DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weakly (US 2012 / 0262618).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) a mobile device case (see (20, 28)), the mobile device (40) comprising at least one compartment (i.e., see (42, 44), an engaging part corresponding to (36), any arbitrary portion of (40), and/or any interior space of (20)) closed by a mobile device door (28) pivotable on a mobile device hinge (22), the mobile device case (see (20, 28)) comprising:
a protective shell (20, 28) configured to surround and protect at least a portion of the mobile device (40); and
a mobile device case door (32) coupled to the protective shell (20, 28) via a mobile device case hinge (see the part connecting (32) to (20)), the mobile device case door (32) pivotable on the mobile device case hinge (i.e., the part connecting (32) to (20)) between a closed position (see Fig. 1) in which the mobile device case door (32) covers the at least one compartment (i.e., see (42, 44), an engaging part corresponding to (36), any arbitrary portion of (40), and/or any interior space of (20)) and an open position (see Fig. 2) in which the at least one compartment (again, see (42, 44), an engaging part corresponding to (36), any arbitrary portion of (40), and/or any interior space of (20)) is accessible through an opening in the protective shell (see (20, 28); and see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0042] and [0044]-[0046]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that when the mobile device (40) is accommodated within the protective shell (20, 28), the mobile device case hinge (see the part connecting (32) to (20)) is coaxial (i.e., aligned along a same axial direction) with the mobile device hinge (22; again, see Fig. 2 and Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0042] and [0044]-[0046]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device (40) includes an actuator (see a portion at (34), for example) for opening the mobile device door (28), and wherein when the mobile device (40) is accommodated within the protective shell (20, 28), the actuator (again, see the portion at (34), for example) is accessible through the protective shell (see (20, 28)) to open the mobile device door (28; see Fig. 1 and again, see Fig. 2 and Page 2, Para. [0043]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that when the mobile device case door (32) is in the closed position (see Fig. 1), opening the mobile device door (28) with the actuator (see a portion at (34), for example) causes movement of the mobile device case door (32) from the closed position (see Fig. 1) toward the open position (see Fig. 2; and see Page 2, Para. [0042]-[0044]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that the protective shell (20, 28) comprises at least one detent (i.e., a “feature” over (20)) configured to retain the mobile device case door (32) in the closed position (see Fig. 1), and opening the mobile device door (28) with the actuator (see a portion at (34), for example) causes the mobile device case door (32) to disengage from the at least one detent (i.e., the “feature” over (20)) to move toward the open position (see Fig. 2; and see Page 2, Para. [0042]-[0044]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that when the mobile device case door (32) is in the open position (see Fig. 2), closing the mobile device case door (32) also causes closing of the mobile device door (28; see Fig. 1; and see Page 2, Para. [0042] and [0044]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device case (see (20, 28)) includes an access port (i.e., a groove or indention; see Fig. 1) for enabling access to the actuator (see a portion at (34), for example) to open mobile device door (28; see Fig. 1; and see Page 2, Para. [0042]-[0044]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device door (28) and the mobile device case door (32) comprise respective windows (i.e., are transparent) to enable viewing contents of the at least one compartment (i.e., see (42, 44), an engaging part corresponding to (36), any arbitrary portion of (40), and/or any interior space of (20); and see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0042] and [0044]-[0046]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device (40) is a mobile payment processing device (i.e., a computer), the at least one compartment (i.e., see (42, 44), an engaging part corresponding to (36), any arbitrary portion of (40), and/or any interior space of (20)) is configured to contain at least one receipt printer roll (i.e., arbitrarily), and the mobile device door (28) and the mobile device case door (32) are sized to allow removal and replacement of the receipt printer roll (i.e., arbitrarily; again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0042] and [0044]-[0046]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) that the protective shell (20, 28) comprises a rigid substrate overmolded with an elastomer (i.e., plastic; see Page 2, Para. [0042]).
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asakura (US 2003 / 0148798).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Asakura discloses (see Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, and Fig. 3) a mobile device charging system (1, 10) comprising:
a mobile device case (i.e., a housing (2)) separate and removable (i.e., via disassembly) from a mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)), the mobile device case (2) comprising a protective shell (see (2)) configured to surround and protect at least a portion (i.e., an internal portion) of the mobile device (i.e., the interior circuitry components of (1)); and
a mobile device charging cradle (10) having a cradle charging interface (see (13)), wherein
the mobile device (i.e., the interior circuitry components of (1)) includes a device charging interface (2e, 2B) on a first surface (i.e., a back surface) thereof (see Fig. 2B),
the protective shell (2) includes one or more apertures (i.e., holes, grooves, or indentations; see (2e)) on a portion of the protective shell (2) covering the first surface (i.e., the back surface),
the mobile device charging cradle (10) includes one or more projections (12) separate from the cradle charging interface (13) and positioned to correspond to the one or more apertures (see (2e)), and
the one or more projections (12) directly contact the first surface (i.e., the back surface) of the mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)) through the one or more apertures (see (2e) and note that the projections (12) contact the terminals (2e) through the holes, grooves, or indentations in (2b)) when the mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)) is in the mobile device case (2) and the device charging interface (see (2B)) is coupled to the cradle charging interface (see (13); and see Page 3, Para. [0041]-[0042], [0044], and [0047]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Asakura discloses (see Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device case (2) includes a charging opening (i.e., corresponding to (2e)) at a location corresponding to the device charging interface (see (2e, 2B); and again, see Page 3, Para. [0041]-[0042], [0044], and [0047]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Asakura discloses (see Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, and Fig. 3) that the one or more apertures (i.e., holes, grooves, or indentations corresponding to (2e)) comprise a pair of elongated apertures (see Fig. 2B) positioned on each side of the device charging interface (2e, 2B); and the one or more projections (12) comprise a pair of elongated projections (see Fig. 3) positioned to correspond to the pair of elongated apertures (2e; again, see Page 3, Para. [0041]-[0042], [0044], and [0047]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Asakura discloses (see Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)) is supported (i.e., charged) by only the pair of elongated projections (12) and the cradle charging interface (13) when the mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)) is in the mobile device case (2) and the device charging interface (2e, 2B) is coupled to the cradle charging interface (see (13); and see Fig. 5 with Page 3, Para. [0041]-[0042], [0044], and [0047]).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Asakura discloses (see Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device charging cradle (10) does not support the mobile device case (2) when the mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)) is in the mobile device case (2) and the device charging interface (2e, 2B) is coupled to the cradle charging interface (see (13); and see Fig. 5 and with Page 3, Para. [0041]-[0042], [0044], and [0047]; and note that the cradle portion (11) does not support the mobile device case (2) in a central portion).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Asakura discloses (see Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, and Fig. 3) that the mobile device charging cradle (10) does not contact the mobile device case (2) when the mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)) is in the mobile device case (2) and the device charging interface (2e, 2B) is coupled to the cradle charging interface (see (13); and see Fig. 5 and with Page 3, Para. [0041]-[0042], [0044], and [0047]; and note that the cradle portion (11) does not contact the mobile device case (2) in a central portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weakly in view of Appiah (US 2017 / 0257132).
(The Appiah reference was submitted by the applicant via the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) received 16 December 2024.)
As pertaining to Claim 3, Weakly does not explicitly disclose the structural configuration of the mobile device case hinge (i.e., the part connecting (32) to (20)). That is, Weakly does not explicitly disclose that the mobile device case hinge (i.e., the part connecting (32) to (20)) comprises a pair of hinge pins coaxially aligned at each end of the mobile device hinge (22).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Appiah discloses (see Fig. 1) an implementation of a mobile device case (10) enclosing a mobile device (20), wherein a mobile device case hinge and/or mobile device hinge (see (13)) is utilized for operating a pivotable door (16) to access the mobile device (20) and/or any associated compartments, wherein the mobile device case hinge and/or mobile device hinge (see (13)) comprises a pair of hinge pins coaxially aligned (22; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0014]-[0016]). It is a goal of Appiah to provide a mobile device case that is stylish, secure, light-weight, and moisture resistant, and is capable of being worn easily and secured (see Page 1, Para. [0003] and [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Weakly with the teachings of Appiah, such that the mobile device case hinge (i.e., the part connecting (32) to (20)) comprises a pair of hinge pins coaxially aligned at each end of the mobile device hinge (22), as suggested by Appiah, in order to provide a mobile device case that is stylish, secure, light-weight, and moisture resistant, and is capable of being worn easily and secured using a design structure that is known in the art allow for effective opening and closing of the mobile device case door (32).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asakura in view of Weakly.
As pertaining to Claim 18, Asakura does not explicitly disclose that the protective shell comprises a rigid substrate overmolded with an elastomer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Weakly discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 3) a mobile device case (see (20, 28)) comprising a protective shell (20, 28) configured to surround and protect at least a portion of a mobile device (40), wherein the protective shell (20, 28) comprises a rigid substrate overmolded with an elastomer (i.e., plastic; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0042] and [0044]-[0046]). It is a general goal of Weakly to provide an improved means for protecting a mobile device in any number of applications, including underwater applications (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Asakura with the teachings of Weakly, such that the protective shell comprises a rigid substrate overmolded with an elastomer, as suggested by Weakly, in order to provide an improved means for protecting a mobile device in any number of applications, including underwater applications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner, respectively Weakly and Asakura, teach or fairly suggest the features of amended independent Claim 1 and 12.
Specifically, the applicant has asserted that the teachings of Weakly do not provide for at least the claimed “mobile device case door coupled to the protective shell” wherein “the mobile device case door covers the at least one compartment” in a “closed position,” and wherein “the at least one compartment is accessible through an opening in the protective shell” when the “mobile device case door” is in an “open position” as newly recited in independent Claim 1 (see Remarks at Page 5 and 6). The examiner respectfully disagrees as Weakly plainly provides for a mobile device case door (32) coupled to the protective shell (20, 28)… the mobile device case door (32) pivotable on the mobile device case hinge (i.e., the part connecting (32) to (20)) between a closed position (see Fig. 1) in which the mobile device case door (32) covers the at least one compartment (i.e., see (42, 44), an engaging part corresponding to (36), any arbitrary portion of (40), and/or any interior space of (20)) and an open position (see Fig. 2) in which the at least one compartment (again, see (42, 44), an engaging part corresponding to (36), any arbitrary portion of (40), and/or any interior space of (20)) is accessible through an opening in the protective shell (see (20, 28)). The examiner respectfully maintains that the claimed “mobile device case door” and “at least one compartment” are broadly recited in the claims and open to arbitrary interpretation. The applicant has further argued that the teachings of Weakly do not provide for the claimed “actuator that is accessible through the protective shell” as newly recited in dependent Claim 4 (see Remarks at Page 7). Again, Weakly plainly provides for the claimed actuator (see a portion at (34), for example) for opening the mobile device door (28), wherein the actuator (again, see the portion at (34), for example) is accessible through the protective shell (see (20, 28) in Fig. 1).
The applicant has further asserted that the teachings of Asakura do not provide for at least the claimed “mobile device case separate and removable from a mobile device, the mobile device case comprising a protective shell…” and the “mobile device charging cradle” that “includes one or more projections separate from the cradle charging interface and positioned to correspond to the one or more apertures” as newly recited in independent Claim 12 (see Remarks at Pages 8 and 9). The examiner respectfully disagrees as Asakura plainly provides for a mobile device case, as a housing (2), that is separate and removable (i.e., via disassembly) from a mobile device (i.e., interior circuitry components of (1)), wherein the mobile device charging cradle (10) includes one or more projections (12) separate from a cradle charging interface (13) and positioned to correspond to the one or more apertures (see (2e)). Again, the examiner respectfully maintains that the claimed “mobile device,” “cradle charging interface,” and “projections” are broadly recited in the claims and open to arbitrary interpretation.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of Claims 1-18 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Klein et al. (US 10,521,046) discloses a mobile device case and a mobile device comprising a compartment that is similar to that disclosed in the instant application.
Emslie (US 2015 / 0286251) discloses a mobile charging system that is pertinent to the invention as recited in independent Claim 12.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623