DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 3, 11 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/26.
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 7/28/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement filed 7/18/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Although the applicant provided English-language explanations of relevance, the applicant did not provide copies of CN 103104639 or CN 203098643 as is also required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alberni et al (US 5,513,728).
As per claim 1, Alberni et al discloses a brake assembly (Title) for a work machine, the brake assembly comprising:
a main brake housing (54);
a disc stack (80) disposed within a cavity (Fig. 7) at least partially formed by the main brake housing, the disc stack having a plurality of friction plates (84) and a plurality of separator plates (82) interleaved with the plurality of friction plates;
a brake housing (Fig. 7) coupled with the main brake housing;
a piston (86; Col. 6, lines 50-58) disposed within the cavity and adapted to compress the disc stack,
wherein at least one of the main brake housing and the piston define at least two spring pockets (Fig. 7), and
wherein the at least two spring pockets are circumferentially spaced apart from each other (110, Fig. 4); and
at least two spring assemblies (110', 112, 114, 116) disposed between the main brake housing and the piston, and adapted to engage the piston with the disc stack to apply brakes via the brake assembly,
wherein each spring pocket of the at least two spring pockets receives a corresponding spring assembly (110', 112, 114, 116) of the at least two spring assemblies, and
wherein each of the at least two spring assemblies includes at least one Belleville spring (114).
As per claim 2, Alberni et al discloses the brake assembly of claim 1, wherein the piston is a service piston (86) that is used to apply service brakes via the brake assembly or a park piston (86) that is used to apply park brakes via the brake assembly.
As per claim 4, Alberni et al discloses the brake assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two spring assemblies further includes a guiding device (110', 112, 116) defining a first end disposed proximal to the main brake housing and a second end disposed proximal to the piston,
wherein the guiding device includes a first flange (Fig. 7) at the first end, a second flange (Fig. 7) at the second end, and a guiding surface (112) extending between the first end and the second end.
As per claim 5, Alberni et al discloses the brake assembly of claim 4, wherein the at least one Belleville spring includes a plurality of pairs of Belleville springs (114; Col. 8, lines 10-16),
wherein the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs are coupled to the guiding device (114),
wherein the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs are axially disposed between the first flange and the second flange of the guiding device, and circumferentially disposed around the guiding surface of the guiding device (114), and
wherein each of the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs includes at least one first Belleville spring (114) and at least one second Belleville spring (114) disposed axially adjacent to the at least one first Belleville spring.
As per claim 6, Alberni et al discloses the brake assembly of claim 4, wherein the at least one Belleville spring further includes:
a first end-Belleville spring (114, Fig. 7) disposed adjacent to the first flange of the guiding device; and
a second end-Belleville spring (114, Fig. 7) disposed adjacent to the second flange of the guiding device.
As per claim 7, Alberni et al discloses the brake assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least two spring pockets include eighteen spring pockets (110, Fig. 4; Col. 8, lines 33-38), and
wherein the at least two spring assemblies include eighteen spring assemblies (110, Fig. 4; Col. 8, lines 33-38).
As per claim 8, Alberni et al discloses the brake assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one Belleville spring includes a single Belleville spring (114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 9-10, 12-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberni et al (US 5,513,728) in view of Joshi et al (US 11,458,935).
As per claim 9, Alberni et al discloses a drivetrain system (14, 16, 76) for a work machine, the drivetrain system comprising:
an axle assembly (14) including:
an axle shaft (14); and
a wheel (76);
a transmission system (16) coupled to the axle assembly; and
a brake assembly (Title) that is operably coupled with a rotatable member (14) of the drivetrain system,
wherein the rotatable member includes the axle shaft, the wheel, or the transmission system (14),
the brake assembly including:
a main brake housing (54);
a disc stack (80) disposed within a cavity (Fig. 7) at least partially formed by the main brake housing and the rotatable member, the disc stack having a plurality of friction plates (84) and a plurality of separator plates (82) interleaved with the plurality of friction plates,
wherein the plurality of friction plates are operatively coupled to the rotatable member (84; Col. 6, lines 33-40) and the plurality of separator plates are operatively coupled to the main brake housing (82; 6, 33-40);
a brake housing (Fig. 7) coupled with the main brake housing;
a piston (86; Col. 6, lines 50-58) disposed within the cavity and adapted to compress the disc stack,
wherein at least one of the main brake housing and the piston define at least two spring pockets (Fig. 7), and
wherein the at least two spring pockets are circumferentially spaced apart from each other (110, Fig. 4); and
at least two spring assemblies (110', 112, 114, 116) disposed between the main brake housing and the piston, and adapted to engage the piston with the disc stack to apply brakes via the brake assembly,
wherein each spring pocket of the at least two spring pockets receives a corresponding spring assembly (110', 112, 114, 116) of the at least two spring assemblies, and
wherein each of the at least two spring assemblies includes at least one Belleville spring (114). Alberni et al does not disclose a differential.
Joshi et al discloses a work vehicle comprising a drivetrain system (Col. 2, lines 58-65) for a work machine, the drivetrain system comprising:
an axle assembly (38) including:
a differential (40);
an axle shaft (44); and
a wheel (14) operably coupled with the differential via the axle shaft;
a transmission system (34) coupled to the axle assembly; and
a brake assembly (46) that is operably coupled with a rotatable member (42) of the drivetrain system,
wherein the rotatable member includes the axle shaft, the wheel, or the transmission system (42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Alberni et al by using it in a heavy construction vehicle as taught by Joshi et al in order to provide vehicle braking.
As per claim 10, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the drivetrain system of claim 9. Alberni et al further discloses wherein the piston is a service piston (86) that is used to apply service brakes via the brake assembly or a park piston (86) that is used to apply park brakes via the brake assembly.
As per claim 12, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the drivetrain system of claim 9. Alberni et al further discloses wherein each of the at least two spring assemblies further includes a guiding device (110’, 112, 116) defining a first end disposed proximal to the main brake housing and a second end disposed proximal to the piston, and
wherein the guiding device includes a first flange (Fig. 7) at the first end, a second flange (Fig. 7) at the second end, and a guiding surface (112) extending between the first end and the second end.
As per claim 13, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the drivetrain system of claim 12. Alberni et al further discloses wherein the at least one Belleville spring includes a plurality of pairs of Belleville springs (114; Col. 8, lines 10-16),
wherein the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs are coupled to the guiding device (114),
wherein the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs are axially disposed between the first flange and the second flange of the guiding device, and circumferentially disposed around the guiding surface of the guiding device (114), and
wherein each of the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs includes at least one first Belleville spring (114) and at least one second Belleville spring (114) disposed axially adjacent to the at least one first Belleville spring.
As per claim 14, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the drivetrain system of claim 12. Alberni et al further discloses wherein the at least one Belleville spring further includes:
a first end-Belleville spring (114, Fig. 7) disposed adjacent to the first flange of the guiding device; and
a second end-Belleville spring (114, Fig. 7) disposed adjacent to the second flange of the guiding device.
As per claim 15, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the drivetrain system of claim 9. Alberni et al further discloses wherein the at least two spring pockets include eighteen spring pockets (110, Fig. 4; Col. 8, lines 33-38), and
wherein the at least two spring assemblies include eighteen spring assemblies (110, Fig. 4; Col. 8, lines 33-38).
As per claim 16, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the drivetrain system of claim 9. Alberni et al further discloses wherein the at least one Belleville spring includes a single Belleville spring (114).
As per claim 17, Alberni et al discloses a work machine (Title) comprising:
a chassis (12); and
a drivetrain system (14, 16, 76) coupled to the chassis,
the drivetrain system including:
an axle assembly (14) including:
an axle shaft (14); and
a wheel (76);
a transmission system (16) coupled to the axle assembly; and
a brake assembly (Title) that is operably coupled with a rotatable member (14) of the drivetrain system,
wherein the rotatable member includes the axle shaft, the wheel, or the transmission system (14),
the brake assembly including:
a main brake housing (54);
a disc stack (80) disposed within a cavity (Fig. 7) at least partially formed by the main brake housing and the rotatable member, the disc stack having a plurality of friction plates (84) and a plurality of separator plates (82) interleaved with the plurality of friction plates,
wherein the plurality of friction plates are operatively coupled to the rotatable member (84; Col. 6, lines 33-40) and the plurality of separator plates are operatively coupled to the main brake housing (82; Col. 6, lines 33-40);
a brake housing (Fig. 7) coupled with the main brake housing;
a piston (86; Col. 6, lines 50-58) disposed within the cavity and adapted to compress the disc stack,
wherein at least one of the main brake housing and the piston define at least two spring pockets (Fig. 7), and
wherein the at least two spring pockets are circumferentially spaced apart from each other (110, Fig. 4); and
at least two spring assemblies (110', 112, 114, 116) disposed between the main brake housing and the piston, and adapted to engage the piston with the disc stack to apply brakes via the brake assembly,
wherein each spring pocket of the at least two spring pockets receives a corresponding spring assembly (110', 112, 114, 116) of the at least two spring assemblies, and
wherein each of the at least two spring assemblies includes at least one Belleville spring (114). Alberni et al does not disclose a differential.
Joshi et al discloses a work vehicle comprising a work machine (10; Col. 4, lines 2-5) comprising:
a chassis (12); and
a drivetrain system (Col. 2, lines 58-65) coupled to the chassis,
the drivetrain system including:
an axle assembly (38) including:
a differential (40);
an axle shaft (44); and
a wheel (14) operably coupled with the differential via the axle shaft;
a transmission system (34) coupled to the axle assembly; and
a brake assembly (46) that is operably coupled with a rotatable member (42) of the drivetrain system,
wherein the rotatable member includes the axle shaft, the wheel, or the transmission system (42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brake system of Alberni et al by using it in a heavy construction vehicle as taught by Joshi et al in order to provide vehicle braking.
As per claim 18, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the work machine of claim 17. Alberni et al further discloses wherein the piston is a service piston (86) that is used to apply service brakes via the brake assembly or a park piston (86) that is used to apply park brakes via the brake assembly.
As per claim 20, Alberni et al and Joshi et al disclose the work machine of claim 17. Alberni et al further discloses wherein the at least one Belleville spring includes:
a spring stack (114) including a plurality of pairs of Belleville springs (114; Col. 8, lines 10-16), a first end-Belleville spring (114, Fig. 7) disposed at one end of the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs, and a second end-Belleville spring (114, Fig. 7) disposed at another end of the plurality of pairs of Belleville springs; or
a single Belleville spring (114).
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Disk brakes
Domachowski et al (DE 10131817).
Schade et al (US 5,911,292).
Holzer (DE 2834002).
Horst-Egon Wach (US 3,335,834).
Springs
Crocker et al (US 2008/0116623).
Carranza (US 5,906,361).
Clay (US 2,708,110).
STEPHEN M. BOWES IV
Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/STEPHEN M BOWES/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616