DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference Park et al [US 2018/0297511 A1] does not teach or discloses “A variable lamp system for a vehicle, the lamp system comprising: one or more sensors configured to detect an object at a side or a rear of the vehicle, and acquire driving information of the object; a lighting device including one or more lamps; and a controller configured to: control the lighting device; and control brightness of the one or more lamps of the lighting device based on the driving information, wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed.” (see page 6 to page 9)
Examiner disagrees:
Park discloses a variable lamp system (Fig. 8, 800) for a vehicle, the lamp system (Fig. 8, 800 & Paragraph [0268]) comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) configured to detect an object at a side or a rear of the vehicle, and acquire information of the object (Paragraph [0077] “The object information may be information on the form, location, size, and color of an object sensed by the object detection apparatus 300. For example, the object information may be information on a lane, an obstacle, a nearby vehicle, a pedestrian, a traffic light, a road structure, content of a traffic sign plate, etc.”);
a lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) including one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852); and a controller (Fig. 8, 860) configured to (Paragraph [0291]): control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850); and control brightness (Paragraph [0298-303] “Based on vehicle driving information, the controller 860 may determine a first region within a beam pattern projected by the lamp module 850. In this case, the vehicle driving information may include object information provided by the object detection apparatus 300, occupant information provided by the occupant sensing unit 240, and location information of the vehicle 100.”) of the one or more lamps of the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850-852) based on the information (Paragraph [0077]).
Park does not explicitly specify on the driving information.
Park discloses on the driving information (Fig. 18a, 101 & Paragraph [0482-492]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with on the driving information for purpose of increasing safety of the driver of the vehicle to be improve by recognizing an object nearby as disclosed by Park (Paragraph [0319]).
Park does not explicitly specify wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed.
Tatara discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information (Paragraph [0088-89] “With the limit time t.sub.LMT calculated, the distance d between the two vehicles, namely, the first threshold value and the third threshold value, can be obtained as a function of the relative speed (see FIG. 9C). For example, in a situation where two vehicles pass each other under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h (55.6 m/s) and lane width w=3.5 m, the limit time will be t.sub.LMT.apprxeq.0.85 [sec] if the limit value of (d.alpha..sub.n/dt) is set at 5 [degrees/s] in consideration of the structure of upper beam lamp units, the processing capacity of the headlamp controller 22, and the like. As a result, the third threshold value is calculated as 0.85 55.6.apprxeq.47 [m]. In other words, under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h and lane width w=3.5 [m], the headlamp controller 22 will forcibly switch the illumination to a lower beam when the two vehicles approach each other closer than 47 meters.”), exceeds a predetermined speed (Paragraph [0022 & 0078-79 & 0082-92] “(.alpha.=0 degrees)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is recites the limitation " wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed." in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 is recites the limitation " wherein the controller is further configured to control the lighting device to simultaneously turn off the one or more lamps in the direction where the object is located in response to a speed of the object comprises a first speed that is faster than a predetermined speed." in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and renders the claim to be indefinite because is it same a predetermined speed or a different predetermine speed? From claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al [US 2018/0297511 A1] in view of Tatara [US 2009/0279317 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Park discloses a variable lamp system (Fig. 8, 800) for a vehicle, the lamp system (Fig. 8, 800 & Paragraph [0268]) comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) configured to detect an object at a side or a rear of the vehicle, and acquire information of the object (Paragraph [0077] “The object information may be information on the form, location, size, and color of an object sensed by the object detection apparatus 300. For example, the object information may be information on a lane, an obstacle, a nearby vehicle, a pedestrian, a traffic light, a road structure, content of a traffic sign plate, etc.”);
a lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) including one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852); and a controller (Fig. 8, 860) configured to (Paragraph [0291]): control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850); and control brightness (Paragraph [0298-303] “Based on vehicle driving information, the controller 860 may determine a first region within a beam pattern projected by the lamp module 850. In this case, the vehicle driving information may include object information provided by the object detection apparatus 300, occupant information provided by the occupant sensing unit 240, and location information of the vehicle 100.”) of the one or more lamps of the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850-852) based on the information (Paragraph [0077]).
Park does not explicitly specify on the driving information.
Park discloses on the driving information (Fig. 18a, 101 & Paragraph [0482-492]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with on the driving information for purpose of increasing safety of the driver of the vehicle to be improve by recognizing an object nearby as disclosed by Park (Paragraph [0319]).
Park does not explicitly specify wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed.
Tatara discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 2, 22) is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps (Fig. 2, 20R and 20L) differently depending on whether a speed of the object (Fig. 8, P1 to Pn), indicated by the speed information (Paragraph [0088-89] “With the limit time t.sub.LMT calculated, the distance d between the two vehicles, namely, the first threshold value and the third threshold value, can be obtained as a function of the relative speed (see FIG. 9C). For example, in a situation where two vehicles pass each other under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h (55.6 m/s) and lane width w=3.5 m, the limit time will be t.sub.LMT.apprxeq.0.85 [sec] if the limit value of (d.alpha..sub.n/dt) is set at 5 [degrees/s] in consideration of the structure of upper beam lamp units, the processing capacity of the headlamp controller 22, and the like. As a result, the third threshold value is calculated as 0.85 55.6.apprxeq.47 [m]. In other words, under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h and lane width w=3.5 [m], the headlamp controller 22 will forcibly switch the illumination to a lower beam when the two vehicles approach each other closer than 47 meters.”), exceeds a predetermined speed (Paragraph [0022 & 0078-79 & 0082-92] “(.alpha.=0 degrees)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 2. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to: determine a distance (Paragraph [0028]) between the object and the vehicle based on the driving information (Paragraph [0450-457]); and control the lighting device to turn off (Paragraph [0457]) the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) in a direction where the object is located (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101), in response to the distance between the object and the vehicle reaching or exceeding a predetermined distance (Paragraph [0161-165 & 0551-558]), based on location information of the object included in the driving information (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101).
In regards to claim 3. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 2, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) to turn on the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) again in response to the object leaving a predetermined area (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101) after overtaking the vehicle (Paragraph [0493-500]), based on the driving information (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101).
In regards to claim 4. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) based on speed information (Paragraph [0149-161]) of the object included in the driving information (Paragraph [0019-27]).
In regards to claim 5. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 4, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) to simultaneously turn off the one (Paragraph [0427]) or more lamps in the direction where the object (Fig. 14a-b to 19b, 101) is located in response to a speed of the object (Paragraph [0019]) comprises
Park does not specify a first speed that is faster than a predetermined speed.
Tatara discloses a first speed that is faster than a predetermined speed (Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with a first speed that is faster than a predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 6. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 5, wherein the controller (Park: Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Park: Fig. 8, 850-852) to be turned on (Park: Paragraph [0493-500]) after a first reference time in response to the speed of the object being the first speed (Tatara Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
In regards to claim 7. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 4, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device to sequentially turn off the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) in the direction where the object (Park Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101) is located from an outer side of the vehicle to its center, based on the vehicle, in response to the speed of the object (Park Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101)
Park does not specify being a second speed that is faster than a speed of the vehicle and slower than the predetermined speed
Tatara discloses being a second speed that is faster than a speed of the vehicle and slower than the predetermined speed (Tatara Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with being a second speed that is faster than a speed of the vehicle and slower than the predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 8. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 7, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850-852) to be turned on (Park: Paragraph [0493-500]) after a second reference time in response to the speed of the object (Park Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101) being the second speed (Tatara Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
In regards to claim 9. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control a light-off area (Fig. 14b, 911) of the lighting device (Paragraph [0469-0479]) based on the location information (Paragraph [0077]) of the object included in the driving information (Paragraph [0019-27]).
In regards to claim 10. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 9, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) to expand the light-off area of the lighting device (Paragraph [0469-0472]) in response to the object being located in a lane closer to the moving vehicle (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101).
In regards to claim 11. Park discloses a lamp system (Fig. 8, 800) for a vehicle (Fig. 1, 100), comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) configured to detect and acquire information of another vehicle approaching a side or a rear of the vehicle (Paragraph [0077] “The object information may be information on the form, location, size, and color of an object sensed by the object detection apparatus 300. For example, the object information may be information on a lane, an obstacle, a nearby vehicle, a pedestrian, a traffic light, a road structure, content of a traffic sign plate, etc.”);
a lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) including one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852); and
a controller (Fig. 8, 860) in communication with the sensor (Fig. 8, 310b) and the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850), wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is configured (Paragraph [0291]) to: control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850); and control brightness (Paragraph [0298]) of the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) of the lighting device based on the information (Paragraph [0077]).
Park does not explicitly specify on the driving information.
Park discloses on the driving information (Fig. 18a, 101 & Paragraph [0482-492]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with on the driving information for purpose of increasing safety of the driver of the vehicle to be improve by recognizing an object nearby as disclosed by Park (Paragraph [0319]).
Park does not explicitly specify wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed.
Tatara discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 2, 22) is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps (Fig. 2, 20R and 20L) differently depending on whether a speed of the object (Fig. 8, P1 to Pn), indicated by the speed information (Paragraph [0088-89] “With the limit time t.sub.LMT calculated, the distance d between the two vehicles, namely, the first threshold value and the third threshold value, can be obtained as a function of the relative speed (see FIG. 9C). For example, in a situation where two vehicles pass each other under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h (55.6 m/s) and lane width w=3.5 m, the limit time will be t.sub.LMT.apprxeq.0.85 [sec] if the limit value of (d.alpha..sub.n/dt) is set at 5 [degrees/s] in consideration of the structure of upper beam lamp units, the processing capacity of the headlamp controller 22, and the like. As a result, the third threshold value is calculated as 0.85 55.6.apprxeq.47 [m]. In other words, under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h and lane width w=3.5 [m], the headlamp controller 22 will forcibly switch the illumination to a lower beam when the two vehicles approach each other closer than 47 meters.”), exceeds a predetermined speed (Paragraph [0022 & 0078-79 & 0082-92] “(.alpha.=0 degrees)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 12. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 11, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to: determine a distance (Paragraph [0028]) between the object and the vehicle based on the driving information (Paragraph [0450-457]); and control the lighting device to reduce glare (Paragraph [0457]) on the other vehicle (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101) by at least one of controlling brightness of the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852) of the lighting device or redirecting light from the one or more lamps of the lighting device, based on at least one of the driving information (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101) of the other vehicle, the distance between the vehicle and the other vehicle, or a combination thereof.
In regards to claim 13, Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 11, wherein the other vehicle comprises any moving vehicle (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101), including an automobile, a truck, a bus, a motorcycle, a bicycle, a mobility vehicle, an autonomous vehicle, and the like.
In regards to claim 14. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 11, wherein the driving information includes at least one or more of a speed (Paragraph [0149-161]), an acceleration, a location information, or a combination thereof of the other vehicle in relation to the vehicle.
In regards to claim 15. Park discloses a variable lamp system (Abstract) for a vehicle, the lamp system comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) including a speed sensor (Paragraph [0256] “The sensing unit 120 may sense the state of the vehicle. The sensing unit 120 may include an attitude sensor (for example, a yaw sensor, a roll sensor, or a pitch sensor), a collision sensor, a wheel sensor, a speed sensor,”) or an ultrasonic sensor (Paragraph [0142] “The objection detection apparatus 300 may include a camera 310, a Radio Detection and Ranging (RADAR) 320, a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) 330, an ultrasonic sensor 340, an infrared sensor 350, and a detection processor 370.”), the one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) being configured to detect an object approaching the vehicle from a side or a rear of the vehicle (Paragraph [0077] “The object information may be information on the form, location, size, and color of an object sensed by the object detection apparatus 300. For example, the object information may be information on a lane, an obstacle, a nearby vehicle, a pedestrian, a traffic light, a road structure, content of a traffic sign plate, etc.”) and generate information of the detected object (Paragraph [0077]); the information including location information (Paragraph [0077]) and speed information of the detected object (Paragraph [0019] “determining the size of the light adjustment region based on object information
a lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) including one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852); and
a controller (Fig. 8, 860) configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) and control brightness (Paragraph [0298]) of the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852) of the lighting device based on the driving information (Paragraph [0077]).
Park does not explicitly specify on the driving information,
Park discloses on the driving information (Fig. 18a, 101 & Paragraph [0482-492]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with on the driving information for purpose of increasing safety of the driver of the vehicle to be improve by recognizing an object nearby as disclosed by Park (Paragraph [0319])
Park does not explicitly specify wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed.
Tatara discloses wherein the controller (Fig. 2, 22) is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps (Fig. 2, 20R and 20L) differently depending on whether a speed of the object (Fig. 8, P1 to Pn & P1 to P3), indicated by the speed information (Paragraph [0088-89] “With the limit time t.sub.LMT calculated, the distance d between the two vehicles, namely, the first threshold value and the third threshold value, can be obtained as a function of the relative speed (see FIG. 9C). For example, in a situation where two vehicles pass each other under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h (55.6 m/s) and lane width w=3.5 m, the limit time will be t.sub.LMT.apprxeq.0.85 [sec] if the limit value of (d.alpha..sub.n/dt) is set at 5 [degrees/s] in consideration of the structure of upper beam lamp units, the processing capacity of the headlamp controller 22, and the like. As a result, the third threshold value is calculated as 0.85 55.6.apprxeq.47 [m]. In other words, under conditions of relative speed v=200 km/h and lane width w=3.5 [m], the headlamp controller 22 will forcibly switch the illumination to a lower beam when the two vehicles approach each other closer than 47 meters.”), exceeds a predetermined speed (Paragraph [0022 & 0078-79 & 0082-92] “(.alpha.=0 degrees)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with wherein the controller is configured to control the brightness of the one or more lamps differently depending on whether a speed of the object, indicated by the speed information, exceeds a predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845