DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 17 July 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Velev et al. (US 20210153048 A1) (hereinafter Vel).
In regards to claim 1, Vel teaches a communications apparatus wherein the communications apparatus is a monitoring node and comprises:
a memory configured to store a program (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0072] In some embodiments, the processor 405 executes instructions stored in the memory 410 to perform the methods and routines described herein.); and
a processor configured to invoke the program in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0068] the processor 305 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. [0072] The processor 405 is communicatively coupled to the memory 410, the input device 415, the output device 420, and the transceiver 425.):
obtaining a monitoring result of a quality of service (QoS) parameter of at least one terminal device, wherein the monitoring node is a user plane network element or a control plane network element (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0073] In various embodiments, the network equipment apparatus 400 functions as a user plane function in the mobile communication network. Where the network equipment apparatus 400 operates as a UPF, the processor 405 receives an instruction to monitor a QoS parameter for a data connection of the remote unit and modifies a downlink packet to include an indication for a packet delivery report. The processor 405 also receives a packet delivery report (e.g., via the transceiver 425) in response to delivery of the downlink packet to the remote unit. [0074] The processor 405 determines the QoS parameter based on delivery information for the downlink packet. In one embodiment, the delivery information is the receipt of a delivery report for the marked DL packet as well as delay information for the delivered packet. In another embodiment, no delivery report may be received within a threshold time, thus the delivery information may be the determination of unsuccessful delivery of the DL packet. In various embodiments, the QoS parameter may a downlink QoS parameter, such as a downlink packet delay budget, a downlink delay jitter, and/or a downlink packet error rate.);
determining, from the monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device, a first monitoring result that meets a first preset condition (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0090] In some embodiments, the processor 405 detects a changed QoS condition based on the QoS report and performs one of: QoS flow modification, identifying new QoS policy rules, and informing an application server of the changed QoS condition. Moreover, the QoS parameter may be one or more of: an uplink packet delay budget, an uplink delay jitter, an uplink packet error rate, a downlink packet delay budget, a downlink delay jitter, and a downlink packet error rate. [0091] In some embodiments, configuring a network function and an access network node to monitor the QoS parameter for a data connection of a remote unit includes indicating whether to measure one of: an uplink QoS parameter and a downlink QoS parameter. In certain embodiments, the transceiver 425 may receive an indication from the remote unit as to whether the remote unit is capable of monitoring the uplink QoS parameter. In further embodiments, the processor 405 may configure the remote unit to execute the monitoring of the QoS parameter for the requested data connection. [0092] In some embodiments, determining to monitor the QoS parameter for the requested data connection may include one or more of: downloading subscription data of the remote unit, requesting policy rules for the requested data connection, and determining application level requirements. In certain embodiments, configuring the network function and access network node to monitor the QoS parameter includes configuring a frequency for marking data packets, wherein the QoS parameter is measured using the marked data packets.); and
sending, first information to a notified node, wherein the first information is used to indicate the first monitoring result, and the notified node comprises a control plane network element, an application server, or a terminal device (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: First monitoring result, see step 9 in fig. 9. First information, see step 10 in fig. 9. [0180] Additionally, the UPF 225 sends a QoS monitoring report to the SMF 220 (see signaling 940). Note that the QoS monitoring report may be for uplink QoS monitoring only. Here, the UPF 225 may send the QoS report periodically or, alternatively, only when the QoS measurements have exceeded certain threshold of the used QoS profile. The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the UL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. uplink PDB or uplink PDB-jitter), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. The fourth network procedure 900 ends. [0181] Please note that the UPF 225 may send separate QoS monitoring reports for downlink and for uplink and may send the separate reports at separate times (e.g., in response to different triggers). In another embodiment, the UPF 225 may send a single report including all gathered QoS monitoring information (for both downlink and uplink). [0182] Note that the periodicity of sending QoS monitoring reports (1) from UE 205 to SMF 220 or (2) from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may be configured during PDU Session establishment/modification procedure towards the UE 205 or during the N4 exchange towards the UPF 225.).
In regards to claim 2, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 1:
wherein the monitoring result of the QoS parameter comprises a guarantee status of a QoS flow, a current rate, current reliability, and/or a current latency (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0124] Here, after successful transmission of the DL packet the (R)AN node 210 immediately sends a DL data delivery report (or another similar message) to the UPF 225 (see signaling 645). In certain embodiments, the delivery information may be carried in a message similar to the “Downlink Data Delivery Status” message as specified in TS 36.425 clause 5.4.2. In one alternative, the delivery information may be carried a new GTP message (e.g. GTP-U signaling message). Yet in another alternative, the DL data delivery report may be carried, e.g. piggy-backed, in an uplink data packet. In various embodiments, the DL data delivery report includes the SN of the downlink packet, and an Acknowledgement (Ack) indicating successful delivery. The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650). [0135] The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the DL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. downlink PDB or downlink PDB-jitter, packet error rate), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. Alternatively, if rather instantaneous QoS reporting is desirable (e.g. according to configuration from SMF in the signaling from SMF 220 to UPF 225), the UPF can send report to SMF when it is detected that a given number of packets (e.g. 5 consecutive packets) exceed certain setup QoS parameter. In addition, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error. (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id, etc.). Based on this “communication error location” information from the UPF 225 the SMF 220 may undertake some actions, e.g. knowing that other UEs in this cell or served by this RAN node may also experience QoS deterioration. The first network procedure 600 ends.).
In regards to claim 3 and 11, Vel teaches the apparatus:
wherein the first information comprises the first monitoring result and/or an identity of a terminal device corresponding to the first monitoring result (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: First monitoring result, see step 9 in fig. 9. First information, see step 10 in fig. 9. QoS report (step 10) is generated from the QoS measurements determined in step 9. [0135] Note that the QoS monitoring report may be for downlink QoS monitoring only. The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the DL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. downlink PDB or downlink PDB-jitter, packet error rate), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. Alternatively, if rather instantaneous QoS reporting is desirable (e.g. according to configuration from SMF in the signaling from SMF 220 to UPF 225), the UPF can send report to SMF when it is detected that a given number of packets (e.g. 5 consecutive packets) exceed certain setup QoS parameter. In addition, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error. (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id, etc.). Based on this “communication error location” information from the UPF 225 the SMF 220 may undertake some actions, e.g. knowing that other UEs in this cell or served by this RAN node may also experience QoS deterioration. The first network procedure 600 ends. [0185] In certain embodiments, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id). Note that to support this additional information, the (R)AN node 210 needs to send this additional information (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 id) to the UPF 225, for example by including it in the “packet delivery report.”).
In regards to claim 4, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 1:
wherein the obtaining a monitoring result of a QoS parameter of at least one terminal device comprises: receiving the monitoring result, sent by an access network element, of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0123] Having received the marked (modified) DL data packet, the (R)AN node 210 transmits the DL user data to the UE 205, e.g., over the radio interface (see signaling 640). Based on the marking (or indication) in the N3 header (e.g. GTP-U header) of the downlink user packet, the (R)AN node 210 is aware that QoS monitoring for this packet is required. Moreover, the (R)AN node 210 determines the downlink transmission delay, e.g., the delay from user packet arrival at the (R)AN node 210 to the successful transmission to the UE 205. In various embodiments, the (R)AN node 210 may determine that a DL data packet has been successfully received at the UE 205 upon receiving HARQ feedback to a corresponding transport block (“TB”) that contained the packet intended for DL Data delivery reporting (e.g., as marked by UPF 225). [0124] Here, after successful transmission of the DL packet the (R)AN node 210 immediately sends a DL data delivery report (or another similar message) to the UPF 225 (see signaling 645). In certain embodiments, the delivery information may be carried in a message similar to the “Downlink Data Delivery Status” message as specified in TS 36.425 clause 5.4.2. In one alternative, the delivery information may be carried a new GTP message (e.g. GTP-U signaling message). Yet in another alternative, the DL data delivery report may be carried, e.g. piggy-backed, in an uplink data packet. In various embodiments, the DL data delivery report includes the SN of the downlink packet, and an Acknowledgement (Ack) indicating successful delivery. The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650).).
In regards to claim 5, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 1:
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to further perform (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0068] the processor 305 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. [0072] The processor 405 is communicatively coupled to the memory 410, the input device 415, the output device 420, and the transceiver 425.):
receiving second information sent by the notified node, wherein the second information is used to configure a monitoring and reporting policy of the QoS parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: SMF can be seen as the notified node. Second information corresponds to the “set up QoS measurement and pattern” in step 2. [0114] Upon reception of the PDU Session Establishment Request message, the SMF 220 may download (e.g., from the UDM 149) subscription data of the UE 205 for the requested DNN and/or S-NSSAI. Additionally, the SMF 220 may send a request (e.g., to the PCF 147) for policy rules for this PDU Session. Accordingly, the SMF 220 determines that QoS monitoring (e.g., QoS measurement) needs to be applied to one or more of the data flows (e.g., QoS flows) for this PDU Session. The determination can be done either based on pre-configuration (network configuration) in the SMF 220 for the DNN and/or S-NSSAI; or based on indication or policy rules received from the PCF; or based on indication received from the UDM/UDR; or the SMF 220 may directly exchange signaling with the AF 230 (e.g., an application server (“AS”)) to determine the application level requirements. Additionally, if the SMF determines that the QoS parameters for one or more QoS flows for this PDU Session require QoS parameter monitoring (e.g. if the QoS flow is for URLLC service), the SMF 220 may consider whether an UPF is capable of QoS monitoring during the UPF selection procedure (FIG. 6 assumes that the SMF 220 selects the UPF 225 which is capable of QoS monitoring).).
In regards to claim 6, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 5:
wherein the obtaining a monitoring result of a QoS parameter of at least one terminal device comprises: obtaining the monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device according to the second information (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: SMF can be seen as the notified node. Second information corresponds to the “set up QoS measurement and pattern” in step 2. [0114] Upon reception of the PDU Session Establishment Request message, the SMF 220 may download (e.g., from the UDM 149) subscription data of the UE 205 for the requested DNN and/or S-NSSAI. Additionally, the SMF 220 may send a request (e.g., to the PCF 147) for policy rules for this PDU Session. Accordingly, the SMF 220 determines that QoS monitoring (e.g., QoS measurement) needs to be applied to one or more of the data flows (e.g., QoS flows) for this PDU Session. The determination can be done either based on pre-configuration (network configuration) in the SMF 220 for the DNN and/or S-NSSAI; or based on indication or policy rules received from the PCF; or based on indication received from the UDM/UDR; or the SMF 220 may directly exchange signaling with the AF 230 (e.g., an application server (“AS”)) to determine the application level requirements. Additionally, if the SMF determines that the QoS parameters for one or more QoS flows for this PDU Session require QoS parameter monitoring (e.g. if the QoS flow is for URLLC service), the SMF 220 may consider whether an UPF is capable of QoS monitoring during the UPF selection procedure (FIG. 6 assumes that the SMF 220 selects the UPF 225 which is capable of QoS monitoring).).
In regards to claim 7, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 6:
wherein the monitoring and reporting policy comprises a second parameter, the second parameter is used to configure a communication direction of a to-be-monitored target parameter in the QoS parameter, and the communication direction comprises uplink and/or downlink (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0115] To implement the QoS monitoring, the SMF 220 sends to the UPF 225 (e.g., via the N4 interface) a request message with packet detection rules (e.g., per QFI) to the selected UPF 225 and additionally indicates to the UPF 225 to setup corresponding mechanism(s) for QoS measurement (see signaling 610). The SMF 220 may additionally indicate whether the QoS monitoring applies a) to downlink only, b) to uplink only, or c) to both downlink and uplink. In various embodiments, the indication to setup corresponding QoS monitoring mechanism of UL and/or DL monitoring can be implemented in various ways: e.g. either 1) for each QoS flow to be monitored (e.g., the indication ‘QoS monitoring required’ is sent for the QFI to be monitored), or 2) the QoS monitoring required indication is always included and it can have two values, e.g. ‘ON’ (or ‘activate’) or ‘OFF (or ‘deactivate’) value. In various embodiments, the “QoS flow” may refer to a specific bearer (e.g., an EPS bearer).); and
the obtaining the monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device according to the second information comprises (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: 0124] Here, after successful transmission of the DL packet the (R)AN node 210 immediately sends a DL data delivery report (or another similar message) to the UPF 225 (see signaling 645). In certain embodiments, the delivery information may be carried in a message similar to the “Downlink Data Delivery Status” message as specified in TS 36.425 clause 5.4.2. In one alternative, the delivery information may be carried a new GTP message (e.g. GTP-U signaling message). Yet in another alternative, the DL data delivery report may be carried, e.g. piggy-backed, in an uplink data packet. In various embodiments, the DL data delivery report includes the SN of the downlink packet, and an Acknowledgement (Ack) indicating successful delivery. The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650).):
obtaining an uplink monitoring result and/or a downlink monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device according to the second parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: See fig. 9 step 9 for obtaining monitoring results. [0122] the elapsed time may be used to determine a DL QoS parameter. [0124] The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650).).
In regards to claim 8, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 6:
wherein the monitoring and reporting policy comprises a third parameter, and the third parameter is used to configure observation duration of a to-be-monitored target parameter in the QoS parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: Downlink [0116] In certain embodiments, the SMF 220 may configure the frequency for performing the QoS measurement in the user plane, for example by sending a marking pattern. In one example, the marking pattern may indicate that the measurement is performed for each 5.sup.th packet, 10.sup.th packet, etc. Additionally, the SMF 220 may configure a particular QoS parameter to measure. As a non-limiting example, the QoS parameters to measure can be at least (1) delay or PDB for downlink data, (2) delay jitter and/or (3) packet error rate (“PER”). Uplink [0142] In certain embodiments, the SMF 220 may configure the frequency for performing the QoS measurement in the user plane, for example by sending a marking pattern. In one example, the marking pattern may indicate that the measurement is performed for each 5.sup.th packet, 10.sup.th packet, etc. Additionally, the SMF 220 may configure a particular QoS parameter to measure. As a non-limiting example, the QoS parameters to measure can be at least (1) delay or PDB for uplink data, (2) delay jitter and/or (3) packet error rate (“PER”).); and
the obtaining the monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device according to the second information comprises (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0124] Here, after successful transmission of the DL packet the (R)AN node 210 immediately sends a DL data delivery report (or another similar message) to the UPF 225 (see signaling 645). In certain embodiments, the delivery information may be carried in a message similar to the “Downlink Data Delivery Status” message as specified in TS 36.425 clause 5.4.2. In one alternative, the delivery information may be carried a new GTP message (e.g. GTP-U signaling message). Yet in another alternative, the DL data delivery report may be carried, e.g. piggy-backed, in an uplink data packet. In various embodiments, the DL data delivery report includes the SN of the downlink packet, and an Acknowledgement (Ack) indicating successful delivery. The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650).)
obtaining a monitoring result of the target parameter of the at least one terminal device in the observation duration according to the third parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: See above for paragraph [0116] and [0124].
In regards to claim 9, Vel teaches a communications apparatus, wherein the communications apparatus is a notified node and comprises:
a memory configured to store a program (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0072] In some embodiments, the processor 405 executes instructions stored in the memory 410 to perform the methods and routines described herein.); and
a processor configured to invoke the program in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0068] the processor 305 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. [0072] The processor 405 is communicatively coupled to the memory 410, the input device 415, the output device 420, and the transceiver 425.):
receiving first information sent by a monitoring node, wherein the first information is used to indicate a first monitoring result, that meets a first preset condition, in a monitoring result of a quality of service (QoS) parameter of at least one terminal device, the notified node comprises a control plane network element, an application server, or a terminal device, and the monitoring node is a user plane network element or a control plane network element (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0134] Additionally, the UPF 225 sends QoS monitoring report to the SMF (see signaling 655). The QoS report from the UPF 225 may contain the various information. For example, a particular example can be “Measured PDB for 10% of packets=target PDB+2 ms; Measured PDB for other 10% of packets=target PDB+3 ms.” Here, the UPF 225 may send the QoS report periodically or, alternatively, only when the QoS measurements have exceeded certain threshold of the used QoS profile. [0135] Note that the QoS monitoring report may be for downlink QoS monitoring only. The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the DL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. downlink PDB or downlink PDB-jitter, packet error rate), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. Alternatively, if rather instantaneous QoS reporting is desirable (e.g. according to configuration from SMF in the signaling from SMF 220 to UPF 225), the UPF can send report to SMF when it is detected that a given number of packets (e.g. 5 consecutive packets) exceed certain setup QoS parameter. In addition, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error. (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id, etc.). Based on this “communication error location” information from the UPF 225 the SMF 220 may undertake some actions, e.g. knowing that other UEs in this cell or served by this RAN node may also experience QoS deterioration. The first network procedure 600 ends.).
In regards to claim 10 and 17, Vel teaches the apparatus:
wherein the monitoring result of the QoS parameter comprises a guarantee status of a QoS flow, a current rate obtained through measurement, current reliability, and/or a current latency (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0124] Here, after successful transmission of the DL packet the (R)AN node 210 immediately sends a DL data delivery report (or another similar message) to the UPF 225 (see signaling 645). In certain embodiments, the delivery information may be carried in a message similar to the “Downlink Data Delivery Status” message as specified in TS 36.425 clause 5.4.2. In one alternative, the delivery information may be carried a new GTP message (e.g. GTP-U signaling message). Yet in another alternative, the DL data delivery report may be carried, e.g. piggy-backed, in an uplink data packet. In various embodiments, the DL data delivery report includes the SN of the downlink packet, and an Acknowledgement (Ack) indicating successful delivery. The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650). [0135] The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the DL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. downlink PDB or downlink PDB-jitter, packet error rate), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. Alternatively, if rather instantaneous QoS reporting is desirable (e.g. according to configuration from SMF in the signaling from SMF 220 to UPF 225), the UPF can send report to SMF when it is detected that a given number of packets (e.g. 5 consecutive packets) exceed certain setup QoS parameter. In addition, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error. (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id, etc.). Based on this “communication error location” information from the UPF 225 the SMF 220 may undertake some actions, e.g. knowing that other UEs in this cell or served by this RAN node may also experience QoS deterioration. The first network procedure 600 ends.).
In regards to claim 12, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 9:
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to further perform (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0068] the processor 305 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. [0072] The processor 405 is communicatively coupled to the memory 410, the input device 415, the output device 420, and the transceiver 425.):
sending second information to the monitoring node, wherein the second information is used to configure a monitoring and reporting policy of the QoS parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: SMF can be seen as the notified node. Second information corresponds to the “set up QoS measurement and pattern” in step 2. [0114] Upon reception of the PDU Session Establishment Request message, the SMF 220 may download (e.g., from the UDM 149) subscription data of the UE 205 for the requested DNN and/or S-NSSAI. Additionally, the SMF 220 may send a request (e.g., to the PCF 147) for policy rules for this PDU Session. Accordingly, the SMF 220 determines that QoS monitoring (e.g., QoS measurement) needs to be applied to one or more of the data flows (e.g., QoS flows) for this PDU Session. The determination can be done either based on pre-configuration (network configuration) in the SMF 220 for the DNN and/or S-NSSAI; or based on indication or policy rules received from the PCF; or based on indication received from the UDM/UDR; or the SMF 220 may directly exchange signaling with the AF 230 (e.g., an application server (“AS”)) to determine the application level requirements. Additionally, if the SMF determines that the QoS parameters for one or more QoS flows for this PDU Session require QoS parameter monitoring (e.g. if the QoS flow is for URLLC service), the SMF 220 may consider whether an UPF is capable of QoS monitoring during the UPF selection procedure (FIG. 6 assumes that the SMF 220 selects the UPF 225 which is capable of QoS monitoring).).
In regards to claim 13, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 12:
wherein the monitoring and reporting policy comprises a second parameter, the second parameter is used to configure a communication direction of a to-be-monitored target parameter in the QoS parameter, and the communication direction comprises uplink and/or downlink (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0115] To implement the QoS monitoring, the SMF 220 sends to the UPF 225 (e.g., via the N4 interface) a request message with packet detection rules (e.g., per QFI) to the selected UPF 225 and additionally indicates to the UPF 225 to setup corresponding mechanism(s) for QoS measurement (see signaling 610). The SMF 220 may additionally indicate whether the QoS monitoring applies a) to downlink only, b) to uplink only, or c) to both downlink and uplink. In various embodiments, the indication to setup corresponding QoS monitoring mechanism of UL and/or DL monitoring can be implemented in various ways: e.g. either 1) for each QoS flow to be monitored (e.g., the indication ‘QoS monitoring required’ is sent for the QFI to be monitored), or 2) the QoS monitoring required indication is always included and it can have two values, e.g. ‘ON’ (or ‘activate’) or ‘OFF (or ‘deactivate’) value. In various embodiments, the “QoS flow” may refer to a specific bearer (e.g., an EPS bearer).).
In regards to claim 14, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 12:
wherein the monitoring and reporting policy comprises a third parameter, and the third parameter is used to configure observation duration of a to-be-monitored target parameter in the QoS parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: Downlink [0116] In certain embodiments, the SMF 220 may configure the frequency for performing the QoS measurement in the user plane, for example by sending a marking pattern. In one example, the marking pattern may indicate that the measurement is performed for each 5.sup.th packet, 10.sup.th packet, etc. Additionally, the SMF 220 may configure a particular QoS parameter to measure. As a non-limiting example, the QoS parameters to measure can be at least (1) delay or PDB for downlink data, (2) delay jitter and/or (3) packet error rate (“PER”). Uplink [0142] In certain embodiments, the SMF 220 may configure the frequency for performing the QoS measurement in the user plane, for example by sending a marking pattern. In one example, the marking pattern may indicate that the measurement is performed for each 5.sup.th packet, 10.sup.th packet, etc. Additionally, the SMF 220 may configure a particular QoS parameter to measure. As a non-limiting example, the QoS parameters to measure can be at least (1) delay or PDB for uplink data, (2) delay jitter and/or (3) packet error rate (“PER”).).
In regards to claim 15, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 12:
wherein the receiving first information sent by a monitoring node comprises:
receiving, according to the second information, the first information sent by the monitoring node (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0134] Additionally, the UPF 225 sends QoS monitoring report to the SMF (see signaling 655). The QoS report from the UPF 225 may contain the various information. For example, a particular example can be “Measured PDB for 10% of packets=target PDB+2 ms; Measured PDB for other 10% of packets=target PDB+3 ms.” Here, the UPF 225 may send the QoS report periodically or, alternatively, only when the QoS measurements have exceeded certain threshold of the used QoS profile. [0135] Note that the QoS monitoring report may be for downlink QoS monitoring only. The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the DL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. downlink PDB or downlink PDB-jitter, packet error rate), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. Alternatively, if rather instantaneous QoS reporting is desirable (e.g. according to configuration from SMF in the signaling from SMF 220 to UPF 225), the UPF can send report to SMF when it is detected that a given number of packets (e.g. 5 consecutive packets) exceed certain setup QoS parameter. In addition, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error. (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id, etc.). Based on this “communication error location” information from the UPF 225 the SMF 220 may undertake some actions, e.g. knowing that other UEs in this cell or served by this RAN node may also experience QoS deterioration. The first network procedure 600 ends.).
In regards to claim 16, Vel teaches a communications apparatus, wherein the communications apparatus is an access network element and comprises:
a memory configured to store a program (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0072] In some embodiments, the processor 405 executes instructions stored in the memory 410 to perform the methods and routines described herein.); and
a processor configured to invoke the program in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to perform (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0068] the processor 305 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. [0072] The processor 405 is communicatively coupled to the memory 410, the input device 415, the output device 420, and the transceiver 425.):
obtaining a monitoring result of a quality of service (QoS) parameter of at least one terminal device (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: See above for paragraphs [0074]-[0075]); and
sending third information to a monitoring node, wherein the third information is used to indicate the monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device, and the monitoring node is a user plane network element or a control plane network element (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0134] Additionally, the UPF 225 sends QoS monitoring report to the SMF (see signaling 655). The QoS report from the UPF 225 may contain the various information. For example, a particular example can be “Measured PDB for 10% of packets=target PDB+2 ms; Measured PDB for other 10% of packets=target PDB+3 ms.” Here, the UPF 225 may send the QoS report periodically or, alternatively, only when the QoS measurements have exceeded certain threshold of the used QoS profile. [0135] Note that the QoS monitoring report may be for downlink QoS monitoring only. The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the DL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. downlink PDB or downlink PDB-jitter, packet error rate), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. Alternatively, if rather instantaneous QoS reporting is desirable (e.g. according to configuration from SMF in the signaling from SMF 220 to UPF 225), the UPF can send report to SMF when it is detected that a given number of packets (e.g. 5 consecutive packets) exceed certain setup QoS parameter. In addition, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error. (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id, etc.). Based on this “communication error location” information from the UPF 225 the SMF 220 may undertake some actions, e.g. knowing that other UEs in this cell or served by this RAN node may also experience QoS deterioration. The first network procedure 600 ends.).
In regards to claim 18, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 16:
wherein the third information comprises the monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device and/or an identity of the at least one terminal device (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0134] Additionally, the UPF 225 sends QoS monitoring report to the SMF (see signaling 655). The QoS report from the UPF 225 may contain the various information. For example, a particular example can be “Measured PDB for 10% of packets=target PDB+2 ms; Measured PDB for other 10% of packets=target PDB+3 ms.” Here, the UPF 225 may send the QoS report periodically or, alternatively, only when the QoS measurements have exceeded certain threshold of the used QoS profile. [0135] Note that the QoS monitoring report may be for downlink QoS monitoring only. The UPF 225 may also apply an averaging algorithm for the QoS measurement to avoid too frequent or inaccurate QoS reports to the SMF 220. For example, if the UPF 225 determines that, e.g., 90% of the DL packets exceed certain setup QoS parameter (e.g. downlink PDB or downlink PDB-jitter, packet error rate), this may trigger the UPF 225 to send a report to the SMF 220. Alternatively, if rather instantaneous QoS reporting is desirable (e.g. according to configuration from SMF in the signaling from SMF 220 to UPF 225), the UPF can send report to SMF when it is detected that a given number of packets (e.g. 5 consecutive packets) exceed certain setup QoS parameter. In addition, the QoS report from UPF 225 to SMF 220 may also contain information that identifies the type and the location of a communication error. (e.g., cell id or RAN node id or N3 interface id, etc.). Based on this “communication error location” information from the UPF 225 the SMF 220 may undertake some actions, e.g. knowing that other UEs in this cell or served by this RAN node may also experience QoS deterioration. The first network procedure 600 ends.).
In regards to claim 19, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 16:
wherein the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to cause the communications apparatus to further perform (Vel, fig. 4, [0069]-[0097]: [0068] the processor 305 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. [0072] The processor 405 is communicatively coupled to the memory 410, the input device 415, the output device 420, and the transceiver 425.):
receiving second information sent by the control plane network element, wherein the second information is used to configure a monitoring and reporting policy of the QoS parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: SMF can be seen as the notified node. Second information corresponds to the “set up QoS measurement and pattern” in step 2. [0114] Upon reception of the PDU Session Establishment Request message, the SMF 220 may download (e.g., from the UDM 149) subscription data of the UE 205 for the requested DNN and/or S-NSSAI. Additionally, the SMF 220 may send a request (e.g., to the PCF 147) for policy rules for this PDU Session. Accordingly, the SMF 220 determines that QoS monitoring (e.g., QoS measurement) needs to be applied to one or more of the data flows (e.g., QoS flows) for this PDU Session. The determination can be done either based on pre-configuration (network configuration) in the SMF 220 for the DNN and/or S-NSSAI; or based on indication or policy rules received from the PCF; or based on indication received from the UDM/UDR; or the SMF 220 may directly exchange signaling with the AF 230 (e.g., an application server (“AS”)) to determine the application level requirements. Additionally, if the SMF determines that the QoS parameters for one or more QoS flows for this PDU Session require QoS parameter monitoring (e.g. if the QoS flow is for URLLC service), the SMF 220 may consider whether an UPF is capable of QoS monitoring during the UPF selection procedure (FIG. 6 assumes that the SMF 220 selects the UPF 225 which is capable of QoS monitoring).).
In regards to claim 20, Vel teaches the apparatus according to claim 19:
wherein the monitoring and reporting policy comprises a second parameter, the second parameter is used to configure a communication direction of a to-be-monitored target parameter in the QoS parameter, and the communication direction comprises uplink and/or downlink (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0115] To implement the QoS monitoring, the SMF 220 sends to the UPF 225 (e.g., via the N4 interface) a request message with packet detection rules (e.g., per QFI) to the selected UPF 225 and additionally indicates to the UPF 225 to setup corresponding mechanism(s) for QoS measurement (see signaling 610). The SMF 220 may additionally indicate whether the QoS monitoring applies a) to downlink only, b) to uplink only, or c) to both downlink and uplink. In various embodiments, the indication to setup corresponding QoS monitoring mechanism of UL and/or DL monitoring can be implemented in various ways: e.g. either 1) for each QoS flow to be monitored (e.g., the indication ‘QoS monitoring required’ is sent for the QFI to be monitored), or 2) the QoS monitoring required indication is always included and it can have two values, e.g. ‘ON’ (or ‘activate’) or ‘OFF (or ‘deactivate’) value. In various embodiments, the “QoS flow” may refer to a specific bearer (e.g., an EPS bearer).); and
the obtaining the monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device according to the second information comprises (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: [0124] Here, after successful transmission of the DL packet the (R)AN node 210 immediately sends a DL data delivery report (or another similar message) to the UPF 225 (see signaling 645). In certain embodiments, the delivery information may be carried in a message similar to the “Downlink Data Delivery Status” message as specified in TS 36.425 clause 5.4.2. In one alternative, the delivery information may be carried a new GTP message (e.g. GTP-U signaling message). Yet in another alternative, the DL data delivery report may be carried, e.g. piggy-backed, in an uplink data packet. In various embodiments, the DL data delivery report includes the SN of the downlink packet, and an Acknowledgement (Ack) indicating successful delivery. The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650).):
obtaining an uplink monitoring result and/or a downlink monitoring result of the QoS parameter of the at least one terminal device according to the second parameter (Vel, fig. 2, fig. 6-10, [0041]-[0068], [0069]-[0097], [0098]-[0135], [0136]-[0161], [0162]-[0193], [0194]-[0223]: See fig. 9 step 9 for obtaining monitoring results. [0122] the elapsed time may be used to determine a DL QoS parameter. [0124] The UPF 225 determines QoS measurements (e.g., for monitored parameter(s)) using delivery information, e.g., from the DL data delivery report (see block 650).).
Conclusion
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468