DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term Wi-Fi, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vayilapelli (US Publication No. 20180199303 A1 and Vayilapelli hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Vayilapelli discloses a method of wireless communication (i.e. methods for registering and managing communications for two or more wireless communication devices using a same International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI).) Para [0003], the method comprising: pairing a first subscriber identity module (SIM) in a user equipment (UE) with a second SIM in an alias equipment (AE) (i.e. registering multiple wireless communication devices (including a first wireless communication device and a second wireless communication device) belonging to a same user. The first wireless communication device may be a main device (e.g., a smart phone, tablet, or the like) having a physical/virtual SIM corresponding to a given subscription identifier (e.g., a given IMSI). The second wireless communication device may be an IoT device having a virtual SIM that can be programmed or otherwise configured to use the same IMSI as that of the first wireless communication device.) Para [0047], the AE communicatively coupled to a vehicle (See Figure 1 below, element 110a and 110d; i.e. The second wireless communication device 110d may be a vehicle (e.g., a car, truck, train, bus, boat, airplane, military vehicle, or the like).) Para [0054]; based on at least the vehicle becoming operational, attempting, by the AE, to register with a wireless network (i.e. registering the plurality of wireless communication devices associated with the same subscription identifier by receiving, by the network, an attach request message from each of the plurality of wireless communication devices, wherein the attach request includes the subscription identifier, and determining, by the network, a different GUTI for each of the plurality of wireless communication devices.) Para [0027]; determining, by the wireless network, that the UE is not currently registered with the wireless network (i.e. The network determines and stores one or more of a Globally Unique Temporary User Equipment (UE) Identity (GUTI), Internet Protocol (IP) address, or device capabilities with respect to each of the two or more wireless communication devices. Each of the two or more wireless communication devices is associated with a different GUTI and a different IP address…the network can determine at least one of a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) for each of the two or more wireless communication devices based on the GUTI.) Para [0003]; based on at least determining that the UE is not currently registered with the wireless network (i.e. For paging one or more of the wireless communication devices, the network may determine a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) based on the unique GUTIs instead of based on the IMSI, to avoid paging collision (i.e. not registered).) Para [0051], registering the AE for a voice and data network connection (i.e. The S-GW 156 may serve as a gateway for IP data packets transfer between the base station 130 and the P-GW 158. The P-GW 158 may allocate IP address allocation for the wireless communication devices 110a-110e…a device requests a PDN connection when the device initially attaches to the network 140. The P-GW 158 allocates a PDN address (e.g., IP address) for the device and relays the PDN address to the device as a default bearer connecting the device and the PDN is being established. The device can utilize this allocated IP address for services provided by the PDN. The P-GW 158 may be connected to an Operator's Service or PDN (e.g., the Internet 160). Other examples of the Operator's Service include, but not limited to, an Intranet, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming Service (PSS), and the like.) Para [0059]; and initiating, a first mobile originating (MO) voice call using the AE (i.e. a MO data transfer from a second wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices, wherein the data transfer is associated with a second IP address, and routing the MO data transfer from the second wireless communication device using the second IP address.) Para [0022] and (i.e. the keypad 224, the touchscreen display 226, the microphone 212, or a combination thereof, may perform the function of receiving a request to initiate an outgoing call. For example, the touchscreen display 226 may receive a selection of a contact from a contact list or receive a telephone number. In another example, either or both of the touchscreen display 226 and the microphone 212 may perform the function of receiving a request to initiate an outgoing voice call. For example, the touchscreen display 226 may receive a selection of a contact from a contact list or to receive a telephone number. As another example, the request to initiate the outgoing call may be in the form of a voice command received via the microphone 212. Interfaces may be provided between the various software modules and functions in the wireless communication device 200 to enable communications therebetween.) Para [0073], using a phone number of the UE for outgoing caller ID (See whole Figure 3 below; i.e. At block B310, at least one processor associated with the network 140 may register a plurality of wireless communication devices (e.g., two or more of the wireless communication devices 110a-110e) associated with the same subscription identifier (e.g., a same IMSI) with the network 140. The plurality of wireless communication devices may include the first wireless communication device 110a and at least one of the second wireless communication devices 110b-110e. In other words, the network 140 is capable of handling one attachment from a voice/data-centric device (e.g., the first wireless communication device 110a) and one or more data-centric devices (e.g., the second wireless communication devices 110b-110e), all with the same IMSI. Block B310 may refer to the plurality of wireless communication devices being successfully attached, registered, and authenticated with the network 140.) Para [0077].
Regarding Claim 9, Vayilapelli suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in system form rather than method form. Vayilapelli also discloses a system (i.e. network system for managing communications for a plurality of wireless communication devices includes a processor configured to register the plurality of wireless communication devices associated with a same subscription identifier,) Para [0024]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 17, Vayilapelli suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in computer readable medium form rather than method form. Further Vayilapelli discloses a computer readable medium (i.e. The wireless communication device 200 may include at least one controller, such as a general-purpose processor 206, which may be coupled to a coder/decoder (CODEC) 208. The CODEC 208 may in turn be coupled to a speaker 210 and a microphone 212. The general-purpose processor 206 may also be coupled to at least one memory 214…The memory 214 may include a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium that stores processor-executable instructions. ) Para [0068-0069]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 10 and Claim 18, Vayilapelli discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Vayilapelli discloses while the AE has a voice and data network connection (i.e. the device capabilities associated with each of the plurality of wireless communication devices includes voice-capable and data-capable.) Para [0030], receiving, by the wireless network, a first mobile terminating (MT) voice call for the UE (i.e. a MT voice call received by the network 140 to be routed to the first wireless communication device 110a) Para [0101]; determining, by the wireless network, whether the UE is currently registered with the wireless network (i.e. for paging one or more of the wireless communication devices, the network may determine a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) based on the unique GUTIs instead of based on the IMSI, to avoid paging collision.) Para [0051]; and based on at least determining that the UE is not currently registered with the wireless network (i.e. For paging one or more of the wireless communication devices, the network may determine a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) based on the unique GUTIs instead of based on the IMSI, to avoid paging collision (i.e. not registered).) Para [0051], either: routing the first MT voice call to both the UE and the AE as a forked call; based on the UE answering the first MT voice call, terminating signaling of the first MT voice call to the AE; and based on the AE answering the first MT voice call, terminating signaling of the first MT voice call to the UE; or: routing the first MT voice call to both the UE and the AE as a multi-party call (i.e. At block B720, at least one processor associated with the network 140 may route communications (e.g., MO voice calls, MT voice calls, MO data, MT data, or the like) to or from each of the plurality of wireless communication devices) Para [0107].
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 11, and Claim 19, Vayilapelli discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Vayilapelli discloses determining, by the wireless network, whether the UE is currently registered with the wireless network, wherein determining whether the UE is currently registered with the wireless network comprises determining whether the UE has had an active registration with the wireless network during a preceding defined time period (i.e. the network can determine at least one of a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) for each of the two or more wireless communication devices based on the GUTI.) Para [0003]; and based on at least determining that the UE is currently registered with the wireless network, registering the AE for a data only network connection that does not include voice capability (i.e. a second wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices is data-capable and not voice-capable.) Para [0014].
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 12, Vayilapelli discloses all the limitations of claims 3 and 11, respectively, as discussed above. Further Vayilapelli discloses performing a voice connectivity authorization process for the AE (i.e. implementation of the subscription management method 300 by the network 140 allows for registering and authenticating multiple devices (e.g., two or more of the devices 110a-110e) with the same subscription, identifying each of the registered devices based, at least in part, on device capabilities, and routing communications to or from the devices based, at least in part, on the device capabilities…At block B310, at least one processor associated with the network 140 may register a plurality of wireless communication devices (e.g., two or more of the wireless communication devices 110a-110e) associated with the same subscription identifier (e.g., a same IMSI) with the network 140. The plurality of wireless communication devices may include the first wireless communication device 110a and at least one of the second wireless communication devices 110b-110e. In other words, the network 140 is capable of handling one attachment from a voice/data-centric device and one or more data-centric devices, all with the same IMSI. Block B310 may refer to the plurality of wireless communication devices being successfully attached, registered, and authenticated with the network 140.) Para [0076-0077]; based on at least performing the voice connectivity authorization process, registering the AE for a voice and data network connection (i.e. The S-GW 156 may serve as a gateway for IP data packets transfer between the base station 130 and the P-GW 158. The P-GW 158 may allocate IP address allocation for the wireless communication devices 110a-110e…a device requests a PDN connection when the device initially attaches to the network 140. The P-GW 158 allocates a PDN address (e.g., IP address) for the device and relays the PDN address to the device as a default bearer connecting the device and the PDN is being established. The device can utilize this allocated IP address for services provided by the PDN. The P-GW 158 may be connected to an Operator's Service or PDN (e.g., the Internet 160). Other examples of the Operator's Service include, but not limited to, an Intranet, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming Service (PSS), and the like.) Para [0059]; and initiating, a second MO voice call using the AE (i.e. a MO data transfer from a second wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices, wherein the data transfer is associated with a second IP address, and routing the MO data transfer from the second wireless communication device using the second IP address.) Para [0022] and (i.e. the keypad 224, the touchscreen display 226, the microphone 212, or a combination thereof, may perform the function of receiving a request to initiate an outgoing call. For example, the touchscreen display 226 may receive a selection of a contact from a contact list or receive a telephone number. In another example, either or both of the touchscreen display 226 and the microphone 212 may perform the function of receiving a request to initiate an outgoing voice call. For example, the touchscreen display 226 may receive a selection of a contact from a contact list or to receive a telephone number. As another example, the request to initiate the outgoing call may be in the form of a voice command received via the microphone 212. Interfaces may be provided between the various software modules and functions in the wireless communication device 200 to enable communications therebetween.) Para [0073], using a phone number of the UE for outgoing caller ID (i.e. At block B310, at least one processor associated with the network 140 may register a plurality of wireless communication devices (e.g., two or more of the wireless communication devices 110a-110e) associated with the same subscription identifier (e.g., a same IMSI) with the network 140. The plurality of wireless communication devices may include the first wireless communication device 110a and at least one of the second wireless communication devices 110b-110e. In other words, the network 140 is capable of handling one attachment from a voice/data-centric device (e.g., the first wireless communication device 110a) and one or more data-centric devices (e.g., the second wireless communication devices 110b-110e), all with the same IMSI. Block B310 may refer to the plurality of wireless communication devices being successfully attached, registered, and authenticated with the network 140.) Para [0077].
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 13, Vayilapelli discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Further Vayilapelli discloses wherein the voice connectivity authorization process comprises: receiving, by the AE, an authorization code into the AE (i.e. registering the plurality of wireless communication devices associated with the same subscription identifier further includes authenticating the plurality of wireless communication devices using a same authentication key associated with the subscription identifier.) Para [0028]; and transmitting, by the AE, the authorization code to the wireless network (i.e. The network may be capable of registering and handling multiple authentication requests from different wireless communication devices, each of which has different device identifiers such as, but not limited to, a different International Mobile Equipment Identities (IMEI). Each wireless communication device may be authenticated with a same authentication key corresponding to the same IMSI.) Para [0047].
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 14, Vayilapelli discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Further Vayilapelli discloses while the AE has a voice and data network connection (i.e. the device capabilities associated with each of the plurality of wireless communication devices includes voice-capable and data-capable.) Para [0030], receiving, by the wireless network, a second mobile terminating (MT) voice call for the UE (i.e. a MT voice call received by the network 140 to be routed to the first wireless communication device 110a) Para [0101]; determining, by the wireless network, whether the UE is currently registered with the wireless network (i.e. For paging one or more of the wireless communication devices, the network may determine a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) based on the unique GUTIs instead of based on the IMSI, to avoid paging collision.) Para [0051]; and based on at least determining that the UE is not currently registered with the wireless network (i.e. For paging one or more of the wireless communication devices, the network may determine a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) based on the unique GUTIs instead of based on the IMSI, to avoid paging collision (i.e. not registered).) Para [0051], either: routing the second MT voice call to both the UE and the AE as a forked call; based on the UE answering the second MT voice call, terminating signaling of the second MT voice call to the AE; and based on the AE answering the second MT voice call, terminating signaling of the second MT voice call to the UE; or: routing the second MT voice call to both the UE and the AE as a multi-party call (i.e. At block B720, at least one processor associated with the network 140 may route communications (e.g., MO voice calls, MT voice calls, MO data, MT data, or the like) to or from each of the plurality of wireless communication devices) Para [0107].
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 15, Vayilapelli discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 12, respectively, as discussed above. Further Vayilapelli discloses based on at least both the UE and the AE each being registered for a voice and data network connection (i.e. the device capabilities associated with each of the plurality of wireless communication devices includes voice-capable and data-capable.) Para [0030], upon lapse of a timer or a request from the AE (i.e. At block B320, at least one processor associated with the network 140 may identify each of the plurality of wireless communication devices based, at least in part, on device capabilities associated with each of the plurality of wireless communication devices. Device capabilities may refer to whether a device is voice-capable, data-capable, or both. For instance, the first wireless communication device 110a is both voice-capable and data-capable.) Para [0080] and (i.e. Each device may have an associated device capabilities (e.g., voice-capable, data-capable, or both) reported by each respective device.) Para [0098] , moving registration of the AE to a data only network connection that does not include voice capability (i.e. Each of the second wireless communication devices 110b-110e is an IoT device that is data-capable but not voice-capable.) Para [0080].
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 16 and Claim 20, Vayilapelli discloses all the limitations of claims 3, 11 and 19, respectively, as discussed above. Further Vayilapelli discloses while the AE has a data only network connection (i.e. a second wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices is data-capable and not voice-capable.) Para [0014], receiving, by the wireless network, a third mobile terminating (MT) voice call for the UE (i.e. receiving, by the network, a Mobile Terminated (MT) voice call, determining, by the network, that a first wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices is voice-capable while all other wireless communication devices of the plurality of wireless communication devices are not voice-capable,) Para [0021]; determining, by the wireless network, whether the UE is currently registered with the wireless network (i.e. For paging one or more of the wireless communication devices, the network may determine a Paging Occasion (PO) or Paging Frame (PF) based on the unique GUTIs instead of based on the IMSI, to avoid paging collision (i.e. not registered).) Para [0051]; based on at least determining that the UE is not currently registered with the wireless network, registering the AE for a voice and data network connection (i.e. The S-GW 156 may serve as a gateway for IP data packets transfer between the base station 130 and the P-GW 158. The P-GW 158 may allocate IP address allocation for the wireless communication devices 110a-110e…a device requests a PDN connection when the device initially attaches to the network 140. The P-GW 158 allocates a PDN address (e.g., IP address) for the device and relays the PDN address to the device as a default bearer connecting the device and the PDN is being established. The device can utilize this allocated IP address for services provided by the PDN. The P-GW 158 may be connected to an Operator's Service or PDN (e.g., the Internet 160). Other examples of the Operator's Service include, but not limited to, an Intranet, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming Service (PSS), and the like.) Para [0059];; and either: routing the third MT voice call to both the UE and the AE as a forked call; based on the UE answering the third MT voice call, terminating signaling of the third MT voice call to the AE; and based on the AE answering the third MT voice call, terminating signaling of the third MT voice call to the UE; or: routing the third MT voice call to both the UE and the AE as a multi-party call (i.e. At block B720, at least one processor associated with the network 140 may route communications (e.g., MO voice calls, MT voice calls, MO data, MT data, or the like) to or from each of the plurality of wireless communication devices) Para [0107].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vayilapelli et al. (20180199303 A1) “NETWORK MANAGEMENT OF SUBSCRIPTIONS FOR IOT DEVICES” (July 12, 2018) discloses a plurality of wireless communication devices including, but not limited to, registering, by the network, the plurality of wireless communication devices associated with a same subscription identifier, identifying, by the network, each of the plurality of wireless communication devices based, at least in part, on device capabilities associated with each of the plurality of wireless communication devices, and routing, by the network, communications to or from each of the plurality of wireless communication devices based, at least in part, on the device capabilities.
Webb et al. (US 20170289356 A1) “Vehicle Communication System” (October 5, 2017) discloses A vehicle communication system including a data communication module (DCM) that, upon detecting that a user's mobile telephone is not present onboard a vehicle, is configured to instruct a telecommunications server to forward calls made to the user's mobile telephone to the DCM of the vehicle. The DCM is further configured to instruct the telecommunications server to connect a telephone call that has been initiated by the user at the vehicle using the DCM of the vehicle.
Yerrabommanahalli et al. (US 20170048645 A1) “Methods, Procedures And Framework To Provision An ESIM And Make It Multi-SIM Capable Using Primary Account Information” (February 16, 2017) discloses Some embodiments relate to methods for provisioning a secondary wireless device with an eSIM for wireless communication and activating multi-SIM functionality between the secondary wireless device and a primary wireless device having a subscribed SIM. The primary wireless device may act as a proxy in obtaining the eSIM for the secondary wireless device. The primary wireless device may then provide, to the cellular network, identifiers of the SIMs of the primary and secondary wireless devices.
The primary wireless device may then request initiation of multi-SIM functionality for the two SIMs, and receive an indication that the multi-SIM functionality has been initiated. As an example, the multi-SIM functionality may be implemented by mapping the SIM of the primary wireless device and the SIM of the secondary wireless device (e.g., the provisioned eSIM) to the same Mobile Directory Number (MDN).
Tangudu et al. (US 20220279470 A1) “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR BINDING A PLURALITY OF SUBSCRIBER IDENTITY MODULES (SIMS) ASSOCIATED WITH A USER EQUIPMENT (UE) TO OPTIMIZE NETWORK RESOURCES” (September 1, 2022) discloses supporting higher data rates beyond a 4.sup.th-Generation (4G) system with a technology for Internet of Things (IoT). The present disclosure may be applied to intelligent services based on the 5G communication technology and the IoT-related technology, such as smart home, smart building, smart city, smart car, connected car, health care, digital education, smart retail, security and safety services. Figures 4A-8 disclose “a first SIM and a second SIM are associated with the same UE or different UEs based on an indication message received from the UE”
Nam et al. (US 20230412652 A1) “ELECTRONIC DEVICE, AND METHOD FOR PROCESSING IMS-BASED CALL IN ELECTRONIC DEVICE” (December 21, 2023) discloses According to various embodiments, an electronic device comprises at least one antenna module, at least one short-range communication module, at least one processor and a memory, wherein the memory can store instructions for allowing, during the execution thereof, the processor to: register the electronic device to an IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) server through the at least one antenna module; confirm a short-range communication method capable of a device to device (D2D) connection with at least one first external electronic device; connect, based on identification information about the first external electronic device, with the at least one first external electronic device through the at least one short-range communication module with the confirmed short-range communication method; and process an IMS registration with respect to the first external electronic device in response to an IMS registration request received from the first external electronic device through the at least one short-range communication module.
Tripathi et al. (US 20240305960 A1) “TECHNIQUES FOR MANAGING CONNECTIONS FOR WIRELESS DEVICES CONFIGURED FOR MULTIPLE SUBSCRIBER IDENTITY MODULE (SIM) ENVIRONMENTS” (September 12, 2024) discloses managing connections for wireless devices configured for multiple Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) environments, such as dual SIM, dual standby (DSDS) environments. A common scenario involves a first wireless device receiving a voice call (e.g., using a first SIM of the first wireless device) while carrying out a data call with a second wireless device (e.g., using a second SIM of the first wireless device). In such a scenario, the data call is often disrupted due to the voice call, which can cause confusion to a user of the second wireless device. Accordingly, the techniques disclosed herein include the first wireless device providing, in conjunction with receiving the voice call, a notification of the voice call to the second wireless device. In turn, the second wireless device can inform the user of the event to help mitigate the aforementioned confusion.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647