DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, the Applicant argues that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is improper because the independent claims as amended does not comprise mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component; but rather provide a configuration file chaining system and method that configures the applications and services in a computing device using parameters that have different namespace scopes or organizational origins for merging multiple configuration settings into one or more answer files used for the installation of multiple applications on the computing system. These are not abstract ideas and represent technological improvements. (REMARKS, on page 7 of 10, 4th paragraph – page 8 of 10, 2nd paragraph).
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is proper because the newly amended claim 1 is still directed to abstract idea. The patent-eligibility analysis below follows 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Including on Artificial Intelligence, dated July, 2024 and Memorandum on Subject Matter Eligibility Declarations, dated December 4, 2025.
These activities of claim 1 are information processing and decision-making — activities that can be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper, and requires no more than a performance of generic computer functions (e.g. collecting data, calculating), and that courts/USPTO treat as abstract ideas.
Applicant’s invention is not technological improvement of the existing but helping to achieve better human functionality in the field of language processing using a generic computer. Even though the disclosed invention is described in the background as improving computer technology, the claim provides no meaningful limitations such that this improvement is realized. When the claimed system changes the architecture itself—e.g., how information flows, not just what it does—that may satisfy eligibility.
Therefore, claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. With respect to independent claims 10 and 16, claims 10 and 16 are similar to claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims 2, 11, and 17, claims are also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 12, claims are also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 18, claims are also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
With respect to dependent claims 5, 13, and 19, claims are also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
With respect to dependent claims 6, 14, and 20, claims are also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 15, claims are also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
With respect to dependent claim 8, claim is also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
With respect to dependent claim 9, claim is also directed to processes which manipulate data which are processes which can be performed by a human and implemented by a generic computer. Accordingly, the limitations of the Claims are not sufficient to add significantly more to improve technological functionality.
As such, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. Thus, the rejection is maintained currently. Please see the rejection below for the whole analysis.
Regarding Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant’s amendment and arguments with respect to rejections have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The amended limitations in claims 1, 10 and 16 raise new grounds for rejections and further that the Examiner is therefore applying a new reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 — The independent claim 10 recites “receiving, using a template engine, a plurality of data structures associated with an application, wherein each of the data structures comprise at least one custom parameter for the application; generating, using the template engine, an answer file using the data structures, wherein an ensuing data structure from among the plurality of data structures that is processed after a previous data structure from among the plurality of data structures inherits at least one of the custom parameters of the previous data structure, the answer file comprising one or more configurable parameters that are used to control how the application is operated; and using the answer file, custom configuring the application on a target computing device using the template engine.” The limitation of “receiving…”, “generating…”, and “using” is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a human organizing of activities. More specifically, these activities reflect perceiving information associated with an application, generating a file and applying in to the application. The steps of Receiving an application configuration values, opening a template file and populating it with the values to create a new file, and applying the file to configure the application are tasks that humans routinely perform mentally with conventional tools or generic computer devices.
Accordingly, the claims are directed to the judicial exception of a mental process.
Step 2 — Claims Do Not Recite an Inventive Concept That Transforms the Mental Process into Patent-Eligible Subject Matter
The claims 1, 10, and 16 add generic, well-understood computer components (memory and processor). The computer is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as performing a generic computer function and being used as an applying) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Accordingly, there additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Thus, claims 1, 10 and 16 fail to recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter.
With respect to dependent claims 2-9, 11-15 and 17-20, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to a judicial exception (mental processes) and failing to recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moore et al., (US Pub. 2014/0372518) in view of Ward et al., (US Pub. 2016/0062555).
Regarding claim 1, Moor discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) comprising:
a processor; and a template engine stored in a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the template engine to (Fig. 1, [0025]-[0029] template engine 150):
receive a plurality of data structure associated with an application, wherein each of the data structures comprise at least one custom parameter for the application (Fig. 1, [0027][0028] “The template engine 150 can receive the instructions and can translate the instructions to enable the table to be rendered within the context of the particular operating system…manages data caching/data retrieval by providing the ability to forward model and/or parameter information collected for/on a given page”);
generate an answer file using the data structures (Fig. 1, [0028] “the template engine 150 can perform operations (e.g., create, modify, merge) model data… facilitates the final creation of a page”; [0035][0036] “the developer can generate an application that displays patient data in one or more charts or tables”); and
using the answer file, custom configure the application on a target computing device (Fig. 1, [0024]-[0026] accessing design templates provided with the application using user interactions with the graphical component, e.g., clicks, and “each design template corresponds to a view that is presented during execution of the application (e.g., View 1—patient list; View 2—data traces)”; Mobile device 102 and 104 have user interface engines 102a and 102b which can include the same component; Fig. 2, [0032]-[0036] “The GUI 200 of FIG. 2 can be displayed on a client computing device and can receive input from the developer using the client computing device”).
Moor does not explicitly teach however Ward does explicitly teach:
wherein an ensuing data structure from among the plurality of data structures that is processed after a previous data structure from among the plurality of data structures inherits at least one of the custom parameters of the previous data structure, the answer file comprising one or more configurable parameters that are used to control how the application is operated (Fig. 4, data flow action 1-5, [0054]-[0059] invoking the custom function on the query and format the query appropriately, registering the structures including table and column number and verifying a table name or column name by checking that the table name or column name is within the schema of the database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method for transmitting and customizing data using a template engine as taught by Moor with the method of processing and replacing the one or more parameters with respective placeholders as taught by Ward to improve the usability and expressiveness of the UI available to end users for applications (Ward, [0091]).
Regarding claim 2, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1, and Moore further discloses: wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the template engine to, for each parameter value in the data structures:
determine whether a parameter value associated with the parameter exists; when the parameter value exists, store the parameter value in the answer file; and when the parameter does not exist, store a default value in the answer file ([0029][0058]-[0061] a template engine may customize applications based on user’s input; “if a particular partner wants to customize what happens when the user clicks on an a data point displayed within a waveform, the customization can be achieved” and if a user does not input to customize, caching enables an application to recall the last display screen a user was viewing).
Regarding claim 3, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1, and Moore further discloses:
wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the template engine to generate the answer file to prompt for user input when the answer file is used by the application (Fig. 2, [0032][0036] Fig. 2 is an example of screenshot to show a file which can receive user’s input. For example, a user selects the ‘New Chart’ option, a developer can define a new chart).
Regarding claim 4, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1, and Moore further discloses:
wherein the data structures specify a format and type of configuration data that is expected from one of an installer associated with the application or a configuration tool associated with the application (Fig. 3 and [0052] “The computing devices 302 a, , . . . , 302 n have respective user interface engines installed thereon to interpret instructions provided by the application. For example, the computing device 302 a can have a user interface engine installed thereon that is specific to the platform (operating system) 304 a”).
Regarding claim 5, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1, and Moore further discloses:
wherein the data structures comprise a plurality of template files (Fig. 3, management a data manage system may be provided as a server system and include a database and files).
Regarding claim 6, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1, and Moore further discloses:
wherein the acts of determining whether a parameter value associated with the parameter exists, and storing the value in the answer file are performed at a vendor site of the HIS ([0048][0062] providing multi-application support associated with particular vendors which may be enable access using vendor authentication; [0052] executing as a client-side application that communicates with a corresponding server-side application).
Regarding claim 7, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1, and Moore further discloses:
wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the template engine to process a plurality of the data structures for the computing device to custom configure a corresponding plurality of applications on the HIS ([0026] customizing and extracting the data that a user wants to process by clicking on specific parts of the UI; “each design template corresponds to a view that is presented during execution of the application (e.g., View 1—patient list; View 2—data traces).”).
Regarding claim 8, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1.
Moor does not explicitly teach however Ward does explicitly teach:
wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the template engine to configure the application after installation of the application, wherein the application is a Linux-based application (Figs. 3 and 4, [0032][0095] a template engine 350 or 450 may reside in a computing device which is controlled and coordinated by operating system software, such as Unix or Linux; Fig. 4, [0046]-[0054] processing the queries and replace any templates with corresponding values and creating a custom function to verify parameters in a query).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method for transmitting and customizing data using a template engine as taught by Moor with the method of integrating and adapting closely with a plurality of operating systems as taught by Ward for more use cases to be covered by combining the tools appropriately (Ward, [0091]).
Regarding claim 9, Moor in view of Ward discloses the IHS of claim 1.
Moor does not explicitly teach however Ward does explicitly teach:
wherein the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the template engine to configure the application during installation of the application, wherein the application is a Windows-based application (Figs. 3 and 4, [0032][0095] a template engine 350 or 450 may reside in a computing device which is controlled and coordinated by operating system software, such as Windows).
The previous motivation statement as in claim 8 is still applied.
Regarding claims 10-15, Claims 10-15 are the corresponding method claims to system claims 1-3 and 5-7. Therefore, claims 10-15 are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-7 above.
Regarding claims 16-20, Claims 16-20 are the corresponding system claims to system claims 1-2 and 6-7. Therefore, claims 16-20 are rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 1-2 and 6-7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Seong-ah A. Shin
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2659
/SEONG-AH A SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659