DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s response submitted 03 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0228943 to Yuan et al.
In regards to claim 1, Yuan recites a system (Figures 4 & 1A) comprising: a memory (406) for storing instructions [0022]; and a processing device (404) operatively coupled with the memory, to: cause coherent light to be coupled into a photonic resonator (102) comprising a ring waveguide (Figure 1A); enable a heater (144) to tune the photonic resonator. But Yuan fails to expressly recite the processing device wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing device, cause the processing device to determine that the photonic resonator has been tuned to a stable operation point corresponding to a resonant wavelength; and responsive to determining that the photonic resonator has been tuned to the stable operation point, disable the heater, wherein, after disabling the heater, the photonic resonator is to operate about the stable operation point based on self-heating of the ring waveguide without external heating. However, an apparatus claim must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and Yuan teaches structural limitations as recited in the claim. Since all of the claimed structural limitations are met by the prior art, it is presumed the device possesses the same claimed properties and the produced properties. Furthermore, memory devices are known for their storage functionality. The storing of the desired instructions to be executed by the processing device and choosing the desired set of instructions would be advantageous in order for the device to achieve the desired result. Since Yuan teaches tuning the photonic resonator by applying a temperature dependent parameter [0015] and monitoring the wavelength to achieve the desired wavelength [0015], it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to operate the processing device to determine that the photonic resonator has been tuned to a stable operation point corresponding to a resonant wavelength; and responsive to determining that the photonic resonator has been tuned to the stable operation point, disable the heater, wherein, after disabling the heater, the photonic resonator is to operate about the stable operation point based on self-heating of the ring waveguide without external heating.
In regards to claim 8, Yuan recites a system (Figures 4 & 1A) comprising: a photonic resonator (102) comprising a ring waveguide (Figure 1A); a heater (144) operatively coupled to the photonic resonator; a photodetector (APD); and at least one processing device (404) operatively coupled to a memory (406) for storing instructions [0022] to: cause coherent light generated by the coherent light source to be coupled into a photonic resonator comprising a ring waveguide; enable the heater to tune the photonic resonator. But Yuan fails to expressly recite a coherent light source. However, the inclusion of a coherent light source is an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use such features such as a coherent light source to provide an input signal to the system. But Yuan fails to expressly recite the processing device wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing device, cause the processing device to determine that the photonic resonator has been tuned to a stable operation point corresponding to a resonant wavelength; and responsive to determining that the photonic resonator has been tuned to the stable operation point, disable the heater, wherein, after disabling the heater, the photonic resonator is to operate about the stable operation point based on self-heating of the ring waveguide without external heating. However, an apparatus claim must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and Yuan teaches structural limitations as recited in the claim. Since all of the claimed structural limitations are met by the prior art, it is presumed the device possesses the same claimed properties and the produced properties. Furthermore, memory devices are known for their storage functionality. The storing of the desired instructions to be executed by the processing device and choosing the desired set of instructions would be advantageous in order for the device to achieve the desired result. Since Yuan teaches tuning the photonic resonator by applying a temperature dependent parameter [0015] and monitoring the wavelength to achieve the desired wavelength [0015], it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to operate the processing device to determine that the photonic resonator has been tuned to a stable operation point corresponding to a resonant wavelength; and responsive to determining that the photonic resonator has been tuned to the stable operation point, disable the heater, wherein, after disabling the heater, the photonic resonator is to operate about the stable operation point based on self-heating of the ring waveguide without external heating.
In regards to claims 2, 3, 9 and 10, modified Yuan recites the instructions, when executed by the processing device, further causes the processing device to identify a voltage to apply to the heater to enable the heater, and wherein the voltage corresponds to a temperature and to enable the heater to tune the photonic resonator, the processing device is further to cause the voltage to be applied to the heater. [0031]
In regards to claims 4 and 11, Yuan recites a photodetector (APD). Although Yuan does not expressly recite to determine that the photonic resonator has been tuned to the stable operation point, the processing device is further to monitor spectral shift using a photodetector, Yuan does teach the structural limitations as recited in the claim. Since all of the claimed structural limitations are met by the prior art, it is presumed the device possesses the same claimed properties and the produced properties. It is further noted that an apparatus claim must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); See MPEP 2114 [R-1]). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); see MPEP 2114 [R-1]). Since all of the claimed structural limitations are met by the prior art, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to determine that the photonic resonator has been tuned to the stable operation point, the processing device is further to monitor spectral shift using a photodetector.
In regards to claims 5 and 12, although Yuan does not expressly recite the stable operation point is approximately 6 decibels (dB), it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges or values through routine experimentation when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art,
it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the stable operation point is approximately 6 decibels (dB) in order to maintain the device at a more optimal state. In re Aller, 105 USPA 233; In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
In regards to claims 6 and 13, Yuan recites a first shift in resonant wavelength in a first direction away from the stable operation point causes a reduction in the coherent light absorbed by the ring waveguide, and wherein the reduction in the coherent light absorbed by the ring waveguide causes a second shift in resonant wavelength in a second direction opposite the first direction to return to the stable operation point. [0016, 0033, 0035]
In regards to claim 7 and 14, Yuan recites the ring waveguide is comprised in a micro-ring modulator. [0015]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed. The prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a method, comprising: causing coherent light to be coupled into a photonic resonator comprising a ring waveguide; enabling a heater to tune the photonic resonator; determining that the photonic resonator has been tuned to a stable operation point corresponding to a resonant wavelength; and responsive to determining that the photonic resonator has been tuned to the stable operation point, disabling the heater, wherein, after disabling the heater, the photonic resonator is to operate about the stable operation point based on self-heating of the ring waveguide without external heating in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as currently applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874