DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 3, 10, 20 including a magnetic string or wire must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishida (11279268). The reference to Nishida teaches structure as claimed including a seat assembly (1) of a vehicle, comprising: a seat cushion (10); a seat back (11) connected to and extending from the seat cushion (see at least fig 4); and an access opening disposed in one of the seat cushion or the seat back, the access opening (20) configured to allow for user access to a body child seat anchor feature (30) for installation of a child seat (100 at least fig 7), the body child seat anchor feature (30) secured to a vehicle body or seat frame, the access opening including a closure (70) operated by attractive magnetic forces (at least pgh 30 at 20), the closure is biased toward a closed position by the attractive magnetic forces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 13, 15, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida (11279268). The reference to Nishida teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above, the only difference being that there is not a vehicle explicitly claimed. However, the reference teaches the use of an automobile seat structure and the provision of a vehicle would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result. Further the method would have been obvious in view of the structures.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishida (11279268) over Imai et al (5139311). The reference to Nishida teaches structure substantially as claimed, as discussed above, including an access opening and magnetic closure, the only difference being that the opening does not include two opposing edges with the magnetic elements in the edges.. However, the reference to Imai et al teaches the use of a magnetic closure with the magnetic elements embedded in two opposing edges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Nishida with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a magnetic closure of two opposing edges, as taught by Imai et al since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed. The use of magnetic threading or wire is conventional structures. To use such known structures in the same intended manner would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result. With regard to claims 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14,19 note at least figure 2 of Imai et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited teach structure similar to applicant t’s including seat structures with access openings and closures.
/JOSE V CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637