DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 07/21/2026. The 35 U.S.C. 112f claim interpretation, 35 U.S.C. 112b rejection and drawing objection is withdrawn. Claims 1-20 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 recites “when the controller executes the second command to operate the electric motor consistent with operaitonal parameters of the second compressor” in line 3 and is interpreted to be a typographical error. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted to be – when the controller executes the second command to operate the electric motor consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recite “the shaft speed when decoupled being consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim are. It is unclear to the Examiner is consistent about the shaft speed when decoupled that in relation to the operational parameters of the second compressor. Clarity is advised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lifson et al (US 20100139298 A1, hereinafter Lifson) in view of Jaster et al (US 5220806 A, hereinafter Jaster) and Ueda (US 20240011673 A1, hereinafter Ueda)
Regarding claim 1, Lifson teaches a hybrid compressor system (system 10, figure 1) for generating temperature loads (separate refrigerant circuits, paragraph 0018) comprising: - an electric motor (common motor 21) comprising a shaft (shaft 22); - a first compressor (compressor 11) arranged to be selectively engaged by the shaft (figure 1) and configured to generate a first temperature load (via the refrigerant circuit, as shown on figure 1); - a coupling unit (mechanical couplings 24) arranged between the first compressor (compressor 11) and the electric motor (common motor 21), the coupling unit (mechanical couplings 24) configured to selectively couple and decouple (as described in paragraph 0019) the first compressor (compressor 11) from the shaft (shaft 22).
Lifson teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach a second compressor arranged to be selectively engaged by the shaft and configured to generate a second temperature load which is greater than the first temperature load; and - wherein generated flow of the first temperature load and generated flow of the second temperature load is oriented in a same direction.
However, Jaster teaches a second compressor (compressor 67) arranged to be selectively engaged by the shaft (shaft of motor 59, figure 1) and configured to generate a second temperature load (for fresh food compartment 41, as shown on figure 1) which is greater than the first temperature load (greater than freezer compartment 31, figure 1); and - wherein generated flow of the first temperature load and generated flow of the second temperature load is oriented in a same direction (clockwise in the refrigerant circuit, as shown on figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lifson to include a second compressor arranged to be selectively engaged by the shaft and configured to generate a second temperature load which is greater than the first temperature load; and - wherein generated flow of the first temperature load and generated flow of the second temperature load is oriented in a same direction in view of the teachings of Jaster in order to yield the predictable result of maintaining a desired temperature in the fresh food/freezer compartment.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein, at a first operating condition corresponding to a low temperature load, the first compressor and the second compressor are both engaged by the shaft and the shaft is operated at a speed consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor.
However, Ueda teaches wherein, at a first operating condition (paragraph 0036) corresponding to a low temperature load (relatively low temperature, as described in paragraph 0036), the first compressor (compressor 110A) and the second compressor (compressor 110C) are both engaged by the shaft (output shaft 116A, 0046) and the shaft (output shaft 116A) is operated at a speed (paragraph 0046) consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor (paragraph 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of the combined teachings to include wherein, at a first operating condition corresponding to a low temperature load, the first compressor and the second compressor are both engaged by the shaft and the shaft is operated at a speed consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor in view of the teachings of Ueda in order to yield the predictable result of thus enabling a reduction in the number of parts, installation in a smaller space and improving efficiency.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the first compressor (compressor 11 of Lifson) is arranged coaxially with the second compressor (compressor 12 of Lifson).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the first compressor (compressor 11 of Lifson) and the second compressor (compressor 12 of Lifson) are arranged on either same or different sides of the electric motor (as shown on figure 1 of Lifson).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach further comprising a second coupling unit (mechanical coupling 26 of Lifson) arranged on the shaft (shaft 23 of Lifson) between the electric motor (common motor 21 of Lifson) and the second compressor (compressor 12 of Lifson), the second coupling unit (mechanical coupling 26 of Lifson) configured to selectively couple and decouple the second compressor from the shaft (as described in paragraph 0019 of Lifson).
Further, it is understood, claim 4 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein when the first compressor (compressor 11 of Lifson) is decoupled from the shaft (via engaging-disengaging apparatus 27, as described in paragraph 0019 of Lifson), the shaft rotates faster than when the first compressor is coupled to the shaft (a person of ordinary skill in the art would determine that a shaft decoupled from its load would rotate faster than when coupled to its load).
Regarding clam 6, the combined teachings teach wherein when the first compressor (compressor 11 of Lifson) is a scroll compressor (scroll, paragraph 0031 of Lifson), and wherein, when the shaft (shaft 22 of Lifson) is decoupled from the scroll compressor (via engaging-disengaging apparatus 27, as described in paragraph 0019 of Lifson), the shaft rotates at 10-15 times faster than when the shaft is coupled to the scroll compressor (a person of ordinary skill in the art would determine that a shaft decoupled from its load would rotate faster than when coupled to its load), the shaft speed when decoupled (paragraph 0019 of Lifson) being consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor (engaged and disengaged, depending on the thermal load requirements within the conditioned space, paragraph 0027 of Lifson).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein at least one of the coupling unit and the second coupling unit is a one-way bearing or a sprag clutch (each of the mechanical couplings 24 and 26 may include an engaging-disengaging apparatus 27 and 28, such as a clutch, paragraph 0019 of Lifson).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach a wherein the first compressor is configured and arranged to automatically decouple from the shaft when the motor shaft changes rotational direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the mechanical couplings of Lifson automatic, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192 (CCPA 1958); In re Rundell, 9 USPQ 220 (CCPA 1931) and MPEP § 2144.04 III.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the first compressor (compressor 11 of Lifson) and the second compressor (compressor 12 of Lifson) are arranged in a dual loop thermal management circuit (as shown on figure 1 of Lifson) such that the first compressor (compressor 11 of Lifson) is configured and arranged to serve a first loop (right loop, figure 1 of Lifson) and the second compressor (compressor 12 of Lifson) is configured and arranged to serve a second loop (left loop, figure 1 of Lifson).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach further comprising a plurality of bearings (radial magnetic bearings 122-1 of Ueda) arranged on the shaft (output shaft 116A of Ueda) between the electric motor (motor 114A, figure 2 of Ueda) the first compressor (compressor 110A, figure 1 of Ueda) and the second compressor (compressor 110C, figure 1 of Ueda).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the bearings (radial magnetic bearings 122-1 of Ueda) are one of magnetic bearings (radial magnetic bearings 122-1 of Ueda) and roller bearings.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach all the limitations of claim 19. See rejections of claims 1, 2 and 12.
Regarding claim 20, it is noted that although the preamble of claim 20 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings discloses all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated or rendered obvious by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lifson as modified by Jaster and Ueda, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kouzel et al (US 20230358241 A1, hereinafter Kouzel).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising a controller arranged in communication with the electric motor, the controller configured to receive commands and cause the electric motor to operate in accordance with the commands, the commands comprising a first command to operate the electric motor at a shaft speed consistent with operational parameters of at least one of the first compressor and a second command to operate the electric motor at a shaft speed consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor.
However, Kouzel teaches further comprising a controller (controller 180) arranged in communication with the electric motor (paragraph 0092), the controller (controller 180) configured to receive commands and cause the electric motor to operate (paragraphs 0092-0093) in accordance with the commands, the commands comprising a first command (paragraph 0090) to operate the electric motor (starting motor 194) at a shaft speed consistent with operational parameters (as further described in paragraph 0090) of the first compressor (compressor 192) and a second command (engagement signal at block 708, paragraph 0092) to operate the electric motor (starting motor 194) at a shaft speed consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor (once the output shaft 112 reaches a predetermined rotational speed according to block 712, paragraph 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of the combined teachings to include further comprising a controller arranged in communication with the electric motor, the controller configured to receive commands and cause the electric motor to operate in accordance with the commands, the commands comprising a first command to operate the electric motor consistent with operational parameters of the first compressor or a second command to operate the electric motor consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor in view of the teachings of Kouzel in order to yield the predictable result of providing operational power to increase rotational speed of the compressor.
Further, it is understood, claim 9 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein, when the controller (controller 180 of Kouzel) executes the second command to operate the electric motor (starting motor 194, paragraph 0092 of Kouzel) consistent with operational parameters of the second compressor (the compressor 120 will increase in rotational speed with the output shaft 112 over a time interval 750, paragraph 0092 of Kouzel), the controller (controller 180 of Kouzel) is further configured to cause the coupling unit to decouple the first compressor from the shaft (the clutch 170 is coupled to both the engine 108 (e.g., at the output shaft 112) and the compressor 120 (e.g., at the input shaft 124) and is configured to move between a disengaged configuration and an engaged configuration by a controller 180, paragraph 0051 of Kouzel).
Further, it is understood, claim 10 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lifson as modified by Jaster and Ueda, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Verma et al (US 20210033315 A1, hereinafter Verma).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the first compressor is a scroll compressor and the second compressor is a centrifugal compressor.
However, Verma teaches wherein the first compressor is a scroll compressor (the first compressor is a scroll compressor, paragraph 0019) and the second compressor is a centrifugal compressor (the second compressor is a centrifugal compressor, paragraph 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of the combined teachings to include wherein the first compressor is a scroll compressor and the second compressor is a centrifugal compressor in view of the teachings of Verma in order to yield the predictable result of accommodating variable-capacity compressors.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach further comprising a check valve (check valve, paragraph 0060 of Verma) arranged on or proximate to the second compressor (as shown on figure 5 of Verma), the check valve configured to prevent reverse flow through the second compressor (one of ordinary skill in the art would determine that check valves prevent reverse flow).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach wherein the first compressor (compressor 22a of Verma) and the second compressor (compressor 22b of Verma) are arranged in a single loop thermal management circuit (as shown on figure 5 of Verma).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lifson as modified by Jaster and Ueda, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Ono et al (US 20250153582 A1, hereinafter Ono).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising an inverter configured and arranged to power the electric motor and wherein the electric motor is a high- speed electric motor.
However, Ono teaches further comprising an inverter (inverter 28) configured and arranged to power the electric motor (paragraph 0051) and wherein the electric motor is a high- speed electric motor (electric power for driving is power in which at least one of current, voltage and frequency is adjusted by the inverter 28 in order for the electric motor 29 to rotate at a target speed and with a target torque, paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of the combined teachings to include further comprising an inverter configured and arranged to power the electric motor and wherein the electric motor is a high- speed electric motor in view of the teachings of Ono in order to yield the predictable result of the electric motor to rotate at a target speed and with a target torque.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lifson as modified by Jaster and Ueda, as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Miller et al (US 20250196584 A1, hereinafter Miller).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the first loop is configured and arranged to adjust a temperature in a cabin of a motor vehicle; and the second loop is configured to adjust a temperature of a battery of the motor vehicle.
However, Miller teaches wherein: the first loop (left fluid circuit C, paragraph 0030 and as shown on figure 3) is configured and arranged to adjust a temperature (provide thermal management to a conditioned space 40, paragraph 0030) in a cabin of a motor vehicle (cabin or sleeper area of the ZEV or a cargo space, including a trailer cargo space, paragraph 0030); and the second loop (right fluid circuit C, paragraph 0030 and as shown on figure 3) is configured to adjust a temperature (provide thermal management to a conditioned space 40, paragraph 0030) of a battery of the motor vehicle (thermally sensitive onboard components 42 (for example, on-board electronics, batteries, paragraph 0030 and as shown on figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of the combined teachings to include wherein: the first loop is configured and arranged to adjust a temperature in a cabin of a motor vehicle; and the second loop is configured to adjust a temperature of a battery of the motor vehicle in view of the teachings of Miller in order to yield the predictable result of providing thermal management to the cabin and batteries.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Lifson is therefore insufficient as a primary reference for the claimed invention because it does not disclose or suggest the claimed coordinated two-regime behavior, where low-load operation uses both compressors with shaft speed limited by the first compressor and high-load operation uses only the second compressor with shaft speed increased in accordance with its operating parameters, nor does it address the same-direction flow arrangement coupled to this dual-regime strategy”, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., where low-load operation uses both compressors with shaft speed limited by the first compressor and high-load operation uses only the second compressor with shaft speed increased in accordance with its operating parameters) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, it is not recited in the claims that both compressors are used in the low load operation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “A person of ordinary skill starting from Lifson would at most look to Jaster for teachings about refrigeration circuit layout, such as providing multiple compartments and arranging refrigerant flow in a clockwise direction, but neither reference addresses the design problem that Applicant's invention solves, namely, how to use a single motor and shaft to drive two compressors in a coordinated way that optimizes efficiency across both low and high temperature loads while reducing complexity and cost. Lifson uses mechanical couplings simply to engage or disengage compressors to serve different circuits; it does not teach operating both compressors together in a low-load regime with shaft speed set by the first compressor, nor does it teach decoupling the first compressor in a high-load regime specifically so that the shaft can run at a much higher speed tailored to the second compressor's operating parameters”, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., operating both compressors together in a low-load regime with shaft speed set by the first compressor, nor does it teach decoupling the first compressor in a high-load regime specifically so that the shaft can run at a much higher speed tailored to the second compressor's operating parameters) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, it is not recited in the claims that both compressors are operated in a low load regime, rather a first compressor arranged to be selectively engaged by the shaft and configured to generate a first temperature load, and the second compressor arranged to be selectively engaged by the shaft and configured to generate a second temperature load which is greater than the first temperature load, not the first compressor. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Neither reference teaches or suggests: (i) low-load operation where the first and second compressors are both engaged by the shaft and the shaft is operated at a speed consistent with the first compressor's parameters; (ii) high-load operation where the coupling unit decouples the first compressor from the shaft and the shaft is operated at a speed consistent with the second compressor's parameters; and (iii) the deliberate design of a hybrid compressor unit achieving these two regimes with same-direction temperature loads to reduce complexity and cost”, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., (i) low-load operation where the first and second compressors are both engaged by the shaft and the shaft is operated at a speed consistent with the first compressor's parameters; (ii) high-load operation where the coupling unit decouples the first compressor from the shaft; and (iii) the deliberate design of a hybrid compressor unit achieving these two regimes with same-direction temperature loads to reduce complexity and cost) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, it is not recited in the claims that shaft is operated at a speed consistent with the first compressor's parameters, rather by the second compressor, the coupling unit decouples the first compressor from the shaft but it does not state that it is decoupled during the second temperature load. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Kouzel describes commands and disengagement signals, it does not disclose a controller that, in a low-load regime, operates an electric motor at a shaft speed consistent with a first compressor while both compressors are engaged, and, in a high-load regime, executes a second command that both (i) changes shaft operation to match a second compressor's parameters and (ii) causes a coupling unit to decouple the first compressor so that the shaft can run at that higher speed in a hybrid compressor system with same-direction temperature loads as claimed”, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., (i) low-load operation where the first and second compressors are both engaged by the shaft and the shaft is operated at a speed consistent with the first compressor's parameters; (ii) high-load operation where the coupling unit decouples the first compressor from the shaft; and (iii) the deliberate design of a hybrid compressor unit achieving these two regimes with same-direction temperature loads to reduce complexity and cost) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, it is not recited in the claims that the controller operates an electric motor while both compressors are engaged, controller changing the shaft operation to match a second compressors parameter, and a second command that decouples the first compressor so that the shaft can run at that higher speed in a hybrid compressor system with same-direction temperature loads as claimed, rather the controller causes the coupling unit to decouple the first compressor from the shaft, not for the shaft to run at a higher speed. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Verma does not disclose or suggest incorporating such a scroll/centrifugal pairing into the dual-regime hybrid compressor architecture of claim 1, where both compressors are driven on a common shaft at a first shaft-speed regime for low loads and the first (scroll) compressor is decoupled so that the shaft can run at a second, much higher shaft-speed regime tailored to the centrifugal compressor for high loads with same-direction temperature loads”, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., where both compressors are driven on a common shaft at a first shaft-speed regime for low loads and the first (scroll) compressor is decoupled so that the shaft can run at a second, much higher shaft-speed regime tailored to the centrifugal compressor for high loads with same-direction temperature loads) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, is it not recited in the claims that a second speed much higher speed tailored to the centrifugal compressor for the second temperature loads. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Ono does not address, and does not suggest, integrating such a motor/inverter arrangement into the specific dual-regime hybrid compressor architecture of claim 1, namely, a single high-speed electric motor driving first and second compressors on a common shaft, with a coupling unit that decouples the first compressor to allow the shaft to shift from a first-compressor speed regime to a second-compressor speed regime for high-load operation, while maintaining same-direction temperature loads”, the Examiner disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a coupling unit that decouples the first compressor to allow the shaft to shift from a first-compressor speed regime to a second-compressor speed regime for high-load operation, while maintaining same-direction temperature loads) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, is it not recited in the claims that the coupling unit allows a first compressor speed to a second compressor speed shift from the shaft shifting for a second temperature load. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that “Ueda does not address, and does not suggest, placing such bearings in the context of Applicant's dual-regime hybrid compressor architecture, where a single shaft drives first and second compressors with same-direction temperature loads and the coupling unit decouples the first compressor to permit shaft-speed transition from a first-compressor regime to a second-compressor regime”, the Examiner disagrees. For clarity, Ueda is used in the rejection as a secondary reference to teach a plurality of bearings (radial magnetic bearings 122-1) arranged on the shaft (output shaft 116A) between the electric motor (motor 114A, figure 2) the first compressor (compressor 110A, figure 1) and the second compressor (compressor 110C, figure 1) thus enabling a reduction in the number of parts, installation in a smaller space and improving efficiency. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the coupling unit decouples the first compressor to permit shaft-speed transition from a first-compressor regime to a second-compressor regime) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Further, it is not recited in the claims that the coupling unit permits shaft speed transition from a first compressor to a second compressor configuration. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. Therefore, the Applicant’s argument are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763