DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action in response to US Patent Application No. 18/776,542, filed 18 July, 2024, with priority to European Application EP 23187138.5 filed 24 July, 2023. All claims 1-19 are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4: A broad limitation together with a narrow limitation that falls within the broad limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “the heat transfer device comprises a pipe” (claim 4, line 2), and the claim also recites “which preferably has a first branch and a second branch, wherein the first branch connects to the first inlet and the second branch connects to the second inlet” (claim 4, lines 2-4) which is the narrower statement of the limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because the term “preferably” raises a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
If the narrower limitation is exemplary, the recitation of the narrower limitation should be omitted from the claim. If the narrower limitation is a required feature of the claim, the claim should be adjusted by removing the term “preferably” and adjusting the language to establish that the pipe comprises the recited structure. For example, claim 4 could be adjusted at line 3 as follows: “…the heat transfer device comprises a pipe, wherein the pipe has a first branch and a…”.
Regarding claims 6-8, the claims each recite a “disk-like shape”, “funnel-like shape”, or a “disk or funnel-like shape” (line 2 of each claim 6-8). The terms “like” as used as a modifier in the claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. Furthermore, the terms “disk-like” and “funnel-like” are not define by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention. For example, it is not clear if a “disk-like shape” could encompass any cylindrical shape, if the term “disk-like” instead encompasses cylindrical shapes meeting a particular height to width ratio, and if so, what threshold ratio would establish the boundaries of the claim. Similarly, it is not clear if a “funnel like” shape could include any shape that tapers along a length thereof, or if a shape must meet a requisite degree of taper to be within the scope of “funnel-like”. Therefore, it is suggested that the limitations “disk-like shape” and “funnel-like shape” be replaced with “disk shape” or “funnel shape”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (CN 116236130 A, published 09 June, 2023; see machine translation included with this correspondence).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng teaches a thermal cleaning and disinfecting device for cleaning and disinfecting medical, surgical, dental, veterinary as well as household items (cleaning machine—title, [0001], [0049]—for dishes, utensils, and other items—see [0002], [0074]), comprising:
a washing chamber (1) for receiving the items to be cleaned and disinfected (box 1 has a cleaning chamber inside—[0050]; items to be cleaned in the cleaning chamber—[0053], [0074]);
a circulating pump (impeller assembly 3, motor 4) for circulating a cleaning and disinfecting liquid (water) (impeller assembly 3 is rotatably disposed below the spray arm 2 and is used to pump water from the bottom of the tank 1 from the inlet 21 into the spray arm 2—[0052]; motor 4 is located at the bottom of the housing 1 and…drives the impeller assembly 3 to rotate, thereby creating a negative pressure at the position of the impeller assembly 3…[so that] the water at the bottom of housing 1 is pumped from the water inlet 21 to the spray arm 2…and the water can be sprayed out from the spray nozzle of the spray arm 2—[0053])
a plurality of orifices (72) arranged in the washing chamber for applying the cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the items to be cleaned and disinfected (multiple spray holes 22 on the top wall of the upper housing of spray arm 2 allow water entering the channel of the spray arm 2 to be sprayed from the spray holes 22 into the cleaning chamber—see [0051]—thereby cleaning the items to be cleaned in the cleaning chamber—see [0053]; a top plate 7 on top of the spray arm 2 forms a cavity 71 with the top wall of the spray arm, the top plate including nozzles 72 corresponding with the locations of the water spray holes 22 so that steam from a steam generator 6 can enter cavity 71 to heat and cavitate the water sprayed by the spray arm 2…spraying it out into the cleaning chamber through the nozzle 72 on the top plate—see [0055]);
a control device (temperature sensor detects whether water temperature in the tank 1 has reached the target temperature set by the cleaning program—[0058]; water temperature in the cleaning chamber is monitored in real time, and steam is introduced into the spray hole 22 of the spray arm 2 to heat the water sprayed from the spray arm 2…the steam supply is stopped [when] the water temperature in the cleaning chamber reaches the target temperature value—[0073], also see [0019], [0021], [0024]-[0025]; although Zheng does not explicitly recite a controller [or computer, processor, or the like], it is fairly implied that the cleaning programs/methods disclosed by Zheng are automatically executed by a control device associated with the cleaning machine, and also the temperature sensor of Zheng otherwise fairly defines a “control device” in the broadest sense because it is a device which provides a signal used to control the application of steam); and
a heating system for heating the cleaning and disinfecting liquid, wherein the heating system connects to the plurality of orifices (steam generated by steam generator 6 enters cavity 71 via channel 41 in the motor 4 and steam pipe 62, wherein the water sprayed from the spray nozzles of the spray arm is heated and cavitated by the steam in the cavity 71, thus forming heated cavitied water which is sprayed out from the nozzle 72 on the top plate 7 into the cleaning chamber—[0055]; thus, at least steam generator 6, cavity 71, and the connections therebetween define a heating system, which output to the plurality of orifices defined by nozzles 72),
wherein the heating system comprises a steam generator (steam generator 6-- [0049], [0054]-[0056], [0059]-[0060]) and a heat transfer device (cavity 71—see [0055] indicating that the water sprayed from the spray nozzle of the spray arm is heated by the steam in cavity 71; the high-temperature steam entering the cavity 71 exchanges heat with the water sprayed from the spray hole 22 of the spray arm, so that the water sprayed from the top plate 7 quickly reaches the target temperature—[0072]),
wherein the heat transfer device (71, 72) is configured to receive steam generated by the steam generator (6) and the cleaning and disinfecting liquid circulated by the circulating pump (see [0055] and [0072], which indicate cavity 71 receives water from spray holes 22 and steam from steam generator 6),
wherein the heat transfer device comprises
a mixing section (cavity 71) in which the steam and the cleaning and disinfecting liquid mix, such that the steam condensates* (see discussion in paragraphs after Figs. 2-3 below) and transfers heat to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid (see [0055] and [0072], which indicate steam transfers heat to cleaning liquid upon mixing in cavity 71), and
an outlet (nozzles 72, or openings in the top plate 7 which lead into nozzles 72) which connects to the plurality of orifices to supply the cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the plurality of orifices (heated and cavitated water sprayed from nozzle 72 into cleaning chamber—[0055]).
Figs. 2-3 below show the arrangement of the cleaning chamber (box 1), steam generator (6), mixing section (cavity 71), and orifices (nozzles 72).
In view of the above, it is found that Zheng teaches all clearly recited structural components of claim 1.
With respect to the claim language indicating that the steam condensates and transfers heat to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid, Zheng clearly teaches the steam transferring heat to the cleaning liquid (high-temperature steam entering cavity 71 exchanges heat with the water sprayed from the spray hole 22—[0072]); Zheng does not explicitly describe the steam condensing (i.e., that the steam condensates). Also, Zheng describes the steam cavitating the cleaning liquid (the steam can also cavitate the water sprayed form the spray arm—[0072]), which necessarily means that the steam does not completely condense (cavitating the water with steam is understood to mean the steam forms small bubbles of steam/water vapor within the liquid water); additionally, it is acknowledged that the relatively small size of the mixing region (cavity 71) of Zheng may not provide sufficient residence time for complete condensation of all of the steam. However, the functional language of claim 1 [with respect to the steam condensing and transferring heat] does not clearly require a configuration which results in complete condensation of the steam. Furthermore, at least under certain operating conditions (e.g., when the cleaning liquid is starting at a cool temperature, and the steam is saturated [i.e., not super-heated]), the mixing of the steam and cleaning liquid within the device of Zheng would reasonably be expected to result in at least some steam condensing within the cavity. Accordingly, Zheng fairly anticipates all features of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 1. Zheng teaches the heat transfer device (cavity 71) comprises a first inlet for the cleaning and disinfecting liquid (spray holes 22) and a second inlet (channel 41) for the steam, wherein the first inlet and the second inlet are distinct inlets which are separated from one another (steam from steam generator 6 enters the cavity 71 through channel 41—[0055], [0072]; water spray hole 22 is located in cavity 71…the water spray from the spray nozzle/hole is heated and cavitated by the steam in the cavity 71—[0055]; thus evident that water enters the cavity 71 through spray holes/nozzles 22 which are distinct and separate from the steam entry channel 41).
Regarding claim 18, the independent method claim represents a method encompassed by ordinary use of the device of claim 1. Accordingly, for similar reasons as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, Zheng fairly teaches a method for heating a cleaning and disinfecting liquid in a thermal cleaning and disinfecting device (cleaning method for a cleaning machine wherein water sprayed from a spray hole exchanges heat with steam inside a cavity and is raised to a target temperature—see [0072]), comprising:
Providing a heating system comprising a steam generator (6) and a heat transfer device (cavity 71) (method of [0072] involves use of a steam generator 6 and heat transfer device as indicated below, such that a step of providing said components is inherent/implied),
Supplying steam generated by the steam generator (6) (high-temperature steam generated by the steam generator 6 enters the cavity 71 at the top of the spray arm through steam pipe 62 and channel 41—[0072]) and supplying cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the heat transfer device (water sprayed from the spray hole 22 of the spray arm 2—[0072]; spray hole 22 is located in the cavity 71…water sprayed form the spray nozzle of the spray arm 2 can be heated and cavitated by the steam int eh cavity 71—[0055]; thus evident water is supplied to cavity 71 via nozzles/holes 22),
Mixing the steam and the cleaning and disinfecting liquid in a mixing section of the heat transfer device (during operation, steam from steam generator 6 enters cavity 71, the water sprayed from the spray nozzle of the spray arm 2 is heated and cavitated by the steam in the cavity 71, forming heated cavitated water which is sprayed out form the nozzle 72 into the cleaning chamber—[0055]), such that the steam condensates and transfers heat to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid (high-temperature steam entering cavity 71 exchanges heat with the water sprayed from the spray hole 22 of the spray arm, so that the water sprayed from the top plate 7 quickly reaches the target temperature—[0072]; as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, regular operation of the device of Zheng fairly encompasses conditions under which at least some of the heat transfer will be associated with condensation of a portion of the steam on contact with the water in the cavity 71).
Regarding claim 19, Zheng teaches the method according to Claim 18. Claim 19 essentially ties the method of claim 18 more closely to the structure of the device of claim 1. Accordingly, see the rejection of claim 1 above regarding how Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device comprises a washing chamber (box 1) for receiving the items to be cleaned and disinfected (box 1 has a cleaning chamber inside—[0050]; items to be cleaned in the cleaning chamber—[0053], [0074]);
a circulating pump (3, 4) for circulating a cleaning and disinfecting liquid (see [0052]-[0053]);
a plurality of orifices (72) arranged in the washing chamber for applying the cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the items to be cleaned and disinfected (cavitated water spayed out from nozzle 72—[0055], see Figs. 2-3);
a control device (temperature sensor—[0058]—used to control steam supply—see [0021], [0073]; also see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a heating system for heating the cleaning and disinfecting liquid, wherein the heating system connects to the plurality of orifices, wherein the heating system comprises a steam generator (6) and a heat transfer device (71), wherein the heat transfer device is configured to receive steam generated by the steam generator and the cleaning and disinfecting liquid circulated by the circulating pump, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a mixing section (71) in which the steam and the cleaning and disinfecting liquid mix, such that the steam condensates and transfers heat to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid, and an outlet which connects to the plurality of orifices to supply the cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the plurality of orifices (see [0055] and [0072] as cited with respect to claims 1 and 18 above, which establish that cavity 71 receives steam from a steam generator 6 and water from spray holes 22, and that cavity 71 facilitates mixing and heat exchange between the steam and water before the fluid[s] are ejected through openings to nozzles 72 and into the cleaning chamber/box 1; at least some steam would be expected to condense upon contact with the water as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 18 above).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Federighi et al. (US 4,235,642).
Regarding claim 18, Federighi teaches a method for heating a cleaning and disinfecting liquid in a thermal cleaning and disinfecting device (dishwasher using steam to heat cold wash and rinse waters and spray them against dishes during the wash and rinse cycles—title), comprising: providing a heating system comprising a steam generator (steam boiler “E”—Fig. 6, column 2, line 29) and a heat transfer device (pipe 6—Fig. 6, column 2, lines 34-35), supplying steam generated by the steam generator (E) and cleaning and disinfecting liquid (water) to the heat transfer device (6) (steam valve 43 is opened and steam flows through pipe 2 from boiler E and out through nozzle 3 [into pipe 6] to entrain the cold rinse water from the tank C through the inlet 7 and heat this rinse water—column 4, lines 54-61; also see column 4, lines 28-31, column 2, lines 39-47); mixing the steam and the cleaning and disinfecting liquid in a mixing section (portions of pipe 6 downstream of inlets) of the heat transfer device, such that the steam condensates and transfers heat to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid (see Fig. 6, column 2, lines 39-47, and column 4, lines 28-31 and 54-61, which establish how steam from the steam heater flows into pipe 6 via a nozzle 3 at the end of steam pipe 2, which draws water into the pipe 6 via an inlet 7, and which can also a detergent or rinse aid into the pipe 6 via a separate inlet tube 32, wherein the steam raises the temperature of the water to a target temperature through contact in the pipe 6; as similarly discussed with respect to Zheng above, such operations would reasonably be expected to cause at least some steam to condense).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 116236130 A), as applied to claims 1-2 above, in view of Federighi et al. (US 4,235,642).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 1. Zheng does not teach the outlet of the heat transfer device comprises a single outlet opening which connects to the plurality of orifices.
However, in the analogous art of dishwashing devices (title), Federighi teaches a dishwasher comprising a cleaning chamber (wash/rinse compartment A) arranged over a tank (C) which receives cold water (column 2, lines 16-28), and a steam boiler (E) which provides steam to a pipe (6), the steam in the pipe mixing with and heating water from the tank (C) (column 2, lines 29-53; column 4, lines 25-34). Particularly, the pipe (6) of Federighi defines a heat transfer device comprising a straight pipe (6) having a first end including a distinct water inlet (7), a steam inlet (nozzle 3), and a chemical inlet (36), and a second end with an outlet that leads to a spray arm (F) which disperses the heated cleaning liquid to the washing chamber via a plurality of spray orifices (see Fig. 6 and, e.g., column 4, line 54, through column 5, line 11). The steam draws water and/or sanitizer through the pipe (6), transferring heat thereto (steam will flow through pipe 2 and steam nozzle 3 to entrain the rinse water from the tank C, int the water inlet 7 and hollow body 4 and pipe 6 to heat the rinse water to about 120 °F—column 5, lines 2-7; also see column 4, lines 28-34). The arrangement of Federighi is effective for sterilizing dishes (column 5, lines 14-18); also, a person of ordinary skill in the art may reasonably expect that the extended length of the heat transfer section (pipe 6) of Zheng would allow a greater level of heat transfer from the steam to the water [due to a greater contact time], relative to the device of Zheng.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the device of Zheng such that the heat transfer device and spray arm arrangement of Zheng is substantially replaced with a straight pipe having a plurality of inlet openings at a bottom end and an outlet opening at a top end, the outlet opening leading into a spray arm having a plurality of orifices for guiding cleaning liquid into the washing chamber—as seen in Federighi—for the benefit of enabling introduction of a sanitizing agent into the cleaning liquid for sanitizing items within the washing chamber (consider Zheng at column 5, lines 14-18) and for extending the duration of direct heat transfer between the steam and cleaning liquid for more efficient steam utilization.
Regarding claim 4, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 2. Zheng does not teach the heat transfer device comprises a pipe, which preferably has a first branch and a second branch, wherein the first branch connects to the first inlet (7) and the second branch connects to the second inlet (3). However, as discussed with respect to claim 3 above, Federighi substantially teaches a pipe (6) which facilitates heat transfer between steam and a cleaning liquid, the pipe comprising a first branch and a second branch, wherein the first branch connects to the first inlet and the second branch connects to the second inlet (see Fig. 6: water inlet 7 is defined in a branch at the bottom of pipe 6, and nozzle 3 injects steam into a different branch portion at the bottom of pipe 6); as indicated above, it would be obvious to adopt such an arrangement within the device of Zheng for the benefit of enabling introduction of a sanitizing agent into the cleaning liquid for sanitizing items within the washing chamber and for extending the duration of direct heat transfer between the steam and cleaning liquid for more efficient steam utilization.
Regarding claim 5, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 3. Zheng does not teach the heat transfer device comprises a straight pipe with a first end having at least one of the first inlet or second inlet and a second end having the outlet and which is opposite the first end. However, as substantially discussed with respect to claims 3-4 above, Federighi teaches a heat transfer device comprising a straight pipe first end having at last one of the first or second inlet and a second end having the outlet and which is opposite the first end (see Fig. 6, as discussed with respect to claims 3-4 above), and it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device Zheng to incorporate the arrangement of the heat transfer device and spray bar of Federighi for the benefit of enabling introduction of a sanitizing agent (consider Zheng at column 5, lines 14-18) and extending the duration of heat transfer between the steam and water for more efficient steam utilization.
Regarding claim 6, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 1. Zheng is not entirely clear in conveying the shape of the cavity (71), and thus does not teach the heat transfer device (71) comprises a disk-like shape or a funnel-like shape.
However, as discussed with respect to claims 3-5 above, Federighi teaches a heat transfer device within a dishwashing apparatus comprising a cylindrical pipe (6) (cylindrical hollow body 4 carried by the bottom wall 5 of the tank C has a pipe 6 connected thereto—column 2, lines 32-35), wherein it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art configure the device of Zheng to incorporate the arrangement of the heat transfer device of Federighi for the benefit of enabling introduction of a sanitizing agent (consider Zheng at column 5, lines 14-18) and extending the duration of heat transfer between the steam and water for more efficient steam utilization (see rejection of claims 3-5 above). Thus modified, the heat transfer device of modified Zheng includes a pipe (6) with a cylindrical mixing section. As indicated in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, the precise meaning of the terms disk-like shape and funnel-like shape are not clearly set forth; as presented, it is determined that a cylindrical shape can reasonably be considered “disk-like”. Therefore, the cylindrical shape of the modified heat transfer device of Zheng fairly defines a disk-like shape.
Regarding claim 7, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 1. Although Zheng does not clearly indicate that the mixing section comprises a disk-like shape or a funnel-like shape, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zheng in view of Federighi and arrive at mixing section having a cylindrical shape—which reasonably constitutes a disk-like shape—for substantially the same reasons as set forth with respect to claim 6 above (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng in view of Federighi teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 6. The modified device of Zheng fairly includes a body of the heat transfer device having the disk-like shape is arranged in a plane (a plane can be defined along any portion of the pipe of the modified invention). Zheng and Federighi do not clearly suggest that the outlet extends along an axis which is disposed at an angle to the plane. However, the rearrangement of parts can be obvious absent persuasive evidence of significance; see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) as cited in MPEP 2144.04(VI.)(C.). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device of Zheng such that an outlet of the heating system extends along a direction which is skew from a plane of heat transfer device for the benefit of optimizing a delivery angle of cleaning liquid from the spray arms for enhanced coverage of areas within the washing chamber (e.g., spray bars which are tilted up or down may offer different spray patterns characteristics which could be favorable). This finding of obviousness will be reconsidered should the claimed arrangement of the outlet with respect to a plane of the heat transfer device be shown to yield a new or unexpected result (or otherwise have a significant impact on device operations), and should the issues of definiteness raised with respect to the term “disk or funnel-like shape” be appropriately addressed.
Regarding claim 14, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 1. Zheng does not particularly teach wherein the control device is configured to control the supply of a cleaning or disinfecting agent to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid.
However, in the analogous art of dishwashing devices (title), Federighi teaches a dishwasher with a cleaning chamber (wash/rinse compartment A) arranged over a tank (C) which receives cold water (column 2, lines 16-28) and a steam boiler (E) which provides steam to pipe (6), the steam in the pipe mixing with and heating water from the tank (C) (column 2, lines 29-53; column 4, lines 25-34). Federighi further teaches a valve (44) which can be opened to feed chlorine into the rinse water, the valve acting in response to a control arrangement (at the start of rinse cycle…steam flows from the boiler “E” to entrain cold rinse water from the tank through the inlet 7 and heats this rinse water to about 120 °F…at the same time a sanitizing liquid agent valve 44…is opened in response to a cam 46 having a low portion “d” which opens a micro switch 47 for about three seconds—column 4, lines 54-66; control arrangement comprises a timer motor “G” which rotates a shaft 8 having a set of cams [9, 12, 25, 36, 33, 46] mounted on the shaft when a starting switch 10 is depressed—see column 2, lines 53-68—the cams including low or high portions [a, b, c, d] which cause a set of micro switches [11, 13, 26, 34, 37, 47] to open or close and thereby change the open or close state of a solenoid valve—see Fig. 6, column 4, line 21, through column 5, line 2). The control arrangement of Federighi allows a sufficient volume of chlorine to be fed into the rinse water to effectively sterilize dishes within the dishwasher (column 5, lines 11-18).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the device of Zheng with a control device configured to control the supply of a cleaning or disinfecting agent (chlorine) to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid (water), as seen in Federighi, for the benefit of feeding a sufficient volume of disinfectant into the cleaning liquid for sterilizing items within the cleaning chamber (see Federighi at column 5, lines 11-18) .
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 116236130 A).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 1. Zheng further teaches wherein the control device is configured to control the generation of steam and/or the supply of steam to the heat transfer device (introducing high-temperature steam until target temperature is reached—see [0025]; temperature sensor is installed at the bottom of the chamber to detect when the water temperature has reached the target temperature set by the cleaning program—[0037], [0058]; three-way valve 8 is controlled to open the steam pipe 62…during the steam introduction process, the flow rate of high-temperature steam and the water intake of spray arm 2 are controlled to control the water sprayed into the cleaning chamber to reach the target temperature—[0072]). From the cited portions of Zheng ([0025], [0058], [0072]), it is evident the device of Zheng is configured to control a supply of steam to the heat transfer device (cavity 71) by adjusting a valve (8) based on a signal from a temperature sensor. To the extent Zheng is not explicitly clear in establishing that such function is accomplished by a control device, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to automate the functions described by Zheng by way of a generic “control device” as claimed for the benefit of achieving target temperature conditions for a cleaning process without necessitating direct human input or close supervision; see MPEP 2144.04(III.) regarding the obviousness of automating a manual activity.
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 9. Zheng further teaches a temperature sensor which is configured to determine the temperature of the cleaning and disinfecting liquid (temperature sensor—[0037], [0058]). As indicated above, the temperature sensor of Zheng is fairly indicate to operate by sending a temperature signal indicative of the temperature of the cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the control device, such that the control device controls the generation of steam and/or supply of steam to the heat transfer device based on the temperature signal indicative of the temperature of the cleaning and disinfecting liquid (temperature sensor detects whether water temperature in tank 1 has reached target temperature set by the cleaning program—[0058]; three-way valve is controlled to open the steam pipe 62…the flow rate of high-temperature steam is controlled during the steam introduction process to reach the target temperature—[0072]; water temperature in the cleaning chamber is monitored in real time, and steam is introduced to heat the water…until the water temperature reaches the target temperature value—[0073]; as discussed with respect to claim 9 above, it is reasonably implied and otherwise obvious to configure the device of Zheng such that a control device adjusts the valve 8 based on signals from the temperature sensor).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 10. Zheng further teaches the temperature sensor ([0037], [0058]) is arranged at a bottom of the washing chamber to measure the temperature of the cleaning and disinfecting liquid at the bottom of the washing chamber (temperature sensor is installed at the bottom of the tank 1…to detect the water temperature in the tank 1—[0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 10. Zheng further teaches the temperature sensor is arranged at a collecting tank of the washing chamber to measure the temperature of the cleaning and disinfecting liquid at the bottom of the washing chamber (temperature sensor is installed at the bottom of the tank 1…to detect the water temperature in the tank 1—[0058]; at [0052] and [0053] it is indicated that water is pumped from the bottom of the tank 1, such that it is evident water collects at the bottom of the tank 1 and thus the bottom of tank 1 fairly defines a “collecting tank”, especially since claim 12 does not further define a structure or arrangement of the claimed collecting tank).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 8. Zheng further teaches a control valve (8) arranged between the steam generator (6) and the heat transfer device (71) and controllable by the control device to control the supply of steam to the heat transfer device (three-way valve 8 is controlled to open the steam pipe 62—[0072]; see Figs. 2-3 showing arrangement of valve 8 at connection between steam pipe 62 which receives steam from steam generator 6, and conduit 41 which can deliver steam into cavity 71; as discussed above, it is reasonably implied or otherwise obvious to configure the device of Zheng such that the control of the valve is performed by a control device).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 116236130 A) in view of Federighi et al. (US 4,235,642), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Peukert et al. (US 2010/0071725 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng in view of Federighi teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 14. Zheng and Federighi do not particularly suggest a sensor for determining the concentration of the cleaning or disinfecting agent in the cleaning and disinfecting liquid and which is configured to send a concentration signal indicative of the concentration of the cleaning or disinfecting agent in the cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the control device, such that the control device controls the supply of cleaning or disinfecting agent to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid based on the concentration signal.
However, in the analogous art of dishwashing devices (title, abstract), Peukert teaches a dishwasher which subjects dishware to a rinse liquid including a disinfectant ([0021]), wherein a concentration of the disinfectant in the rinse water can be detected by a sensor ([0032]; sensor 364—[0069]; see claim 6) and a control system can generate a signal when the concentration deviates from a desired range and a regulation system can make adjustments so that the concentration is readjusted to the desired value ([0033]; metering by means of signals form sensor 364 can be controlled or regulated by the control system 312 or the regulation system 314—[0070]; see claim 12). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device of Zheng to include a sensor for determining the concentration of the cleaning or disinfecting agent in the cleaning and disinfecting liquid and which is configured to send a concentration signal indicative of the concentration of the cleaning or disinfecting agent in the cleaning and disinfecting liquid to the control device, such that the control device controls the supply of cleaning or disinfecting agent to the cleaning and disinfecting liquid based on the concentration signal—as seen in Peukert—for the benefit of ensuring that a target level of disinfectant remains in the cleaning liquid to ensure proper cleaning and disinfection of dishware or other items can occur (Peukert: required concentration of sanitizer for correct operation—[0011]; concentrations which have to be complied with for correct operation—[0052]).
Regarding claim 16, Zheng in view of Federighi and Peukert teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 15. Zheng and Federighi do not teach a concentration sensor. Although although Peukert does teach a concentration sensor, Peukert does not particularly suggest that the sensor for determining the concentration is arranged at the bottom of the washing chamber to measure the concentration of the cleaning or disinfecting agent in the cleaning and disinfecting liquid at the bottom of the washing chamber.
However, as discussed with respect to claims 9-13 above, Zheng teaches a similar control arrangement for the temperature of the cleaning liquid ([0072]-[0073] discuss controlling a steam supply by adjusting a valve to achieve a target temperature based on temperature measurements), wherein the temperature sensor is positioned at a bottom portion of the washing chamber (temperature sensor is installed at the bottom of the tank 1…to detect the water temperature in the tank 1—[0058]) and the cleaning liquid collects in a collecting portion at a bottom of the washing chamber (at [0052] and [0053] it is indicated that water is pumped from the bottom of the tank 1, such that it is evident water/cleaning liquid collects at the bottom of the tank 1). It is understood that within the device of Zheng, liquid is recycled in a loop begging at the bottom of the tank, progressing to the heat transfer device, out the spray nozzles, to the items to be disinfected, and back to the bottom of the tank; thus, conditions of the liquid at the bottom of the tank correspond with the conditions of liquid which was and which will be applied to the items to be sanitized. Accordingly, when modifying Zheng in view of Peukert as set forth with respect to claim 15 above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to position the concentration sensor at a bottom of the washing chamber for the benefit of positioning the concentration sensor at a position where it will be in contact with cleaning liquid that has been and will be applied to the items to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 17, Zheng in view of Federighi and Peukert teaches the thermal cleaning and disinfecting device according to Claim 15. The language of claim 17 is similar to claim 16 except it refers to a collecting tank of the washing chamber. Since the structure of said collecting tank is not particularly limited by the claim, the bottom portion of the washing chamber of Zheng fairly defines a collecting chamber because it defines a region wherein water/cleaning liquid collects. Thus, for substantially the same reasons as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when modifying Zheng in view of Peukert as set forth with respect to claim 15 to arrange the sensor for determining the concentration at the collecting tank of the washing chamber to measure the concentration of the cleaning or disinfecting agent in the cleaning and disinfecting liquid at the bottom of the washing chamber. As indicated above, such positioning advantageously places the concentration sensor at a position where it will be in contact with cleaning liquid that has been and will be applied to the items to be cleaned.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2,392,540 A teaches a fluid spraying device for a dishwashing apparatus (tittle) wherein a washing fluid in a compartment (54) comprising a solution of soap and water is heated by live steam injection (column 3, lines 6-9).
/BRADY C PILSBURY/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797