DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 61, line 6 of the specification, “measureable” should be changed to “measurable” to fix the typographical error..
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, measureable should be changed to measurable to fix the typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Measurer in claim 12.
A review of the published specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure describe in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Measurer – defined as a control unit in paragraph 44 of the published specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 19-20, the claims set forth “estimating a measurement item candidate that is measurable or unmeasurable”. It is unclear what “that is measurable or unmeasurable” is modifying. Is this requiring that the estimation 1) determine whether the candidate is measurable or unmeasurable or estimating a measurement item candidate, wherein the candidate is required to be measurable or unmeasurable. Furthermore, it is not readily clear how an “unmeasurable” candidate can be estimated since one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an estimation is at least an indirect form of measurement. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as requiring that the estimation determine whether the candidate is measurable or unmeasurable as that corresponds best with the specification and claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, the claim sets forth “a probability of whether the measurement item candidate is measurable”. It is unclear the Applicant intended this limitation to encompass in view of the specification. The specification discusses, for example, something having a 1% chance of being measurable, what does this mean? Isn’t something measurable or not measurable? Is this a reliability score? A matching score? A confidence score? Something else? Paragraph 66 of the published specification discusses probability of a label being classified but never defines what is a label. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, a reference discussing some sort of reliability, confidence, or matching score will be interpreted as meeting this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the claim sets forth a plurality of measurement item candidates. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Only 1 measurement item candidate has been forth.
Regarding claim 12, the claim sets forth a measurer that measures the measurement item even in a case wherein the measurement item candidate is unmeasurable. This appears to be contradictory, how can a measurer measure something that is unmeasurable? By definition, that means it is in fact measurable. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, a reference disclosing something measuring the candidate will be interpreted as meeting the limitations in this claim.
Regarding claim 12, the claim discusses the possibility of a measurement item being measurable but inestimable. This appears to contradict the rest of the claim limitations since the apparatus estimates whether a measurement item candidate is measurable or unmeasurable. How can an apparatus measure something if it cannot estimate that it is measurable? By measuring it, hasn’t it determined that it is in fact measurable and therefore estimable? Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites the limitation “the measurement item”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as referring to the previously set forth measurement item candidate.
Regarding claim 16, the claim sets forth “a probability of whether the measurement item having been designated is measurable”. It is unclear the Applicant intended this limitation to encompass in view of the specification. The specification discusses, for example, something having a 1% chance of being measurable, what does this mean? Isn’t something measurable or not measurable? Is this a reliability score? A matching score? A confidence score? Something else? Paragraph 66 of the published specification discusses probability of a label being classified but never defines what is a label. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, a reference discussing some sort of reliability, confidence, or matching score will be interpreted as meeting this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the claim sets forth a plurality of measurement items. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Only 1 measurement item has been forth. For examination purposes, a reference discussing some sort of reliability, confidence, or matching score will be interpreted as meeting this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception of an abstract idea in the form of a mental process without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus configured to estimate that a measurement item candidate is measurable or unmeasurable, claim 13 is directed to an apparatus configured to designate a measurement item and to estimate that a measurement item is measurable or unmeasurable, claim 19 is directed to a non-transitory CRM storing a program comprising steps that are substantially similar to the processing steps of claim 1 and claim 20 is directed to a method comprising steps that are substantially similar to the processing steps of claim 1.
Claims 1, 13, and 19-20 are considered to be directed towards an abstract idea because they recite a mental process of designating a measurement item candidate and determining if it is measurable or unmeasurable. This is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. In this case, a person looking at an ultrasound image and determining if something can be measured. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).III. A-B.
The judicial exceptions enumerated above (i.e., mathematical formula, mental process, and law of nature) are not integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the additional limitations towards processing circuitry or use thereof comprise no more than instructions to implement the judicial exceptions on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional limitations directed towards displaying the measurement item candidate are merely extra-solution activity of outputting data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional limitations directed towards an ultrasound probe and generating ultrasound data are merely extra-solution activity of gathering data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the judicial exceptions.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The judicial exceptions enumerated above (i.e., mathematical formula, mental process, and law of nature) are not integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the additional limitations towards processing circuitry or use thereof comprise no more than instructions to implement the judicial exceptions on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional limitations directed towards displaying the measurement item candidate are merely extra-solution activity of outputting data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional limitations directed towards an ultrasound probe and generating ultrasound data are merely extra-solution activity of gathering data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Consequently, these additional elements do not do not add significantly more to the judicial exceptions.
The limitations do not improve a computer or another technology or technical field. The limitations do not apply or use the judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. The limitations do not apply or use the judicial exceptions with, or by use of, a particular machine. The limitations do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. In addition, the claims do not include other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations of claims 1, 13, and 19-20 do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the judicial exceptions.
Turning to the dependent claims:
Claims 2, 5, 14, and 17 recite additional elements directed towards further details of the extra-solution activity, specifying additional details of outputting the data. Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they amount to no more than extra-solution activity.
Claims 3 and 15 recite additional elements directed towards further details of the extra-solution activity, specifying additional details of data gathering and additional details related to the abstract idea, specifying that the determination is done in real-time. Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they amount to no more than extra-solution activity or they too are directed towards the abstract idea.
Claims 4, 12, and 16 recite additional elements directed towards further details of the abstract, specifying additional details about how the estimation is performed. Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they too are directed towards the abstract idea.
Claims 6 and 18 recite additional elements directed towards further details of the extra-solution activity, specifying additional details of gathering the data. Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they amount to no more than mere extra-solution activity.
Claim 7 recites additional elements directed towards further details of an extra-solution activity, specifying additional details of outputting data and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, in this case a computer with a touchscreen. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they amount to no more than extra-solution activity or are mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components
Claim 8-11 recites additional elements directed towards further details that are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, in these cases a computer with a key, a neural network, or a processor. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they amount to no more than extra-solution activity or are mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components
The limitations of the dependent claims do not improve a computer or another technology or technical field. The limitations do not apply or use the judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. The limitations do not apply or use the judicial exceptions with, or by use of, a particular machine. The limitations do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. In addition, the claims do not include other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations of the dependent claims do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the judicial exceptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ebata (US20200129160).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 19-20, Ebata discloses in Figures 1-8 an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, on-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing an ultrasound diagnostic program, and method (Ebata, Para 2; “The present invention relates to an acoustic wave diagnostic apparatus and a control method of an acoustic wave diagnostic apparatus and in particular, to an acoustic wave diagnostic apparatus and a control method of an acoustic wave diagnostic apparatus for measuring a part on an acoustic wave image.”) (Ebata, Para 55; “The storage unit 17 stores an operation program and the like of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1, and recording media, such as a hard disc drive (HDD), a solid state drive (SSD), a flexible disc (FD), a magneto-optical disc (MO), a magnetic tape (MT), a random access memory (RAM), a compact disc (CD), a digital versatile disc (DVD), a secure digital card (SD card), and a universal serial bus memory (USB memory), or a server can be used”), comprising:
an ultrasound probe (ultrasound probe 21) (Ebata, Para 36; “An ultrasound probe 21 is configured by the transducer array 2, the transmission unit 3, and the reception unit 4”) that transmits and receives ultrasound to and from a subject (Ebata, Para 37; “, each of the elements transmits an ultrasound wave and receives a reflected wave from a subject and outputs a reception signal. For example, each element is formed by using a transducer in which electrodes are formed at both ends of a piezoelectric body formed of piezoelectric ceramic represented by lead zirconate titanate (PZT), a polymer piezoelectric element represented by poly vinylidene di fluoride (PVDF), piezoelectric single crystal represented by lead magnesium niobate-lead titanate (PMN-PT), or the like”);
a display (display unit 8) (Ebata, Para 34; “FIG. 1 shows the configuration of an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 according to a first embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 1, the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 comprises […] a display unit 8”); and
at least one hardware processor (processer 22), wherein the at least one hardware processor
generates ultrasound image data based on a reception signal obtained from an observation area (Ebata, Para 40; “As shown in FIG. 2, the image generation unit 6 of the processor 22 has a configuration in which a signal processing unit 18, a digital scan converter (DSC) 19, and an image processing unit 20 are connected in series to each other. Based on a reception delay pattern selected according to the control signal from the device control unit 12, the signal processing unit 18 performs reception focusing processing in which delays are given to respective pieces of element data according to the set sound speed and addition (phasing addition) is performed. Through the reception focusing processing, a sound ray signal with narrowed focus of the ultrasound echo is generated. The signal processing unit 18 generates a B mode image signal, which is tomographic image information regarding tissues inside the subject, by correcting the attenuation of the generated sound ray signal due to the propagation distance according to the depth of the reflection position of the ultrasound wave and then performing envelope detection processing. The B mode image signal generated as described above is output to the DSC 19.”),
designates a measurement item (Ebata, Para 50; “the measurement unit 9 calculates a measurement candidate based on the calculation standard stored in advance in the calculation standard storage unit 10.”) (Ebata, Para 49; “the measurement unit 9 of the processor 22 detects the measurement target based on the received position and the detection measurement algorithm set by the detection measurement algorithm setting unit 11”),
estimates whether the measurement item having been designated is measurable, and causes the display to display information on whether the measurement item having been designated is measurable and to display the measurement item candidate (Ebata, Para 74; “In a case where it is determined that only one measurement line has been determined as a candidate in step S5, the process proceeds to step S9. In step S9, the measurement unit 9 transmits a command to the display control unit 7 so that the determined measurement candidate is displayed on the display unit 8.”) (Ebata, Para 75; "In a case where it is determined that there is no measurement line determined as a candidate in step S5, the process proceeds to step S10. In step S10, an error dialog indicating that there is no measurement line as a candidate is displayed on the display unit 8, and the measurement operation in the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 ends.”) (Ebata, Para 72; “Thus, in a case where a plurality of measurement candidates are displayed on the display unit 8, one of the plurality of measurement candidates is designated by the user through the operation unit 16 in step S7. In a case where one measurement candidate is designated by the user through the operation unit 16, the measurement candidate designation receiving unit 15 receives this designation result.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses wherein the at least one hardware processor estimates a probability of whether the measurement item candidate is measurable, by using the ultrasound image data as input data (Ebata, Figure 3) (Ebata, Para 81; “In step S4, a plurality of measurement targets may be detected in the ultrasound image.”) (Ebata, Para 79; “Although the reliability of each line segment is calculated based on the edge likeness of the ultrasound image at the end point of the line segment used for measurement of the measurement target in step S4,”) (Ebata, Para 82; “For example, in a case where the gallbladder size is designated as a measurement item in step S1 and a plurality of measurement targets are detected in step S4, the measurement unit 9 calculates a similarity with respect to the pattern data of the gallbladder, which is stored in advance, as the reliability of the measurement target by performing image recognition such as template matching for each measurement target.”).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claims 4 and 16 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses wherein: the display displays one or a plurality of the measurement item candidates having the probability equal to or greater than a predetermined probability or a predetermined number of a plurality of the measurement item candidates in descending order of the probability, or a predetermined number of a plurality of the measurement item candidates in descending order of the probability, the plurality of measurement item candidates having the probability equal to or greater than a predetermined probability (Ebata, Para 68; “Then, the measurement unit 9 determines measurement line candidates suitable for measurement based on the calculated reliability and the calculation standard stored in the calculation standard storage unit 10. As a method for determining measurement line candidates, for example, a number of measurement lines determined in descending order of reliability can be set as candidates, a measurement line whose reliability is equal to or higher than a threshold value can be set as a candidate, a measurement line having reliability equal to or greater than the product of the highest reliability and a defined percentage can be set as a candidate, and a combination of these methods can be adopted.”) (Ebata, Para 48; “For example, for the algorithm for detecting the measurement target, there is a method in which typical pattern data is stored in advance as a template, a pattern data similarity is calculated while searching for an image with a template, and it is considered that a measurement target is present in a place where the similarity is equal to or greater than a threshold value and is the maximum.”) (Ebata, Para 64-65; "Then, the measurement unit 9 sets a measurement line to be used for measurement of the detected measurement target, and calculates the reliability of the recognition result based on image processing for the measurement line. In this case, the measurement unit 9 calculates the reliability using the reliability calculation standard stored in the calculation standard storage unit 10. For example, in the case of measuring the length of the gallbladder on the ultrasound image, the measurement unit 9 extracts a plurality of line segments whose end points are disposed on the boundary surrounding the gallbladder region on the ultrasound image, that is, the edge of the gallbladder, and calculates the reliability based on the edge likeness of the ultrasound image at the end point for each line segment").
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claims 4 and 16 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses wherein the ultrasound image data is data on at least one of a B-mode image, a Doppler image, an M-mode image, and/or an elastography image, and the Doppler image includes a color Doppler image, a pulse Doppler image, a continuous wave Doppler image, and a tissue Doppler image (Ebata, Para 40-41; “The signal processing unit 18 generates a B mode image signal, which is tomographic image information regarding tissues inside the subject, by correcting the attenuation of the generated sound ray signal due to the propagation distance according to the depth of the reflection position of the ultrasound wave and then performing envelope detection processing. The B mode image signal generated as described above is output to the DSC 19. The DSC 19 raster-converts the B mode image signal into an image signal according to the normal television signal scanning method.”).
Regarding claim 8, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses a control panel that includes a key for selecting the measurement item candidate displayed at the display (Ebata, Para 72; “Thus, in a case where a plurality of measurement candidates are displayed on the display unit 8, one of the plurality of measurement candidates is designated by the user through the operation unit 16 in step S7. In a case where one measurement candidate is designated by the user through the operation unit 16, the measurement candidate designation receiving unit 15 receives this designation result.”) (Ebata, Para 42; “The operation unit 16 of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 is for the user to perform an input operation, and can be configured to comprise a keyboard, a mouse, a track pad, a touch panel, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 9, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses wherein the at least one hardware processor includes a learned model using a neural network (Ebata, Para 48; “For example, for the algorithm for detecting the measurement target, there is a method in which typical pattern data is stored in advance as a template, a pattern data similarity is calculated while searching for an image with a template, and it is considered that a measurement target is present in a place where the similarity is equal to or greater than a threshold value and is the maximum. For the calculation of the similarity, in addition to simple template matching, for example, a machine learning method described in Csurka et al.: Visual Categorization with Bags of Keypoints, Proc. of ECCV Workshop on Statistical Learning in Computer Vision, pp. 59-74 (2004) or a general image recognition method using deep learning described in Krizhevsk et al.: ImageNet Classification with Deep Convolutional Neural Networks, Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems 25, pp. 1106-1114 (2012) can be used.”).
Regarding claim 10, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses wherein the learned model is a model learned by associating an ultrasound image with the measurement item candidate (Ebata, Para 48; “For example, for the algorithm for detecting the measurement target, there is a method in which typical pattern data is stored in advance as a template, a pattern data similarity is calculated while searching for an image with a template, and it is considered that a measurement target is present in a place where the similarity is equal to or greater than a threshold value and is the maximum. For the calculation of the similarity, in addition to simple template matching, for example, a machine learning method described in Csurka et al.: Visual Categorization with Bags of Keypoints, Proc. of ECCV Workshop on Statistical Learning in Computer Vision, pp. 59-74 (2004) or a general image recognition method using deep learning described in Krizhevsk et al.: ImageNet Classification with Deep Convolutional Neural Networks, Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems 25, pp. 1106-1114 (2012) can be used.”).
Regarding claim 11, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses wherein in a case where the at least one hardware processor is incapable of estimating the measurement item candidate, which is measurable, or is capable of estimating only the measurement item candidate, which is unmeasurable, the at least one hardware processor causes unmeasurability to be displayed or causes displaying that an ultrasound image is inappropriate for measurement (Ebata, Para 75; “In a case where it is determined that there is no measurement line determined as a candidate in step S5, the process proceeds to step S10. In step S10, an error dialog indicating that there is no measurement line as a candidate is displayed on the display unit 8, and the measurement operation in the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 ends.”).
Regarding claim 12, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses a measurer that measures the measurement item in the observation area even in a case where the measurement item candidate, which is measurable, is inestimable or even in a case where only the measurement item candidate, which is unmeasurable, is estimable (Ebata, Para 82; “For example, in a case where the gallbladder size is designated as a measurement item in step S1 and a plurality of measurement targets are detected in step S4, the measurement unit 9 calculates a similarity with respect to the pattern data of the gallbladder, which is stored in advance, as the reliability of the measurement target by performing image recognition such as template matching for each measurement target. In addition, the measurement unit 9 may calculate the reliability of a plurality of measurement lines based on the edge likeness in the ultrasound image at the end points of the line segments, which are measurement lines, and calculate the sum or product of the reliability of the measurement lines and the reliability of the measurement target, on which the measurement lines are superimposed, as a composite reliability for each measurement line.”).
Ebata is interpreted as meeting the limitations in the claim as best understood by the Examiner in view of the clarity deficiencies outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebata and Choi (US20180330518).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 as discussed above.
Ebata does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the display displays the measurement item candidate in real time.
In an analogous ultrasound target measurement system field of endeavor Choi discloses wherein a display displays a measurement item candidate in real time (Choi, Para 69-71; “processing unit 230 may apply a look-up table to the probability mapping information to identify likely portion of the target organ of interest and display the output via display 122. Referring back to block 620, in some implementations, probability mapping unit 230 may display information as it is generated in real time. […] FIG. 10 illustrates three B- mode images 1010, 1012 and 1014 and corresponding P- mode images 1020, 1022 and 1024. In other implementations, all 12 B-mode images and 12 corresponding P-mode images may be displayed. […] the volume of the target organ may also be provided to the user, along with real time probability mode images”) (Choi, Para 73-74; “For example, the processing described herein may be used to identify and display a prostate gland, a kidney, a uterus, ovaries, an aorta, a heart, a blood vessel, amniotic fluid, a fetus etc., as well as particular features associated with these targets, such as volume and/or size-related measurements. […] additional size-related measurements may be generated. For example, length, height, width, depth, diameter, area, etc., of an organ or region of interest may be calculated. As an example, for a scan of an aorta, measuring the diameter of the aorta may be important in trying to identify an anomaly, such as an aneurysm. For a prostate scan, measurement of the width and height of the prostate may be needed. In these cases, measurements such as length, height, width, depth, diameter, area, etc., may be generated/estimated using the machine learning processing described above.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ebata wherein the display displays the measurement item candidate in real time as taught by Choi in order to allow a user to make use of the information immediately as needed for diagnosis and treatment.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 as discussed above.
Ebata does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein: the at least one hardware processor generates the ultrasound image data in real time, and estimates, with respect to the ultrasound image data generated in the real time, whether the measurement item having been designated is measurable, in real time.
In an analogous ultrasound target measurement system field of endeavor Choi discloses generating an ultrasound image data in real time, and performing an estimation estimating, with respect to the ultrasound image data in real time (Choi, Para 69-71; “processing unit 230 may apply a look-up table to the probability mapping information to identify likely portion of the target organ of interest and display the output via display 122. Referring back to block 620, in some implementations, probability mapping unit 230 may display information as it is generated in real time. […] FIG. 10 illustrates three B- mode images 1010, 1012 and 1014 and corresponding P- mode images 1020, 1022 and 1024. In other implementations, all 12 B-mode images and 12 corresponding P-mode images may be displayed. […] the volume of the target organ may also be provided to the user, along with real time probability mode images”) (Choi, Para 73-74; “For example, the processing described herein may be used to identify and display a prostate gland, a kidney, a uterus, ovaries, an aorta, a heart, a blood vessel, amniotic fluid, a fetus etc., as well as particular features associated with these targets, such as volume and/or size-related measurements. […] additional size-related measurements may be generated. For example, length, height, width, depth, diameter, area, etc., of an organ or region of interest may be calculated. As an example, for a scan of an aorta, measuring the diameter of the aorta may be important in trying to identify an anomaly, such as an aneurysm. For a prostate scan, measurement of the width and height of the prostate may be needed. In these cases, measurements such as length, height, width, depth, diameter, area, etc., may be generated/estimated using the machine learning processing described above.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ebata wherein: the at least one hardware processor generates the ultrasound image data in real time, and estimates, with respect to the ultrasound image data generated in the real time, whether the measurement item having been designated is measurable, in real time as taught by Choi in order to allow a user to make use of the information immediately as needed for diagnosis and treatment.
Regarding claim 7, Ebata discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ebata further discloses detecting a touch input for selecting the measurement item candidate having been displayed (Ebata, Para 72; “Thus, in a case where a plurality of measurement candidates are displayed on the display unit 8, one of the plurality of measurement candidates is designated by the user through the operation unit 16 in step S7. In a case where one measurement candidate is designated by the user through the operation unit 16, the measurement candidate designation receiving unit 15 receives this designation result.”) (Ebata, Para 42; “The operation unit 16 of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 1 is for the user to perform an input operation, and can be configured to comprise a keyboard, a mouse, a track pad, a touch panel, and the like.”).
Ebata does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the display includes a touch screen and using the touch screen for input.
In an analogous ultrasound target measurement system field of endeavor Choi discloses includes a touch screen and using the touch screen for input (Choi, Para 54; “Input device 540 may include a mechanism that permits a user to input information to device 500, such as a keyboard, a keypad, a mouse, a pen, a microphone, a touch screen, voice recognition and/or biometric mechanisms, etc. Output device 550 may include a mechanism that outputs information to the user, including a display (e.g., a liquid crystal display (LCD)), a printer, a speaker, etc. In some implementations, a touch screen display may act as both an input device and an output device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ebata wherein the display includes a touch screen and using the touch screen for input as taught by Choi in order to use a known reliable, relatively cheap, and intuitive input and display device.
Conclusion
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798