DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (US 2020/0216632) in view of Rubin (US 6492001 B1).
Claims 1-12:
Nair teaches a method for making a fabric [0142] having an opacifying element [0129]. The fabric can be surface treated [0149] (a type of finishing) and coated with an opacifying element [0129] (another type of finishing). The result is a finished fabric where each side either has the surface treatment finish or the opacifying element finish. The finished fabric is further coated with a functional composition and this functional composition [0153-0183] is identical to the claimed non-foamed aqueous composition. The only difference is that Nair does not explicitly state the functional composition is non-foamed. Rather, Nair states “In some embodiments, the functional composition formulation can be foamed” [0153]. The implication here, understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, is that the functional composition formulation can also be non-foamed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Nair using a functional composition formulation that is not foamed.
Nair does not teach an adhesive composition applied to the finished fabric prior to the non-foamed aqueous composition.
However, Rubin teaches a method for forming a treated textile fabric where the fabric is finished by a treating process (3:6), and the finished fabric has a suitable liquid adhesive applied (6:67) followed by a polymeric film (6:16-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Nair and include an adhesive composition between the finished fabric and non-foamed aqueous composition. Rubin establishes this is a suitable approach for forming a treated textile fabric and the adhesive would have necessarily improved adhesion between fabric and subsequent coated layers.
Claims 13-14:
The fabric is a woven fiberglass [0142].
Claim 15:
Forming images on surfaces of the fabric and/or coated fabric [0206-0208].
Claim 16:
Rubin teaches the treatment is water repellency (5:58).
Claims 17:
The functional composition can be sprayed [0197]. It would have been obvious to apply the composition to both sides of the fabric in order to realize the benefits [0156] on both sides of the fabric.
Claim 21:
Rubin teaches acrylic adhesives (7:2). Acrylic used in this way refers to PMMA, a polymer of acrylic esters.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (US 2020/0216632) in view of Rubin (US 6492001 B1) in view of Kukoff (US 2750300).
Nair does not teach applying an adhesive over the resulting fabric article. However, it would have been obvious to apply an adhesive in order to attach decorative and/or functional elements to the fabric. For example, Kukoff teaches a method for applying an adhesive to a fabric in order to attach glitter discs for a decorative effect (col. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Nair and further apply and adhesive to attach decorative and/or functional elements to the fabric.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Nair teaches the added limitation including discontinuous application [0199], solids content [0154], protrusion or asperities as a result of the inclusion of hollow glass particles [0156], hollow glass particle ratio [0177], and binder content [0175]. The Rubin reference is included for the purpose of teaching the adhesive, not the non-foamed aqueous composition as a flock substitute.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759