DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN217403916, translation provided) in view of Andrews et al. (US20210340486).
Claim 1: Wang teaches gas detection equipment (analyzer 18) including a sampling assembly (chassis 1, Figs. 1-4) including a plurality of sampling inlets (sampling air inlets 4, Fig. 3), a solenoid valve assembly (solenoid valve set 13 including V1-V6, Fig. 4) and a sampling outlet (air outlet 6), the plurality of sampling inlets being configured to be in communication with a plurality of detected gas sources (the twelve sampling gas inlets 4 are used for connecting gas sampling pipelines of different sampling points; middle pg. 6), respectively, the solenoid valve assembly being connected between the plurality of sampling inlets and the sampling outlet (the electromagnetic valves V1-V6 are between the inlets ), the solenoid valve assembly being configured to selectively control at least one of the plurality of sampling inlets to be communicated with or discommunicated from the sampling outlet (the solenoid valves are controlled such that the inlets 4 are connected to the outlet 6 and analyzer 18; pg. 7).
Wang fails to teach that the sampling assembly is attached to a main body and a plurality of sampling assemblies detachably connected to the main body.
However, Andrews teaches a main body (rack 205) including a plurality of sampling assemblies (disposable cassettes 107, 111) are housed within enclosures 401, enclosures 401 are grouped to form a row 207 of rack 205; Fig. 1B [0091] ). The Rack 205 can include functional blocks (rows 207) which can provide mounting for modules 116A, 118A [0073] including the cassettes 107, 111 to be detachably mounted therein ([0173]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a housing wherein the assemblies can be detachably mounted, as taught by Andrews, in order to provide common rails for pneumatic, electrical, and control communication connection (Andrews [0071]).
Claim 4: Wang in view of Andrews teaches the device of claim 1. Wang fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of sampling assemblies is detachably and slidably disposed on the main body.
However, Andrews teaches that the cassettes (107/111, 699/700) are detachably and slidably mounted in a thermal enclosure 101A, Figs. 1B, 14-D2, 14E, [0012, 0167-0169].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to mount the assemblies of claim 1 slidably and detachably, as taught by Andrews, in order to facilitate insertion and removal of the cassette/assembly into a correct position by sliding into an accommodating access panel (Andrews, [0169]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Andrews further in view of Bak (KR101930219, translation provided).
Claim 2: Wang in view of Andrews teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the plurality of sampling inlets of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies are protrusive out beyond the main body, and the sampling outlet of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies is located within the main body.
However, Bak teaches a gas sampling apparatus including a plurality of samplers 100a, 100b, a cabinet (pg. 12, tenth full paragraph), and an analyzer 200, Fig. 9. The samplers are housed within a main body (housing 102 or cabinet, pg. 12) wherein the sampling inlets (collecting pipes 110 and exposed input ports 121) are protrusive outside of the housing 102, Figs. 9 and 11, and the outlet (sampling pipe 150) is located within the main body.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the inlets of the assemblies outside of the housing and the outlet of the assemblies within the housing in order to utilize a single component in order to supply the collected samples to an analyzer (Bak, end pg. 9- top pg. 10).
Claim 3: Wang in view of Andrews teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of sampling assemblies further includes a cleaning inlet, the cleaning inlet is in communication with the solenoid valve assembly, and the cleaning inlet is in communication with a cleaning gas source.
However, Bak teaches a cleaning inlet (third input port 181 and cleaning gas pipe 180) in communication with a cleaning gas source (cleaning system for supplying a cleaning substance such as an inert gas, middle pg. 9) and valve assembly (cleaning gas control valve 183, among additional valves throughout Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a cleaning inlet and cleaning gas source, as taught by Bak, with the device of claim 1, in order to controllably purge the sampling pipes (Bak, end pg. 10- top pg. 11).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Andrews further in view of Keller (US20180000463).
Claim 7: Wang in view of Andrews teaches the gas detection equipment of claim 1, but fails to teach at least one rail assembly, wherein the at least one rail assembly is arranged between the main body and at least one of the plurality of sampling assemblies, each of the at least one rail assembly includes a first rail and a second rail, the main body includes the first rail, and at least one of the plurality of sampling assemblies includes the second rail which is slidably connected to the first rail.
However, Keller teaches a body 82 and base 70 which are removably coupled together such that the base 70 can be inserted into and removed from the guide slot 88 of the base 82, Figs. 5-6, 8A-8F. The guide slot 88 receives a guide rail 75 of the base 70. Therefore, it is known in the art to detachably and slidably connect two elements using guide rails (slot and rail).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to slidably couple the assemblies claim 1 using mating rails, as taught by Keller, in order to prevent inadvertent removal of the inserted assembly (Keller [0080]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Andrews further in view of Keller further in view of Schmid (US5626406).
Claim 8: Wang in view of Andrews further in view of Keller teaches the gas detection equipment of claim 7, but fails to teach wherein the first rail includes a first limitation unit, the second rail includes a second limitation unit, each of the plurality of sampling assemblies is movable relative to the main body in a first direction from a retracted position to a withdrawn position outside the main body, and when at least one of the plurality of sampling assemblies is in the withdrawn position, the second limitation unit is abutted against the first limitation unit in the first direction.
However, Schmid teaches a slide assembly which uses a locking tab 116 and a wedge-shaped latch 120 in order to restrict movement between slides 16 and 18 (Fig. 5). Therefore, it is known to limit sliding moving by using a first limitation (the intermediate slide 16 is restricted from movement (col. 6, lines 25-41) and includes a square hole 90) on a first (stationary) rail and a second limitation unit (latch 120) on a second, retractable rail (chassis slide 18 includes the locking tab 116 including latch 120) which engage in order to limit the retracting/separating movement between the rails (col. 7, lines 5-19). Therefore, it is known in the art to limit guide-rail movement and prevent complete separation of guide rails using limitation units such as latches.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Schmid with the device of claim 7 in order to control extension or retraction of the slide/guide/rail members relative to each other (Schmid col. 1, lines 16-19).
Claim 9: Wang in view of Andrews further in view of Keller further in view of Schmid teaches the device of claim 8. Wang in view of Andrews further in view of Keller fails to teach wherein the second limitation unit is movable between a locked position and a release position, when the second limitation unit is in the locked position, the second limitation unit is abutted against the first limitation unit in the first direction, and when the second limitation unit is in the release position, the second limitation unit does not abut the first limitation unit in the first direction.
However, Schmid teaches wherein the second limitation unit (latch 120) is movable between a locked position and a release position, when the second limitation unit is in the locked position, the second limitation unit is abutted against the first limitation unit in the first direction (when the latch 120 protrudes into and abuts the hole 90, Fig. 5), and when the second limitation unit is in the release position (when the tabs 116 are depressed), the second limitation unit does not abut the first limitation unit in the first direction (end col. 6- top col. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Schmid with the device of claim 8 in order to control extension or retraction of the slide/guide/rail members relative to each other (Schmid col. 1, lines 16-19).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 12 of copending Application No. 18/772866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Pending Claims
18/772866
Claim 1: A gas detection equipment including: a main body; and a plurality of sampling assemblies detachably connected to the main body, each of the plurality of sampling assemblies including a plurality of sampling inlets, a solenoid valve assembly and a sampling outlet, the plurality of sampling inlets being configured to be in communication with a plurality of detected gas sources, respectively, the solenoid valve assembly being connected between the plurality of sampling inlets and the sampling outlet, the solenoid valve assembly being configured to selectively control at least one of the plurality of sampling inlets to be communicated with or discommunicated from the sampling outlet.
Claim 1: A gas detection equipment including: a main body; a plurality of sampling assemblies detachably connected to the main body, each of the plurality of sampling assemblies including a plurality of sampling inlets, a solenoid valve assembly and a sampling outlet, the plurality of sampling inlets being configured to be in communication with a plurality of detected gas sources, respectively, the solenoid valve assembly being configured to be in communication with the plurality of sampling inlets and the sampling outlet, the solenoid valve assembly being configured to selectively control at least one of the plurality of sampling inlets to be communicated with or discommunicated from the sampling outlet; a dispensing device disposed on the main body and in communication with the sampling outlet of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies; a detection device disposed on the main body and in communication with the dispensing device, the dispensing device being configured to selectively control the sampling outlet of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies to be communicated with or discommunicated from the detection device, to detect a gas from each of the plurality of detected gas sources; and a processing unit disposed on the main body, connected to the detection device, and configured to receive detected data from the detection device for calculation and analysis.
Claim 2: The gas detection equipment of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sampling inlets of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies are protrusive out beyond the main body, and the sampling outlet of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies is located within the main body.
Claim 4: The gas detection equipment of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sampling inlets of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies are protrusive out beyond the main body, and the sampling outlet of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies is located within the main body.
Claim 3: The gas detection equipment of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sampling assemblies further includes a cleaning inlet, the cleaning inlet is in communication with the solenoid valve assembly, and the cleaning inlet is in communication with a cleaning gas source.
Claim 7: The gas detection equipment of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sampling assemblies further includes a first cleaning inlet, the first cleaning inlet is in communication with the solenoid valve assembly, the dispensing device further includes a plurality of second cleaning inlets, and the first cleaning inlet and the second cleaning inlet are in communication with a cleaning gas source.
Claim 4: The gas detection equipment of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sampling assemblies is detachably and slidably disposed on the main body.
Claim 2: The gas detection equipment of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sampling assemblies are detachably and slidably disposed on the main body.
Claim 5: The gas detection equipment of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sampling assemblies further includes a dispensing unit, the solenoid valve assembly is arranged between the plurality of sampling inlets and the dispensing unit, the dispensing unit includes a plurality of dispensing inlets, the sampling outlet and a cleaning inlet, the plurality of dispensing inlets are connected between the solenoid valve assembly and the sampling outlet and between the solenoid valve assembly and the cleaning inlet, and the cleaning inlet is in communication with a cleaning gas source.
Claim 12: The gas detection equipment of claim 3, wherein the plurality of sampling inlets of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies are protrusive out beyond the main body, and the sampling outlet of each of the plurality of sampling assemblies is located within the main body; the gas detection equipment further includes a first pump, and the first pump is in communication with the dispensing device to transport the plurality of detected gas sources through the plurality of sampling assemblies to the dispensing device, respectively; the dispensing device includes a plurality of dispensing inlets, and each of the plurality of dispensing inlets is in communication with the sampling outlet of one of the plurality of sampling assemblies; each of the plurality of sampling assemblies further includes a first cleaning inlet, the first cleaning inlet is in communication with the solenoid valve assembly, the dispensing device further includes a plurality of second cleaning inlets, and the first cleaning inlet and the second cleaning inlet are in communication with a cleaning gas source; the gas detection equipment further includes a second pump, and the second pump is configured to transport the cleaning gas source to the first cleaning inlet and the second cleaning inlet; the gas detection equipment further includes a display, and the display is disposed on the main body and in communication with the processing unit to display the calculation and analysis from the processing unit; the gas detection equipment further includes an alerting device, and the alerting device is disposed on the main body and in communication with the processing unit, and the alerting device provides an alert when an abnormal condition occurs; the alerting device is a lighting device.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
No prior art appears to read on the invention of claim 5. However, claim 5 is rejected herein on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claim 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art includes Wang, Andrews and Bak.
Wang in view of Andrews teaches the device of claim 1. Wang teaches an outlet 6 and a plurality of inlets 4 on a same panel 103 of a chassis 101, Fig. 1. Bak teaches a gas sampling apparatus 100 including a first sampler 100a, a second sampler 110b, a cleaning inlet 180, 181, a plurality of sampling inlets 110 and a plurality of valves 125, 132, 181, 182, 184, Figs. 9, 11.
Whether considered alone or in combination, the prior art fails to teach, suggest, or make obvious a dispensing unit as well as the particular arrangement of the solenoid valve assembly between the plurality of sampling inlets and the dispensing unit, the dispensing unit includes a plurality of dispensing inlets, the sampling outlet and a cleaning inlet, the plurality of dispensing inlets are connected between the solenoid valve assembly and the sampling outlet and between the solenoid valve assembly and the cleaning inlet, and the cleaning inlet is in communication with a cleaning gas source.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would not modify the device of Wang to include a dispensing unit or move the outlet 6 to a location opposite without hindsight. Likewise, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would not modify the device of Bak to include a dispensing unit nor move the cleaning inlet to a position opposite without hindsight.
Claim 5 would be allowable if the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is overcome. Claims 6 and 10 depend from claim 5 but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN F MORELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 6/4/26