Claim(s) 8,1,6,7 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Giebeler et al 6236456.
As to claim 8, Giebeler et al 6236456 teach gain adjustment device that adjusts a gain of a photomultiplier tube 135 (lines 32-52, col. 14), including: an acquirer (Sample & Hold per Figure 16) that acquires a detection value provided by the photomultiplier tube; a power supply 1603 that supplies power to the photomultiplier tube 135; and a power supply controller 1601 that adjusts a gain of the photomultiplier tube (lines 32-52, col. 14) in one analysis for a sample by controlling the power supply in accordance with the detection value acquired by the acquirer. (first full paragraph, column 15).
As to claim 1,6,7, excitation is light and the fluorescence is determined from a sample.
Claim(s) 8,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pramod et al WO 2014145786.
As to claims 8,1, Pramod et al ‘786 teach a gain adjustment device that adjusts a gain of a photomultiplier tube (Para 27), including: an acquirer that acquires a detection value provided by the photomultiplier tube (2 pulses are averaged, suggestive of having been acquired); a power supply that supplies power to the photomultiplier tube (“high voltage power supply and the computer” are indicative of the power supplies per Para 27); and a power supply controller (inherent in that an element employed with the high voltage power supply or the low computer power supply) that adjusts a gain of the photomultiplier tube in one analysis for a sample by controlling the power supply in accordance with the detection value acquired by the acquirer.
As to claim 1, the system analyzes sample for emission of fluorescent.
As to claim 2, last sentence of Para 27 expresses that correction is achieve.
As to claim 3, the averaging suggests a calculator
As to claim 4, the last 2 sentences of Para 27 teaches reducing gain of the tube when the value exceeds a first threshold, and increasing gain when the valued acquired is below a second threshold.
As to claim 5, a new gain is employed “after” (line 5 from last, Para 27) the averaged value is employed, suggestive of a corrected value.
As to claims 6,7, the analysis takes place on a sample having an fluorescence emission property (ABSTRACT).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manian 2012/0107950 teaches a gain adjustment device that adjusts a gain of a photomultiplier tube PMT of a fluorescent detector, including: an acquirer (“PMT Current” of Figure 4 leads to Circuit 610) that acquires and stores a detection value provided by the photomultiplier tube PMT via memory per Para 57); a power supply that supplies power to the photomultiplier tube (Para 58-59, where controlling voltage is from processor 600); and a power supply controller (controlling element of processor) that adjusts a gain of the photomultiplier tube in one analysis for a sample by controlling the power supply
Birang et al 5212537 teach (lines 3-18, col. 2) applying a high voltage power supply to a photomultiplier tube to adjust gain of the tube.
Durkos et al Re 28,803 teach a comparator 78 in a gain adjustment (lines 65+, col. 6).
/ROBERT R RAEVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855