DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/3/26. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1: Lines 3-4 of the claim, the limitation “each panel of the plurality of panels” is repeated twice. Lines 3-4 and 11-12 of the claim, it appears “each panel of the plurality of panels” should be directed to --each flat structural composite panel of the plurality of flat structural composite panels-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 15 of the claim, the limitation “the plurality of interconnected panels”. Line 15 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the plurality of interconnected panels” should be --the plurality of flat structural composite panels-- for consistency of the language.
With regard to claim 7: Line 13 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a corresponding slot” should be –the corresponding slot-- for consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1: Lines 11-12 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “an adjacent panel” is referencing the previously recited plurality of flat structural composite panels. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --an adjacent panel of the plurality of flat structural composite panels--. Line 16 of the claim, the limitation “the primary load-bearing enclosure” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 2-6: Lines 1 of the claim, the limitation “The panel” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --The structural building enclosure--.
With regard to claim 7: Line 12 of the claim, it's unclear if the limitation "said slot of one panel" is referencing the previously recited slot and the plurality of panels. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --said slot of one panel of the plurality of panels--. Line 17 of the claim, the limitation “the primary load-bearing enclosure” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goulthorpe (US 2023/0183967 A1) in view of Stonyer (US 2023/0294369 A1).
With regard to claim 1: Goulthorpe discloses structural building enclosure (figs. 1A-1D and 3) comprising:
a plurality of flat structural composite panels (304, 306) (figs. 1A-1D and 3), each flat structural composite panel of the plurality of flat structural composite panels (304, 306) (figs. 1A-1D and 3) including
a central core region (core between skins 308, 312 and 310, 314 ) manufactured from PET plastic material (fig. 3; abstract; par. [0051] and [0058]), said central core region (core between skins 308, 312 and 310, 314) including first and second extended planar surfaces (top and bottom surfaces abutting skins 308, 312 and 310, 314) (fig. 3);
a first skin (308 and 310) disposed against said first extended planar surface (top surface) (figs. 1A-1D and 3); and
a second skin (312 and 314) disposed against said second extended planar surface (bottom surface) (fig. 3 and 7);
where each flat structural composite panel of the plurality of flat structural composite panels (304, 306) is directedly interconnected to an adjacent panel of the plurality of flat structural panels (304, 306) along their respective edges via a slot (receiving joining elements 326 and 328) and an adhesive (328, 330) (fig. 3; par. [0065]);
wherein the plurality of flat structural composite panels (304, 306) forms a continuous, frameless structural shell that serves as a primary load-bearing enclosure, weather-resistant exterior, and interior finished surface without reliance upon secondary structural framing (fig. 3; par. [0065]). Examiner notes that the connectors of Goulthorpe are considered functionally equivalent to the splines received into the slots of applicant’s flat structural composite panels, which is consistent with applicant disclosed structure as described in par. [0044] of the instant specification.
The slot being “routed” is considered a product by process limitation.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP § 2113.
The embodiment of figure 3 of Goulthorpe does not explicitly disclose structural tape applied across a joint formed between adjacent panels.
However, Goulthorpe discloses the embodiment shown in figure 2 comprising a structural tape (202, 222) applied across a joint formed between the adjacent panels in order to close the joint (fig. 2; par. [0008], [0060] and [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structural building enclosure comprising the embodiment of fig. 3 of the flat structural composite panels of Goulthorpe to include a structural tape applied across joint formed between the adjacent panels such as taught in the embodiment of figure 2 of Goulthorpe in order to provide a known means of closing the respective joint to aid in load transfer and/or provide a desired aesthetic.
Goulthorpe does not disclose that the PET plastic material is a recycled PET plastic material.
However, Stonyer discloses a panel having a core (110, 210) made of a PET plastic material that is a recycled PET plastic material, the core sandwiched between thermoplastic skins (120, 220) (figs. 1-2; par. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Goulthorpe to have the PET plastic material be a recycled PET plastic material such as taught by Stonyer in order to provide a material that is environmentally friendly to produce and cost effective compared to virgin PET plastic material. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the PET plastic material to be a recycled PET plastic material. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 2: Goulthorpe discloses that said first and second skins (308, 312 and 310, 314) are adhered (via bonding) to said first and second extended planar surfaces of said central core region (core between skins 308, 312 and 310, 314), respectively (fig. 3; par. [0033]).
With regard to claim 3: Goulthorpe discloses that the first skin (308 and 310) is comprised of multiple layers (sheets of fiber reinforced material) (par. [0032], [0048]and [0196]).
With regard to claim 4: Goulthorpe discloses that the second skin (312 or 314) is comprised of multiple layers (sheets of fiber reinforced material) (par. [0032], [0048]and [0196]).
With regard to claim 5: Goulthorpe discloses that the first skin (308 and 310) and the second skin (312 or 314) each include fiber reinforced PET plastic material where said fibers are oriented generally in a single direction (unidirectional fibers) (par. [0032], [0048]).
With regard to claim 7: Goulthorpe discloses a method of constructing a structure, the method comprising:
providing a plurality of panels (304, 306) (figs. 1A-1D and 3), each panel (304, 306) comprising a central core region (core between skins 308, 312 and 310, 314) manufactured from PET plastic material (fig. 3; abstract; par. [0051] and [0058]), said central core region (core between skins 308, 312 and 310, 314) including first and second extended planar surfaces (top and bottom surfaces abutting skins 308, 312 and 310, 314) (fig. 3); a first skin (308 and 310) disposed against said first extended planar surface (top surface) (figs. 1A-1D and 3); and a second skin (312 and 314) disposed against said second extended planar surface (bottom surface) (fig. 3 and 7);
Goulthorpe further discloses routing a slot (320 or 322) proximate one or more edges of said central core region (core between skins 308, 312 and 310, 314) of each panel of said plurality of panels (304 and 306) (fig. 3; par. [0089]);
providing one or more splines (324, 326) configured for engaging with said slot (cavities 320 or 322) in one or more edges of said plurality of panels (304 and 305) (fig. 3);
assembling two adjacent of said panels (304 and 305) together by inserting and adhering (via adhesive 328, 330) said one or more splines (324, 326) in the slot (320) of one panel (306) of the plurality of panels (304 and 306) and inserting one said one or more splines (324, 246) in the slot (322) from a second panel (304) of the plurality of panels (304 and 305) (fig. 3); and
wherein the plurality of flat structural composite panels (304, 306) forms a continuous, frameless structural shell that serves as a primary load-bearing enclosure, weather-resistant exterior, and interior finished surface without reliance upon secondary structural framing (fig. 3; par. [0065]). Examiner notes that the connectors of Goulthorpe are considered functionally equivalent to the splines received into the slots of applicant’s flat structural composite panels, which is consistent with applicant disclosed structure as described in par. [0044] of the instant specification.
Goulthorpe disclose that said panels (304 and 306) are configured to serve as one or more of marine components (boats), walls, floors, ceilings and roofs of said structure (figs. 1A- 3; par. [0037]-[0038] and [0076]).
The embodiment of figure 3 of Goulthorpe does not explicitly disclose structural tape applied across a joint formed between adjacent panels.
However, Goulthorpe discloses the embodiment shown in figure 2 comprising a structural tape (202, 222) applied across a joint formed between the adjacent panels in order to close the joint (fig. 2; par. [0008], [0060] and [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure comprising the embodiment of fig. 3 of the plurality of panels of Goulthorpe to include a structural tape applied across joint formed between the adjacent panels such as taught in the embodiment of figure 2 of Goulthorpe in order to provide a known means of closing the respective joint to aid in load transfer and/or provide a desired aesthetic.
Goulthorpe does not disclose that the PET plastic material is a recycled PET plastic material.
However, Stonyer discloses a panel having a core (110, 210) made of a PET plastic material that is a recycled PET plastic material, the core sandwiched between thermoplastic skins (120, 220) (figs. 1-2; par. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Goulthorpe to have the PET plastic material be a recycled PET plastic material such as taught by Stonyer in order to provide a material that is environmentally friendly to produce and cost effective compared to virgin PET plastic material. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the PET plastic material to be a recycled PET plastic material. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goulthorpe (US 2023/0183967 A1) in view of Stonyer (US 2023/0294369 A1) and in further view of Lozier et al. (US 2020/0298537 A1).
With regard to claim 6: Goulthorpe discloses that the first skin and the second skin include fiber reinforced PET plastic material (par. [0048]).
Goulthorpe in view of Stonyer does not disclose that said fibers oriented 90 degrees with respect to at least one adjacent layer of the multiple layers.
However, Lozier et al. discloses a panel comprising fiber reinforced PET sheets formed from multiple sheets, the fibers of one sheet oriented at 90 degrees with respect to another sheet (par. [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Goulthorpe previously by Stonyer to have the fibers of the adjacent layers of the skins be oriented at 90 degrees with respect to one another such as taught by Lozier et al. in order to provide desired strength and stiffness in multiple directions. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the orientation of fibers of the adjacent layers to be 90 degrees with respect to one another. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
The previous objection of claims 1-7 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment filed 8/3/26.
The previous rejection of claims 6-7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of the amendment filed 8/3/26.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose a structure in which the finished building is formed almost entirely from interconnected structural composite panels themselves. Applicant submits that the system of Goulthorpe relies upon a double skeleton of planar connector, specialized cutouts, proprietary joining elements, embedded fittings, and numerous engineered interface components to the create the finished building.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the planar connectors (326, 328) as shown in fig. 3 are considered functionally equivalent to applicant’s disclosed splines. Examiner notes that the connection of the connecting elements and panels joined together permit structural load to be transferred to one another (par. [0071]-[0072]), wherein the panels bear load. It further noted that Stonyer is relied on to teach recycled PET material and is not relied to teach the joint.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633