DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0174327, filed on 12/05/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference Park et al [US 2018/0297511 A1] does not teach or discloses “A variable lamp system for a vehicle, the lamp system comprising: one or more sensors configured to detect an object at a side or a rear of the vehicle, and acquire driving information of the object; a lighting device including one or more lamps; and a controller configured to: control the lighting device; and control brightness of the one or more lamps of the lighting device based on the driving information.” (see page 5-7)
Examiner disagrees:
Furthermore, the prior art Park et al [US 2018/0297511 A1] is same field of endeavor as the applicant invention of Fig. 2-4,
Applicant Figure
Park Fig. 18a
Furthermore, Park discloses Based on vehicle driving information, the controller 860 may determine the region 910a which is a region overlapping the different beam pattern 901 of the different object 101 in the beam pattern 900. For example, the different object may be a nearby vehicle 101 travelling in a lane next to a lane in which the vehicle 100 is travelling. In this case, the region 910a in the beam pattern 900 of the vehicle 100 overlapping the different beam pattern 901 may be the second region 910a. Based on a determination that a visual adaptation of a driver is needed, the controller 860 may perform gradual control of light on the second region 910a. The controller 860 may gradually reduce light projected to the second region 910a. Accordingly, brightness in the second region 910a is gradually reduced. (see paragraph [0484-485]), Park in Fig. 2 shows The camera 310 may be located at an appropriate position outside the vehicle 100 in order to acquire images of the outside of the vehicle 100. The camera 310 may provide an acquired image to the detection processor 370. The camera 310 may be a mono camera, a stereo camera 310a, an Around View Monitoring (AVM) camera 310b, or a 360-degree camera (see paragraph [0144]) and For example, the object information may indicate the following: whether there is a lane in the vicinity of the vehicle 100; whether nearby vehicles are travelling at a time when the vehicle 100 is in a stop; whether there is a space available to park in the vicinity of the vehicle 100; a probability that the vehicle 100 collides with an object; a location of any pedestrian or bicycle in the vicinity of the vehicle 100; a type of the roadway on which the vehicle 100 is travelling; the current traffic signal indicated by a traffic light in the vicinity of the vehicle 100; and movement of the vehicle. The object information may be included in vehicle driving information. (see paragraph [0168]) FIGS. 18 and 19 illustrate an example operation of a lamp for a vehicle in an example scenario involving a nearby vehicle (see paragraph [0481])
Applicant Figure
Park Fig. 19b
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually Park et al [US 2018/0297511 A1], one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al [US 2018/0297511 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Park discloses a variable lamp system (Fig. 8, 800) for a vehicle, the lamp system (Fig. 8, 800 & Paragraph [0268]) comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) configured to detect an object at a side or a rear of the vehicle, and acquire information of the object (Paragraph [0077] “The object information may be information on the form, location, size, and color of an object sensed by the object detection apparatus 300. For example, the object information may be information on a lane, an obstacle, a nearby vehicle, a pedestrian, a traffic light, a road structure, content of a traffic sign plate, etc.”);
a lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) including one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852); and a controller (Fig. 8, 860) configured to (Paragraph [0291]): control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850); and control brightness (Paragraph [0298-303] “Based on vehicle driving information, the controller 860 may determine a first region within a beam pattern projected by the lamp module 850. In this case, the vehicle driving information may include object information provided by the object detection apparatus 300, occupant information provided by the occupant sensing unit 240, and location information of the vehicle 100.”) of the one or more lamps of the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850-852) based on the information (Paragraph [0077]).
Park does not explicitly specify on the driving information.
Park discloses on the driving information (Fig. 18a, 101 & Paragraph [0482-492]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with on the driving information for purpose of increasing safety of the driver of the vehicle to be improve by recognizing an object nearby as disclosed by Park (Paragraph [0319])
In regards to claim 2. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to: determine a distance (Paragraph [0028]) between the object and the vehicle based on the driving information (Paragraph [0450-457]); and control the lighting device to turn off (Paragraph [0457]) the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) in a direction where the object is located (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101), in response to the distance between the object and the vehicle reaching or exceeding a predetermined distance (Paragraph [0161-165 & 0551-558]), based on location information of the object included in the driving information (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101).
In regards to claim 3. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 2, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) to turn on the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) again in response to the object leaving a predetermined area (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101) after overtaking the vehicle (Paragraph [0493-500]), based on the driving information (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101).
In regards to claim 4. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) based on speed information (Paragraph [0149-161]) of the object included in the driving information (Paragraph [0019-27]).
In regards to claim 9. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control a light-off area (Fig. 14b, 911) of the lighting device (Paragraph [0469-0479]) based on the location information (Paragraph [0077]) of the object included in the driving information (Paragraph [0019-27]).
In regards to claim 10. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 9, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) to expand the light-off area of the lighting device (Paragraph [0469-0472]) in response to the object being located in a lane closer to the moving vehicle (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101).
In regards to claim 11. Park discloses a lamp system (Fig. 8, 800) for a vehicle (Fig. 1, 100), comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) configured to detect and acquire information of another vehicle approaching a side or a rear of the vehicle (Paragraph [0077] “The object information may be information on the form, location, size, and color of an object sensed by the object detection apparatus 300. For example, the object information may be information on a lane, an obstacle, a nearby vehicle, a pedestrian, a traffic light, a road structure, content of a traffic sign plate, etc.”);
a lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) including one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852); and
a controller (Fig. 8, 860) in communication with the sensor (Fig. 8, 310b) and the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850), wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is configured (Paragraph [0291]) to: control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850); and control brightness (Paragraph [0298]) of the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) of the lighting device based on the information (Paragraph [0077]).
Park does not explicitly specify on the driving information.
Park discloses on the driving information (Fig. 18a, 101 & Paragraph [0482-492]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with on the driving information for purpose of increasing safety of the driver of the vehicle to be improve by recognizing an object nearby as disclosed by Park (Paragraph [0319]).
In regards to claim 12. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 11, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to: determine a distance (Paragraph [0028]) between the object and the vehicle based on the driving information (Paragraph [0450-457]); and control the lighting device to reduce glare (Paragraph [0457]) on the other vehicle (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101) by at least one of controlling brightness of the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852) of the lighting device or redirecting light from the one or more lamps of the lighting device, based on at least one of the driving information (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101) of the other vehicle, the distance between the vehicle and the other vehicle, or a combination thereof.
In regards to claim 13, Park discloses the lamp system of claim 11, wherein the other vehicle comprises any moving vehicle (Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 18a-b, 101), including an automobile, a truck, a bus, a motorcycle, a bicycle, a mobility vehicle, an autonomous vehicle, and the like.
In regards to claim 14. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 11, wherein the driving information includes at least one or more of a speed (Paragraph [0149-161]), an acceleration, a location information, or a combination thereof of the other vehicle in relation to the vehicle.
In regards to claim 15. Park discloses a variable lamp system (Abstract) for a vehicle, the lamp system comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) including a speed sensor (Paragraph [0256] “The sensing unit 120 may sense the state of the vehicle. The sensing unit 120 may include an attitude sensor (for example, a yaw sensor, a roll sensor, or a pitch sensor), a collision sensor, a wheel sensor, a speed sensor,”) or an ultrasonic sensor (Paragraph [0142] “The objection detection apparatus 300 may include a camera 310, a Radio Detection and Ranging (RADAR) 320, a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) 330, an ultrasonic sensor 340, an infrared sensor 350, and a detection processor 370.”), the one or more sensors (Fig. 2, 310b) being configured to detect an object approaching the vehicle from a side or a rear of the vehicle (Paragraph [0077] “The object information may be information on the form, location, size, and color of an object sensed by the object detection apparatus 300. For example, the object information may be information on a lane, an obstacle, a nearby vehicle, a pedestrian, a traffic light, a road structure, content of a traffic sign plate, etc.”) and generate information of the detected object (Paragraph [0077]); the information including location information (Paragraph [0077]) and speed information of the detected object (Paragraph [0019] “determining the size of the light adjustment region based on object information
a lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) including one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852); and
a controller (Fig. 8, 860) configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) and control brightness (Paragraph [0298]) of the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 851-852) of the lighting device based on the driving information (Paragraph [0077]).
Park does not explicitly specify on the driving information,
Park discloses on the driving information (Fig. 18a, 101 & Paragraph [0482-492]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with on the driving information for purpose of increasing safety of the driver of the vehicle to be improve by recognizing an object nearby as disclosed by Park (Paragraph [0319]).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al [US 2018/0297511 A1] in view of Tatara [US 2009/0279317 A1]
In regards to claim 5. Park discloses the lamp system of claim 4, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850) to simultaneously turn off the one (Paragraph [0427]) or more lamps in the direction where the object (Fig. 14a-b to 19b, 101) is located in response to a speed of the object (Paragraph [0019]) comprises
Park does not specify a first speed that is faster than a predetermined speed.
Tatara discloses a first speed that is faster than a predetermined speed (Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with a first speed that is faster than a predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 6. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 5, wherein the controller (Park: Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Park: Fig. 8, 850-852) to be turned on (Park: Paragraph [0493-500]) after a first reference time in response to the speed of the object being the first speed (Tatara Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
In regards to claim 7. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 4, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device to sequentially turn off the one or more lamps (Fig. 8, 850-852) in the direction where the object (Park Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101) is located from an outer side of the vehicle to its center, based on the vehicle, in response to the speed of the object (Park Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101)
Park does not specify being a second speed that is faster than a speed of the vehicle and slower than the predetermined speed
Tatara discloses being a second speed that is faster than a speed of the vehicle and slower than the predetermined speed (Tatara Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Park with being a second speed that is faster than a speed of the vehicle and slower than the predetermined speed for purpose of provide a technology for improving the visibility by reducing the glare experienced by a vehicle running as disclosed by Tatara (Paragraph [0009]).
In regards to claim 8. Park in view of Tatara discloses the lamp system of claim 7, wherein the controller (Fig. 8, 860) is further configured to control the lighting device (Fig. 8, 850-852) to be turned on (Park: Paragraph [0493-500]) after a second reference time in response to the speed of the object (Park Fig. 14a-b, 101 and Fig. 19a-b, 101) being the second speed (Tatara Paragraph [0022 & 0079 & 0086-92]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844