DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US 2017/0274238) in view of Buchanan (US 5,443,434).
Chou teaches an exercise bike comprising: a frame configured to rest on a ground surface and having a seat configured to support a user (see Fig. 1-3); a rotor (see Fig. 8) supported by the frame, the rotor comprising a hub (34) supported by the frame for rotation on a first axis, a pulley (35) operably connected to the hub, a plurality of blades (72, 90) connected to the hub, and a plurality of connectors (91) connecting the blades to the hub, wherein the hub, the pulley, and the plurality of blades are configured to rotate together about the first axis, and wherein the plurality of blades includes a first blade having a proximal end connected to the hub and an elongated body extending outward from the hub to a distal end (see Fig 8); and a drive assembly operably connected to the rotor to drive rotation of the rotor, wherein the drive assembly comprises a pulley assembly supported by the frame operably connected to the pulley of the rotor and a pedal assembly connected to the pulley assembly to drive rotation of the rotor through the pulley assembly [0043].
Chou teaches the rotor having a pulley rather than a sprocket as claimed. Buchanan teaches an exercise bike comprising a rotor with a hub (11), sprocket (17), and a plurality of blades (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a sprocket, as taught by Chou, for the pulley taught by Buchanan. Such a modification involves the mere substitution of one well-known component for another to yield predictable results which fail to distinguish the invention over the prior art (See MPEP 2143)
Chou is silent as to the weight distribution of the rotor, and does not specifically disclose 70-90% of a weight of the rotor is located within 75% of a maximum diameter of the rotor, but teaches adjustable length blades, adjustment of which inherently alters the weight distribution of the rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the dimensions of the blades of the device taught by Chou such that 70-90% of a weight of the rotor is located within 75% of a maximum diameter of the rotor, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Chou would not operate differently with the claimed weight distribution, as this distribution would be suitable for the functioning of the exercise bike.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,155,132. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the present claims are all recited by the patent claims. The patent claims therefore anticipate the present claims.
Claim 21 of the patent claims requires the limitations exercise bike comprising: a frame configured to rest on a ground surface and having a seat configured to support a user; a rotor supported by the frame, the rotor comprising a hub supported by the frame for rotation on a first axis, a sprocket operably connected to the hub, a plurality of blades connected to the hub, and a plurality of connectors connecting the blades to the hub, wherein the hub, the sprocket, and the plurality of blades are configured to rotate together about the first axis, and wherein the plurality of blades includes a first blade having a proximal end connected to the hub and an elongated body extending outward from the hub to a distal end; and a drive assembly operably connected to the rotor to drive rotation of the rotor, wherein the drive assembly comprises a pulley assembly supported by the frame operably connected to the sprocket of the rotor and a pedal assembly connected to the pulley assembly to drive rotation of the rotor through the pulley assembly. Claim 22 of the patent claims requires wherein 70-90% of a weight of the rotor is located within 75% of a maximum diameter of the rotor
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,946,237. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the present claims are all recited by the patent claims. The patent claims therefore anticipate the present claims.
Claim 1 of the patent claims recites all of the limitations of the present claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,439,866. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the present claims are all recited by, or obvious over, the patent claims.
The patent claims require exercise bike comprising: a frame configured to rest on a ground surface and having a seat configured to support a user (claim 1); a rotor supported by the frame, the rotor comprising a hub supported by the frame for rotation on a first axis, a sprocket operably connected to the hub, a plurality of blades connected to the hub, and a plurality of connectors connecting the blades to the hub, wherein the hub, the sprocket, and the plurality of blades are configured to rotate together about the first axis (claim 1), and wherein the plurality of blades includes a first blade having a proximal end connected to the hub and an elongated body extending outward from the hub to a distal end (claim 1), a drive assembly operably connected to the rotor to drive rotation of the rotor, wherein the drive assembly comprises a pulley assembly supported by the frame operably connected to the sprocket of the rotor and a pedal assembly connected to the pulley assembly to drive rotation of the rotor through the pulley assembly (claim 6).
The patent claims are silent as to the weight distribution of the rotor, and does not specifically disclose 70-90% of a weight of the rotor is located within 75% of a maximum diameter of the rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the dimensions of the blades of the device of the patent claims such that 70-90% of a weight of the rotor is located within 75% of a maximum diameter of the rotor, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of the patent claims would not operate differently with the claimed weight distribution, as this distribution would be suitable for the functioning of the exercise bike.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the present claims are all recited by the patent claims. The patent claims therefore anticipate the present claims.
Claim 6 of the patent claims recites all of the limitations of the present claim.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625