Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
“liquid delivery drive part” in claim 5: The examiner notes that this limitation will be interpreted to mean a drive member consisting of a drive motor, cam structure driven by the drive motor, and finger structure moved by the cam structure (Specification Paragraph [0067]), and functional equivalents thereof.
“urging member” in claim 6: The examiner notes that this limitation will be interpreted to mean a spring capable of urging the pressing member to have the pressing surface press the tube against the displacement sensor in a state which the door unit is closed with respect to the main body unit (Specification Paragraph [0059]), and functional equivalents thereof.
“notification unit” in claims 8 and 9: The examiner notes that this limitation will be interpreted as a display, speaker, vibrator (Specification Paragraph [0075]), and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US Patent 9,005,159).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an infusion pump (liquid infusion apparatus in Figs. 2 and 3) comprising:
a displacement sensor comprising:
a groove portion (tube seating depression 12 in Fig. 4) to which an infusion tube (silicon tube 31) is attachable (Col. 6, lines 47-53),
a detection surface (protruding part 621) exposed to the groove portion (Col. 12, lines 18-21), the displacement sensor being configured to detect a pressure applied to the detection surface (Col. 12, lines 25-28; see below),
a first mask portion that covers a first end of the detection surface in a width direction of the groove portion (see below), and
a second mask portion that covers a second end of the detection surface in the width direction of the groove portion (see below).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 1, wherein:
the displacement sensor comprises a Hall element (Col. 12, lines 44-45), and a plunger (movable member 62) that is movable with respect to the Hall element and comprises a magnet (Col. 12, lines 45-48), and
the displacement sensor is configured to detect a pressure applied to the detection surface based on an amount of movement of the magnet with respect to the Hall element (Col. 12, lines 44-55).
For examination purposes, the Hall element is interpreted as a structure having a magnet movable relative to it (Specification Paragraph [0007]) and capable of detecting change in magnetic flux (Specification Paragraph [0046]). Lee discloses a magnetic force measurement sensor that successfully anticipates the Hall element based on these characteristics (Col. 5, lines 16-26).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 1, wherein:
the groove portion, the first mask portion, and the second mask portion are parts of a mask member (see below), and
the mask member is detachable from a remainder of the displacement sensor (see below).
Furthermore, it is interpreted that the coupling means S-2 is configured to detachably mount the displacement sensor to the mask member, because Lee discloses that the liquid infusion pump 40, front casing 10F, and the rear casing 10R can be easily removed from each other (Col. 8, lines 5-17).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 1, wherein:
a distance between the first mask portion and the second mask portion in the width direction of the groove portion is equal to a width of the groove portion (see below).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 1, comprising:
a main body unit (main body 10 in Fig. 2) comprising the displacement sensor (Col. 6, lines 35-36); and
a door unit (door 20 in Fig. 2) that is openable and closable with respect to the main body unit (Col. 6, lines 36-43) and covers the displacement sensor in a state of being closed with respect to the main body unit (see below), wherein:
the door unit comprises:
a pressing member (compressing member 25; Col. 6, lines 55-58) comprising a pressing surface facing the displacement sensor in a state in which the door unit is closed with respect to the main body unit (see below), and
an urging member that urges the pressing member to cause the pressing surface of the pressing member to press the infusion ube against the displacement sensor in a state in which the door is closed with respect to the main body unit (as discussed above, this limitation is interpreted to mean a spring capable of urging the pressing member to have the pressing surface press the tube against the displacement sensor in a state which the door unit is closed with respect to the main body unit; Col. 6, lines 58-60 discloses an elastic member to urge forth the compressing member 25).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 6, wherein:
the pressing surface of the pressing member comprises a protruding portion (compressing member 25 in Fig. 4), and
the protruding portion is inserted into the groove portion (Col. 6, lines 55-58) from between the first mask portion and the second mask portion of the displacement sensor (see below) in a state in which the door is closed with respect to the main body unit.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 1, wherein:
the infusion pump is configured to hold the infusion tube substantially horizontally (“horizontal” is a relative term, and is not defined relative to anything else; in Fig. 4, silicon tube is horizontal since “horizontal” is relative).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses an infusion pump (liquid infusion apparatus in Figs. 2 and 3) comprising
a displacement sensor comprising:
a detection surface (see below), and
a mask member comprising:
a groove portion (tube seating depression 12) to which the detection surface is exposed and an infusion tube (silicon tube 31) is attachable (Col. 6, lines 47-53),
a first mask portion that covers a first end of the detection surface in a width direction of the groove portion (see below), and
a second mask portion that covers a second end of the detection surface in the width direction of the groove portion (see below),
a Hall element (Col. 12, lines 44-45), and
a plunger (movable member 62) that is movable with respect to the Hall element and comprises a magnet (Col. 12, lines 45-48), wherein:
the mask member is detachable from the Hall element and the plunger (see below); wherein:
the displacement sensor is configured to detect a pressure applied to the detection surface based on an amount of movement of the magnet with respect to the Hall element (Col. 12, lines 44-55).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a method for using an infusion pump, comprising:
providing the infusion pump (liquid infusion apparatus in Figs. 2 and 3), which comprises:
a displacement sensor comprising:
a groove portion (tube seating depression 12) to which an infusion tube (silicon tube 31) is attachable (Col. 6, lines 47-53),
a detection surface exposed to the groove portion (see below), the displacement sensor being configured to detect a pressure applied to the detection surface (Col. 12, lines 44-55),
a first mask portion that covers a first end of the detection surface in a width direction of the groove portion (see below),
a second mask portion that covers a second end of the detection surface in the width direction of the groove portion (see below),
a Hall element (Col. 12, lines 44-45), and
a plunger (movable member 62 in Fig. 17) that is movable with respect to the Hall element and comprises a magnet (Col. 12, lines 45-48); and
detecting a pressure applied to the detection surface based on an amount of movement of the magnet with respect to the Hall element (Col. 12, lines 44-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shimizu (US Patent 10,022,494).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 1, comprising:
a liquid delivery drive part (as discussed above, this limitation is interpreted to mean a drive member consisting of a drive motor, cam structure driven by the drive motor, and finger structure moved by the cam structure; Col. 7, lines 1-10 disclose the liquid infusion pump 40 includes a finger module 40M, cam shaft 42, and cam shaft drive means 40D) configured to deliver liquid in the infusion tube (Col. 6, lines 28-34).
Lee is silent as to the specifics of the displacement sensor being located on both sides of the liquid delivery drive part in a liquid delivery direction of the liquid delivery drive part.
However, Shimizu teaches an infusion pump (infusion pump 1 in Fig. 3) with a displacement sensor (upstream occlusion sensor 52 and downstream occlusion sensor 53 in Fig. 3) located on both sides of the liquid delivery drive part in a liquid delivery direction of the liquid delivery drive part (see below).
Shimizu teaches that having sensors on both sides of the infusion tube is advantageous to detect occlusion on both the upstream and downstream sides of the infusion tube, which may occur in delivery of drugs with high viscosity and/or concentration (Col. 8, line 61 – Col. 9, line 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this known configuration of sensors on both sides of the liquid delivery part as disclosed by Shimizu to modify and improve the infusion pump of Lee to better detect occlusion on either side of the liquid delivery part.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Masaru (JP 2012200545 A).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the infusion pump according to claim 1.
Lee is silent to a notification unit configured to output a warning in a case in which erroneous attachment of the infusion tube is detected on a basis of the pressure detected by the displacement sensor.
However, Masaru teaches an infusion pump, comprising a notification unit (as discussed above, this limitation is interpreted to mean a display, speaker, vibrator, or functional equivalent thereof; speaker 131 qualifies as such) configured to output a warning in a case in which erroneous attachment of the infusion tube is detected on a basis of the pressure detected by the displacement sensor (Page 15, Paragraph 6, lines 4-8). The control unit 100 contains information on the displacement detected by the sensors (Page 13, Paragraph 3, lines 5-7). Based on this teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a notification unit to output a warning when erroneous attachment of the infusion tube is detected in order to modify and improve the infusion pump as taught by Lee.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Masaru as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Shimizu.
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Shimizu and in further view of Masaru discloses the infusion pump according to claim 8, however fails to disclose that the unit id configured to output a warning in a case in which occlusion of the infusion ube is detected on a basis of the pressure detected by the displacement sensor.
Shimizu discloses the notification unit is configured to output a warning in a case in which occlusion of the infusion tube is detected on a basis of the pressure detected by the displacement sensor (Col. 10, lines 23-31). Based on this teaching, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a notification unit to output a warning when occlusion of the infusion tube is detected in order to modify and improve the infusion pump as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
/AIDAN L NATHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783