DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson (US 6321688 B1) in view of Park et al. (TW I361110 B), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 21, Eriksson discloses a teat washing apparatus for use with robotic milking systems, comprising:
a mounting block (housing 21; Figs. 3C, 3D) having a front surface (Figs. 2a, 2c show housing 21 is a box with a front surface at end of brushes 27 and 29), a rear surface (end wall 58; Figs. 3C, 3D) and a top surface (Figs. 3C, 3D show a top surface in housing 21 with opening);
an air supply mounted on said top surface of said mounting block (Col. 4, lines 30-40; Figs. 4A, 4B show that air outlet slots 45 are configured such that they are operable to deliver laminar air as brushes are making a vertical movement along the teats),
a drive motor supported on said rear surface of said mounting block (Col. 4, lines 51-57);
a pair of counter-rotating roll brushes operatively connected to said drive motor to drive rotation thereof, said pair of counter-rotating roll brushes roll brushes being supported from said front surface of said mounting block in a cantilevered manner (Col. 3, lines 51-57; Figs. 4A, 4B show counter-rotating brushes 27, 29), said mounting block being vertically movable to move said pair of counter-rotating roll members upwardly along a length of teats to apply a sanitizer to the teats, after which the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are configured to move downwardly away from the teats (Col. 4, lines 29-41; Col. 6, lines 28-38); and
Eriksson, however, fails to specifically disclose an air knife, the air knife including a body having a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades oriented in a horizontal array; and simultaneous with the downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes, the air knife is configured to pass a laminar flow of dry filtered air through the longitudinally spaced blades to dry the teats in a single downward motion.
Park teaches an air knife (main body 2, discharge unit 6; Fig. 1) the air knife including a body having a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades oriented in a horizontal array (page 7, lines 7 and 8); and simultaneous with the downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes, the air knife is configured to pass a laminar flow of dry filtered air through the longitudinally spaced blades to dry the teats in a single downward motion (flow control mechanism 8; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of cleaning systems using air before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson to include an air knife, the air knife including a body having a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades oriented in a horizontal array; and simultaneous with the downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes, the air knife is configured to pass a laminar flow of dry filtered air through the longitudinally spaced blades to dry the teats in a single downward motion, as taught by the air knife of Park. The air knife would lead to more effective airflow delivery, which would improve the overall cleaning characteristics of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 22, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 20, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the longitudinally spaced blades are in a horizontal array (Figs. 2 and 3 show blades arrayed horizontally).
Regarding claim 23, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 21, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein the body of the air knife has forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension to accommodate the plurality of longitudinally spaced blades (Fig. 5 shows discharge unit 6 has forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension, with blades in between side members).
Regarding claim 26, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 21.
Eriksson discloses wherein said pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are vertically movable along said teats for at least two passes, a first pass cleaning said teats of dirt and debris while a second pass applies a sanitizing solution to the cleaned teats (Col. 4, lines 29-41).
Claims 1-6, 18-20, 24, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson (US 6321688 B1) in view of Park (TW I361110 B), and Koelmel (US 20150251227 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Eriksson discloses a teat washing apparatus for use with robotic milking systems, comprising:
a mounting block (housing 21; Figs. 3C, 3D) having a front surface (Figs. 2a, 2c show housing 21 is a box with a front surface at end of brushes 27 and 29), a rear surface (end wall 58; Figs. 3C, 3D) and a top surface (Figs. 3C, 3D show a top surface in housing 21 with opening);
a drive motor supported on said rear surface of said mounting block (Col. 4, lines 51-57, “FIG. 3a] shows motor housing 51 and an example of a drive means 55 for rotating brushes 27, 29 [represented by circles for the sake of clarity of illustration in FIGS. 3a] and 3b]]. Motor housing contains a means [not shown] for producing rotary motion such as a pneumatic or fluid powered motor or an electric motor which has a rotatable output shaft 57”);
a pair of counter-rotating roll brushes operatively connected to said drive motor to drive rotation thereof, said pair of counter-rotating roll brushes being supported from said front surface of said mounting block in a cantilevered manner (Col. 3, lines 51-57; Figs. 4A, 4B show counter-rotating brushes 27, 29), said brushes being vertically movable along the length of said teat to affect cleaning and sanitizing thereof (Figs. 4A, 4B and 6A, 6B show vertical movement of brushes along the length of the teat from LO position to UP position); and
an air supply mounted on said top surface of said mounting block and being operable to blow a flow of air from a source of filtered air across an upper surface of said roll brushes to dry said teats, as said brushes are making a vertical movement along said teats to dry fluid from said teats with said flow of air (Col. 4, lines 30-40, “Air outlet slots 45 are connected to a suitable air supply which, in the case that the teat cleaning device 13 is pneumatically powered, could be the same as the power supply 11. Air emitted from outlet slots 45 can be used to speed up drying of washing teats 3. The air can be pre-heated to further speed up the drying time. Starting and stopping of the water, respective, air supply to nozzles 43 and slots 45 and power supply to the brush driving means [described later] can be controlled by an operator by means of one or more triggers 47 or buttons 49 on handle 23 which is mounted at one end of the housing 21;” Figs. 4A, 4B show that air outlet slots 45 are configured such that they are operable to deliver air as brushes are making a vertical movement along the teats),
and wherein the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are configured to move upwardly on the teats to apply a sanitizer to the teats, after which the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes move downwardly away from the teats (Col. 4, lines 29-41; Col. 6, lines 28-38).
Eriksson, however, fails to specifically disclose an air knife, the air knife including a body having forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension to accommodate a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades oriented in a horizontal array, wherein the air knife is positionally secured between a pair of angled brackets to direct a laminar flow of dry filtered air across the pair of counter-rotating brushes; and wherein the air knife is operatively connected to an air compressor through an air hose configured to distribute the flow of dry filtered air under pressure through the longitudinally spaced blades; simultaneous with the downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes, the air knife is configured to pass the laminar flow of dry filtered air through the longitudinally spaced blades to dry the teats in a single downward motion.
Park is in the field of cleaning systems using air and teaches an air knife (main body 2, discharge unit 6; Fig. 1), the air knife including a body having forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension to accommodate a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades oriented in a horizontal array (Fig. 5 shows discharge unit 6 has forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension, with blades in between side members), simultaneous with the downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes, the air knife is configured to pass the laminar flow of dry filtered air through the longitudinally spaced blades to dry the teats in a single downward motion (flow control mechanism 8; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of cleaning systems using air before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson to include an air knife, the air knife including a body having forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension to accommodate a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades oriented in a horizontal array, simultaneous with the downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes, the air knife is configured to pass the laminar flow of dry filtered air through the longitudinally spaced blades to dry the teats in a single downward motion, as taught by the air knife of Park. The air knife would lead to more effective airflow delivery, which would improve the overall cleaning characteristics of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Koelmel is in the field of air knife cleaning systems and teaches wherein the air knife is positionally secured between a pair of angled brackets to direct a laminar flow of dry filtered air across the pair of counter-rotating brushes (opposing side members 196 and 198; fasteners 220; Fig. 1; ¶ 0032, lines 19-24, “the mounting of the air knife assembly with respect to a camera assembly and/or a supporting surface can be implemented using a variety of mechanisms including various mounting holes, fasteners, clamps, brackets, and the like. Such mechanisms can be provided to the bottom/base of the air knife assembly or to another location thereon”); and wherein the air knife is operatively connected to an air compressor through an air hose configured to distribute the flow of dry filtered air under pressure through the longitudinally spaced blades (Fig. 6; ¶ 0021, lines 9-16, “the ports 636, 638 along the end wall 422 are interconnected via a bridging 650, while the ports 626, 628 along opposing end wall 420 are each connected via respective tubes [i.e. gas/fluid conduits] 656, 658 to a pressure source [e.g. an air tank and/or compressor] 660. Each [or both] of the tubes can be independently regulated [on, off, pressure] via a respective valve assembly 666, 668”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of air knife cleaning systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson in view of Park such that the air knife is positionally secured between a pair of angled brackets to direct a laminar flow of dry filtered air across the pair of counter-rotating brushes and wherein the air knife is operatively connected to an air compressor through an air hose configured to distribute the flow of dry filtered air under pressure through the longitudinally spaced blades, as taught by the air knife mounting and compressed air supply of Koelmel. The mounting structure would allow for the air knife to be more securely mounted to the device, and the compressed air supply would allow for further air supply regulation, which would improve the overall function of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 1, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said air knife is positioned to laminarly disperse the dry filtered air flow centrally across said pair of counter-rotating roll brushes (Park; page 7, lines 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 3, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 2, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said body of air knife includes a rearwardly facing connector for connection to a source of dry filtered air (Park; page 6, lines 5-8, “an air inlet H is provided on the inner side of the main body 2 for providing a passage for supplying dry air A [eg, clean dry air] from the outside. The air inlet H passes through one end portion of the main body 2 and extends toward the other side).
Regarding claim 4, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 3, and furthermore, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein said body of said air knife receives a connector that secures said body to said mounting block (mounting plate 172; Fig. 1; ¶ 0032, lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 5, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 4, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said body of said air knife is positionally secured by a pair of angled brackets respectively engaged with said forwardly diverging side members (Koelmel; opposing side members 196 and 198; fasteners 220; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 5, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said body of said air knife directs said dry filtered air from said source of dry filtered air through openings in said body aligned between said longitudinally spaced blades (Park; page 7, lines 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 18, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 1.
Eriksson discloses wherein said pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are vertically movable along said teats for at least two passes, a first pass cleaning said teats of dirt and debris while a second pass applies a sanitizing solution to the cleaned teats (Col. 4, lines 29-41).
Regarding claim 19, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 18.
Eriksson discloses wherein said pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are configured to be withdrawn from said teats after said first pass to be cleaned with water (Col. 4, lines 29-41; Col. 6, lines 28-38).
Regarding claim 20, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 19, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said dry filtered air is configured to pass air through said air knife (Park; main body 2, discharge unit 6; Fig. 1) in the laminar flow as the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are making said second pass to dry said teats of said sanitizing solution (Eriksson; Figs. 4A, 4B show that air outlet slots 45 are configured such that they are operable to deliver air as brushes are making a vertical movement along the teats).
Regarding claim 24, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 21, however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the air knife is positionally secured between a pair of angled brackets to direct the laminar flow of dry filtered air across the pair of counter-rotating brushes.
Koelmel teaches wherein the air knife is positionally secured between a pair of angled brackets to direct the laminar flow of dry filtered air across the pair of counter-rotating brushes (opposing side members 196 and 198; fasteners 220; Fig. 1; ¶ 0032, lines 19-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of air knife cleaning systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson in view of Park such that the air knife is positionally secured between a pair of angled brackets to direct the laminar flow of dry filtered air across the pair of counter-rotating brushes, as taught by the air knife mounting of Koelmel. The mounting structure would allow for the air knife to be more securely mounted to the device, which would improve the overall function of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 25, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 21, however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the air knife is operatively connected to an air compressor through an air hose configured to distribute the laminar flow of dry filtered air under pressure through the longitudinally spaced blades.
Koelmel teaches wherein the air knife is operatively connected to an air compressor through an air hose configured to distribute the laminar flow of dry filtered air under pressure through the longitudinally spaced blades (Fig. 6; ¶ 0021, lines 9-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of air knife cleaning systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson in view of Park such that wherein the air knife is operatively connected to an air compressor through an air hose configured to distribute the laminar flow of dry filtered air under pressure through the longitudinally spaced blades, as taught by the compressed air supply of Koelmel. The compressed air supply would allow for further air supply regulation, which would improve the overall function of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 27, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 25.
Eriksson discloses wherein said pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are configured to be withdrawn from said teats after said first pass so that the pair of counter-rotating roll brushes are cleaned (Col. 4, lines 29-41; Col. 6, lines 28-38).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument on page 7 that “there is no teaching or suggestion within Eriksson or Park of a teat cleaning apparatus that has a pair of counter-rotating brushes configured to move upwardly on the cow’s teats to apply a sanitizer to thereto and then, simultaneous with a downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating brushes, an air knife configured to pass a laminar flow of dry filtered air through longitudinally spaced blades in a horizontal array to dry the teats in a single downward motion,” the Examiner submits that Col. 6, lines 28-38 of Eriksson discloses that the pair of counter-rotating brushes are configured to move upwardly on the cow’s teats, and Col. 4, lines 29-41 discloses the application of sanitizer. Furthermore, Fig. 2 of Park shows that the air knife is “configured to pass a laminar flow of dry filtered air through longitudinally spaced blades in a horizontal array to dry the teats in a single downward motion,” which may occur simultaneous to additional operations including with a downward motion of the pair of counter-rotating brushes.
Regarding the argument on page 7 that “Park fails to teach an air knife mounted on top of a mounting block and which includes diverging side members that terminate in a width direction to accommodate the longitudinally spaced blades in a horizonal array as claimed in Claims 1 and 21. Nor does Park teach or suggest an air knife that produces a laminar flow of dry filtered air through the longitudinally spaced blades to dry a cow’s teats. In Park, the air knife includes first and second chambers containing air that converges into air jet paths that are narrowed at the discharge unit. In contrast, the air knife described and claimed herein is configured to pass a laminar flow of dry filtered air through longitudinally spaced blades to dry the teats in a single downward pass. It is respectfully submitted that the narrow jet streams of air taught by Park are not the same as a laminar flow of dry filtered air that passes through longitudinally spaced blades in a horizontal array as presently claimed. Indeed, Applicant submits that a laminar flow of dry filtered air is in stark contrast to air jet paths,” the Examiner submits that the delivery of laminar flow is a functional limitation that is taught by the structure taught by Park, as Park teaches an air knife which includes a flow control mechanism that is configured to control flow characteristics. Claims directed to apparatuses must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than functions. In re Danly, 120 USPQ 528, 531.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Eriksson, US 6343566 B1, discusses a teat cleaning brush.
/S.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642