DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwan (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0094140 A1).
As per claim 1, Kwan discloses a computer-implemented method executed by data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations (abstract) comprising: receiving a set of images captured from locations within an environment (paragraph [0006]: an automated mobile platform captures images using a digital camera and transits the images to a computer in a retail location 102 as shown in figure 1), the environment comprising items of interest (the retail location 102 comprises products in paragraph [0016] with product visual information); detecting, using one or more vision processing techniques (image recognition module 402 in figure 4 for vision processing techniques of OCR and barcode image processing), the items of interest within the set of images (the products in the images are recognized); for each respective item of interest, determining, based on the set of images, corresponding coordinates that represent a location of the respective item of interest within the environment (paragraph [0018]: location information for objects such as price labels, signs, markers are recognized and also used to for the mobile platform navigation); receiving, from a user, a request for one of the items of interest; and transmitting, to the user, the corresponding coordinates for the one of the items of interest (paragraph [0035]-[0036], the employee may request product pricing and inventory information, “The price and product information maintenance module 408 suitably constructs and updated the exceptions log 144 as well as an update file 414, both of which may be retrieved and reviewed at any time, or may be transmitted to an appropriate employee, such as an employee having a responsibility to maintain price labels”).
As per claim 2, Kwan discloses wherein detecting, using the one or more vision processing techniques, the items of interest within the set of images comprises: detecting a candidate item of interest within the set of images; determining that the candidate item of interest is not present in a threshold number of images of the set of images; and based on determining that the candidate item of interest is not present in the threshold number of images of the set of images, removing the candidate item of interest from the items of interest (paragraph [0016]: “If the image information can be sufficiently finely resolved, a count of the number of units of a product that are present can be made”, and the image information is a moving video clip or a collection of still frames of objects of interest. The number of units of product in the collection of frames is compared against the inventory record to determine the inventory depletion rate or theft as explained in paragraph [0003]. The “objects of interest” are the claimed “candidate item of interest”).
As per claim 3, Kwan discloses wherein the operations further comprise, for each respective item of interest, storing the corresponding coordinates in data storage (paragraph [0018], the location information for objects are recorded for navigation purpose as well as inventory record).
As per claim 5, Kwan discloses wherein determining the corresponding coordinates for the respective item of interest comprises: identifying that an identifier corresponding to the respective item of interest fails to be collocated with the respective item of interest; and determining a relationship between a location of the identifier corresponding to the respective item of interest and a location of the respective item of interest (paragraph [0040]: the shelf label, price label and markers 132 all can be the claimed “identifier” corresponding to location of the object of interest).
As per claim 6, Kwan discloses wherein receiving the set of images comprises receiving the set of images from a camera (paragraph [0006]: an automated mobile platform captures images using a digital camera).
As per claim 7, Kwan discloses wherein each respective image comprises data specifying a corresponding location from which the camera captured the respective image (paragraphs [0022]-[0024]: images captured by the camera on an airship 104 are used to specify location information of labels and markers and other visual references).
As per claim 10, Kwan discloses wherein the operations further comprises, for each respective item of interest, storing a corresponding name associated with the respective item of interest in data storage (figure 4. Price and production information maintenance module 408, price lookup database 120, review log 416 and update file 414 all stores information related to a product of interest).
As per claim 11, see explanation in claim 1. The examiner notes Kwan’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a processor and a memory.
As per claim 12, see explanation in claim 2.
As per claim 13, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 15, see explanation in claim 5.
As per claim 16, see explanation in claim 6.
As per claim 17, see explanation in claim 7.
As per claim 20, see explanation in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 9, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwan in view of Gormish et al (“Gormish” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0178310 A1).
As per claim 4, Kwan teaches using image processing for production information detection from the captured images. However, Kwan does not explicitly teach generating a corresponding bounding box for each respective item of interest.
Gormish teaches a system for detecting items on shelves in a retail store using captured images, which includes employing image processing technique of generating a corresponding bounding box for each respective item of interest as shown in figures 3 and 6 and paragraph [0058].
Kwan and Gormish are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, identifying items on shelves in a retail store.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwan in light of Gormish’s teaching to adapt bounding box imaging technique to segment to the items on shelves in captured images. One would be motivated to do so because it helps the system to group similar items together and easier for inventory tracking.
For claims 8-9, Kwan teaches using a camera for capturing the image data of products on shelves in a retail store. However, Kwan does not explicitly teach “determining, using the data specifying the corresponding locations from which the camera captured the respective image, a camera center of the camera that captured the respective image”; and “wherein the data specifying the corresponding location from which the camera captured the respective image comprises: an x coordinate; a y coordinate; a z coordinate; a pitch coordinate; a yaw coordinate; and a roll coordinate”.
Gormish teaches computing center point of a region of interest in any shape from the captured image data and the image capturing includes orientation data from orientation sensor 245 with three coordinate axes and rotation data for the three coordinate axes (yaw, pitch and roll values) in paragraph [0039].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwan in light of Gormish’s teaching to incorporate camera data in image processing of the products of interest. One would be motivated to do so because it would allow the location of the products of interest to be determined with a higher accuracy.
For claims 18-19, see explanation in claims 8-9 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,051,252 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
All limitations of claims 1-20 are encompassed in claim 1-20 of ‘252 patent.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667