Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakada et al. (US 2023/0371708).
Regarding claim 1, Nakada et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a female member (108) configured to be fixed to the first cover material (102A); and
a male member (110) configured to be fixed to the second cover material (102B), wherein
the female member comprises: a main piece (114); an engagement portion (132) formed inside the main piece to be engageable with the male member (Fig. 2 as shown), and a projecting portion (130) that extends closer to a fixation position of the second cover material to the male member with respect to the engagement portion, a distal end of the projecting portion being configured to be in contact with the second cover material in an engaged state in which the male member is engaged with the engagement portion (Fig. 1 as shown),
the male member comprises a male member body (142, 162); and a tape member (140) attached to the male member body, and
in the engaged state, the main piece is located to cover at least the male member body as a whole from outside between a fixation position of the first cover material to the female member and the fixation position of the second cover material to the male member, and is exposed outside with respect to the first cover material and the second cover material between the fixation position of the first cover material to the female member and the fixation position of the second cover material to the male member (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Nakada et al. further discloses wherein
the main piece comprises: a fixation portion (112) configured to be fixed to the first cover material; and an extension (138, 124) extending continuously from the fixation portion (Fig. 2 as shown),
the extension has a housing space defined inside thereof, opposite a surface exposed outside, to house a part of the male member, and the engagement portion is formed in the housing space (Fig. 2 as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Nakada et al. further discloses wherein an outer surface of the extension is at least partially curved (Fig. 2 as shown).
Regarding claim 4, Nakada et al. further discloses wherein
the engagement portion comprises an engagement piece projecting from an inner side of the extension toward the housing space (Fig. 2 as shown), and the extension comprises a projecting portion (Fig. 2 as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Nakada et al. further discloses wherein
the engagement portion comprises an engagement piece projecting from an inner side of the extension toward the housing space (Fig. 2 as shown),
the male member comprises an engaged portion (Fig. 2 shows a portion between 162 and 142) configured to be engaged with a distal end of the engagement piece,
the fixation portion comprises a receiving portion (126) continuous with a portion opposite a continuous portion with the extension (Fig. 2 as shown), and
the receiving portion is configured to receive the male member in the engaged state at a side opposite the engaged portion (Fig. 2 as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Nakada et al. further discloses wherein
the male member body is long (Fig. 2 as shown) and flexible (Paragraph 21 describes synthetic resin which is considered flexible) and comprises an engaged portion (between 162 and 142) configured to be engaged with the engagement portion (Fig. 2 as shown), and
a thickness of the male member body, excluding the engaged portion, in a thickness direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the male member body is smaller than a width of the male member body in a width direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction and the thickness direction (Fig. 1 as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hallock et al. (US 2023/0031408).
Regarding claim 6, Nakada et al. further discloses wherein
the engagement portion comprises: an engagement piece projecting from an inner side of the extension (Fig. 2 as shown).
Nakada et al. fail to disclose and an engagement projection continuous with the fixation portion, the engagement projection being located at a position facing the engagement piece; the male member comprises a pair of engaged portions configured to be engaged with the engagement piece and the engagement projection.
Hallock et al. teach an engagement projection continuous with a fixation portion (Fig. 2 shows 35 with a barbed shape) and a male member with a pair of engaged portions (45 and opposed wall of 42)
From this teaching of Hallock et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include an engagement projection on the interior of the fixation portion and the male member with structures to positively lock with the engagement piece and engagement projection to provide a positive lock between the male and female member to strengthen the junction between the members.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwamoto (WO 2004/031042).
Regarding claim 8, Nakada et al. discloses the invention except for wherein the female member is formed from a softer material than the male member.
Iwamoto teaches wherein a female member (52) is softer than a male member (51; See Page 8, Paragraph 8 and last two Paragraphs of Page 8 of the translation as provided).
From this teaching of Iwamoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize having hybrid materials allows for easiest engagement of the male and female members such that having a relative rigid male member ensures entry of the male member in to the holding space of the of the softer female member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 8 rely upon the allowability of claim 1 from which it depends. As such, the arguments are considered moot as claim 1 has been demonstrated above as not being allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677