DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/20/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “wherein said brushes are vertically moved along said teats for at least two passes, a first pass cleaning said teats of dirt and debris while a second pass applies a sanitizing solution to the cleaned teats.” This limitation recites positive method steps despite being of an apparatus claim, rendering the claim indefinite. Examiner recommends revision to “wherein said brushes are vertically moveable along said teats for at least two passes, a first pass cleaning said teats of dirt and debris while a second pass applies a sanitizing solution to the cleaned teats” or “wherein said brushes are configured to be vertically moved along said teats for at least two passes, a first pass cleaning said teats of dirt and debris while a second pass applies a sanitizing solution to the cleaned teats.”
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein said brushes are withdrawn from said teats after said first pass to be cleaned with water.” This limitation recites positive method steps despite being of an apparatus claim, rendering the claim indefinite. Examiner recommends revision to “wherein said brushes are configured to be withdrawn from said teats after said first pass to be cleaned with water.”
Claim 20 fails to remedy the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson (US 6321688 B1) in view of Park et al. (TW I361110 B), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 1, Eriksson discloses a teat washing apparatus for use with robotic milking systems, comprising:
a mounting block (housing 21; Figs. 3C, 3D) having a front surface (Figs. 2a, 2c show housing 21 is a box with a front surface at end of brushes 27 and 29), a rear surface (end wall 58; Figs. 3C, 3D) and a top surface (Figs. 3C, 3D show a top surface in housing 21 with opening);
a drive motor supported on said rear surface of said mounting block (Col. 4, lines 51-57, “FIG. 3a] shows motor housing 51 and an example of a drive means 55 for rotating brushes 27, 29 [represented by circles for the sake of clarity of illustration in FIGS. 3a] and 3b]]. Motor housing contains a means [not shown] for producing rotary motion such as a pneumatic or fluid powered motor or an electric motor which has a rotatable output shaft 57”);
a pair of counter-rotating roll brushes operatively connected to said drive motor to drive rotation thereof, said roll brushes being supported from said front surface of said mounting block in a cantilevered manner (Col. 3, lines 51-57; Figs. 4A, 4B show counter-rotating brushes 27, 29), said brushes being vertically movable along the length of said teat to affect cleaning and sanitizing thereof (Figs. 4A, 4B and 6A, 6B show vertical movement of brushes along the length of the teat from LO position to UP position); and
an air supply mounted on said top surface of said mounting block and being operable to blow a flow of air from a source of filtered air across an upper surface of said roll brushes to dry said teats, as said brushes are making a vertical movement along said teats to dry fluid from said teats with said flow of air (Col. 4, lines 30-40, “Air outlet slots 45 are connected to a suitable air supply which, in the case that the teat cleaning device 13 is pneumatically powered, could be the same as the power supply 11. Air emitted from outlet slots 45 can be used to speed up drying of washing teats 3. The air can be pre-heated to further speed up the drying time. Starting and stopping of the water, respective, air supply to nozzles 43 and slots 45 and power supply to the brush driving means [described later] can be controlled by an operator by means of one or more triggers 47 or buttons 49 on handle 23 which is mounted at one end of the housing 21;” Figs. 4A, 4B show that air outlet slots 45 are configured such that they are operable to deliver air as brushes are making a vertical movement along the teats).
Eriksson, however, fails to specifically disclose an air knife.
Park is in the field of cleaning systems using air and teaches an air knife (main body 2, discharge unit 6; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of cleaning systems using air before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson to include an air knife, as taught by the air knife of Park. The air knife would lead to more effective airflow delivery, which would improve the overall cleaning characteristics of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 1, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said air knife is formed with a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades to disperse air flow from said source of filtered air across said roll brushes (Park; page 7, lines 7 and 8, “The discharge unit 6 may be formed by combining a plurality of blades and provided with a first discharge port 6a and a second discharge port 6b”).
Regarding claim 3, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 2, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said air knife includes a body having a rearwardly facing connector for connection to said source of filtered air (Park; page 6, lines 5-8, “an air inlet H is provided on the inner side of the main body 2 for providing a passage for supplying dry air A [eg, clean dry air] from the outside. The air inlet H passes through one end portion of the main body 2 and extends toward the other side), and forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension to accommodate said plurality of longitudinally spaced blades (Park; Fig. 5 shows discharge unit 6 has forwardly diverging side members terminating in a width dimension, with blades in between side members).
Regarding claim 18, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 1.
Eriksson discloses wherein said brushes are vertically moved along said teats for at least two passes, a first pass cleaning said teats of dirt and debris while a second pass applies a sanitizing solution to the cleaned teats (Col. 4, lines 29-41, “Disinfectant and/or cleaning solutions can be added to the water supply, for example, during separately controllable phases of the cleaning operation. Air outlet slots 45 are connected to a suitable air supply which, in the case that the teat cleaning device 13 is pneumatically powered, could be the same as the power supply 11. Air emitted from outlet slots 45 can be used to speed up drying of washing teats 3. The air can be pre-heated to further speed up the drying time. Starting and stopping of the water, respective, air supply to nozzles 43 and slots 45 and power supply to the brush driving means [described later] can be controlled by an operator by means of one or more triggers 47 or buttons 49 on handle 23 which is mounted at one end of the housing 21;” Col. 6, lines 28-38, “By lowering the housing 21 even more such that the teat 3 leaves the region between the brushes 27, 29 it is possible to cause the swinging arm 59 to return to the lower end 73 of hole 63 and hence enable re-cleaning of the tip if necessary. The distance between the brushes 27, 29 can be adapted so that in the upper position the teat 3 is clamped between the brushes 27, 29 which permits some degree of pre-milking stimulation of the teat 3. The operator can adjust the extent, and number, of repeated lowerings and raisings of the housing 21 as required until a visibly clean teat 3 is obtained”).
Regarding claim 19, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 18.
Eriksson discloses wherein said brushes are withdrawn from said teats after said first pass to be cleaned with water (Col. 4, lines 29-41; Col. 6, lines 28-38).
Regarding claim 20, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 19, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said air flow is induced across said air knife (Park; main body 2, discharge unit 6; Fig. 1) as the brushes are making said second pass in order to dry said teats of said sanitizing solution (Figs. 4A, 4B show that air outlet slots 45 are configured such that they are operable to deliver air as brushes are making a vertical movement along the teats).
Regarding claim 21, Eriksson discloses a teat washing apparatus for use with robotic milking systems, comprising:
a mounting block (housing 21; Figs. 3C, 3D) having a front surface (Figs. 2a, 2c show housing 21 is a box with a front surface at end of brushes 27 and 29), a rear surface (end wall 58; Figs. 3C, 3D) and a top surface (Figs. 3C, 3D show a top surface in housing 21 with opening);
a drive motor supported on said rear surface of said mounting block (Col. 4, lines 51-57);
a pair of counter-rotating roll brushes operatively connected to said drive motor to drive rotation thereof, said roll brushes being supported from said front surface of said mounting block in a cantilevered manner (Col. 3, lines 51-57; Figs. 4A, 4B show counter-rotating brushes 27, 29), said mounting block being vertically movable to move said brushes along the length of said teats to affect cleaning and sanitizing thereof by making multiple passes along said teats (Col. 6, lines 28-38); and
an air supply mounted on said top surface of said mounting block and being operable to blow a laminar flow of air from a source of filtered air across an upper surface of said roll brushes to disperse said laminar air flow to dry said teats, as said brushes are making a vertical movement along said teats to dry fluid from said teats with said flow of air (Col. 4, lines 30-40; Figs. 4A, 4B show that air outlet slots 45 are configured such that they are operable to deliver laminar air as brushes are making a vertical movement along the teats).
Eriksson, however, fails to specifically disclose an air knife and a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades.
Park teaches an air knife (main body 2, discharge unit 6; Fig. 1) and a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades (Park; page 7, lines 7 and 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of cleaning systems using air before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson to include an air knife and a plurality of longitudinally spaced blades, as taught by the air knife of Park. The air knife would lead to more effective airflow delivery, which would improve the overall cleaning characteristics of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson (US 6321688 B1) in view of Park (TW I361110 B), as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Koelmel (US 20150251227 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Eriksson in view of Park discloses the device of claim 3, however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein said body of said air knife receives a connector that secures said body to said mounting block.
Koelmel is in the field of air knife cleaning systems and teaches wherein said body of said air knife receives a connector that secures said body to said mounting block (mounting plate 172; Fog. 1; ¶ 0032, lines 19-24, “the mounting of the air knife assembly with respect to a camera assembly and/or a supporting surface can be implemented using a variety of mechanisms including various mounting holes, fasteners, clamps, brackets, and the like. Such mechanisms can be provided to the bottom/base of the air knife assembly or to another location thereon”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of air knife cleaning systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eriksson in view of Park such that said body of said air knife receives a connector that secures said body to said mounting block, as taught by the air knife mounting of Koelmel. The mounting structure would allow for the air knife to be more securely mounted to the device, which would improve the overall function of the device. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 4, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said body of said air knife is positionally secure by a pair of angled brackets respectively engaged with said forwardly diverging side members (Koelmel; opposing side members 196 and 198; fasteners 220; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Eriksson in view of Park and Koelmel discloses the device of claim 5, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches wherein said body of said air knife directs said air flow from said source of filtered air through openings in said body aligned between said longitudinally spaced blades (Park; page 7, lines 7 and 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument on page 5 that “There is no vertical movement of the brushes with multiple passes followed by a flow of air from the air knife to dry the teats. To apply an air knife structure to the Eriksson apparatus, a substantial revision of the structure, operations and function of the Eriksson apparatus would be necessary,” the Examiner submits that Figs. 4A, 4B and 6A, 6B of Eriksson show vertical movement of brushes along the length of the teat from LO position to UP position, and Col. 6, lines 28-38, further details this vertical movement. Additionally, providing the device of Eriksson with the air knife of Park would not require a substantial revision of the structure, operations or function of Eriksson, as Eriksson already discloses an air supply means in the form of nozzles arrayed along an edge. Providing the air knife of Park to the existing structure of Eriksson would provide a simple change to the specific structure of the air delivery mechanism and would not change the operation of the air delivery itself.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Eriksson, US 6394038 B1, discusses a teat cleaning brush.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642