DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fastening mechanism (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2, it appears that “a upper” should be “an upper.” On line 12, it appears that “the cutout have” should be “the one or more cutouts have”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (2005/0160651) in view of Grange (2010/0050491) and Schwartz et al. (2023/0084781).
Davis discloses a card display device, comprising: a panel (3A, Fig. 1) having an upper surface and an underside surface;
one or more cutouts (7, Fig. 1) on the panel;
a backing panel (2A, Fig. 1) having one or more recessed areas (7A, fig. 1) substantially sized and shaped to receive a baseball card the size of image 5 (Fig. 1), the recessed areas comprising substantially parallel vertical retaining surfaces (Fig. 1A) and substantially parallel horizontal retaining surfaces (7A, Fig. 1A), and a floor surface (6A, Fig. 1A), whereby recessed areas are configured to receive a card such that a rear surface of a card contacts the floor of the recessed area and horizontal retaining surfaces contact respective side surfaces of a card and horizontal retaining surfaces contact the top and bottom surfaces of a card;
whereby the cutouts have a perimeter that is incrementally smaller than a perimeter of recessed areas (Fig. 1A, paragraph 00263); and
a fastening mechanism to attach the panel to the backing panel such the one or more cutouts are substantially aligned with the one or more recessed areas (paragraph 0024).
However, Davis does not disclose an image reverse printed on the underside surface of the panel. Grange teaches printing an image on a front mat panel (20, Fig. 7) in order to allow an individual to personalize the picture display by associating it with a particular theme, in the case of Fig. 7, baseball. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to print an image in the front mat panel (3A, Fig. 1) disclosed by Davis, as taught by Grange, in order to enable an individual to personalize the picture display by associating it with a particular theme.
Further, it is not known whether the image disclosed by Grange is printed on the upper surface, or reverse printed on the underside surface. Schwartz teaches printing an image in reverse on an underside of a surface (paragraph 0013). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to print the image disclosed by Grange in reverse on the underside surface of the panel, as taught by Schwartz, in order that the image be protected by the panel itself.
Regarding claim 2, the panel disclosed by Schwartz is transparent (paragraph 0012).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (2005/0160651) in view of Grange (2010/0050491) and Schwartz et al. (2023/0084781), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of McCorkle (2007/0234621).
Davis discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, it is not known what material the backing panel is made of (although it appears to be illustrated as foam). Because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the level of ordinary skill of a worker in the art as a matter of design choice, and because McCorkle teaches that a foam material would be suitable for the fabrication of a backing panel (paragraph 0017), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the backing panel disclosed by Davis from a foam material. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631