DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
NPL entry # 7 of IDS submitted on 7/18/24, is missing a date and has therefore been lined through and not considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 1 is directed to a method for processing images with the steps of: acquiring, acquiring, generating, displaying, determining and cropping which are nothing more than software instructions. Software instructions are non-statutory under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and contain further steps, for example claim 2 has the steps of performing and cropping, therefore claims 2-8 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 9 is directed to a method for sharing content, applicable to a second display device with the steps of: acquiring, generating, sending, generating, determining and cropping, therefore claim 9 has the same problem as claim 1, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 10-16 depend from claim 9 and contain further steps, for example, claim 10 includes the steps of performing and cropping, therefore claims 10-16 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Claim 17 is directed to method for sharing content, applicable to a server, with the steps of acquiring, acquiring, generating, controlling, generating, determining and cropping, therefore claim 17 has the same problem as claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 18-20 depend from claims 1, 9 and 17 respectively and have not been rejected under 101 because they contain processor in the body of the claims to run the computer program stored in the memory.
Double Patenting
Claims (1, 8-9 and 16-20) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1, 6-8, 11-13 and 17-18) of U.S. Patent No. 12,073,810 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are a broader version of the patent claims.
18/776,398 (Claims) Patent (Claims)
1. A method for processing images, comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device;
acquiring a first image currently displayed by a second display device;
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect
ratio; and
displaying the to-be-displayed content by the first display device in a full screen fashion;
wherein generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is equal to the screen aspect ratio, the first image as the to-be-displayed content; and
cropping, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect
ratio.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the to-be-displayed content comprises additional image display content associated with the
content of the first image, and an aspect ratio of a display region of the to-be-displayed content is
equal to the screen aspect
ratio; and
wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
acquiring a fourth image by extracting at least part of the first image;
acquiring content information of the fourth image by parsing the fourth image;
acquiring the additional image display content according to the content elements; and
acquiring the to-be-displayed content by merging the fourth image with the additional image display content.
9. A method for sharing content, applicable to a second display device, the method comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device;
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and a first image currently displayed by a second display device, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio; and
sending the to-be-displayed content to the first display device, such that the first display device displays the to-be-displayed content on in a full screen fashion; and
wherein generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is equal to the screen aspect ratio, the first image as the to-be-displayed content; and
cropping at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, such that the aspect
ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect
ratio.
16. The method according to claim 9, wherein the to-be-displayed content comprises additional image
display content associated with the content of the first image, and an aspect ratio of a display region of the to-be-displayed content is
equal to the screen aspect
ratio; and
wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
acquiring a fourth image by extracting at least part of the first image;
acquiring content information of the fourth image by parsing the fourth image;
acquiring the additional image display content according to the content elements; and
acquiring the to-be-displayed content by merging the fourth image with the additional image display content.
17. A method for sharing content, applicable to a server, the method comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device;
acquiring a first image currently displayed by a second display device;
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio; and
controlling the first display device to display the to-be-displayed content in a full screen fashion; and
wherein generating the to-
be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is equal to the screen aspect ratio, the first image as the to-be-displayed content; and
cropping at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen
aspect ratio, such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content
is equal to the screen aspect
ratio.
18. A device for processing images, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program; and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 1.
19. A terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program; and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 9.
20. An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory;
wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program; and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 17.
1. A method for processing images, comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device;
acquiring a first image currently displayed by a second display device;
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
displaying the to-be-displayed content by the first display device in a full screen fashion;
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
cropping a part content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is inconsistent with the screen aspect ratio, such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio.
1.
wherein the to-be-displayed content further comprises additional image display content associated with the content of the first image, and an aspect ratio of a display region of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
acquiring a fourth image by extracting at least part of the first image;
acquiring content information of the fourth image by parsing the fourth image;
acquiring the additional image display content according to the content information; and
acquiring the to-be-displayed content by merging the fourth image with the additional image display content.
8. A method for sharing content, applicable to a second display device, the method comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device;
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and a first image currently displayed by a second display device, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
sending the to-be-displayed content to the first display device, such that the first display device displays the to-be-displayed content on in a full screen fashion;
12. The method according to claim 8, wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
cropping a part content from the first image as the to-be-
displayed content, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is inconsistent with the screen aspect ratio, such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio.
8.
wherein the to-be-displayed content further comprises additional image display content associated with the content of the first image, and an aspect ratio of a display region of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
acquiring a fourth image by extracting at least part of the first image;
acquiring content information of the fourth image by parsing the fourth image;
acquiring the additional image display content according to the content information; and
acquiring the to-be-displayed content by merging the fourth image with the additional image display content.
13. A method for sharing content, applicable to a server, the method comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device;
acquiring a first image currently displayed by a second display device;
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
controlling the first display device to display the to-be-displayed content in a full screen fashion; and
18. The method according to claim 13, wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is consistent with the screen aspect ratio; and
cropping a part content
from the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is inconsistent with the screen aspect ratio, such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is consistent with the screen aspect ratio.
6. A device for processing images, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program; and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 1.
11. A terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program; and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 8.
17. An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory;
wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program; and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JO (US2020/0057589A1 from IDS submitted on 7/18/24) in view of WANG (US2010/0079487A1).
Regarding claim 1, JO teaches:
1. A method for processing images, comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device (JO: fig. 9: 901, 903, 917 see par. 194);
acquiring a first image currently displayed by a second display device (JO: fig. 2, 260; fig. 4B see pars. 67-68);
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is similar to the screen aspect ratio (JO: fig. 9: 919, 921 see par. 195); and
displaying the to-be-displayed content by the first display device in a full screen fashion (JO: fig. 10, 1020 see par. 202);
wherein generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is similar to the screen aspect ratio, the first image as the to-be-displayed content (JO: fig. 10A see par. 204).
JO doesn’t teach however the analogous prior art WANG teaches:
an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio (WANG: fig. 7: S10-S40 see pars. 22-24);
cropping, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio (WANG: fig. 7: S10-S30, S90 see pars. 20-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio;
cropping, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio as shown in WANG with JO for the benefit of fulfilling a need for a display device and a method for discriminate cropping of images [6].
Regarding claim 9, JO teaches:
9. A method for sharing content, applicable to a second display device, the method comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device (JO: fig. 9: 901, 903, 917 see par. 194);
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and a first image currently displayed by a second display device, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is similar to the screen aspect ratio (JO: fig. 9: 919, 921 see par. 195 see also fig. 2, 260; fig. 4B and pars. 67-68); and
sending the to-be-displayed content to the first display device, such that the first display device displays the to-be-displayed content on in a full screen fashion (JO: fig. 10A, 1020 see par. 202); and
wherein generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is similar to the screen aspect ratio, the first image as the to-be-displayed content (JO: fig. 10A see par. 204); and
JO doesn’t teach however the analogous prior art WANG (with the same motivation of claim 1) teaches:
an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio (WANG: fig. 7: S10-S40 see pars. 22-24);
cropping at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio (WANG: fig. 7: S10-S30, S90 see pars. 20-31).
Regarding claim 17, JO teaches:
17. A method for sharing content, applicable to a server, the method comprising:
acquiring first parameter information of a first display device, wherein the first parameter information is configured to determine a screen aspect ratio of the first display device (JO: fig. 9: 901, 903, 917 see par. 194);
acquiring a first image currently displayed by a second display device (JO: fig. 2, 260; fig. 4B see pars. 67-68);
generating to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image, such that an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is similar to the screen aspect ratio (JO: fig. 9: 919, 921 see par. 195); and
controlling the first display device to display the to-be-displayed content in a full screen fashion (JO: fig. 10A, 1020 see par. 202); and
wherein generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
determining, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is similar to the screen aspect ratio, the first image as the to-be-displayed content (JO: fig. 10A see par. 204);
JO doesn’t teach however the analogous prior art WANG (with the same motivation of claim 1) teaches:
an aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio (WANG: fig. 7: S10-S40 see pars. 22-24).
cropping at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content, in a case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio (WANG: fig. 7: S10-S30, S90 see pars. 20-31).
Regarding claim 18, JO teaches:
18. A device for processing images, comprising a processor and a memory (JO: par. 5); wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program (JO: par. 5); and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 1 (JO: par. 5).
Regarding claim 19, JO teaches:
19. A terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory (JO: pars. 5 and 21); wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program (JO: par. 5); and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 9 (JO: par. 5).
Regarding claim 20, JO teaches:
20. An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory (JO: par. 5); wherein
the memory is configured to store a computer program (JO: par. 5); and
the processor is configured to run the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method as defined in claim 17 (JO: par. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 would be objected to (except for the 101/DP rejections) as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2-8 and 10-16, the prior art doesn’t teach:
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein cropping, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio comprises:
performing, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, saliency detection on the first image to determine a target salient region in the first image; and
cropping at least a part of content corresponding to the target salient region from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio.
3. The method according to claim 2, wherein performing saliency detection on the first image to determine a target salient region in the first image comprises:
performing saliency detection on the first image to determine all candidate salient regions in the first image;
determining, in a case that a number of the candidate salient regions is 1, the candidate salient region as the target salient region; and
determining, in a case that the number of the candidate salient regions is greater than 1, one of a candidate salient region having the greatest area and a candidate salient region having the greatest saliency, as the target salient region.
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein performing saliency detection on the first image to determine all candidate salient regions in the first image comprises:
performing saliency detection on the first image to determine all salient regions in the first image;
performing instance segmentation on the first image to determine all instances in the first image; and
determining salient regions, each of which contains at least one of the instances, as the candidate salient regions in the first image.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein cropping, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio comprises:
determining, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, a focus region in the first image; and
cropping at least a part of content corresponding to the focus region from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the focus region is one of: a focus frame region during capture of the first image, and, a gazing region of a user of an electronic device in the first image when the user takes the first image with the electronic device.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein cropping, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio comprises:
outpainting, in a case that a size of a part of content cropped from the first image is smaller than a size of a screen of the first display device, the part of content cropped from the first image to obtain the to-be-displayed content having the aspect ratio which is equal to the screen aspect ratio.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the to-be-displayed content comprises additional image display content associated with the content of the first image, and an aspect ratio of a display region of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio; and
wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
acquiring a fourth image by extracting at least part of the first image;
acquiring content information of the fourth image by parsing the fourth image;
acquiring the additional image display content according to the content elements; and
acquiring the to-be-displayed content by merging the fourth image with the additional image display content.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein cropping, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio comprises:
performing, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, saliency detection on the first image to determine a target salient region in the first image; and
cropping at least a part of content corresponding to the target salient region from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio.
11. The method according to claim 10, wherein performing saliency detection on the first image to determine a target salient region in the first image comprises:
performing saliency detection on the first image to determine all candidate salient regions in the first image;
determining, in a case that a number of the candidate salient regions is 1, the candidate salient region as the target salient region; and
determining, in a case that the number of the candidate salient regions is greater than 1, one of a candidate salient region having the greatest area and a candidate salient region having the greatest saliency, as the target salient region.
12. The method according to claim 11, wherein performing saliency detection on the first image to determine all candidate salient regions in the first image comprises:
performing saliency detection on the first image to determine all salient regions in the first image;
performing instance segmentation on the first image to determine all instances in the first image; and
determining salient regions, each of which contains at least one of the instances, as the candidate salient regions in the first image.
13. The method according to claim 9, wherein cropping, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio comprises:
determining, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, a focus region in the first image;
cropping at least a part of content corresponding to the focus region from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio.
14. The method according to claim 13, wherein the focus region is one of: a focus frame region during capture of the first image, and, a gazing region of a user of an electronic device in the first image when the user takes the first image with the electronic device.
15. The method according to claim 9, wherein cropping, in the case that the aspect ratio of the first image is unequal to the screen aspect ratio, at least a part of content from the first image as the to-be-displayed content such that the aspect ratio of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio comprises:
outpainting, in a case that a size of a part of content cropped from the first image is smaller than a size of a screen of the first display device, the part of content cropped from the first image to obtain the to-be-displayed content having the aspect ratio which is equal to the screen aspect ratio.
16. The method according to claim 9, wherein the to-be-displayed content comprises additional image display content associated with the content of the first image, and an aspect ratio of a display region of the to-be-displayed content is equal to the screen aspect ratio; and
wherein the generating the to-be-displayed content of the first display device based on the first parameter information and the first image comprises:
acquiring a fourth image by extracting at least part of the first image;
acquiring content information of the fourth image by parsing the fourth image;
acquiring the additional image display content according to the content elements; and
acquiring the to-be-displayed content by merging the fourth image with the additional image display content.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BAE (US2017/0249919A1) discloses a wireless device supporting Wi-Fi Direct service includes: a display; a communication unit; and a controller configured to cause: transmitting resolution information including a plurality of resolutions that are supported by the wireless device to a second wireless device; receiving an entire image including a first image and a second image from the second wireless device if a resolution of the first image is not one of the plurality of resolutions; displaying the first image by removing the second image from the received entire image when the entire image is received; and receiving the first image from the second wireless device without the second image if the resolution of the first image is included in the resolution information, the second image being an image that is added to the first image such that a resolution of the received entire image corresponds to one of the plurality of resolutions; WENG (US2020/0275021A1) discloses an image presentation method includes obtaining a first image captured by a first image sensor and a second image captured by a second image sensor; size-processing the first image according to at least one of a target resolution, an aspect ratio of the first image, or an aspect ratio of the second image to generate a size-processed first image having the target resolution; and generating a presenting image at least by combining the size-processed first image and the second image. The presenting image has a preset resolution that is not less than a sum of the target resolution and a resolution of the second image; CARLOS US(2021/0342048A1) discloses in one embodiment of the present invention, a collaboration engine is configured to display shared digital assets consistently across displays. The collaboration engine receives container metadata generated based on a first location and first size of a digital asset within a first scaled workspace displayed on a first display. In response, the collaboration engine computes a second location and second size of the digital asset based on the container metadata and the size of a second scaled workspace. Finally, the collaboration engine configures the second device to display the digital asset within the second scaled workspace based on the second location and the second size. Notably, the container metadata correlates to the appearance of the digital asset on the first display, and the appearance of the digital asset on the second display correlates to the container metadata. Consequently, the appearance of the digital asset is consistent across the displays; SIE (WO2004/084535A2) discloses a video distribution system is disclosed. The video distribution system distributes a video program in a first aspect ratio and includes information to convert the first aspect ratio to a second aspect ratio. Included in the video distribution system are a distribution point and a video converter that is located remotely from the distribution point. The video converter receives the information and the video program from the distribution point. The video converter uses the information to guide conversion between the first aspect ratio and the second aspect ratio.
/MAURICE L. MCDOWELL, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612