide region does not include an electrical contact. (fig. 12A, length of waveguide region between 722 and 725 has no electrical contacts).
Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2002/0105991 (Coldren) and US 2019/0372307 (Morton) and further in view of US 2012/0236890 (Caneau).
For claim 72, the previous combination does not teach in the electrical isolation region comprises an ion implanted region within said at least one waveguide region. However, Caneau teaches in ion implanted region in a waveguide region (fig. 2A, 40) between a wavelength selective region (fig. 2A, 12) and a gain region (fig. 2A, 10) in order to provide isolation between the two ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ion implantation region of Caneau with the previous combination in order to provide isolation between the gain region and wavelength selective region of the combination.
Conclusion
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828