Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6, 15-19, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 recites the limitation “to activate the program instructions for the automatic pump down.” This is unclear, as “the program instructions” lacks antecedent basis in the claims. Based on this, It seems this claim is intended to be dependent on claim 5 and will be treated as such for the purposes of examination.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15, cites the limitation “a plurality of drive motors coupled to the plurality of wheels or tracks;”. This is unclear, as previously the claim cites “a plurality of front wheels or tracks and rear wheels or tracks supporting the chassis;” and as such it is unclear if the plurality of drive motors are to be coupled to the front wheels or rear wheels or both. For the purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “a plurality of drive motors coupled to the plurality of front wheels or tracks and plurality of rear wheels and tracks;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Renaud discloses A robotic pool cleaner comprising:
a chassis (300) having a bottom portion (311) and a top portion (320), the bottom portion having at least one suction port (313) and the top portion having at least one discharge port (122);
a plurality of wheels (330) or tracks (365) supporting the chassis;
a motor housing (361) secured within the chassis having a watertight seal (motor housing is sealed as discussed in Para [0144] “It is undesirable for the cleaner to continue to operate while out of the water because the cleaner could potentially overheat due to a lack of cooling water, destroy seals on the impeller motor 360, overload the drive motor gear assembly 367 and would waste electrical power and pool cleaning time.”);
a pump motor (360) positioned within the motor housing;
a pump housing (362, additionally see Para [0123] “FIGS. 22-31 show an alternative embodiment of a cleaner 300 in accordance with the present disclosure having variations relative to the cleaner 100 disclosed above.” and “As can be appreciated from FIGS. 22-28, the cleaner 300 has many components in common with the cleaner 100 described above. For example, the base 311, the motive/drive elements, such as wheel assemblies 330, drive belts 365 and rear roller/scrubber 340r, the cleaning/filtering apparatus and function including the impeller motor 360, intake apertures 313, intake channels 353, filter assembly 350 impeller assembly 362, vent channel 352 are all substantially the same and operate the in the same manner as in cleaner 100.” Linking components 100 series components to 300 series components between embodiments) secured adjacent to the motor housing and having a first free end and a second opposing end coupled to the at least one discharge port (See 362 connected to outlet portion 352 and 322 in Fig. 28), the pump housing (362) having an aperture configured to assist with priming (Space in 362 forms an aperture that is capable of assisting with primary);
an impeller (162c) positioned proximal to the first free end of the pump housing and coupled to the pump motor (see Fig. 11, showing impeller 162c proximal to the first free end);
a debris chamber (151) removably attached (First see Para [0106] “Furthermore, the motor drive assembly 160 is configured and dimensioned such that cavity space remains in the housing assembly 110 for the filter assembly 150.” See Para [0095] “Note, however, that other joining mechanisms, e.g., pivot mechanism, a sliding mechanism, etc., may be used, provided that the joining mechanism effect a removable relationship between the lid 121 and housing assembly 110. In this regard, a user may advantageously change the lid assembly 120 back and forth between an open position and a closed position, and it is contemplated that the lid assembly 120 can be provided so as to be removably securable to the housing assembly 110.” Debris chamber 151 is in the housing assembly 110 which is removable from the lid 120 which is the components equivalent to 320) to the top portion of the chassis (320), the debris chamber coupled to the at least one suction port and configured to slide over the pump housing (See Exploded view in Fig. 2 showing the housing 160 positioned below the slot of 150);
wherein the impeller is configured to vacuum pool water entrained with debris through the at least one suction port, through the debris chamber, and out through the at least one discharge port (See Para [0105] “The impeller unit 162 acts as a pump for the cleaner 100, drawing water through the filter assembly 150 and pushing filtered water out through the filtration vent shaft. An exemplary filtration flow path for the cleaner 100 is designated by directional arrows depicted in FIG. 11.”).
but does not explicitly disclose a pressure equalization chamber having a diaphragm dividing the pressure equalization chamber into an inner portion and an outer portion, the inner portion in communication with an interior of the motor housing and the exterior portion in communication with an exterior of the chassis;
However, Stoltz discloses a similar pool cleaner a motor chamber with a pressure equalization chamber (412) having a diaphragm (410) dividing the pressure equalization chamber into an inner portion and an outer portion, the inner portion in communication with an interior of the motor housing and the exterior portion in communication with an exterior of the chassis (See Para [0086] “The pressure equalization membrane 410 comprises a resilient bulb-shaped wall carried within a ported side chamber 412 on the pump housing, with one side of the membrane exposed to water within the pool cleaner 10, and the opposite side exposed to the pump interior.”);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the to include a pressure equalization chamber as described in Stoltz as doing so would assist in preventing undesirable water ingestion into a motor housing as advantageously suggested by Stoltz, See Para [0086] “With this construction, as the pump interior temperature increases during drive motor operation for rotatably driving the impeller 124, the membrane 410 flexibly deforms (dotted line position in FIG. 28) to prevent pressure increase within the pump housing interior. Thereafter, as the interior temperature decreases following cessation of pump drive motor operation, the membrane again flexibly deforms to prevent a vacuum (relative to the surrounding pool water) within the pump housing interior. Thus, the deformable membrane 410 effectively maintains the pressure within the pump housing interior substantially equal to the surrounding water pressure, thereby preventing pressure differentials which can contribute to undesired water ingestion into the pump housing interior.”.
Regarding Claim 20, Renaud discloses A robotic pool cleaner comprising:
a chassis (300) having a bottom portion (311) and a top portion (320), the bottom portion having at least one suction port (313) and the top portion having at least one discharge port (122);
a debris chamber (151) removably attached (First see Para [0106] “Furthermore, the motor drive assembly 160 is configured and dimensioned such that cavity space remains in the housing assembly 110 for the filter assembly 150.” See Para [0095] “Note, however, that other joining mechanisms, e.g., pivot mechanism, a sliding mechanism, etc., may be used, provided that the joining mechanism effect a removable relationship between the lid 121 and housing assembly 110. In this regard, a user may advantageously change the lid assembly 120 back and forth between an open position and a closed position, and it is contemplated that the lid assembly 120 can be provided so as to be removably securable to the housing assembly 110.” Debris chamber 151 is in the housing assembly 110 which is removable from the lid 120 which is the components equivalent to 320) to the top portion of the chassis (320), the debris chamber coupled to the at least one suction port (See Exploded view in Fig. 2 showing the housing 160 positioned below the slot of 150);
a pump motor (360) configured to be powered electrically (See Para [0144] “More particularly, the cleaner 100, 300, 400 includes circuitry that monitors the electrical current through (load on) the impeller motor 360.”);
a motor housing secured within the chassis having a watertight seal around the pump motor (motor housing is sealed as discussed in Para [0144] “It is undesirable for the cleaner to continue to operate while out of the water because the cleaner could potentially overheat due to a lack of cooling water, destroy seals on the impeller motor 360, overload the drive motor gear assembly 367 and would waste electrical power and pool cleaning time.”);
an impeller (162c) coupled to the pump motor (see Fig. 11, showing impeller 162c proximal to the first free end), the impeller in communication with the debris chamber and is configured to vacuum pool water through the at least one suction port, through the debris chamber, and out through the at least one discharge port (See Para [0105] “The impeller unit 162 acts as a pump for the cleaner 100, drawing water through the filter assembly 150 and pushing filtered water out through the filtration vent shaft. An exemplary filtration flow path for the cleaner 100 is designated by directional arrows depicted in FIG. 11.”); and
But does not explicitly disclose a pressure equalization chamber having a diaphragm dividing the pressure equalization chamber into an inner portion and an outer portion, the inner portion in communication with an interior of the motor housing and the exterior portion in communication with an exterior of the chassis.
However, Stoltz discloses a similar pool cleaner a motor chamber with a pressure equalization chamber (412) having a diaphragm (410) dividing the pressure equalization chamber into an inner portion and an outer portion, the inner portion in communication with an interior of the motor housing and the exterior portion in communication with an exterior of the chassis (See Para [0086] “The pressure equalization membrane 410 comprises a resilient bulb-shaped wall carried within a ported side chamber 412 on the pump housing, with one side of the membrane exposed to water within the pool cleaner 10, and the opposite side exposed to the pump interior.”);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the to include a pressure equalization chamber as described in Stoltz as doing so would assist in preventing undesirable water ingestion into a motor housing as advantageously suggested by Stoltz, See Para [0086] “With this construction, as the pump interior temperature increases during drive motor operation for rotatably driving the impeller 124, the membrane 410 flexibly deforms (dotted line position in FIG. 28) to prevent pressure increase within the pump housing interior. Thereafter, as the interior temperature decreases following cessation of pump drive motor operation, the membrane again flexibly deforms to prevent a vacuum (relative to the surrounding pool water) within the pump housing interior. Thus, the deformable membrane 410 effectively maintains the pressure within the pump housing interior substantially equal to the surrounding water pressure, thereby preventing pressure differentials which can contribute to undesired water ingestion into the pump housing interior.”
Claim(s) 2-4, 8-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses further comprising a drive motors (367) within the motor housing (361, See Para [0127] “The impeller motor 360, drive motor and gear assembly 367 and balancing weight 368, all have a density greater than water, as indicated by downwardly pointing arrows G.sub.1, G.sub.2 and G.sub.3, respectively.”) and coupled to the plurality of wheels or tracks (See Para [0098] “The cleaner 100 is typically supported/propelled about a pool by the wheel assemblies 130 located relative to the bottom of the cleaner 100. The wheel assemblies 130 are usually powered by the motor drive assembly 160 in conjunction with the drive transfer system, as discussed herein.”).
But does not explicitly disclose a plurality of drive motors.
However, Miller, discloses a similar pool cleaner with a plurality of drive motors (See Para [0069] “In some embodiments, the wheels 40, 42 are driven by a drive system that includes two motors 400, as shown in FIG. 13, and a plurality of gears, as shown in FIGS. 14 and 15. The drive system is further illustrated in FIG. 19 with side wall 28 omitted to depict additional detail. The motors 400 are controlled by the controller 102 according to one or more control algorithms. Each set of wheels 40, 42 (e.g., right side and left side) is controlled by one of the motors 400, and each set of wheels 40, 42 (e.g., right side and left side) includes a plurality of gears positioned on inner and outer sides of the respective side wall 28, 30.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the robotic pool cleaner of Renaud as modified to include a plurality of drive motors for each side, as Renaud disclose that balancing weight with respect to the motor box, impeller motor, and drive motor and gear assembly is a concern (See Renaud Para [0127]), and utilizing two motors on each side instead of a single motor would assist in balancing the weight of the robotic pool cleaner.
Regarding Claim 3, Renaud discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses further comprising a pump housing extension (162A) coupled to the first free end of the pump housing to create a space between the impeller and the first free end (See Para [0121] “The filtered water from the vent flow regions 158 is drawn through the intake openings defined by the apertured support 162A of the impeller 162C and discharged via the filtration vent shaft.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Renaud discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses further comprising a programmable controller configured with program instructions to perform mapping routines of a pool surface (See Renaud Para [0158] “The pool cleaner may be equipped with direction and orientation sensing apparatus, such as a compass, GPS and/or a multi-axis motion sensor to aid in identifying the position and orientation of the cleaner to the controller such that the controller can track the actual path of the cleaner and compare it to a map of the pool surfaces that require cleaning. Alternatively, the cleaner motion can be tracked and recorded via sensing on cleaner position relative to reference locations or landmarks, e.g., that are marked optically (pattern indicating location), acoustically or via electromagnetic radiation, such as light or radio wave emissions that are read by sensors provided on the cleaner. Comparison of actual path information to desired path information can be converted to instructions to the mechanism controlling the adjustable weight/buoyancy distribution and location to steer the cleaner along a desired path.”).
Regarding Claim 8 Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses further comprising a plurality of roller brushes (340) secured to a bottom of the chassis and configured to be driven by the plurality of drive motors (See Para [0104] “the motor box 161 houses electrical and mechanical components which control the operation of the cleaner 100, e.g., drive the wheel assemblies 130, the roller assemblies 140, and the impeller unit 162.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses wherein the debris chamber (151) has a plurality of mesh screens (154 and 155) configured to filter debris from the pool water (154 and 155 are filter panels).
Regarding Claim 10, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses wherein the pump motor is centrally positioned between a first drive motor and a second drive motor that extend in opposing directions from the pump motor in a T-shaped configuration (as modified in claim 2, Renaud has a plurality of drive motors that extending in opposing directions from the motor pump (See Fig. 31 where 360 and 372 form an L shape, modifying a second drive motor in order to remain a weight balance would result in a T-shape).
Regarding Claim 14, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses an embodiment wherein each wheel comprises an external-toothed spur gear (908C) that is engaged with either a rear transfer gear or a forward transfer gear (wheel drive assemblies 700) mounted to a respective side of the chassis (See Fig. 63), and a rotatably mounted intermediate gear engages (idler gear 904) both the rear and forward transfer gears to transfer rotational motion of a same speed and direction from a rear wheel or track to a respective front wheel or track (See Para [0195] “The interaction between the drive assembly 700, idler gear 904, and plurality of teeth 908C on the second cylindrical flange/root 908B can be best be seen in FIG. 72. As can be seen in FIG. 72, the drive assembly 700 engages the idler gear 904 and the idler gear 904 engages the teeth 908C of the wheel 902. Accordingly, the idler gear 904 is an intermediate gear that transfers rotational motion of the drive assembly 700 to the wheel 902.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaner of Renaud to the embodiment wherein each wheel comprises an external-toothed spur gear that is engaged with either a rear transfer gear or a forward transfer gear mounted to a respective side of the chassis, and a rotatably mounted intermediate gear engages both the rear and forward transfer gears to transfer rotational motion of a same speed and direction from a rear wheel or track to a respective front wheel or track as doing so has the advantage of “Thus, wheels 902 can advantageously have diameters that are substantially larger than the drive belt bushing assemblies 535 and/or roller assemblies 540f and 540r. The larger diameter may advantageously improve torque and/or traction as well as allow for an easier transition from cleaning a horizontal surface to cleaning a vertical surface (e.g., wall climbing as described herein).” As described in Renaud Para [0198].
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified claim 2, and in further view of Witelson (US 20190040641 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 4 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the programmable controller is further configured with program instructions to perform an automatic pump down of the debris chamber when the robotic pool cleaner is removed from a pool.
However, Witelson discloses a similar robotic pool cleaner Wherein the programmable controller is further configured with program instructions to perform an automatic replacement of the debris chamber and filter (See Para [0338] “The docking station may extract from a cleaning robot a debris or dirt container (debris, dirt, refuse, trash are regarded here as equivalents) and replace the used debris or dirt container with a new, unused debris or dirt container. This may save the need for complicated automatic container emptying and/or cleaning on board a cleaning robot docking or servicing station. The end user may stack empty and unused debris or dirt containers in a docking station while its manipulators empty used debris or dirt container. This may increase the mean time between servicing. The filter elements may be constructed of biodegradable material that may further facilitate the discarding of said used filter elements.” And Para [0243] “The underwater station filter manipulation module 760 may include at least one out of [0244] a. In-housing manipulator 711 for manipulating filters within housing 250. [0245] b. Filter manipulators such as 260, 262 and 264. Each may include movement modules (261, 263, 265 and 275) and storage modules (272 and 270). [0246] i. Filter manipulator 260 is arranged to store and manipulate pre-used filters (including inserting the pre-used filters to a pool cleaning robot 100, providing and/or arranging filters to/within filter storage module 272, ejecting filters from a pool cleaning robot (see, arm 261 of FIGS. 6A and 6B). [0247] ii. Filter manipulator 262 is arranged to store and manipulate used-filters (extract from pool cleaning robot, direct used filter towards housing and/or compressor or other processing element). See, for example, FIGS. 6A-6B. [0248] iii. Filter manipulator 264 is arranged to store and manipulate filters. See, for example, FIGS. 7A-7D.”).
And Miller discloses a similar robotic cleaner configured to perform an automatic pump down of the debris chamber when the robotic pool cleaner is removed from a pool (See Para [0075] “When the pool cleaner 20 is deactivated and removed from the aquatic environment, water remains within the housing 22. As shown in FIGS. 17 and 18, the pool cleaner 20 includes one or more one-way valves 600 that may allow water within the pool cleaner 20 to drain from the pool cleaner 20… More particularly, when the pool cleaner 20 is picked up by the handle 200 (i.e., with the longitudinal axis 270 of the pool cleaner 20 aligned vertically), the pressure of the water “opens” (e.g., moves) the second segment 624 of the valve flap 620, allowing water to drain through the channels 618 and out the cavity 616.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the robotic pool cleaner of Renaud as modified such that wherein the programmable controller is further configured with program instructions to perform an automatic pump down of the debris chamber when the robotic pool cleaner is removed from a pool as doing so would be a matter of automating the manual task of emptying the debris chamber of the robotic pool cleaner. And the automation of a manual task has been held to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention. See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified claim 2, Witelson (US 20190040641 A1) as modified in claim 5, and in further view of Masito (US 20110197932 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 4 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one sensor configured to detect a chassis attitude and movement profile inconsistent with wall climbing during a normal cleaning operation to activate the program instructions for the automatic pump down.
However, Mastio discloses a similar robotic pool cleaner comprising a controller and sensor configured to detect a chassis attitude and movement profile inconsistent with wall climbing during a normal cleaning operation (Para [0031] “In this manner, advantageously and according to the invention, the processing unit comprises an event detection module which is adapted to detect, from said data representative of the angular orientation of each fixed direction relative to the vertical, the occurrence of at least one predetermined event relating to the movement of the apparatus. Such an event is selected, for example, from the following events: climbing an inclined wall; climbing an inclined wall in accordance with an incline which does not correspond to the greatest incline; risk of the cable becoming entangled; detection of the quality of the coating of the immersed surface by measuring a rate of rotational sliding; arrival of the apparatus at the base wall and measurement of the depth of the pool; inversion of the apparatus; abnormal position of the apparatus (for example, on its back); arrival of the apparatus at the water line; arrival of the apparatus in contact with a non-horizontal wall (lateral vertical wall or inclined wall), etc”) to activate program instructions to activate a pump down (See Para [0086] and Para [0087] “This processing unit 81 comprises an event detection module 82 and a module 83 for controlling the motors of the apparatus. The event detection module 82 receives the three signals transmitted by the accelerometer 80 corresponding to the instantaneous measurements of the amplitude of the three components Gx, Gy, Gz of the acceleration of gravity {right arrow over (G)} along the three orthogonal axes X, Y and Z. These components are representative of the angular orientation of each axis X, Y, Z, respectively, relative to the vertical. The event detection module 82 records these three components Gx, Gy, Gz of the acceleration of gravity {right arrow over (G)} over time and analyzes these variations. It carries out tests to determine whether or not these variations correspond to predetermined events.
After a predetermined event has been detected by the event detection module 82, it sends to the control module 83 a signal which identifies this event which has been detected. The control module 83 processes control signals for the various motors of the apparatus, in particular at least the electric drive motors 20a, 20b and preferably also the electric pumping motor 12.” And Para [0084] “According to a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a motorized liquid pumping device which comprises an electric pumping motor 12 which has a rotating drive shaft which is coupled to an axial pumping propeller 14 which is rotated by the motor 12 about an axis. The propeller 14 is interposed in the hydraulic circuit in order to generate therein a flow of liquid between the liquid inlet 9 and the liquid outlet 10. The liquid outlet 10 is directly opposite the pumping propeller so that the liquid flows out of the liquid outlet 10 in a direction which corresponds to the liquid flow generated by the pumping propeller, this flow having a speed which is orientated in accordance with the rotation axis of the propeller 14. Liquid passes into the hollow body 1 via the liquid inlet 9 arranged below the apparatus. That liquid passes into a liquid intake column 15 in order to reach the filtering device 11. This filtering device 11 allows the liquid to pass via the filtering material and retains the solid debris 60. The filtered liquid reaches the liquid outlet 10 and is discharged at the rear of the apparatus into the pool from which it originates.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the robotic pool cleaner of Renaud as modified such that further comprising at least one sensor configured to detect a chassis attitude and movement profile inconsistent with wall climbing during a normal cleaning operation to activate the program instructions for the automatic pump down. as doing so would be a matter of automating the manual task of emptying the debris chamber of the robotic pool cleaner. And the automation of a manual task has been held to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention. See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified claim 2, and in further view of Besnier (US 20220136271 A1).
Regarding Claim 7 Renaud discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses further comprising a programmable controller configured with programming instructions to apply power to selectively operate the plurality of drive motors and the pump motor (See Para [0142] discussing the controller controlling the pump motor [impeller motor] and the drive motors “As noted below, this bobbing action can also be induced via sensing on diminished electrical loading of the impeller motor or by sensing an out-of-water condition by an out-of-water sensor. In this later approach, the controller may shut down the impeller motor temporarily so that the cleaner loses its grip on the wall surface or alternatively, the controller may reverse the direction of the drive motor gear assembly 367 to cause the cleaner to move back down the wall before climbing again.”).
But does not explicitly disclose a battery back having a plurality of battery cells, the controller configured with programming instructions to apply power from the battery cells.
Besnier discloses an APC [automatic pool cleaner, see abstract) and further discloses flexibility regarding the power source of the cleaner (See Para [0035] discussing using batteries, or external power routed in the chassis. “The APC 100 may be powered in any suitable manner. In one non-limiting example, on-board batteries are not employed, and external electrical power may be routed into chassis 102 via a connector 172 and/or otherwise as desired. No management of electrical cables hence need occur in housing 104 in such an embodiment. In other embodiments, the connector 172 may be omitted, and the APC 100 may include batteries and/or otherwise be powered as desired.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pool cleaner of Renaud as modified such that further comprising a battery pack having a plurality of battery cells, and a programmable controller configured with programming instructions to apply power from battery cells to selectively operate the plurality of drive motors and the pump motor as doing so would be a matter of simple substitution for the source of power of the automatic pool cleaner, as Besnier discloses that one may use batteries or external, wired in power.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified claim 2, and in further view of Gorelik (US 20080099409 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the debris chamber is removably attached the chassis by a plurality of side latches.
However, Gorelik discloses a similar pool cleaner wherein in an embodiment a debris chamber (22) is removably attached to the chassis (24) via a plurality of side latches (38).
It would be obvious one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the debris chamber to be attached via a plurality of side latches to easily remove the debris chamber for emptying while keeping it secure during operation of the cleaner, and additionally Gorelik discusses that a plurality of types of fasteners may be used, See Para [0042] “(Although a particular type of clips are used as catches 38 in the pictured embodiment, the catches may alternative comprise substantially any suitable type of fasteners.)”.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified claim 2, and in further view of Gorelik (US 20080099409 A1) and Schloss (US 20200270890 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the debris chamber comprises a debris chamber cover and a debris chamber base, the debris chamber cover including a handle having a base release button positioned on a rear face of the debris chamber handle that is accessible only when the debris chamber is removed from the chassis.
However, Gorelik discloses a similar pool cleaner wherein in an embodiment comprises a debris chamber (24) with a debris chamber cover (30) and a base (50), the debris chamber cover including a handle (52). And suggests but does not explicitly disclose a base release mechanism positioned on the rear face of the debris cover that is accessible only when the debris chamber is removed from the chassis (See Para [0043] “The peripheral edge of the filter is fixed to a rim 50, which is sized and shaped to contact the inner side of cover 30 along a perimeter surrounding base 44, as shown in FIG. 4. In the normal operating configuration of robot 20, rim 50 is fixed in place, flush against the inner side of cover 30 around base 44. The rim may be held in place by a suitable quick-connect mechanism (not shown), or it may be held simply by virtue of fitting snugly around base 44.”).
And Miller discloses a similar pool cleaner wherein a debris chamber (64) includes a handle (200) with a release button (204), and additionally includes a debris chamber cover (161) with latching mechanisms (238 and 240) for attaching to the sidewalls of the chassis (See Para [0051] “Each of the side surfaces 234, 236 includes a clip 238, 240 for attachment to the first and second side walls 152, 154 of the upper compartment 62. The clips 238, 240 can be released to allow quick removal of the lid 161 without tools (e.g., via a snap-fit connection). The top surface 230 may further include a plurality of alignment members 242 extending from a bottom surface.”) and additionally teaches that other latching systems may be additionally or alternatively utilized (See Para [0049]).
Finally, Schloss discloses a pool cleaner with a filter chamber (20) which may be removable chamber that can be accessed when an access panel (12) is removed or opened (Water that flows inward through an inlet opening 24 flows into debris filter 20. The water flows from debris filter 20 through filter mesh 18 and outward through outlet opening 22. For example, debris filter 20 may include a removable chamber that may be removed when a panel of pool cleaner housing 12 is opened or removed).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Renaud such that wherein the debris chamber comprises a debris chamber cover and a debris chamber base, the debris chamber cover including a handle having a base release button positioned on a rear face of the debris chamber handle that is accessible only when the debris chamber is removed from the chassis. As suggested by Gorelik and Miller, and Schloss discloses a similar configuration wherein the access to a debris chamber is conditional on the removal/opening of another component, One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that modifying Renaud in such away would allow for easy removal of the debris chamber from the chassis of the cleaner while preventing the contents of the chamber from being released either during operation or before the user takes it to an appropriate place the empty the debris chamber.
Regarding Claim 13, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 12 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the debris chamber base having a cover engagement arm extending upwardly from a rear wall from the debris chamber base to releasably engage with the base release button located on the rear face of the debris chamber handle.
However, Pichon discloses a similar pool cleaner wherein the debris chamber base having a cover engagement arm (71) extending towards the debris chamber base from a wall from the debris chamber base to releasably engage with the base release button located on the face of the debris chamber handle (See Para [0072] “Furthermore, the first shell 55 has, in the region of the front upper end thereof, an element 71 which is capable of engaging in a catch 72 which is provided in the region of the upper end of the front wall of the conduit 15 in order to allow the assembly between the upper ends of the first shell 55 and the second shell 49. This element 71 protrudes relative to the plane of the opening 64 and has a strip which extends downwards and which is not illustrated in the Figures and which is capable of engaging in the catch 72. The end of the catch 72 orientated towards the first shell 55 is further beveled in order to facilitate the insertion of the strip of the element 71 in the catch 72. Furthermore, this strip 72 is flexible in terms of compression so that it can become slightly deformed in a downward direction during the engagement between the element 71 and this catch 72.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention top modify the debris chamber of Renaud such that wherein the debris chamber base having a cover engagement arm extending upwardly from a rear wall from the debris chamber base to releasably engage with the base release button located on the rear face of the debris chamber handle in order to allow for easy removal of the debris chamber from the chassis of the cleaner while preventing the contents of the chamber from being released either during operation or before the user takes it to an appropriate place the empty the debris chamber.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Renaud discloses
A robotic pool cleaner comprising:
a chassis (300) having a bottom portion (311) and a top portion (320), the bottom portion having at least one suction port (313) and the top portion having at least one discharge port (122);
a plurality of front wheels (330) or tracks (365) or rear wheels or tracks (Wheels 330, comprises front wheels 340f and rear wheels 340r) supporting the chassis;
a drive motor coupled to the plurality of wheels or tracks;
a pump motor (360);
a motor housing (361) secured within the chassis having a watertight seal around the drive motor and the pump motor positioned within the motor housing (motor housing is sealed as discussed in Para [0144] “It is undesirable for the cleaner to continue to operate while out of the water because the cleaner could potentially overheat due to a lack of cooling water, destroy seals on the impeller motor 360, overload the drive motor gear assembly 367 and would waste electrical power and pool cleaning time.”);
a pump housing (362, additionally see Para [0123] “FIGS. 22-31 show an alternative embodiment of a cleaner 300 in accordance with the present disclosure having variations relative to the cleaner 100 disclosed above.” and “As can be appreciated from FIGS. 22-28, the cleaner 300 has many components in common with the cleaner 100 described above. For example, the base 311, the motive/drive elements, such as wheel assemblies 330, drive belts 365 and rear roller/scrubber 340r, the cleaning/filtering apparatus and function including the impeller motor 360, intake apertures 313, intake channels 353, filter assembly 350 impeller assembly 362, vent channel 352 are all substantially the same and operate the in the same manner as in cleaner 100.” Linking components 100 series components to 300 series components between embodiments) secured adjacent to the motor housing and having a first free end and a second opposing end coupled to the at least one discharge port (See 362 connected to outlet portion 352 and 322 in Fig. 28), the pump housing (362) having an aperture configured to assist with priming (Space in 362 forms an aperture that is capable of assisting with primary);
an impeller (162c) positioned proximal to the first free end of the pump housing and coupled to the pump motor (see Fig. 11, showing impeller 162c proximal to the first free end);
a debris chamber (151) removably attached (First see Para [0106] “Furthermore, the motor drive assembly 160 is configured and dimensioned such that cavity space remains in the housing assembly 110 for the filter assembly 150.” See Para [0095] “Note, however, that other joining mechanisms, e.g., pivot mechanism, a sliding mechanism, etc., may be used, provided that the joining mechanism effect a removable relationship between the lid 121 and housing assembly 110. In this regard, a user may advantageously change the lid assembly 120 back and forth between an open position and a closed position, and it is contemplated that the lid assembly 120 can be provided so as to be removably securable to the housing assembly 110.” Debris chamber 151 is in the housing assembly 110 which is removable from the lid 120 which is the components equivalent to 320) to the top portion of the chassis (320), the debris chamber coupled to the at least one suction port (See Exploded view in Fig. 2 showing the housing 160 positioned below the slot of 150);
wherein the impeller is configured to vacuum pool water through the at least one suction port, through the debris chamber, and out through the at least one discharge port (See Para [0105] “The impeller unit 162 acts as a pump for the cleaner 100, drawing water through the filter assembly 150 and pushing filtered water out through the filtration vent shaft. An exemplary filtration flow path for the cleaner 100 is designated by directional arrows depicted in FIG. 11.”).
But does not disclose a plurality of drive motors of drive motors coupled to the plurality of wheels or tracks
However, Miller, discloses a similar pool cleaner with a plurality of drive motors (See Para [0069] “In some embodiments, the wheels 40, 42 are driven by a drive system that includes two motors 400, as shown in FIG. 13, and a plurality of gears, as shown in FIGS. 14 and 15. The drive system is further illustrated in FIG. 19 with side wall 28 omitted to depict additional detail. The motors 400 are controlled by the controller 102 according to one or more control algorithms. Each set of wheels 40, 42 (e.g., right side and left side) is controlled by one of the motors 400, and each set of wheels 40, 42 (e.g., right side and left side) includes a plurality of gears positioned on inner and outer sides of the respective side wall 28, 30.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the robotic pool cleaner of Renaud as modified to include a plurality of drive motors for each side, as Renaud disclose that balancing weight with respect to the motor box, impeller motor, and drive motor and gear assembly is a concern (See Renaud Para [0127]), and utilizing two motors on each side instead of a single motor would assist in balancing the weight of the robotic pool cleaner.
Regarding Claim 17, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition discloses further comprising a pump housing extension (162A, See Para [0123] linking the pump housing extension between embodiments) coupled to the first free end of the pump housing to create a space between the impeller and the first free end to promote prime upon start-up (See Para [0105] “In exemplary embodiments, the impeller unit 162 includes an impeller 162C, an apertured support 162A (which defines intake openings below the impeller 162C), and a duct 162B (which houses the impeller 162C and forms a lower portion of the filtration vent shaft).” Discussing the pump housing extension having an aperture which would be capable of promoting prime on start-up).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified in claim 15 and in further view of Stoltz (US 20070094817 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 15 however does not explicitly disclose further comprising a pressure equalization chamber having a diaphragm dividing the pressure equalization chamber into an inner portion and an outer portion, the inner portion in communication with an interior of the motor housing and the exterior portion in communication with an exterior of the chassis.
However, Stoltz discloses a similar pool cleaner a motor chamber with a pressure equalization chamber (412) having a diaphragm (410) dividing the pressure equalization chamber into an inner portion and an outer portion, the inner portion in communication with an interior of the motor housing and the exterior portion in communication with an exterior of the chassis (See Para [0086] “The pressure equalization membrane 410 comprises a resilient bulb-shaped wall carried within a ported side chamber 412 on the pump housing, with one side of the membrane exposed to water within the pool cleaner 10, and the opposite side exposed to the pump interior.”);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the to include a pressure equalization chamber as described in Stoltz as doing so would assist in preventing undesirable water ingestion into a motor housing as advantageously suggested by Stoltz, See Para [0086] “With this construction, as the pump interior temperature increases during drive motor operation for rotatably driving the impeller 124, the membrane 410 flexibly deforms (dotted line position in FIG. 28) to prevent pressure increase within the pump housing interior. Thereafter, as the interior temperature decreases following cessation of pump drive motor operation, the membrane again flexibly deforms to prevent a vacuum (relative to the surrounding pool water) within the pump housing interior. Thus, the deformable membrane 410 effectively maintains the pressure within the pump housing interior substantially equal to the surrounding water pressure, thereby preventing pressure differentials which can contribute to undesired water ingestion into the pump housing interior.”.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified in claim 15 and in further view of Witelson (US 20190040641 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition discloses wherein the programmable controller is further configured with program instructions to perform an automatic pump down of the debris chamber when the robotic pool cleaner is removed from a pool.
However, Witelson discloses a similar robotic pool cleaner Wherein the programmable controller is further configured with program instructions to perform an automatic replacement of the debris chamber and filter (See Para [0338] “The docking station may extract from a cleaning robot a debris or dirt container (debris, dirt, refuse, trash are regarded here as equivalents) and replace the used debris or dirt container with a new, unused debris or dirt container. This may save the need for complicated automatic container emptying and/or cleaning on board a cleaning robot docking or servicing station. The end user may stack empty and unused debris or dirt containers in a docking station while its manipulators empty used debris or dirt container. This may increase the mean time between servicing. The filter elements may be constructed of biodegradable material that may further facilitate the discarding of said used filter elements.” And Para [0243] “The underwater station filter manipulation module 760 may include at least one out of [0244] a. In-housing manipulator 711 for manipulating filters within housing 250. [0245] b. Filter manipulators such as 260, 262 and 264. Each may include movement modules (261, 263, 265 and 275) and storage modules (272 and 270). [0246] i. Filter manipulator 260 is arranged to store and manipulate pre-used filters (including inserting the pre-used filters to a pool cleaning robot 100, providing and/or arranging filters to/within filter storage module 272, ejecting filters from a pool cleaning robot (see, arm 261 of FIGS. 6A and 6B). [0247] ii. Filter manipulator 262 is arranged to store and manipulate used-filters (extract from pool cleaning robot, direct used filter towards housing and/or compressor or other processing element). See, for example, FIGS. 6A-6B. [0248] iii. Filter manipulator 264 is arranged to store and manipulate filters. See, for example, FIGS. 7A-7D.”).
And Miller discloses a similar robotic cleaner configured to perform an automatic pump down of the debris chamber when the robotic pool cleaner is removed from a pool (See Para [0075] “When the pool cleaner 20 is deactivated and removed from the aquatic environment, water remains within the housing 22. As shown in FIGS. 17 and 18, the pool cleaner 20 includes one or more one-way valves 600 that may allow water within the pool cleaner 20 to drain from the pool cleaner 20… More particularly, when the pool cleaner 20 is picked up by the handle 200 (i.e., with the longitudinal axis 270 of the pool cleaner 20 aligned vertically), the pressure of the water “opens” (e.g., moves) the second segment 624 of the valve flap 620, allowing water to drain through the channels 618 and out the cavity 616.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the robotic pool cleaner of Renaud as modified such that wherein the programmable controller is further configured with program instructions to perform an automatic pump down of the debris chamber when the robotic pool cleaner is removed from a pool as doing so would be a matter of automating the manual task of emptying the debris chamber of the robotic pool cleaner. And the automation of a manual task has been held to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention. See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (US 20140259464 A1) in view of Miller (US 20200095792 A1) as modified in claim 15 and in further view of Witelson (US 20190040641 A1) as modified in Claim 18 and in further view of Masito (US 20110197932 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Renaud as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 18 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one sensor configured to detect a chassis attitude and movement profile inconsistent with wall climbing during a normal cleaning operation to activate the program instructions for the automatic pump down.
However, Mastio discloses a similar robotic pool cleaner comprising a controller and sensor configured to detect a chassis attitude and movement profile inconsistent with wall climbing during a normal cleaning operation (Para [0031] “In this manner, advantageously and according to the invention, the processing unit comprises an event detection module which is adapted to detect, from said data representative of the angular orientation of each fixed direction relative to the vertical, the occurrence of at least one predetermined event relating to the movement of the apparatus. Such an event is selected, for example, from the following events: climbing an inclined wall; climbing an inclined wall in accordance with an incline which does not correspond to the greatest incline; risk of the cable becoming entangled; detection of the quality of the coating of the immersed surface by measuring a rate of rotational sliding; arrival of the apparatus at the base wall and measurement of the depth of the pool; inversion of the apparatus; abnormal position of the apparatus (for example, on its back); arrival of the apparatus at the water line; arrival of the apparatus in contact with a non-horizontal wall (lateral vertical wall or inclined wall), etc”) to activate program instructions to activate a pump down (See Para [0086] and Para [0087] “This processing unit 81 comprises an event detection module 82 and a module 83 for controlling the motors of the apparatus. The event detection module 82 receives the three signals transmitted by the accelerometer 80 corresponding to the instantaneous measurements of the amplitude of the three components Gx, Gy, Gz of the acceleration of gravity {right arrow over (G)} along the three orthogonal axes X, Y and Z. These components are representative of the angular orientation of each axis X, Y, Z, respectively, relative to the vertical. The event detection module 82 records these three components Gx, Gy, Gz of the acceleration of gravity {right arrow over (G)} over time and analyzes these variations. It carries out tests to determine whether or not these variations correspond to predetermined events.
After a predetermined event has been detected by the event detection module 82, it sends to the control module 83 a signal which identifies this event which has been detected. The control module 83 processes control signals for the various motors of the apparatus, in particular at least the electric drive motors 20a, 20b and preferably also the electric pumping motor 12.” And Para [0084] “According to a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a motorized liquid pumping device which comprises an electric pumping motor 12 which has a rotating drive shaft which is coupled to an axial pumping propeller 14 which is rotated by the motor 12 about an axis. The propeller 14 is interposed in the hydraulic circuit in order to generate therein a flow of liquid between the liquid inlet 9 and the liquid outlet 10. The liquid outlet 10 is directly opposite the pumping propeller so that the liquid flows out of the liquid outlet 10 in a direction which corresponds to the liquid flow generated by the pumping propeller, this flow having a speed which is orientated in accordance with the rotation axis of the propeller 14. Liquid passes into the hollow body 1 via the liquid inlet 9 arranged below the apparatus. That liquid passes into a liquid intake column 15 in order to reach the filtering device 11. This filtering device 11 allows the liquid to pass via the filtering material and retains the solid debris 60. The filtered liquid reaches the liquid outlet 10 and is discharged at the rear of the apparatus into the pool from which it originates.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the robotic pool cleaner of Renaud as modified such that further comprising at least one sensor configured to detect a chassis attitude and movement profile inconsistent with wall climbing during a normal cleaning operation to activate the program instructions for the automatic pump down. as doing so would be a matter of automating the manual task of emptying the debris chamber of the robotic pool cleaner. And the automation of a manual task has been held to be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention. See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Conclusion
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723