DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merit for claims 1 – 20.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haiyong (CN215605441 U) as cited by Applicant – Please see machine translation provided in view of Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0142235 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Haiyong teaches a floor cleaning device (Fig. 1), comprising: a brush assembly (floor brush, 1); a frame (post pole, 2), connected with the brush assembly (1); a clean tank (clean water tank, 4), arranged on the frame (2) and being in fluid communication with the brush assembly (1); a dirty tank (waste water tank, 3), arranged on the frame (2) and being in fluid communication with the brush
assembly (1); a suction assembly (Paragraph [n0005]), arranged on the frame and connected with the dirty tank (3; Paragraph [n0021]); a battery assembly (51 and 52; Fig. 1), arranged on a same side of the frame (2), and at least comprising a first battery pack (battery pack, 51) and a second pack (power unit, 52); wherein the frame (2) comprises a first battery accommodating cavity (first housing; Paragraph [n0022]) and a second accommodating cavity (second housing; Paragraph [n0022]) arranged on the same side (Fig. 1), the first battery pack (51) being configured to be assembled into or disassembled from the first battery accommodating cavity (Paragraph [n0022]) along a longitudinal axis direction (Fig. 1) of the floor cleaning device (Fig. 1), and the second pack being configured to be assembled into or disassembled from the second accommodating cavity along a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis direction (Paragraph [n0022]) and a control system (power unit, 5), configured to control the clean tank (4) to supply water to the brush assembly (1) and control the suction assembly to recycle sewage cleaned by the floor brush assembly (1) to the dirty tank (3; Paragraphs [n0005 and n0021]).
Haiyong does not explicitly teach a second battery pack or the control system controls the first battery pack to be discharged prior to the second battery pack.
Lee, however, teaches a first battery pack (131) and a second battery pack (132), wherein the frame (Fig. 4) comprises a first battery accommodating cavity (121) and a second battery accommodating cavity (122) arranged on the same side (Fig. 4), wherein the control system (switch, 210) controls the first battery pack to be discharged prior to the second battery pack (Paragraph [0066] – [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haiyong to further include a second battery pack or the control system controls the first battery pack to be discharged prior to the second battery pack, as taught by Lee, to allow the device to maintain the health of the batteries and preserve the lifespan.
Regarding Claim 2, Haiyong, as modified, teaches the floor cleaning device (Fig. 1) wherein, at least one of the first battery pack (51) and the second battery pack (52) is chargeable independently of the floor cleaning device (Paragraph [n0023]), the first battery pack (51) is charged independently of the floor cleaning device (Paragraph [n0023]), and at least one of the first battery pack (51) and the second battery pack (52) is detachably mounted on the frame (2; Fig. 1).
Haiyong does not teach the second battery pack is charged through an adapter of the floor cleaning device.
Lee, however, teaches the second battery pack (120, 432) is charged through an adapter (140) of the floor cleaning device (10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haiyong to further include the second battery pack is charged through an adapter of the floor cleaning device, the control system controls the first battery pack to be discharged prior to the second battery pack, as taught by Lee to allow the device to maintain the health of the batteries and preserve the lifespan.
Regarding Claim 3, Haiyong, as modified, teaches the floor cleaning device (Fig. 1) wherein, the first battery pack (51) is arranged above the second battery pack (52).
Haiyong does not explicitly teach a bottom of the first battery accommodating cavity is provided with a first connecting terminal matched with the first battery pack, the second battery accommodating cavity is provided with a second connecting terminal matched with the second battery pack, and the first connecting terminal and the second connecting terminal are electrically connected with the control system respectively.
Lee, however, teaches a bottom of the first battery accommodating cavity (Fig. 7) is provided with a first connecting terminal (202) matched with the first battery pack (Fig. 7), the second battery accommodating cavity (Fig. 7) is provided with a second connecting terminal (202) matched with the second battery pack, and the first connecting terminal and the second connecting terminal are electrically connected with the control system respectively (460).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haiyong to further include a bottom of the first battery accommodating cavity is provided with a first connecting terminal matched with the first battery pack, the second battery accommodating cavity is provided with a second connecting terminal matched with the second battery pack, and the first connecting terminal and the second connecting terminal are electrically connected with the control system respectively, as taught by Lee to allow the device to maintain the health of the batteries and preserve the lifespan.
Regarding Claim 4, Haiyong, as modified, teaches the floor cleaning device (Fig. 1) of claim 3 as discussed above.
Haiyong in view of Lee further teaches the batteries being secured to the frame of the device but doesn’t explicitly teach a bottom of the first battery accommodating cavity is provided with a pin and a latch, the first battery pack is inserted and mounted in the first accommodating cavity and is locked through the latch, an outside of the second battery pack is provided with a battery pack inner bracket and a battery pack outer bracket, the battery pack outer bracket wraps on an outside of the battery pack inner bracket, a top end of the battery pack outer bracket is provided with a pressing device, and the second battery pack is clamped in the second battery accommodating cavity through the pressing device; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haiyong to further include a bottom of the first battery accommodating cavity is provided with a pin and a latch, the first battery pack is inserted and mounted in the first accommodating cavity and is locked through the latch, an outside of the second battery pack is provided with a battery pack inner bracket and a battery pack outer bracket, the battery pack outer bracket wraps on an outside of the battery pack inner bracket, a top end of the battery pack outer bracket is provided with a pressing device, and the second battery pack is clamped in the second battery accommodating cavity through the pressing device, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known connection on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the device (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haiyong (CN215605441 U) as cited by Applicant – Please see machine translation provided in view of Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0142235 A1) and Buehler et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0368646 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Haiyong, as modified, teaches the floor cleaning device (Fig. 1) of claim 3 as discussed above.
Haiyong doesn’t explicitly teach the clean tank the dirty tank and the suction assembly are arranged on one side of the frame opposite to the battery assembly; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haiyong to further include the dirty tank and the suction assembly are arranged on one side of the frame opposite to the battery assembly, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Haiyong does not teach at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is configured to supply power to a second device, and at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is provided with a USB port and/or a TYPE-C port.
Buehler, however, teaches at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is configured to supply power to a second device, and at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is provided with a USB port and/or a TYPE-C port (Paragraph [0049])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haiyong to further include at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is configured to supply power to a second device, and at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack is provided with a USB port and/or a TYPE-C port, as taught by Buehler to provide a device that is capable of charging other devices, thus providing a universal charging port.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haiyong (CN215605441 U) as cited by Applicant – Please see machine translation provided in view of Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0142235 A1) and Gao (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0369072 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Haiyong, as modified, teaches the floor cleaning device (Fig. 1) of claim 2 as discussed above.
Haiyong doesn’t explicitly teach a top of the dirty tank is provided with an air suction port, the dirty tank is communicated with the suction assembly through the air suction port, and an inside of the dirty tank is provided with an air passage communicated with the brush assembly.
Gao, however, teaches a top of the dirty tank (dirty water tank, 41) is provided with an air suction port (air suction port, 42) , the dirty tank (41) is communicated with the suction assembly through the air suction port (Paragraph [0055]), and an inside of the dirty tank (41) is provided with an air passage (331) communicated with the brush assembly (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Haiyong to further include a top of the dirty tank is provided with an air suction port, the dirty tank is communicated with the suction assembly through the air suction port, and an inside of the dirty tank is provided with an air passage communicated with the brush assembly, as taught by Buehler to provide a device that is capable of venting or purging air from the tank during cleaning or maintenance, thus making it easier to remove contaminants, sludge, or debris, and reduces the risk of trapped air pockets that could interfere with operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11, 13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Haiyong (CN215605441 U) in view of Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0142235 A1) teach
a floor cleaning device, the references alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious a control structure and a leak-proof structure, connected with the control structure, and provided with an opening-closing unit; wherein, the clean tank is convertible between a first state and a second state, in the first state, the clean tank is mounted on the frame, the opening-closing unit and the control structure are opened by the frame, and the fluid tank provides fluid to the brush assembly, in the second state, the clean tank is separated from the frame, the control structure is reset, the opening-closing unit is automatically closed, and the fluid tank stops providing fluid to the brush assembly, with the additional limitations and as required by claim 7; a control structure, arranged in the outlet, and a leak-proof structure, connected with the control structure, and comprising: a bracket, provided with a first cavity space to accommodate the control structure therein, an elastic protective cover, connected with the bracket, at least partially located below the bracket, and a second cavity space to store leakage being arranged inside a part of the elastic protective cover that is located below the bracket, and an opening-closing unit, arranged at one end of the second cavity space away from the bracket, and comprising a cutting slit or a plurality of cross cutting slits arranged on the elastic protective cover; with the additional limitations and as required by claim 11; the rear housing comprises a separating wall separating the first housing cavity from the accommodating cavity, a first through hole and a second through hole are arranged on the separating wall, the first through hole is configured to communicate the first housing cavity with the accommodating cavity, and the second through hole is configured to communicate the accommodating cavity with the sewage recovery passage; with the additional limitations and as required by claim 13; a protruding first mounting block is arranged at a first side of the connecting frame, a protruding second mounting block is arranged at a second side of the connecting frame arranged oppositely, the filter plate is correspondingly provided with a first matching block and a second matching block, after the first mounting block is clamped and matched with the first matching block, the filter plate is rotated, so that the second matching block is buckled to the second mounting block, the filter plate is rotated until a top of the first mounting block abuts against the first matching block and a bottom of the second matching block abuts against the second mounting block; with the additional limitations and as required by claim 18.
Claims 8 – 10, 12, 14 – 17 and 19 – 20 are further objected as being dependents of objected claims 7, 11, 13 and 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated August 25, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Lee.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723