DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are pending.
Claim 11 is cancelled.
Claims 12-14 are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 for Application No. KR10-2023-0173820 filed on 12/04/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, regarding the restriction that “MPEP §803 states, "If the search and examination of all the claims in an application can be made without serious burden, the examiner must examine them on the merits, even though they include claims to independent or distinct inventions." Since electronic searching is commonly performed, a search may be made of a large number of, or theoretically all, subclasses without substantial additional effort. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully traverses the restriction requirement on the grounds that a search and examination of the entire application would not impose a serious burden on the Examiner, whereas it would impose a serious burden on Applicant to prosecute and maintain separate applications if the restriction requirement is maintained.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the Invention II of claims 12-14 would impose additional burden on the Examiner. Invention I of claims 1-11 and 15-20 are directed to a system and a method for a controller to control post-processing system or assembly line of the 3D printing system with multiple workstations, that includes a transfer process of delivering a 3D-printed workpiece from a workstation to another workstation based on information regarding required workstations for the 3D-printed workpiece, classified in CPC B33Y 40/00 and in CPC B33Y 50/02. The Invention I is also directed to the controller transmitting the work variables to various workstations and monitoring operational states of the various workstations. While, Invention II is in the area of transferring of 3D printed workpiece, the Invention II, is directed to a specific mechanical structural make-up of the transfer device, classified in CPC B25J 5/00. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive, and restriction is maintained.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Referring to independent claim 1, this claim recites the claim limitations “a transfer device”, “a plurality of process modules” and “a control device”. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraph [0079] of the published specification, the “transfer device” will be construed as an automated guided vehicle or an autonomous mobile robot. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0075], [0083], and the figures of the published specification, the “plurality of process modules” will be construed as sections of the smart transfer system that include a cleaning equipment, a rinsing equipment, a post-curing equipment and a drying equipment. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraph [0090] of the published specification, the “control device” will be construed as a computer or a controller.
In addition, claim 7 recites the claim limitations “a loading module”. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0141], [0147] and FIG. 16A of the published specification, the “loading module” will be construed as a basket holding structure.
In addition, claim 8 recites the claim limitations “a basket supply module”. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0246] and Fig. 17 of the published specification, the “basket supply module” will be construed as a basket holding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAVALORA et al. (US 2025/0074001 A1) (“Favalora”), in view of Erickson et al. (US 11,969,945 B2) (“Erickson”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Favalora teaches:
A smart transfer system for performing three-dimensional (3D) printing output post-processing and loading processes, comprising: (Favalora: [0007] “In accordance with another aspect, a 3D printing assembly includes a printer gripping assembly configured to move a cartridge containing a photohardenable resin. A printer assembly includes at least one excitation light source configured to solidify the photohardenable resin and form one or more 3D objects in the cartridge. A cartridge flipping assembly is configured to insert a basket in an inverted position into the cartridge and rotate the cartridge to an inverted position such that the one or more 3D objects are transferred into the basket and the liquid resin flows out of the cartridge. A basket gripping assembly is configured to remove the basket from the cartridge and transfer the basket to a first washing station. A second washing station is positioned downstream of the first washing station. A drying station is positioned downstream of the second washing station. A pre-curing station is positioned downstream of the drying station. A transfer assembly is configured to transfer the one or more 3D objects from the basket into a curing tray. An inspection station is configured to inspect the one or more 3D objects in the curing tray. A sealing station is configured to secure a sealing film to a top surface of the curing tray. A transfer tray is configured to receive one or more curing trays.”)
a transfer device configured to transfer a basket accommodating an output of a 3D printer; (Favalora: [0117] “As illustrated in FIGS. 18-21, a basket gripping assembly 136 may include one or more basket grippers 138 that may raise basket 18, including 3D objects seated therein, out of basket carriage 104 for finishing steps. First washing station 34 may include a first wash basin 140 and a cover 142, which may be moved laterally to expose first wash basin 140. Basket gripping assembly 136 may then move basket 18 into any open and unoccupied position within first wash basin 140, as illustrated in FIG. 19. …”) [The basket gripping assembly 136 in combination with any other parts of the assembly that assist in moving the basket reads on “a transfer device”. The 3D object reads on “an output of a 3D printer”, and the basket including the 3D object seated therein reads on “a basket accommodating an output …”.]
a plurality of process modules configured to perform cleaning, rinsing, drying, and post-curing processes on the output. (Favalora: FIG. 1) (Favalora: [0073] “At step H, basket 18 with 3D objects 30 seated therein may be moved to a first washing station 34, where 3D objects 30 may undergo a first washing with a cleaning solution. At step J, basket 18 with 3D objects 30 seated therein may be moved from first washing station 34 to a second washing station 36, where 3D objects 30 may undergo a second washing with a cleaning solution.”) (Favalora: [0074] “At step K, basket 18 with 3D objects 30 seated therein may be moved from second washing station 36 to a drying station 38, where 3D objects 30 within basket 18 may be dried. In certain embodiments, 3D objects within basket may also undergo an initial ultraviolet (UV) cure at drying station 38 or at a separate curing station downstream of drying station 38.”) (Favalora: [0074] “At step K, basket 18 with 3D objects 30 seated therein may be moved from second washing station 36 to a drying station 38, where 3D objects 30 within basket 18 may be dried. In certain embodiments, 3D objects within basket may also undergo an initial ultraviolet (UV) cure at drying station 38 or at a separate curing station downstream of drying station 38.”) [The stations read on “a plurality of process modules”.]
Favalora does not expressly teach: a control device configured to set work to be performed on the basis of information about the output, set a work path of the plurality of process modules according to the work, and control the transfer device to move along the work path.
Erickson teaches:
a control device configured to set work to be performed on the basis of information about the output, (Erickson: Column 4 lines 7-18 “In another example, the system includes a reader to 1) read an identifier from a three-dimensional (3D) printed object that includes a storage element and 2) read a location of the 3D printed object within a build material bed. The system also includes an extractor to extract from a database and based on the identifier 1) a post processing operation to execute on the 3D printed object and 2) post processing procedures. The system also includes a controller to control a post processing device based on extracted post processing operation information and the location and a post processing device to perform the post processing operation using the post processing parameters.”) [The 3D printed object reads on “the output”. The controller reads on “a control device”. The extracted post processing operation information reads on “information about the output”.]
set a work path of the plurality of process modules according to the work, and control the transfer device to move along the work path. (Erickson: Column 29 line 59 to Column 30 line 3 “In controlling the post processing operations, the controller (1336) may control a post processing device. For example, the controller (1336) may control a robotic arm that assists in unpacking or otherwise moving the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). That is, the specialized instructions may allow for automation of unpacking, using for instance, a robotic arm. As another example, the controller (1336) may manipulate a conveyance system to move the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) during unpacking from the bed (FIG. 2, 210) or following unpacking from the bed (FIG. 2, 210) for example to another location for further post processing.”) (Erickson: Column 30 lines 4-11 “In some examples, the location information that is extracted (1334) may be after an unpacking operation. For example, after a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) has been removed and sand-blasted, the 3D printed object (FIG. 2,218) may be on a conveyor which takes it to different possible finishing stations. Reading an RFID chip lets the conveyor select where a particular 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) is to be conveyed.”) [The conveyor taking the 3D printed object to a post processing location or station based on the post processing operation information reads on “set a work path”… and “control the transfer device to move …”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Favalora and Erickson before them, to modify the 3D printing assembly including basket transfer assembly for downstream processing of the workpiece, to incorporate control by the controller of the 3D printing assembly.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable coordinated control functions of the downstream processing of the workpieces of the 3D printing assembly. (Erickson: Column 3 lines 33-43 “The use of an embedded storage element that includes at least an identifier for an associated 3D printed object and additional associated information (either in the storage element or on a database) coupled with the ease of scanning parts, enables a broad ecosystem of valuable part functionalities, especially as additional data about the 3D printed object can be added during the 3D printed object lifecycle. Such a system provides a wide variety of enabled functionalities including security and authentication of parts, intelligent redesign of parts, data collection on part usage, and automation of handling of parts.”)
Regarding claim 2, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Erickson further teaches:
wherein the control device receives the information about the output from the 3D printer, sets the work path to perform at least one of the cleaning, rinsing, drying, and post-curing processes according to the information about the output, and sets a work variable for the work to be performed to control the plurality of process modules. (Erickson: Column 25 lines 22-51 “In addition to manufacturing conditions, other conditions may also be associated with the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). As with the manufacturing conditions, these other conditions may similarly be associated with the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). That is, over the course of its life the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) passes through a number of stages, devices used in each of these stages may have different sensors and/or scanners that can write information to the embedded storage element. As a specific example, a number of post processing devices may perform any number of post processing operations such as cleaning, sand-blasting, finishing assembly, etc. Accordingly, the same sensing system that measures (block 1203) manufacturing conditions may measure (block 1209) conditions subsequent to formation of the 3D printed object. These additional measurements may also be written (block 1210) to the database (FIG. 3, 320). That is, just as a temperature sensor measures a temperature of a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) during manufacturing, the same temperature sensor may measure a temperature of a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) during transit. Such measurements, similar to those made during additive manufacturing, may be the basis of a notification and or action within the database. Take for example a 3D printed part that is manufactured in an environment that does not exceed a threshold humidity level, but that when the object is along the distribution chain, its humidity exceeds the threshold humidity level. In this example, the moisture value may be written to the database and a particular action, such as highlighting the measurement, or providing an alert, may be executed to notify a user.”) (Erickson: Column 27 lines 30-54 “Specifically, automated handling of 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) is enabled through appropriate readers (1332) that determine location information. A controller (1336) is paired with robotics, conveyance systems, or other post processing devices to process the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). Through this pairing, a host of automated processes become possible with the potential to dramatically reduce final part costs. Processes which could be automated using this approach include, but are not limited to, bed (FIG. 2, 210) unpacking, post-processing selection, post-processing (sandblasting, air-gun, water-gun, etc.), and part testing (3D scanning, mechanical testing, etc.). The automation of these operations enhances the efficiency of post processing as many of these operations are currently human controlled, that is a user collects information on what post processing operations to perform. Thus, the present system allows for a possible reduction of cost for final parts and for assurance that a part has been properly post-processed. During post-processing, 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) tagged with an identifier enable tailored post-processing for each object. This is useful given the wide variety of 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) and desired final part outcomes/properties. Not only are the post processing operations to complete extracted, but the parameters are also extracted.”)
The motivation to combine Favalora and Erickson as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 3, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claims 1-2. Erickson further teaches:
wherein the control device communicates with the plurality of process modules, transmits the work variable to the plurality of process modules, and monitors operational states of the plurality of process modules. (Erickson: Column 25 lines 22-51, and Column 27 lines 30-54 as discussed in claim 2)
The motivation to combine Favalora and Erickson as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 4, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Erickson further teaches:
wherein the control device communicates with the transfer device, tracks a location of the transfer device, and stores data received from the transfer device. (Erickson: Column 27 lines 30-54 “Specifically, automated handling of 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) is enabled through appropriate readers (1332) that determine location information. A controller (1336) is paired with robotics, conveyance systems, or other post processing devices to process the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). Through this pairing, a host of automated processes become possible with the potential to dramatically reduce final part costs. Processes which could be automated using this approach include, but are not limited to, bed (FIG. 2, 210) unpacking, post-processing selection, post-processing (sandblasting, air-gun, water-gun, etc.), and part testing (3D scanning, mechanical testing, etc.).”) (Erickson: Column 30 lines 4-11 “In some examples, the location information that is extracted (1334) may be after an unpacking operation. For example, after a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) has been removed and sand-blasted, the 3D printed object (FIG. 2,218) may be on a conveyor which takes it to different possible finishing stations. Reading an RFID chip lets the conveyor select where a particular 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) is to be conveyed.”)
The motivation to combine Favalora and Erickson as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Favalora further teaches:
wherein the plurality of process modules further include a vertical movement module that moves the transfer device up and down. (Favalora: [0117] and FIGS. 18-19 as discussed in claim 1) [See the vertical movement of the basket gripping assembly 136, as illustrated in FIGS. 18-19.]
Regarding claim 7, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Favalora further teaches:
a loading module configured to load the output, wherein, when the post-processing process is completed, the transfer device moves to the loading module and moves the basket accommodating the output to the loading module. (Favalora: [0075] “At step L, basket 18 may be transferred from drying station 38 and inverted such that closed end 22 faces upwardly and open end 20 of basket 18 faces downwardly, causing 3D objects 30 to fall or slide out of basket 18 into a curing tray 40.”) (Favalora: [0077] “At step N, 3D objects 30 may be optically inspected, and then subject to additional post-cure treatments including, but not limited to, UV exposure and heating. Curing tray 40 may be seated in a transport tray 44. Transport tray 44 may then be moved to a packaging station (not shown), where curing tray 40 can be labeled and packaged for shipment.”)
Regarding claim 8, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Favalora further teaches:
a basket supply module including the basket, wherein the transfer device loads the basket, then moves to the basket supply module, mounts a new basket on the basket supply module, and accommodates a new output in the new basket. (Favalora: [0111] “Cartridge flipping assembly 120 then raises basket 18 out of basket carriage 104, rotates basket 18 to an inverted position with open end 120 facing downwardly, moves basket 18 in position above cartridge 14, and lowers basket 18 into cartridge 14, as illustrated in FIG. 11. It is to be appreciated that cartridge flipping assembly 120 may be controlled by a servo motor that allows fine control of the movement of cartridge flipping assembly 120 to help prevent damage to 3D objects within cartridge 14 and basket 18.”) (Favalora: [0112] “Once basket 18 is fully inserted into cartridge 14, a pair of cartridge grippers 126, visible in FIGS. 10 and 13, of cartridge flipping assembly 120 grasp cartridge 14. Cartridge 14 is released from basket platform 80, and cartridge flipping assembly 120 raises cartridge 14 and basket 18 upwardly away from basket platform 80, as seen in FIG. 12. Basket platform 18 is then moved upstream away from cartridge flipping assembly 120.”) (Favalora: [0123] “Basket housing 158 may have two recesses 162 formed therein, and basket gripping assembly 136 may move basket into an empty one of the two recesses 162. After the 3D objects have been transferred out of basket 18, the empty basket is returned to one of the empty recesses 162. When basket 18 is empty, basket gripping assembly 136 may grasp the empty basket 18 and return it upstream to first position 106 in basket carriage 104, as shown in FIG. 8. Optionally, empty basket 18 can be cleaned before being returned to basket carriage 104.”)
Regarding claim 9, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Favalora further teaches:
wherein, when the transfer device stops at any one process module of the plurality of process modules, the transfer device moves the basket downward so that the output accommodated in the basket is introduced into a work bath provided inside the process module. (Favalora: [0117] and FIGS. 18-19 as discussed in claim 1) [See the vertical movement of the basket gripping assembly 136 bringing the basket down into the first wash basin, as illustrated in FIGS. 18-19.]
Regarding independent claim 15, Favalora teaches:
A smart transfer method for performing three-dimensional (3D) printing output post-processing and loading processes, comprising: (Favalora: [0007] “In accordance with another aspect, a 3D printing assembly includes a printer gripping assembly configured to move a cartridge containing a photohardenable resin. A printer assembly includes at least one excitation light source configured to solidify the photohardenable resin and form one or more 3D objects in the cartridge. A cartridge flipping assembly is configured to insert a basket in an inverted position into the cartridge and rotate the cartridge to an inverted position such that the one or more 3D objects are transferred into the basket and the liquid resin flows out of the cartridge. A basket gripping assembly is configured to remove the basket from the cartridge and transfer the basket to a first washing station. A second washing station is positioned downstream of the first washing station. A drying station is positioned downstream of the second washing station. A pre-curing station is positioned downstream of the drying station. A transfer assembly is configured to transfer the one or more 3D objects from the basket into a curing tray. An inspection station is configured to inspect the one or more 3D objects in the curing tray. A sealing station is configured to secure a sealing film to a top surface of the curing tray. A transfer tray is configured to receive one or more curing trays.”)
moving a transfer device equipped with a basket to a supply module and accommodating, by the transfer device, an output generated from a 3D printer in the basket. (Favalora: [0070] “At step E, a basket 18 may be inserted into cartridge 14 in inverted fashion such that the open end 20 of basket 18 is placed over a corresponding 3D object 30 within cartridge 14, and closed end 22 faces upwardly.”) (Favalora: [0117] “As illustrated in FIGS. 18-21, a basket gripping assembly 136 may include one or more basket grippers 138 that may raise basket 18, including 3D objects seated therein, out of basket carriage 104 for finishing steps. First washing station 34 may include a first wash basin 140 and a cover 142, which may be moved laterally to expose first wash basin 140. Basket gripping assembly 136 may then move basket 18 into any open and unoccupied position within first wash basin 140, as illustrated in FIG. 19. …”) [The basket gripping assembly 136 in combination with any other parts of the assembly that assist in moving the basket reads on “a transfer device”. The printer of the 3D object reads on “a supply module”. The 3D object reads on “an output generated from a 3D printer””.]
Favalora does not expressly teach: receiving, by a control device, data on the output from the 3D printer; setting, by the control device, post-processing work to be performed on the basis of the data on the output and setting a work path of the transfer device for the post-processing work; and moving the transfer device along the work path, stopping at any one process module of a plurality of process modules, and performing, by the transfer device, a post-processing process on the output.
Erickson teaches:
receiving, by a control device, data on the output from the 3D printer; (Erickson: Column 4 lines 7-18 “In another example, the system includes a reader to 1) read an identifier from a three-dimensional (3D) printed object that includes a storage element and 2) read a location of the 3D printed object within a build material bed. The system also includes an extractor to extract from a database and based on the identifier 1) a post processing operation to execute on the 3D printed object and 2) post processing procedures. The system also includes a controller to control a post processing device based on extracted post processing operation information and the location and a post processing device to perform the post processing operation using the post processing parameters.”) [The 3D printed object reads on “the output”. The controller reads on “a control device”. The extracted post processing operation information reads on “data on the output”.]
setting, by the control device, post-processing work to be performed on the basis of the data on the output and setting a work path of the transfer device for the post-processing work; and moving the transfer device along the work path, stopping at any one process module of a plurality of process modules, and performing, by the transfer device, a post-processing process on the output. (Erickson: Column 27 lines 30-54 “Specifically, automated handling of 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) is enabled through appropriate readers (1332) that determine location information. A controller (1336) is paired with robotics, conveyance systems, or other post processing devices to process the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). Through this pairing, a host of automated processes become possible with the potential to dramatically reduce final part costs. Processes which could be automated using this approach include, but are not limited to, bed (FIG. 2, 210) unpacking, post-processing selection, post-processing (sandblasting, air-gun, water-gun, etc.), and part testing (3D scanning, mechanical testing, etc.). The automation of these operations enhances the efficiency of post processing as many of these operations are currently human controlled, that is a user collects information on what post processing operations to perform. Thus, the present system allows for a possible reduction of cost for final parts and for assurance that a part has been properly post-processed. During post-processing, 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) tagged with an identifier enable tailored post-processing for each object. This is useful given the wide variety of 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) and desired final part outcomes/properties. Not only are the post processing operations to complete extracted, but the parameters are also extracted.”) (Erickson: Column 29 line 59 to Column 30 line 3 “In controlling the post processing operations, the controller (1336) may control a post processing device. For example, the controller (1336) may control a robotic arm that assists in unpacking or otherwise moving the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). That is, the specialized instructions may allow for automation of unpacking, using for instance, a robotic arm. As another example, the controller (1336) may manipulate a conveyance system to move the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) during unpacking from the bed (FIG. 2, 210) or following unpacking from the bed (FIG. 2, 210) for example to another location for further post processing.”) (Erickson: Column 30 lines 4-11 “In some examples, the location information that is extracted (1334) may be after an unpacking operation. For example, after a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) has been removed and sand-blasted, the 3D printed object (FIG. 2,218) may be on a conveyor which takes it to different possible finishing stations. Reading an RFID chip lets the conveyor select where a particular 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) is to be conveyed.”) [Controlling the operations and parameters read on “setting … post-processing work to be performed …” and “performing … a post-processing process”. The conveyor taking the 3D printed object to a post processing location or station based on the post processing operation information reads on “seting a work path”… and “moving the transfer device …”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Favalora and Erickson before them, to modify the 3D printing assembly including basket transfer assembly for downstream processing of the workpiece, to incorporate control by the controller of the 3D printing assembly.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable coordinated control functions of the downstream processing of the workpieces of the 3D printing assembly. (Erickson: Column 3 lines 33-43 “The use of an embedded storage element that includes at least an identifier for an associated 3D printed object and additional associated information (either in the storage element or on a database) coupled with the ease of scanning parts, enables a broad ecosystem of valuable part functionalities, especially as additional data about the 3D printed object can be added during the 3D printed object lifecycle. Such a system provides a wide variety of enabled functionalities including security and authentication of parts, intelligent redesign of parts, data collection on part usage, and automation of handling of parts.”)
Regarding claim 16, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 15. Favalora further teaches:
when the post-processing process is completed, moving the transfer device to a loading module and loading, by the transfer device, the basket accommodating the output into the loading module. (Favalora: [0075] “At step L, basket 18 may be transferred from drying station 38 and inverted such that closed end 22 faces upwardly and open end 20 of basket 18 faces downwardly, causing 3D objects 30 to fall or slide out of basket 18 into a curing tray 40.”) (Favalora: [0077] “At step N, 3D objects 30 may be optically inspected, and then subject to additional post-cure treatments including, but not limited to, UV exposure and heating. Curing tray 40 may be seated in a transport tray 44. Transport tray 44 may then be moved to a packaging station (not shown), where curing tray 40 can be labeled and packaged for shipment.”)
Regarding claim 17, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 15. Erickson further teaches:
setting, by the control device, a work variable for a process module to perform the post-processing work; transmitting, by the control device, the work variable to the process module; and when the transfer device stops at the process module, operating, by the process module, according to the set work variable and post-processing the output. (Erickson: Column 25 lines 22-51 “In addition to manufacturing conditions, other conditions may also be associated with the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). As with the manufacturing conditions, these other conditions may similarly be associated with the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). That is, over the course of its life the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) passes through a number of stages, devices used in each of these stages may have different sensors and/or scanners that can write information to the embedded storage element. As a specific example, a number of post processing devices may perform any number of post processing operations such as cleaning, sand-blasting, finishing assembly, etc. Accordingly, the same sensing system that measures (block 1203) manufacturing conditions may measure (block 1209) conditions subsequent to formation of the 3D printed object. These additional measurements may also be written (block 1210) to the database (FIG. 3, 320). That is, just as a temperature sensor measures a temperature of a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) during manufacturing, the same temperature sensor may measure a temperature of a 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218) during transit. Such measurements, similar to those made during additive manufacturing, may be the basis of a notification and or action within the database. Take for example a 3D printed part that is manufactured in an environment that does not exceed a threshold humidity level, but that when the object is along the distribution chain, its humidity exceeds the threshold humidity level. In this example, the moisture value may be written to the database and a particular action, such as highlighting the measurement, or providing an alert, may be executed to notify a user.”) (Erickson: Column 27 lines 30-54 “Specifically, automated handling of 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) is enabled through appropriate readers (1332) that determine location information. A controller (1336) is paired with robotics, conveyance systems, or other post processing devices to process the 3D printed object (FIG. 2, 218). Through this pairing, a host of automated processes become possible with the potential to dramatically reduce final part costs. Processes which could be automated using this approach include, but are not limited to, bed (FIG. 2, 210) unpacking, post-processing selection, post-processing (sandblasting, air-gun, water-gun, etc.), and part testing (3D scanning, mechanical testing, etc.). The automation of these operations enhances the efficiency of post processing as many of these operations are currently human controlled, that is a user collects information on what post processing operations to perform. Thus, the present system allows for a possible reduction of cost for final parts and for assurance that a part has been properly post-processed. During post-processing, 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) tagged with an identifier enable tailored post-processing for each object. This is useful given the wide variety of 3D printed objects (FIG. 2, 218) and desired final part outcomes/properties. Not only are the post processing operations to complete extracted, but the parameters are also extracted.”)
The motivation to combine Favalora and Erickson as described in claim 15 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 18, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 15. Favalora further teaches:
wherein the performing of the post-processing process further includes, when the transfer device stops at any one process module of the plurality of process modules, moving the basket downward and introducing the output accommodated in the basket into a work bath provided inside the process module. (Favalora: [0117] and FIGS. 18-19 as discussed in claim 1) [See the vertical movement of the basket gripping assembly 136 bringing the basket down into the first wash basin, as illustrated in FIGS. 18-19.]
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favalora, in view of Erickson, further in view of BUERKLIN et al. (DE 202023101178 U1) (“Buerklin”).
Regarding claim 5, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Favalora and Erickson do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 5.
Buerklin teaches:
wherein, when the control device transfers a plurality of outputs using a plurality of transfer devices, the control device sets a schedule for preventing collisions between the plurality of transfer devices and operating the plurality of process modules. (Buerklin: Page 5, third paragraph “Consequently, according to a further preferred embodiment, at least one control module can be arranged on the transport rail. Such a control module can be arranged for communication with a higher-level device control and/or for communication with at least one conveyor vehicle for controlling the transport route and/or the transport speed of the respective conveyor vehicle. The respective conveyor vehicle, in particular a plurality of conveyor vehicles, can be controlled in a particularly advantageous manner via such a control module, namely by a higher-level device controller. Transport routes and/or transport speeds of several conveyor vehicles can be coordinated with one another. Transport routes and/or transport speeds of conveyor vehicles can also be adapted to the processing and process times for the respective screen-printed workpieces.”) (Buerklin: Page 5, sixth paragraph “Even more preferably, the transport device can have a collision monitoring system for avoiding collisions between conveyor vehicles. The collision monitoring system can be set up for signal processing from distance and/or position sensors and/or from control modules and/or control units of the transport rail. The operational safety of the device can be further improved in this way and the degree of automation can be further increased.”) (Buerklin: Page 18, eighth and ninth paragraphs “A control module 33 arranged on the transport rail 16 can be designed in particular for communication with a higher-level device controller 34 and/or for communication with at least one conveyor vehicle 18 for controlling the transport route and/or the transport speed and/or for stopping the respective conveyor vehicle 18. In particular, a plurality of control modules 33 can be arranged at fixed positions on the transport rail 16 . Such a control module 33 can be embodied as an optoelectronic communication module for data exchange for communication between the conveyor vehicle 18 and the device controller 34 . The device controller 34, in particular in the form of a so-called line controller, can be designed to control and/or regulate all processes and/or sequences within the device 10.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Favalora, Erickson and Buerklin before them, to modify the 3D printing assembly including a transfer assembly for downstream processing of the workpiece, to incorporate multiple transfer vehicles and scheduling of the multiple transfer vehicles.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable coordinated control functions of the multiple transfer vehicles to avoid collision. (Buerklin: Page 5, third paragraph)
Regarding claim 20, Favalora and Erickson teach all the claimed features of claim 15. Favalora and Erickson do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 20.
Buerklin teaches:
wherein, in the setting of the work path of the transfer device, when the transfer device is provided as a plurality of transfer devices, the control device sets a plurality of work paths to prevent collisions between the plurality of transfer devices and sets a schedule for operating the plurality of process modules. (Buerklin: Page 5, third paragraph “Consequently, according to a further preferred embodiment, at least one control module can be arranged on the transport rail. Such a control module can be arranged for communication with a higher-level device control and/or for communication with at least one conveyor vehicle for controlling the transport route and/or the transport speed of the respective conveyor vehicle. The respective conveyor vehicle, in particular a plurality of conveyor vehicles, can be controlled in a particularly advantageous manner via such a control module, namely by a higher-level device controller. Transport routes and/or transport speeds of several conveyor vehicles can be coordinated with one another. Transport routes and/or transport speeds of conveyor vehicles can also be adapted to the processing and process times for the respective screen-printed workpieces.”) (Buerklin: Page 5, sixth paragraph “Even more preferably, the transport device can have a collision monitoring system for avoiding collisions between conveyor vehicles. The collision monitoring system can be set up for signal processing from distance and/or position sensors and/or from control modules and/or control units of the transport rail. The operational safety of the device can be further improved in this way and the degree of automation can be further increased.”) (Buerklin: Page 18, eighth and ninth paragraphs “A control module 33 arranged on the transport rail 16 can be designed in particular for communication with a higher-level device controller 34 and/or for communication with at least one conveyor vehicle 18 for controlling the transport route and/or the transport speed and/or for stopping the respective conveyor vehicle 18. In particular, a plurality of control modules 33 can be arranged at fixed positions on the transport rail 16 . Such a control module 33 can be embodied as an optoelectronic communication module for data exchange for communication between the conveyor vehicle 18 and the device controller 34 . The device controller 34, in particular in the form of a so-called line controller, can be designed to control and/or regulate all processes and/or sequences within the device 10.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Favalora, Erickson and Buerklin before them, to modify the 3D printing assembly including a transfer assembly for downstream processing of the workpiece, to incorporate multiple transfer vehicles and scheduling of the multiple transfer vehicles.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would enable coordinated control functions of the multiple transfer vehicles to avoid collision. (Buerklin: Page 5, third paragraph)
Allowable Subject Matter
Each of the Claims 10 and 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116