Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [ 1-6, and 8-13 and 15-20 ] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (1) as being anticipated by Wie (US 20200328792 A1)] hereon after Wei.
Regrading claim 1, 8 and 15, Wei teaches; A user equipment (UE) comprising: [0052] FIG. 2 shows a block diagram of a design of a base station/eNB 105 and a UE 115, which may be one of the base stations/eNBs and one of the UEs in FIG. 1, a transceiver configured to receive information about a channel state information (CSI) report associated with K>1 CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources each with 2n_1 n_2 CSI-RS ports, [0057] An eNB may broadcast cell-specific CSI reference signals (CSI-RS) for which the UE measures CSI based on configurations signaled by eNB via RRC, such as CSI-RS resource configuration and transmission mode, where n_1 and n_2 are numbers of CSI-RS antenna ports of each CSI-RS resource in first and second dimensions, respectively, for each of dual-polarized antenna groups; [0065] For FD-MIMO, CSI-RS with more than 8 ports may be supported. CSI-RS port layout can be either 1-D or 2-D, according to the configured parameters (N.sub.1, N.sub.2), for which N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 determines the number of CSI-RS port in the 1.sup.st and 2.sup.nd dimension, and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor, based on the information, [0054] A MIMO detector 256 may obtain received symbols from all the demodulators 254a through 254r, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable, and provide detected symbols. A receive processor 258 may process (e.g., demodulate, deinterleave, and decode) the detected symbols, provide decoded data for the UE 115 to a data sink 260, and provide decoded control information to a controller/processor 280, configured to: measure the K CSI-RS resources, and determine the CSI report including a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) associated with 2N_1 N_2 PMI ports, [0061] A reporting may include one CSI-interference measurement (IM) resource per CSI process. The UE may report rank indicator, and CQI, as well as PMI, which consists of a first PMI corresponding to the parameters (i.sub.11, i.sub.12) and one or multiple second PMI corresponding to the parameter, i.sub.2, where 2N_1 N_2=2Kn_1 n_2, wherein: N_1 and N_2 are numbers of PMI antenna ports in the first and second dimensions, respectively, for each of the dual-polarized antenna groups, [0068 and equation P] For port indexing, e.g., assigning a CSI-RS port to a predetermined RE pattern, the mapping approach may depend upon the configurable code division multiplex (CDM) length (e.g., 2 or 4), which means that the mapping may be different depending on the CDM length,…Where, p represents the port index in the 12- and 16-port CSI-RS resource, p′ represents port numbering within each component configuration, N.sub.ports.sup.CSI represents a number of ports in the component configurations, and i represents the index of the component configuration. It can be seen that, for a CDM length of two, the cross-polarized antenna ports are assigned to each component CSI-RS configuration, and, for a CDM length of four, sequential mapping of CSI-RS ports to each component configuration is applied and, as a result, antenna ports mapped to each component configuration may not be on same polarization, and (N_1,N_2 ) corresponds to either (Kn_1,n_2 ) or (n_1,Kn_2 ), determined based on a port-mapping method between a PMI port index and a CSI-RS port index with a CSI-RS resource index, [Equation P 00001]for a CDM length of four, the port index may be determined by: p=iN.sub.ports.sup.CSI+p′ for p′∈{15,16, . . . ,15+N.sub.ports.sup.CSI−1}, Where, p represents the port index in the 12- and 16-port CSI-RS resource, p′ represents port numbering within each component configuration, N.sub.ports.sup.CSI represents a number of ports in the component configurations, and i represents the index of the component configuration, and wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the CSI report. [0055] On the uplink, at the UE 115, a transmit processor 264 may receive and process data (e.g., for the PUSCH) from a data source 262 and control information (e.g., for the PUCCH) from the controller/processor 280…. [0057] A UE may report CSI at CSI reporting instances also configured by the eNB. As a part of CSI reporting the UE generates and reports channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and rank indicator (RI). A base station (BS), A method performed by a user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 2, 9 and 16, Wei does teach n_1 n_2 CSI-RS ports of a j-th CSI-RS resource for a p-th polarization group map to (j+(p-1)K)-th n_1 n_2 PMI ports, [0080] As indicated in block 802, port permutation through the execution environment of port permutation 1202, under control of controller/processor 240, is separately applied for each polarization. Thus, in one aspect of the present disclosure, ports in the first polarization identified according to: p∈(15, . . . ,15+N.sub.1N.sub.2−1) where j=1,2,..,K, and p=1,2 [0068] N.sub.ports.sup.CSI represents a number of ports in the component configurations, and i represents the index of the component configuration. It can be seen that, for a CDM length of two, the cross-polarized antenna ports are assigned to each component CSI-RS configuration, and, for a CDM length of four, sequential mapping of CSI-RS ports to each component configuration is applied.
Regarding claim 3, 10 and 17, Wei does teach i-th n_2 CSI-RS ports of a j-th CSI-RS resource for a p-th polarization group map to (j+(i-1)K+(p-1) N_1 K)-th n_2 PMI ports,[0068] Where, p represents the port index in the 12- and 16-port CSI-RS resource, p′ represents port numbering within each component configuration, N.sub.ports.sup.CSI represents a number of ports in the component configurations, and i represents the index of the component configuration, where i=1,2,…,N_1, [0068] i represents the index of the component configuration, j=1,2,…,K, and p=1,2. Where, p represents the port index in the 12- and 16-port CSI-RS resource, p′ represents port numbering within each component configuration, N.sub.ports.sup.CSI represents a number of ports in the component configurations.
Regarding claim 4, 11 and 18, Wei does teach wherein the port-mapping method is configured via higher-layer [0079] It should be noted that, the port permutation at block 802, is applied for CM-RS port layouts (N.sub.1, N.sub.2) where N.sub.2 does not equal 2 or 4, or as determined by higher layer signaling. radio-resource control (RRC) signaling, [0057] An eNB may broadcast cell-specific CSI reference signals (CSI-RS) for which the UE measures CSI based on configurations signaled by eNB via RRC, such as CSI-RS resource configuration and transmission mode.
Regarding claim 5, 12 and 19, Wei does teach wherein configurable values of (N_1,N_2 ) with respect to a total number of CSI-RS ports (P) across the K CSI-RS resources include values in the following table:
Total number of CSI-RS ports (P) across the K CSI-RS resources, (N_1,N_2 )
48, (8,3), (6,4)
64, (16,2), (8,4)
128, (16,4), (8,8) [0065 and Table 1] For FD-MIMO, CSI-RS with more than 8 ports may be supported. CSI-RS port layout can be either 1-D or 2-D, according to the configured parameters (N.sub.1, N.sub.2), for which N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 determines the number of CSI-RS port in the 1.sup.st and 2.sup.nd dimension.
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 20, Wei does teach wherein configurable values of K with respect to P include:
for P=48, K=2 and 3,
for P=64, K=2 and 4, and
for P=128, K=4,[0071 and table] [0071] For CSI-RS with more than 16-ports (e.g., 20, 24, 28, 32 ports), the aggregation approach for resource configuration may be reused. In one optional aspect, the same N.sub.k may be used for all K component CSI-RS configurations. In another optional aspect, a different N.sub.k may be used for different component CSI-RS configurations. (Paragraph 0071 discusses the aggregation approach in the case P is greater 16 ports which would include P = 48,64,128.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [7 and 14] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wie in view of Sun (US 20220361015 A1)
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Wie teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Wie does not teach the UE is not expected to be configured with (N_1,N_2 )=(6,4) or (N_1,N_2 )=(8,8), when the port-mapping method is a method to determine that (N_1,N_2 ) corresponds to (Kn_1,n_2 ).
Sun does teach the UE is not expected to be configured [0139] Thus, frequency basis restriction may be supported for some combination of (N1, N2), and the configuration of frequency basis restriction may be at least partially based on the value of (N1, N2), with (N_1,N_2 )=(6,4) or (N_1,N_2 )=(8,8), [0139] On the other hand, a larger number of antennas (e.g. N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 are both either equal to or larger than 8) may suggest narrow spatial beams and more PMI hypotheses, for which each spatial beam may correspond to a single frequency basis, therefore a spatial basis restriction may be sufficient, when the port-mapping method is a method to determine that (N_1,N_2 ) corresponds to (Kn_1,n_2 ). [0143] In a first implementation, the value of M.sub.i may be a function of the number of ports in both dimensions (vertical and horizontal). That is, the value of M.sub.i may be a function of (N.sub.1, N.sub.2). A large number of N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 (equal to or greater than eight, for example) may result in a narrower spatial beam, and a small Mi value may therefore be sufficient.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Wie and Sun before him or her, to modify the method of Wei to include the Porting configurations as taught by Sun.
The motivation for doing so would be to improved MIMO network transmission. (Paragraph 0025 by Sun)].
Relevant Art
Park (US 11071125 B2) reads on the porting indexing method, when the K CSI RS resources are aggregated (with N ports), and when the UE needs a method to rule on how to number (index) the ports, for Dual-polarized configuration (N = 2x(n1n2)).
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466